• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Weird problem with my GTX 560 Ti

KyleReese

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2011
Messages
48 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
System Name Skynet
Processor Core2Duo E6850 OC to 3.6GHz (stock voltage)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA -P35-DQ6 rev. 1.0
Cooling Coolermaster V8
Memory 2 x 2GB DDR2 Corsair XMS 800MHz Dual Channel
Video Card(s) Gainward Golden Sample nVidia GTX 560Ti
Storage 2 WD 320GB in Raid 0, 1 WD 250GB, 1 TB Samsung F1, 1 TB WD Green
Display(s) Samsung Touch of Color Symcmaster T260 (25,5")
Case Sharkoon Rebel 12 Value
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Pro
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1000W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#1
Just two months ago I managed to finally upgrade my GPU!!..I upgraded to a nVidia card, after so many years of having ATi (last nVidia card I had was a...Geforce 4 MX!! :p) Before I installed the card, I uninstalled the AMD driver with the Catalyst uninstall utility, then I run CCleaner and finally I rebooted in safe mode and run Driver Sweeper to minimize any potential problems...the 560 installed just fine, but I 'm having a weird issue : The card , though its O.C. utility , Expert Tool, has two "modes" : "Safe mode" and "Enhanced". Safe mode has the reference nVidia clocks (822MHz Core, 2004MHz RAM and 1644MHz shader.) Enchanced mode has 900MHz on the core, 2100 memory and 1800 shader. My problem is that the card crashes in some games when it is in "Enhanced" mode, namely Crysis, Heroes fo Might & Magic V, Alice Madness Returns and Crysis 2 (only in Crysis 2's DX 11 mode and high res textures! DX9 s fine.) Crysis 1 crashes only when I reload a quick save ,and Alice just crashed randomly. Heroes stutters a lot in battles, and when I alt-tab it says my nVidia driver crashed and has successfully recovered.All games crash to desktop, and when I open task manager it says that the game executable has stopped responding (the same happens for all said games when they crash). All games are fully patched, as is windows. The graphics card never exceeds 81 degrees Celcius ,and in the manual it says it shouldn't exceed 105, so I 'm safe I guess, although I 've never had such a hot card! Now, when the card is in "Safe mode" , the games NEVER crash!! That logically points me to the conclusion that my card can't go above reference clocks, but I 've read that almost ANY 560 Ti can go 950MHz on the core!! And what's more, the OC isn't mine, it's from the factory! So I was thinking that my card is faulty but yesterday I discovered something else! All the problems I 've had were with the 275.33 drivers and gainward expert tool 7.20. Well, yesterday I installed 280.26 drivers and 7.21 Expert Tool and guess what...the crashing stopped when the card is in Enhanced mode! Crysis 2 only freezes every 6-7 minutes or so randomly for about 5 seconds, but I can live with that.
So, can you please tell me what the heck is going on..???!!! I 've sent an email to Gainward support but I received no answer.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#2
Well you have the answer right there. The OC utility used by Gainward seemed to have a conflict with 275.33. The new drivers have fixed this. Anyway it's a bit weird that Gainward uses 2 settings for the card, if the card is factory overclocked it should perform all the time in 3D mode at the overclocked values.
 

KyleReese

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2011
Messages
48 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
System Name Skynet
Processor Core2Duo E6850 OC to 3.6GHz (stock voltage)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA -P35-DQ6 rev. 1.0
Cooling Coolermaster V8
Memory 2 x 2GB DDR2 Corsair XMS 800MHz Dual Channel
Video Card(s) Gainward Golden Sample nVidia GTX 560Ti
Storage 2 WD 320GB in Raid 0, 1 WD 250GB, 1 TB Samsung F1, 1 TB WD Green
Display(s) Samsung Touch of Color Symcmaster T260 (25,5")
Case Sharkoon Rebel 12 Value
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Pro
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1000W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#3
Hi, thanks for the response! Well, I guess the safe mode is there for troubleshooting reasons, it just amazes me though that my card can't overclock at all....I thought that the 560s were great overclockers..is it possible that I have this problem because I've had an ATi card before...?? maybe my system isn't completely clean..??
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,012 (1.47/day)
Likes
630
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
#4
Hi, thanks for the response! Well, I guess the safe mode is there for troubleshooting reasons, it just amazes me though that my card can't overclock at all....I thought that the 560s were great overclockers..is it possible that I have this problem because I've had an ATi card before...?? maybe my system isn't completely clean..??
it's more likely the program your using, overclock using this --> http://event.msi.com/vga/afterburner/download.htm, and then tell us how far you can push it, you may also need to bump the volts a tad if you go really high
 

KyleReese

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2011
Messages
48 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
System Name Skynet
Processor Core2Duo E6850 OC to 3.6GHz (stock voltage)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA -P35-DQ6 rev. 1.0
Cooling Coolermaster V8
Memory 2 x 2GB DDR2 Corsair XMS 800MHz Dual Channel
Video Card(s) Gainward Golden Sample nVidia GTX 560Ti
Storage 2 WD 320GB in Raid 0, 1 WD 250GB, 1 TB Samsung F1, 1 TB WD Green
Display(s) Samsung Touch of Color Symcmaster T260 (25,5")
Case Sharkoon Rebel 12 Value
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Pro
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1000W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#5
it's more likely the program your using, overclock using this --> http://event.msi.com/vga/afterburner/download.htm, and then tell us how far you can push it, you may also need to bump the volts a tad if you go really high
The thing is that I 've tried afterburner, and i also increased the voltage, my card's stock voltage is 1025 mV, I pushed it to 1075mV ,but the weird thing is the card crashed again, even with the NEW drivers...!!!! :twitch::twitch:
 

