• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Weird noises coming from my PC !

AceFactor

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2005
Messages
234 (0.05/day)
Likes
0
Location
Suffolk, UK
Processor Athlon 64 3700+ Clawhammer :D @ stock speeds :(
Motherboard Gigabyte K8 Triton K8NS Pro
Cooling Stock CPU, 2x 120mm-1xfront & 1xrear, 1x 80mm-top
Memory 1.5Gb DDR 400 - 2x 512Mb Kingston KVR Value, 1x 512Mb KData
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XTPE 256Mb- XT >> XTPE :D AC ATi 5 Rev2 cooler
Storage 2x 40Gb ATA, still in process of setting up 160Gb Sata for Gaming
Display(s) Compaq S710
Case Modded Martian Case
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro
Power Supply Enermax 600w
Software XP Pro
#1
Hey guys, i though that i would start another post instead of conrtinuing on in my old Graphic's Card OC post :)

I still have the problem with the wierd noise : it only occurs when i am loading a game, or playing a game! It also happens when running a benchmark util, or anything that produces high load! I'm not sure which part of the PC it is coming from, but i am confident it is from inside the actual unit itself! :eek:

Every day the noise continues, my fears worsen. . .i need help. .djbben said he thought it was some sort of circuit problem?

If so. .how is this fixable. .should i send the motherboard back?

Is it possibly a faulty component?

I'm going to purchase : Tagan TG580-U22 PSU , Artic Cooling ATi 5 Rev 2 VGA Cooler , Another 120mm case fan for the front of my case :D

Since i'm getting these parts. .should i look at getting any other, that would solve my current fault?

Thanks in Advance

Adam
 

Don__1

New Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2005
Messages
93 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
Location
UK, Near the middle..............
#2
Worn bearings in one of the fans ?
CPU, VGA or maybe the PSU fan or even all 3 !
Which fans are running at less than full speed when the system is at idle and then speed up automaticaly once some heat is produced. The video card can do it so can many CPU fans connected to the motherboard. Many PSU's also slow fans down while cool.

Don't suppose you can record the sound and post a short clip here ?
 

AceFactor

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2005
Messages
234 (0.05/day)
Likes
0
Location
Suffolk, UK
Processor Athlon 64 3700+ Clawhammer :D @ stock speeds :(
Motherboard Gigabyte K8 Triton K8NS Pro
Cooling Stock CPU, 2x 120mm-1xfront & 1xrear, 1x 80mm-top
Memory 1.5Gb DDR 400 - 2x 512Mb Kingston KVR Value, 1x 512Mb KData
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XTPE 256Mb- XT >> XTPE :D AC ATi 5 Rev2 cooler
Storage 2x 40Gb ATA, still in process of setting up 160Gb Sata for Gaming
Display(s) Compaq S710
Case Modded Martian Case
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro
Power Supply Enermax 600w
Software XP Pro
#3
Which fan would it be though?

I treid to record the sound. .but my mic doesnt go high enough to pick it up :(

There is also sound on the mouse wheel aswell :eek:

I'm getting very worried now!

I am going to get a new PSU, and graphics card fan so i might get a new CPU fan aswell :D

Adam
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 18, 2005
Messages
937 (0.21/day)
Likes
13
Location
Israel
Processor Athlon 64 x2 4000+ (65nm Brisbane)
Motherboard Abit AN-M2 (AM2) nForce 630a
Cooling Stock everything (for the time being), 2x120mm fans (intake & exhaust)
Memory 2GB (2x1024) OCZ Platinum PC2-6400 (4-4-4-15, 2T)
Video Card(s) PowerColor ATI HD 2600XT 256mb GDDR4 PCI-e
Storage Hitachi Deskstar 160GB SATA 3.0G/s, External USB2.0 WD 160GB
Display(s) LG 17' LCD (L1753TR)
Case HEC-Compucase 6A, black & grey
Audio Device(s) On-Board 7.1 (realtek)
Power Supply Spire Zeno 650W
Software WinXP Pro SP2 (32-bit, for the time being)
#4
have you tried opening up your case and trying to see if you can locate its source?
its probably a one or some of the fans vibrating when they rev up when things start to heat up.

it could be a problem with the case itself i had once, when the side panel wasnt fitted into place properly and when the fans started reving up it would make it vibrate a little and make a weird noise.
took me like a week to figure out where it was coming from...

anyways, what i can suggest you do is take the side panel offa your case and start running a game or a benchmark and let your system heat up a bit and then see if you can locate where the noise is coming from.
 

