• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Weird temp reading.

Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Minneapolis
Processor AMD Phenom II 940 3.0ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TA790GXB A2+
Cooling Whatever the processor came with.
Memory 2x2gb OCZ Platinum DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI HD 4870 1GB
Storage 320GB WD Caviar Blue
Display(s) 22" Sceptre NAGA
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 4
Power Supply 600W OCZ Modxstream Pro
Software x64 Vista Home Premium
#1
I finally got my parts and put my new computer together. The love fest ended when I ran PC wizard I noticed my "Processor" temp was 90C. So I panicked, rebooted, and checked the BIOS to see what was up, as the heat sink my PheII 940 came with seemed pretty decent. Sure enough, it was reading 28C. So I started up vista and checked PC wizard again. Of course I stopped reading at "processor" temperature and missed the core by core break down at the bottom :eek:.



So I do what any good techie would do, and broke out my infrared thermometer :cool:. All the copper bits on my mobo seem to be between 24.2C and 29.4C(the computer was on/idling in vista), so unless they used Aerogel as a thermal compound, I'm thinking that the reading is an error. The northbridge/OB graphics heat sink was sitting at 28.4C, the CPU heat sink at 24.2C, and the south bridge at 29.4C. Maybe an infrared thermometer isn't the most accurate tool to use, but I find it hard to believe that the 'sink temps would deviate more than 5C from my readings.

Is this just a malfunction of some sort that I need not worry about? Could the temperature difference between the heat sinks and the component beneath really differ 60C? Am I missing something important that could be giving me this reading, or am I just crazy for worrying enough to make this post :D.

Other important info:
I have a BIOSTAR TA790GXB A2+
I haven't received my 600W PSU yet so I don't an aftermarket video card installed.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,206 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,694
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#2
never heard of PC wizard. Try coretemp.
 
Joined
May 31, 2008
Messages
5,787 (1.64/day)
Likes
855
Location
Switzerland, Heart of Europe
System Name Fractality 1.0
Processor Intel Core i7-860 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard EVGA P55 SLI
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems and four Fractal Design 120mm fans, sleeved
Memory 16GB Kingston Hyper RAM
Video Card(s) PNY GeForce 580 XLR8
Storage 64GB and 180GB SSDs / 1TB and 2TB HDDs
Display(s) 24" Acer V243W
Case Fractal Design Define R2, sleeved all I/O cables
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750W modular, sadly only stock sleeving
Software Win 7 64bit
#3
PC Wizard is nice, for system infos. However temperature wise, I would trust dedicated programs more.
 

Tweak-2-

New Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2009
Messages
117 (0.04/day)
Likes
5
Location
In a hidden area
#4
hey there is a new pc wizard about 4 days old , www.cpuid.com and also be sure to get the new cpuz 1.52 and the hwmonitor ,, all the software is made at these guys ,, so grab it , it's free ,, i dont trust pc wizard with temps rather go for hW monitor ,, but dont trust the TMPIN2 reading it hits fire temps 280 'C + ,, pc wizard told me my phenom 9850 @ 2.9 Ghz was 290'C so i looked in the case ,, didnt see smoke ,, didnt see fire ,, so i ignored it ,, but amd CPU must stay below 63'C remember that !
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2007
Messages
2,229 (0.60/day)
Likes
316
Location
Larisa, Greece
System Name StarCruiser Dark Knight v.2
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-3570K
Motherboard P8Z77-V LX
Cooling 1x custom W/C loop/ inflow:6x120 /outflow:4x120, 2x200
Memory Viper 3 Black Mamba (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) Powercolor LCS 5870
Storage 1X 128GB OCZ, 2 x 1.500 Gb Seagate
Display(s) Samsung 24" LC24F396
Case custom MDF case (I BUILT IT) check sig.....NOW
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Tagan 900 watt
Software Win 7 RC / Open office / Games
#5
Try CoreTemp or RealTemp... or cpuz
 

mc-dexter

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,507 (0.45/day)
Likes
95
Location
England
System Name The Abominable Dust Bomb / Just A Box
Processor AMD 6400+ BE (Windsor) @3.35Ghz / AMD 3200+ (Barton)
Motherboard ASUS M2A VM - HDMI / Abit NF7 - S2
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283 / Gigabyte 3D Cooler Ultra
Memory 2x 1Gb Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Dual Channel @800Mhz (soon 3Gb Dual) / 2x 512Mb Geil Dual DDR 400Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8600GT (soon to be ASUS 8800GT) / MSI Geforce 5200FX
Storage 80Gb Maxtor 2mb cache Maxtor 500Gb 32mb cache / 2x 40Gb Maxtor's
Display(s) 19" TFT, 15" TFT, 32" TV / 15" CRT
Case XBLADE / Everest
Audio Device(s) (Onboard) Realtek ALC883 5.1 High Definition / Onboard
Power Supply Antec True Power 480w / 400w Winpower
Software Win Vista Premium SP2 / Win XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 = 6709 ... lol
#6
I have the same problem, well it's not exactly a problem just a mis-reading, and i use Everest. The diffrence between yours and mine though is diffrent, it shows my processor temp as 25, even under full load, i've never had any problems though to be honest. I might download and install pc wizzard to see how it reacts with my temps.