KyleReese

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2011
Messages
48 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
System Name Skynet
Processor Core2Duo E6850 OC to 3.6GHz (stock voltage)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA -P35-DQ6 rev. 1.0
Cooling Coolermaster V8
Memory 2 x 2GB DDR2 Corsair XMS 800MHz Dual Channel
Video Card(s) Gainward Golden Sample nVidia GTX 560Ti
Storage 2 WD 320GB in Raid 0, 1 WD 250GB, 1 TB Samsung F1, 1 TB WD Green
Display(s) Samsung Touch of Color Symcmaster T260 (25,5")
Case Sharkoon Rebel 12 Value
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Pro
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1000W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#6
Anyway, I hope everything will be okay with the latest EXPERT tool...if my games crash again I will come back here...thanks everyone!
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,012 (1.47/day)
Likes
630
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
#7
I still think it sounds like a driver problem, have you tried just pushing it up to 580 or something

EDIT:The stock clock is supposed to be 900, if it can't do that it's time to RMA it
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,554 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,061
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#8
The card doesn't like the overclock - as in the hardware itself is losing stability. That's why it's better with the new driver, but still falls over. The fact it comes with an overclocking utility doesn't guarantee that it runs at that faster speed.

You can try backing off the overclock by a little bit and you'll see that the stability problems evaporate, even on the old driver.

Those overclocks don't make a significant difference anyway to framerate, but make the card run hot, reduce stability and lower its lifespan, so just run it at stock and be done with it.

Also, please try putting in some paragraphs. A solid block of text is very hard to read.
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
394 (0.14/day)
Likes
311
System Name PHaS3XIV
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Corsair H105 (AM4 Retention yay!)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 C14 @ 2667 C15
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX 580 Nitro+ Limited Edition
Storage Many = 12TB + Crucial MX200 SSD
Display(s) Dell P2414H + Samsung 5 Series 32" LED FHD TV
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores @_@
#9
EDIT:The stock clock is supposed to be 900, if it can't do that it's time to RMA it
I second that. If your card can't / doesn't run at the stock clocks for a 560, RMA it.
 

KyleReese

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2011
Messages
48 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
System Name Skynet
Processor Core2Duo E6850 OC to 3.6GHz (stock voltage)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA -P35-DQ6 rev. 1.0
Cooling Coolermaster V8
Memory 2 x 2GB DDR2 Corsair XMS 800MHz Dual Channel
Video Card(s) Gainward Golden Sample nVidia GTX 560Ti
Storage 2 WD 320GB in Raid 0, 1 WD 250GB, 1 TB Samsung F1, 1 TB WD Green
Display(s) Samsung Touch of Color Symcmaster T260 (25,5")
Case Sharkoon Rebel 12 Value
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Pro
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1000W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#10
With the older drivers installed, my card doesn't like ANY kind of overclock, no matter how small. Even at 875MHz Core (lower than the factory O.C.) the card crashed.
With the new drivers, I haven't tested it thoroughly yet. I played Crysis for 30 minutes last night, and it seems ok.
But you are probably right, the O.C. isn't gonna make a world of difference, so I will just underclock it at stock 560Ti speeds if I have any problems and leave it there.
I just find it weird, because the last card I had was also a factory OCed gainward (Radeon 4850 Golden Sample), and I never had any problems with it. I could push it even further than the factory OC. I was extremely satisfied with it, that's why I decided to buy Gainward again.
Sorry about the lack of paragraphs, I was typing in a hurry!
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,012 (1.47/day)
Likes
630
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
#11
With the older drivers installed, my card doesn't like ANY kind of overclock, no matter how small. Even at 875MHz Core (lower than the factory O.C.) the card crashed.
With the new drivers, I haven't tested it thoroughly yet. I played Crysis for 30 minutes last night, and it seems ok.
But you are probably right, the O.C. isn't gonna make a world of difference, so I will just underclock it at stock 560Ti speeds if I have any problems and leave it there.
I just find it weird, because the last card I had was also a factory OCed gainward (Radeon 4850 Golden Sample), and I never had any problems with it. I could push it even further than the factory OC. I was extremely satisfied with it, that's why I decided to buy Gainward again.
Sorry about the lack of paragraphs, I was typing in a hurry!
No!, the card you bought it advertised as 900 core, RMA it, or at least ask for some money back for false advertising
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#12
No!, the card you bought it advertised as 900 core, RMA it, or at least ask for some money back for false advertising
This is very true. If it's unstable at 900 then it's flawed. The "stock" clocks for your card is 900 core.
 

KyleReese

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2011
Messages
48 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
System Name Skynet
Processor Core2Duo E6850 OC to 3.6GHz (stock voltage)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA -P35-DQ6 rev. 1.0
Cooling Coolermaster V8
Memory 2 x 2GB DDR2 Corsair XMS 800MHz Dual Channel
Video Card(s) Gainward Golden Sample nVidia GTX 560Ti
Storage 2 WD 320GB in Raid 0, 1 WD 250GB, 1 TB Samsung F1, 1 TB WD Green
Display(s) Samsung Touch of Color Symcmaster T260 (25,5")
Case Sharkoon Rebel 12 Value
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Pro
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1000W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#13
I will try to RMA it then...thanks again everyone! :)