• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Weird Ryzen Mobile behavior (3500U)

Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
1,069 (2.53/day)
Location
Chicago Land
Processor Lidless PGA 2700X
Motherboard Asus B450-I Gaming
Cooling Stock Air
Memory Corsair 3000nhz 13-15-15-15-32-53 2T
Video Card(s) Asus strix GTX 980 OC
Storage SSD
Display(s) 21" - 55"
Case None
Power Supply Antec CP series 850w
Mouse Razar Mamba Tournament Edition
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software W7
Benchmark Scores Max Cpu clock 7685Mhz FX-8300 WPrime 32m 2.886 seconds AMD 2700x
Not finding a ton of information. Some have the issue, some don't solutions are few.

Next bios update.

There is also a Ryzen Master type program for laptops.
Think it's called Ryzen Controller? Something of that sort.
Have a gander and see if you can DL this program.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
3,632 (2.47/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v1903
Joined
Jun 29, 2019
Messages
35 (0.13/day)
Not finding a ton of information. Some have the issue, some don't solutions are few.

Next bios update.

There is also a Ryzen Master type program for laptops.
Think it's called Ryzen Controller? Something of that sort.
Have a gander and see if you can DL this program.
It also affects the older 2500U. Not sure about Intel CPUs though I haven't look them up.
I tried Ryzen Controller but it says "Installation failed" and launches normally, but hitting apply after changing stuff does absolutely nothing. They did say that 3000 series support is still wonky. Though to be honest with you, I'd much prefer tweaking a native windows setting then inviting a third party app, but I tried it regardless and it didn't work.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
1,069 (2.53/day)
Location
Chicago Land
Processor Lidless PGA 2700X
Motherboard Asus B450-I Gaming
Cooling Stock Air
Memory Corsair 3000nhz 13-15-15-15-32-53 2T
Video Card(s) Asus strix GTX 980 OC
Storage SSD
Display(s) 21" - 55"
Case None
Power Supply Antec CP series 850w
Mouse Razar Mamba Tournament Edition
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software W7
Benchmark Scores Max Cpu clock 7685Mhz FX-8300 WPrime 32m 2.886 seconds AMD 2700x
Available bios for the board?
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
3,632 (2.47/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v1903
It also affects the older 2500U. Not sure about Intel CPUs though I haven't look them up.
I tried Ryzen Controller but it says "Installation failed" and launches normally, but hitting apply after changing stuff does absolutely nothing. They did say that 3000 series support is still wonky. Though to be honest with you, I'd much prefer tweaking a native windows setting then inviting a third party app, but I tried it regardless and it didn't work.
I think it's just a front end GUI to Ryzen Master. You might need Ryzen Master as well?
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2019
Messages
35 (0.13/day)
Available bios for the board?
Latest version is v1.06: https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/support-product/8008?b=1&pn=NX.HGVEG.002
It's actually the InsydeH2O rev 5.0.
There is someone on youtube who allegedly found a way to enable the hidden options in the BIOS by pressing Fn+Tab 3 times. I tried it and it didn't work, apparently they've changed the key combination I guess, since the video is 2 years old, but it is theoretically possible to enable the hidden options, I just have no idea what the key combination is.
I think it's just a front end GUI to Ryzen Master. You might need Ryzen Master as well?
I had it installed from the get go and my CPU is not supported by it since it's the locked version. So no, even with Ryzen Master installed, Ryzen Controller doesn't seem to actually make any changes.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2015
Messages
71 (0.05/day)
System Name Avell old monster - Workstation T1 - HTPC
Processor i7-3630QM\i7-5960x\Ryzen 3 2200G
Cooling Stock.
Memory 2x4Gb @ 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) HD 7970M \ EVGA GTX 980\ Vega 8
Storage SSD Sandisk Ultra li - 480 GB + 1 TB 5400 RPM WD - 960gb SDD + 2TB HDD
Just make a custom profile with CPU max. power state at 70~80%. This should release more TDP to iGPU. If you can't, look at this:
 

iwanna

New Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2019
Messages
1 (0.01/day)
This Acer model is actually the cheapest laptop I found with a 3500U, 8GB of RAM (single channel yes) and a 1080p IPS display with a 48 Wh battery and a 1TB Intel 660p NVMe SSD. It was 540 euros.
I ordered a 2x8GB HyperX Impact soDIMM kit (CL14) from amazon to replace the stock single channel crap they use. Will sell the 8GB stick to offset the cost a bit.
I thought about an HP Pavillon or an Acer Nitro 5 but they look ridiculous with those cringy gamery accents. I wanted a laptop for uni and something to take with me to do work on the go, so gaming is definitely not my focus. This one actually looks pretty professional, I love the sleek design and form factor, you can actually take this out in public and not feel like a 12 year old.
Did running RAM in dual channel solve performance issues or is it a problem with laptop's design?
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2019
Messages
35 (0.13/day)
Did running RAM in dual channel solve performance issues or is it a problem with laptop's design?
No there weren't any "performance issues" per se, but any CPU will greatly benefit from going dual channel from single.
The issue I was talking is BIOS related, it's by design. Not sure I would call it smart design but that's how it is. My only option is to wait for a newer version of Ryzen Controller to fully support the 3000 series but until then (if that happens at all), I'm stuck with unnecessary throttling for now.
 