AceFactor

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2005
Messages
234 (0.05/day)
Likes
0
Location
Suffolk, UK
Processor Athlon 64 3700+ Clawhammer :D @ stock speeds :(
Motherboard Gigabyte K8 Triton K8NS Pro
Cooling Stock CPU, 2x 120mm-1xfront & 1xrear, 1x 80mm-top
Memory 1.5Gb DDR 400 - 2x 512Mb Kingston KVR Value, 1x 512Mb KData
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XTPE 256Mb- XT >> XTPE :D AC ATi 5 Rev2 cooler
Storage 2x 40Gb ATA, still in process of setting up 160Gb Sata for Gaming
Display(s) Compaq S710
Case Modded Martian Case
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro
Power Supply Enermax 600w
Software XP Pro
#5
I tried taking the case side off. .btw its a brand new Jeantech Martion case, the sound seemed to be either coming from the height of the PSU, top of motherboard, CPU cooler, GFX card, or DVD-R! :(

And the sound was accurate enough to determine which part it was :(

Adam
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2005
Messages
937 (0.21/day)
Likes
13
Location
Israel
Processor Athlon 64 x2 4000+ (65nm Brisbane)
Motherboard Abit AN-M2 (AM2) nForce 630a
Cooling Stock everything (for the time being), 2x120mm fans (intake & exhaust)
Memory 2GB (2x1024) OCZ Platinum PC2-6400 (4-4-4-15, 2T)
Video Card(s) PowerColor ATI HD 2600XT 256mb GDDR4 PCI-e
Storage Hitachi Deskstar 160GB SATA 3.0G/s, External USB2.0 WD 160GB
Display(s) LG 17' LCD (L1753TR)
Case HEC-Compucase 6A, black & grey
Audio Device(s) On-Board 7.1 (realtek)
Power Supply Spire Zeno 650W
Software WinXP Pro SP2 (32-bit, for the time being)
#6
vibrations is usually the source of unwanted sound.

all you need to do is locate where the vibration is coming from and take care of it.

also: sometimes when the heatsink fan on the cpu cooler (especially in the stock AMD coolers) gets clogged up with dust it starts making weird noises.
i clean all my fans once every coupla months or so, and usually after i do it noise levels go down noticeably.
 

AceFactor

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2005
Messages
234 (0.05/day)
Likes
0
Location
Suffolk, UK
Processor Athlon 64 3700+ Clawhammer :D @ stock speeds :(
Motherboard Gigabyte K8 Triton K8NS Pro
Cooling Stock CPU, 2x 120mm-1xfront & 1xrear, 1x 80mm-top
Memory 1.5Gb DDR 400 - 2x 512Mb Kingston KVR Value, 1x 512Mb KData
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XTPE 256Mb- XT >> XTPE :D AC ATi 5 Rev2 cooler
Storage 2x 40Gb ATA, still in process of setting up 160Gb Sata for Gaming
Display(s) Compaq S710
Case Modded Martian Case
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro
Power Supply Enermax 600w
Software XP Pro
#7
It is defianately not a Vibration noise. Because it sounds like a dial-up modem. .just i little bit quieter :D

I've decided on odering the Gigabyte 3D Ultra GT cooler. .cause it has blue LED's :D and cause its better than the stock cooler :p

Any other ideas?

Adam
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
2,722 (0.59/day)
Likes
44
Location
Canada
Processor Intel Q6600
Motherboard DFI LanParty P35-TR2
Memory 4x1024MB Crucial OC-6400
Video Card(s) ATI HD 3870X2 Crossfire
Storage WD Black 640GB / Seagate 7200.10 320GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung SyncMaster
Case Lian Li PC-A16b
Power Supply SilverStone Decathlon DA750
Software Windows 7 HP
#8
Ace, if its a renounced circuit its perfectly normal, a ton of people get it, I have it. If you get only in games, benchies, and loads, and other system intensive things, thats what it is almost for sure. I'm sure if these guys here were to listen carefully to their systems when loading or playing a game, they would here a little squeal too. Atitool, is good for doing it because its very graphic and cpu intensive. Some people get it worse than others, and it can be annoying but most just ignore it. ;)

-Dan
 

AceFactor

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2005
Messages
234 (0.05/day)
Likes
0
Location
Suffolk, UK
Processor Athlon 64 3700+ Clawhammer :D @ stock speeds :(
Motherboard Gigabyte K8 Triton K8NS Pro
Cooling Stock CPU, 2x 120mm-1xfront & 1xrear, 1x 80mm-top
Memory 1.5Gb DDR 400 - 2x 512Mb Kingston KVR Value, 1x 512Mb KData
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XTPE 256Mb- XT >> XTPE :D AC ATi 5 Rev2 cooler
Storage 2x 40Gb ATA, still in process of setting up 160Gb Sata for Gaming
Display(s) Compaq S710
Case Modded Martian Case
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro
Power Supply Enermax 600w
Software XP Pro
#9
OK djbbenn. . .you guys still think its a good idea to replace the stock CPU cooler anyways?

Are you saying that you get the same with your current new setup?

