• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Weird TASK Manager Problem, help pls

Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,216 (0.47/day)
Likes
55
Location
Canada
System Name Brutus
Processor i5 4690k @4.7Ghz (Watercooled)
Motherboard z97 MSI Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken x61 AIO watercooler
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 8gb (2x4gb) 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 980ti x2 (sli)
Storage 1 SSD 64GB (OS) + 2x500GB WesternDigital RAID 0
Display(s) YAMAKASI Catleap q270 SE 27inch Glossy 2560x1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Antec TPQ 1200w
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)
#1
Hi, I just started playing Far Cry 3 today, and noticed that I have a Weird issue since I installed Assassin's creed 3...

When I installed AC3 and started playing I was having FPS drops to 30fps (from 60fps), and so the only I could get rid of those "hiccups" was to set AC3 to run with "real time priority" in the task manager (in windows 7)...

Now I'm playing Far Cry 3, and I also have to set it to "real time" priority, otherwise I get the choppiness again... wtf ?!

I've never had to do this before with other game titles... I also noticed my CPU temps are a tad bit higher than before (idling at 44-46c, used to idle at 35-39)
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,413 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,547
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#2
Sounds like something in the background is sucking up your CPU power. You can try using Process Explorer to try and pinpoint it.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,216 (0.47/day)
Likes
55
Location
Canada
System Name Brutus
Processor i5 4690k @4.7Ghz (Watercooled)
Motherboard z97 MSI Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken x61 AIO watercooler
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 8gb (2x4gb) 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 980ti x2 (sli)
Storage 1 SSD 64GB (OS) + 2x500GB WesternDigital RAID 0
Display(s) YAMAKASI Catleap q270 SE 27inch Glossy 2560x1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Antec TPQ 1200w
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)
#3
Sounds like something in the background is sucking up your CPU power. You can try using Process Explorer to try and pinpoint it.
I installed Process Explorer, what must I look for ??? (within the Process Explorer program)
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2013
Messages
81 (0.04/day)
Likes
38
System Name Fire and Ice 2013
Processor AMD Phenom II x6 1090T BE 4.0GHz
Motherboard ASrock 970 Extreme3
Cooling Coolermaster V6 GT
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Storage Seagate Barracuda 500GB 7200 RPM
Display(s) ASUS VH242H
Case Aerocool Xpredator X3 Devil Red Edition
Audio Device(s) None (Logitech G35)
Power Supply Rosewill Stallion Series RD500-2DB
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#4
you could check the process tab (ctrl,alt,del) and see what programs are using up memory, that usually slows stuff down if i have a problem like this
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,216 (0.47/day)
Likes
55
Location
Canada
System Name Brutus
Processor i5 4690k @4.7Ghz (Watercooled)
Motherboard z97 MSI Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken x61 AIO watercooler
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 8gb (2x4gb) 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 980ti x2 (sli)
Storage 1 SSD 64GB (OS) + 2x500GB WesternDigital RAID 0
Display(s) YAMAKASI Catleap q270 SE 27inch Glossy 2560x1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Antec TPQ 1200w
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)
#5
I don't have programs eatin my memory up... my system just becomes annoyingly Choppy when I run games (since Assassin's creed 3)

I can fix this by setting the game's process to High or Real time priority in the task manager... But it's weird that with a beast PC like mine I need to do this ...
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.84/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#6
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,216 (0.47/day)
Likes
55
Location
Canada
System Name Brutus
Processor i5 4690k @4.7Ghz (Watercooled)
Motherboard z97 MSI Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken x61 AIO watercooler
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 8gb (2x4gb) 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 980ti x2 (sli)
Storage 1 SSD 64GB (OS) + 2x500GB WesternDigital RAID 0
Display(s) YAMAKASI Catleap q270 SE 27inch Glossy 2560x1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Antec TPQ 1200w
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)
#7
AC3 has some problems in which it will sub-utilize resources. It only kicks up when you're close to water bodies.

thread at ubi forums: http://forums.ubi.com/showthread.php/737072-AC3-Low-FPS
That still doesn't explain why every other game I'm playin lately get choppy like crazy to the point I have to raise the Game's Process Priority in task manager to get it to be fluid again...

something's off... wish I knew what is