CosmicTraveler

New Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2020
Messages
1 (0.02/day)
I had the same issue on my hp 15 with ryzen 3500u. I also had the same 45w power supply until I just recently bought 90w model from Aliexpress for 10€. I wondered if it's something with motherboard or it is psu. So before I needed to limit cpu to 1.7ghz so the gpu can do 900mhz in games, but now it goes to the maximum without any problems! So definitely it was psu. But also do keep in mind that you will need to use Ryzen Controller to unclock temp limits, rise tdp limit and vrm current so you can achive the maximum from the cpu+gpu. Good luck!
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2013
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Processor AMD X6 1090T
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD
Memory 4GB KINGSTON 1333mhz
Video Card(s) AMD ATI 5750 1gb ddr 5
Storage 320gb
Display(s) ACER X223W
Case UNKNOWN
Power Supply 600W
Software WINDOWS 8.1
Yup.. Same problem after only one min or less CPU speeds drops at 2.0 or lower and gpu 400-500mhz max .. And after that temp are no more than 65c .. Not sure but after changing drivers it was on 75c and much more clock for gpu .. ACER 3 ( 45W PSU)
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2019
Messages
35 (0.13/day)
Yup.. Same problem after only one min or less CPU speeds drops at 2.0 or lower and gpu 400-500mhz max .. And after that temp are no more than 65c .. Not sure but after changing drivers it was on 75c and much more clock for gpu .. ACER 3 ( 45W PSU)
I had the same issue on my hp 15 with ryzen 3500u. I also had the same 45w power supply until I just recently bought 90w model from Aliexpress for 10€. I wondered if it's something with motherboard or it is psu. So before I needed to limit cpu to 1.7ghz so the gpu can do 900mhz in games, but now it goes to the maximum without any problems! So definitely it was psu. But also do keep in mind that you will need to use Ryzen Controller to unclock temp limits, rise tdp limit and vrm current so you can achive the maximum from the cpu+gpu. Good luck!
Here's what I found out:
It seems that the APU has a turbo boost window of around 100 seconds, where the power limit starts at ~30 watts, what I measured with AIDA64 was the CPU power usage, not the whole APU. That means there's no throttling here at all, it's just that it turbos up beyond it's advertised wattage then it drops down to 15 watts. The 6 watts measured like I said is the CPU PWR and the rest goes to the iGPU (~9 watts).
If you download AMD μProf : https://developer.amd.com/amd-uprof/
You can see the real readings from there.

Like I said I didn't buy this laptop for gaming as it was never intended to be a gaming laptop to begin with. But I thought Acer was throttling the APU because of their crap cooling solution and it turns out I was wrong. Though it's sad that Acer support didn't have a clue about this basic knowledge and asked me to send the laptop in for repair.

Anyways, problem solved. Thanks to everyone who replied and tried to help.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2013
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Processor AMD X6 1090T
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD
Memory 4GB KINGSTON 1333mhz
Video Card(s) AMD ATI 5750 1gb ddr 5
Storage 320gb
Display(s) ACER X223W
Case UNKNOWN
Power Supply 600W
Software WINDOWS 8.1
Much better FPS with older drivers.. (19.12) On newest even GPUZ have bug ..
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2019
Messages
35 (0.13/day)
Much better FPS with older drivers.. (19.12) On newest even GPUZ have bug ..
Have you tried the new Geforce Now cloud gaming service?
You just cannot game on this really, from the performance to the thermals, it's not designed for it. Give cloud gaming a shot. GN is free btw (1 hour sessions and no RTX).
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2010
Messages
785 (0.22/day)
Much better FPS with older drivers.. (19.12) On newest even GPUZ have bug ..
Keep it simple. Don't change the drivers, they aren't like the bios.
You just cannot game on this really, from the performance to the thermals, it's not designed for it
You can work it better if it allows for edc adjustments in ryzen master which you said it doesn't as of yet. It is the best method for cutting down the cpu budget.
 
Top