Just its worrying cause its quite loud. .and easily noticeable above the output of my speakers sometimes :(

Thanks

Adam
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
2,722 (0.59/day)
Likes
44
Location
Canada
Processor Intel Q6600
Motherboard DFI LanParty P35-TR2
Memory 4x1024MB Crucial OC-6400
Video Card(s) ATI HD 3870X2 Crossfire
Storage WD Black 640GB / Seagate 7200.10 320GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung SyncMaster
Case Lian Li PC-A16b
Power Supply SilverStone Decathlon DA750
Software Windows 7 HP
#10
Its always good to get a better cooler than stock. :D

But with my new setup, I still get it, mine mostly comes from my video card, but I do get ti from my ram when I run a benchmark on them.

-Dan
 

AceFactor

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2005
Messages
234 (0.05/day)
Likes
0
Location
Suffolk, UK
Processor Athlon 64 3700+ Clawhammer :D @ stock speeds :(
Motherboard Gigabyte K8 Triton K8NS Pro
Cooling Stock CPU, 2x 120mm-1xfront & 1xrear, 1x 80mm-top
Memory 1.5Gb DDR 400 - 2x 512Mb Kingston KVR Value, 1x 512Mb KData
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XTPE 256Mb- XT >> XTPE :D AC ATi 5 Rev2 cooler
Storage 2x 40Gb ATA, still in process of setting up 160Gb Sata for Gaming
Display(s) Compaq S710
Case Modded Martian Case
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro
Power Supply Enermax 600w
Software XP Pro
#11
You may have solved it for me djbbenn :D . .i think it could be the ram. . i have 2x 512Mb Kingston Value & 1x 512Mb K-Data

The noise was coming from that area :D

Any of those sound is if they could be suspect. .and btw i am getting a 1Gb piece of Corsair Pro DDR 400 after the new PSU etc

Thanks

Adam
 
Last edited:

Don__1

New Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2005
Messages
93 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
Location
UK, Near the middle..............
#12
Noisey ram ? ? ?

Possible but I seriously doubt it.

Does the Northbridge have a fan on it ? That's usually in that area.

I would get the PC to make the noise and then stop each fan in turn with the tip of a finger.
I'd only be worried about my finger and not the fan :eek:
 

AceFactor

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2005
Messages
234 (0.05/day)
Likes
0
Location
Suffolk, UK
Processor Athlon 64 3700+ Clawhammer :D @ stock speeds :(
Motherboard Gigabyte K8 Triton K8NS Pro
Cooling Stock CPU, 2x 120mm-1xfront & 1xrear, 1x 80mm-top
Memory 1.5Gb DDR 400 - 2x 512Mb Kingston KVR Value, 1x 512Mb KData
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XTPE 256Mb- XT >> XTPE :D AC ATi 5 Rev2 cooler
Storage 2x 40Gb ATA, still in process of setting up 160Gb Sata for Gaming
Display(s) Compaq S710
Case Modded Martian Case
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro
Power Supply Enermax 600w
Software XP Pro
#13
Northbridge is at the bottom of my MBoard, he's not saying it's the ram, just the circuitry!

Thanks

Adam
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
2,722 (0.59/day)
Likes
44
Location
Canada
Processor Intel Q6600
Motherboard DFI LanParty P35-TR2
Memory 4x1024MB Crucial OC-6400
Video Card(s) ATI HD 3870X2 Crossfire
Storage WD Black 640GB / Seagate 7200.10 320GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung SyncMaster
Case Lian Li PC-A16b
Power Supply SilverStone Decathlon DA750
Software Windows 7 HP
#14
Don__1 said:
Noisey ram ? ? ?

Possible but I seriously doubt it.

Does the Northbridge have a fan on it ? That's usually in that area.

I would get the PC to make the noise and then stop each fan in turn with the tip of a finger.
I'd only be worried about my finger and not the fan :eek:

Trust me, its possible.

-Dan
 

Don__1

New Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2005
Messages
93 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
Location
UK, Near the middle..............
#15
I know it's possible but to have ram in your system that you can actually hear ?
I remember hearing Radio 1 (UK radio station) on the side of a cooker I was once repairing but that's another story !

Bloody hell. It would be straight in the bin if it was mine. (well, Ebay as pukka overclockable super dupper stuff actually :D ).
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
2,722 (0.59/day)
Likes
44
Location
Canada
Processor Intel Q6600
Motherboard DFI LanParty P35-TR2
Memory 4x1024MB Crucial OC-6400
Video Card(s) ATI HD 3870X2 Crossfire
Storage WD Black 640GB / Seagate 7200.10 320GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung SyncMaster
Case Lian Li PC-A16b
Power Supply SilverStone Decathlon DA750
Software Windows 7 HP
#16
Its not the ram all the time, its just the curcuits powering the ram. When theres a high load on the circuit, it just creates a squeal. You can get it in the chipset, video, mosfets around the cpu and so on.

-Dan