• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Weird Monitor Issues

Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
1,231 (0.84/day)
Likes
820
System Name Wut?
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake T81
Power Supply Seasonic 750 Watt Gold
#1
So, I would have put this in the monitor section but I don't believe it is truly a monitor problem. I think it resolves around a video driver issue or OS issue. The monitor is an Acer XR341CK. Anywho, the problems:

  1. During boot, sometimes the monitor doesn't detect video until the login screen or sometimes not at all. I will need to switch the input to something else and let it cycle. My headless servers, doesn't detect video at all.
  2. When the monitor gets shut off due to inactivity, I have to switch inputs to something else and let it cycle back. However, this only happens on my Win10 pro box. My Ubuntu box is fine.
  3. Occasionally, the power button is not clickable for a few seconds in the start menu.
Everything I have read says it is a video driver issue. I have done a fresh install of 19.1.1 and it didn't fix anything but it did stop my FRTC from working in borderless window so I may go back to 18.9.3. The windows install is fresh and only has had a few programs installed it. I have set fast boot (in my monitor OSD) to on or off and it doesn't seem to make a difference. As I remember more of what I have tried and other issues, I will post them here. Acer level 1 support said I need to take to Level 2 but their schedule is not jiving with mine right now.

Edit:

Things I have tried:
  1. Certified Cables, multiple
  2. Power settings
  3. Unplugging and sitting.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
5,054 (1.09/day)
Likes
3,391
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
#2
Try a different monitor (preferably with the same native resolution and input type) on that system and see if you get the same problem. If you do, you know it is on the computer side. If the problem goes away, it is likely on the monitor side.
 
Joined
May 31, 2017
Messages
78 (0.12/day)
Likes
52
System Name Blackbox
Processor Intel i5 2500k
Motherboard Asus P8P67
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 4x2GB DDR3-1600 GSkill RipjawsX
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 480 NITRO+ 4GB
Storage 250 GB Samsung 850 EVO + Samsung 500GB HDD
Display(s) Asus MG248Q
Case Fractal Design Define S
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Cooler Master Quick Fire RAPID-i
Software Windows 10
#3
I once had a really weird issue with my monitor when it was new. It would randomly lose signal on display port. As it got worse I even replaced the cable but it didn't help. Turned out the solution was to unplug it from the wall for a good minute or two. So you could try that too.
 
Joined
May 4, 2011
Messages
223 (0.08/day)
Likes
72
System Name Arena-Fighter6a
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700x
Motherboard Asrock x470 Taichi Ultimate
Cooling Air
Memory 2x16GB 3000MHz CL16 DDR4
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon R9 380 4GB
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe x1
Power Supply Corsair HX850 80+ Platinum
Software Windows 10 x64 Enterprise/Ubuntu Budgie amd64
#4
First i would check cable connecting monitor with your pc, hdmi, display port or whatever it is. Replace it and see if any of your problems has changed.

Your gpu is vega56?
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
1,231 (0.84/day)
Likes
820
System Name Wut?
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake T81
Power Supply Seasonic 750 Watt Gold
#5
First i would check cable connecting monitor with your pc, hdmi, display port or whatever it is. Replace it and see if any of your problems has changed.

Your gpu is vega56?
Sure is. Also have tried a few DP cables (even certified ones) as well ans HDMI. Same result.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
2,725 (1.60/day)
Likes
1,401
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
#6
When the monitor gets shut off due to inactivity, I have to switch inputs to something else and let it cycle back. However, this only happens on my Win10 pro box.
I've seen this problem before, the solution in that instance was to disable hibernation and checked power settings. Try not letting your monitor shut off for a while. Swap monitors and test the suspect monitor on a another known good system.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
1,231 (0.84/day)
Likes
820
System Name Wut?
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake T81
Power Supply Seasonic 750 Watt Gold
#7
Try a different monitor (preferably with the same native resolution and input type) on that system and see if you get the same problem. If you do, you know it is on the computer side. If the problem goes away, it is likely on the monitor side.
Unfortunately, I don't have one.

I've seen this problem before, the solution in that instance was to disable hibernation and checked power settings. Swap monitors and test the suspect monitor on a another known good system.
I am pretty sure I have disabled hibernation. I have been through my power settings double and triple checked. Will quadruple check hibernation though because I don't recall seeing that in power settings.

I once had a really weird issue with my monitor when it was new. It would randomly lose signal on display port. As it got worse I even replaced the cable but it didn't help. Turned out the solution was to unplug it from the wall for a good minute or two. So you could try that too.
Also done.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
2,725 (1.60/day)
Likes
1,401
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
#8
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
1,231 (0.84/day)
Likes
820
System Name Wut?
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake T81
Power Supply Seasonic 750 Watt Gold
#10
thru windows setting or the command line? (see my sig)
I did not do it through the command line on this install as I stopped worrying about the diskspace and forgot about doing it that way. However, I did not have this issue with my dual monitors before. I also don't recall about my previous Win 10 install with this monitor but I definitely had the boot issue. I'll try that out later when I get back.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
5,054 (1.09/day)
Likes
3,391
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
#11
Unfortunately, I don't have one.
As I noted, a spare monitor with the same native resolution and input type would be best, short of that most TVs made in recent years support computer input too. You need to isolate the problem to either the computer or the monitor - especially before spending any money.

Got a friend or relative you can temporarily swap monitors with?
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
1,231 (0.84/day)
Likes
820
System Name Wut?
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake T81
Power Supply Seasonic 750 Watt Gold
#12
a spare monitor with the same native resolution and input type would be best
I don't have any other DP monitors which means I can't officially rule out anything if I was to try HDMI. I'd bring my monitor to work but none of the PCs have DP.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
5,054 (1.09/day)
Likes
3,391
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
#13
You are right, it would not rule it out - unless it did the exact same thing on another computer. Then the monitor is the culprit.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,851 (9.26/day)
Likes
18,845
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Finalmouse Pro
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Tournament Ed.
#14
Sometimes CSM in the BIOS can cause issues like this. If you're not using any non-UEFI devices, you could try disabling CSM and see if it helps.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
1,231 (0.84/day)
Likes
820
System Name Wut?
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake T81
Power Supply Seasonic 750 Watt Gold
#15
Also, another thing that I have noticed is that on boot, many of my windows are sized down really small. I am unsure if this is pointing at a software or monitor issue as I have seen both issues cause it.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
5,054 (1.09/day)
Likes
3,391
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
#16
Also, another thing that I have noticed is that on boot, many of my windows are sized down really small. I am unsure if this is pointing at a software or monitor issue as I have seen both issues cause it.
It is not uncommon for the sizes of open Windows to change "during" boot. Remember, the actual driver for your graphics solution is not loaded until the boot process completes the initial stages, gets past POST (power on self test) and hits the boot drive where the graphics drivers are stored. Before then, basic graphics drivers are used. This is what allows us to see in the BIOS Setup Menu, or to even install the OS on a brand new system.

So it is common for resolutions to change a couple times during the boot process as the graphics solution and connected monitor cycle through one or two "handshaking" steps. The key question is, are all the Windows normal size once the computer has completely booted and the graphics card fully syncs up with the monitor?
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
1,231 (0.84/day)
Likes
820
System Name Wut?
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake T81
Power Supply Seasonic 750 Watt Gold
#17
It is not uncommon for the sizes of open Windows to change "during" boot. Remember, the actual driver for your graphics solution is not loaded until the boot process completes the initial stages, gets past POST (power on self test) and hits the boot drive where the graphics drivers are stored. Before then, basic graphics drivers are used. This is what allows us to see in the BIOS Setup Menu, or to even install the OS on a brand new system.

So it is common for resolutions to change a couple times during the boot process as the graphics solution and connected monitor cycle through one or two "handshaking" steps. The key question is, are all the Windows normal size once the computer has completely booted and the graphics card fully syncs up with the monitor?
Bill, Appreciate the response as I didn't do a good job of explaining. POST is displayed as expected (when it shows, usually only on restarts) but it is the windows in Win 10 after signing in that are shifted in size and position. I didn't have a chance to do any testing last night and will have little over the weekend. I am hoping to get on a call with Acer Level 2 support on Monday.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
1,231 (0.84/day)
Likes
820
System Name Wut?
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake T81
Power Supply Seasonic 750 Watt Gold
#18
I figured I would update the thread as I managed to fix most of the issues. Well, I don't know if I fixed it, but something did.

In any case, I took the PC apart to do some cleaning on it and plugged everything back in and now it wakes from sleep. It doesn't always display boot up but progress is progress.

Edit:

Well, that didn't last long. Back to the way it was.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
2,725 (1.60/day)
Likes
1,401
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
#19
I figured I would update the thread as I managed to fix most of the issues. Well, I don't know if I fixed it, but something did.

In any case, I took the PC apart to do some cleaning on it and plugged everything back in and now it wakes from sleep. It doesn't always display boot up but progress is progress.

Edit:

Well, that didn't last long. Back to the way it was.
if plugging and replugging brought temporary relief, its possible you have a back cable or connection.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
1,231 (0.84/day)
Likes
820
System Name Wut?
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake T81
Power Supply Seasonic 750 Watt Gold
#20
if plugging and replugging brought temporary relief, its possible you have a back cable or connection.
I have tried 3 cables, with one of them being a certified cable from displayport.org.

In any case, I bought a new monitor and it works flawlessly. So, it appears it was this monitor. I am trying it on my wife's PC today although I am not sure she has display port.

EDIT:

Although that doesn't negate the possibility of a bad port on my GPU but the new monitor appears to be working so we will see what happens.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
2,725 (1.60/day)
Likes
1,401
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
#21
if it happens again, after a period of time, the monitor socket could need clean or repaired, if you are inclined to do that.
 
Top