Realy don't think you should have anything to worry about, if you can touch the surface of the HSF then it really isn't as hot as it's reading isit :)
 

werez

New Member
Joined
May 28, 2009
Messages
298 (0.09/day)
Likes
46
Location
Romania
#7
I fixed my sister`s computer today and i used this PC WIZARD software to check some things . Anyway she has an Athlon64 3000+ and a Gigayte K8NE , and in this case the Temp monitoring worked fine .
32C CPU , 26C MOBO .
I think it's buggy with the new CPU's . Did you update the software ? That might help ...
 

mc-dexter

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,507 (0.45/day)
Likes
95
Location
England
System Name The Abominable Dust Bomb / Just A Box
Processor AMD 6400+ BE (Windsor) @3.35Ghz / AMD 3200+ (Barton)
Motherboard ASUS M2A VM - HDMI / Abit NF7 - S2
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283 / Gigabyte 3D Cooler Ultra
Memory 2x 1Gb Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Dual Channel @800Mhz (soon 3Gb Dual) / 2x 512Mb Geil Dual DDR 400Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8600GT (soon to be ASUS 8800GT) / MSI Geforce 5200FX
Storage 80Gb Maxtor 2mb cache Maxtor 500Gb 32mb cache / 2x 40Gb Maxtor's
Display(s) 19" TFT, 15" TFT, 32" TV / 15" CRT
Case XBLADE / Everest
Audio Device(s) (Onboard) Realtek ALC883 5.1 High Definition / Onboard
Power Supply Antec True Power 480w / 400w Winpower
Software Win Vista Premium SP2 / Win XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 = 6709 ... lol
#9
I fixed my sister`s computer today and i used this PC WIZARD software to check some things . Anyway she has an Athlon64 3000+ and a Gigayte K8NE , and in this case the Temp monitoring worked fine .
32C CPU , 26C MOBO .
I think it's buggy with the new CPU's . Did you update the software ? That might help ...
Yeah i'd agree, it's not so "perfect" on newer hardware. :)

EDIT:

nooo,, cpuz doesnt have temps ,, but is good for reading speeds and bandwith ,, but thanx for the diffrent montioring software indications!
Everest FTW!! :D
 

werez

New Member
Joined
May 28, 2009
Messages
298 (0.09/day)
Likes
46
Location
Romania
#10
heh , surfing around i came across a software ( kinda old ) called Mainboard Monitor 5 .
According to this software this Athlon64 idles at -22C and -15 in full load using OCCT . Now that`s weird , i remember using the stock HSF not LN2 :))

 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 17, 2007
Messages
2,229 (0.60/day)
Likes
316
Location
Larisa, Greece
System Name StarCruiser Dark Knight v.2
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-3570K
Motherboard P8Z77-V LX
Cooling 1x custom W/C loop/ inflow:6x120 /outflow:4x120, 2x200
Memory Viper 3 Black Mamba (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) Powercolor LCS 5870
Storage 1X 128GB OCZ, 2 x 1.500 Gb Seagate
Display(s) Samsung 24" LC24F396
Case custom MDF case (I BUILT IT) check sig.....NOW
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Tagan 900 watt
Software Win 7 RC / Open office / Games
#11
nooo,, cpuz doesnt have temps ,, but is good for reading speeds and bandwith ,, but thanx for the diffrent montioring software indications!
sorry about that... I was thinking about Gpuz :p

also Everest is good for monitoring a few things + you can add your choice of readings on the sidebar...
 

Tweak-2-

New Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2009
Messages
117 (0.04/day)
Likes
5
Location
In a hidden area
#12
sorry about that... I was thinking about Gpuz :p

also Everest is good for monitoring a few things + you can add your choice of readings on the sidebar...
Thanx for the headup on that ,, haha besides were here to learn and help oneanother arnt we ,, ,, but i'll check everest , neva seen it b4
 

mc-dexter

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,507 (0.45/day)
Likes
95
Location
England
System Name The Abominable Dust Bomb / Just A Box
Processor AMD 6400+ BE (Windsor) @3.35Ghz / AMD 3200+ (Barton)
Motherboard ASUS M2A VM - HDMI / Abit NF7 - S2
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283 / Gigabyte 3D Cooler Ultra
Memory 2x 1Gb Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Dual Channel @800Mhz (soon 3Gb Dual) / 2x 512Mb Geil Dual DDR 400Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8600GT (soon to be ASUS 8800GT) / MSI Geforce 5200FX
Storage 80Gb Maxtor 2mb cache Maxtor 500Gb 32mb cache / 2x 40Gb Maxtor's
Display(s) 19" TFT, 15" TFT, 32" TV / 15" CRT
Case XBLADE / Everest
Audio Device(s) (Onboard) Realtek ALC883 5.1 High Definition / Onboard
Power Supply Antec True Power 480w / 400w Winpower
Software Win Vista Premium SP2 / Win XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 = 6709 ... lol
#13

mc-dexter

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,507 (0.45/day)
Likes
95
Location
England
System Name The Abominable Dust Bomb / Just A Box
Processor AMD 6400+ BE (Windsor) @3.35Ghz / AMD 3200+ (Barton)
Motherboard ASUS M2A VM - HDMI / Abit NF7 - S2
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283 / Gigabyte 3D Cooler Ultra
Memory 2x 1Gb Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Dual Channel @800Mhz (soon 3Gb Dual) / 2x 512Mb Geil Dual DDR 400Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8600GT (soon to be ASUS 8800GT) / MSI Geforce 5200FX
Storage 80Gb Maxtor 2mb cache Maxtor 500Gb 32mb cache / 2x 40Gb Maxtor's
Display(s) 19" TFT, 15" TFT, 32" TV / 15" CRT
Case XBLADE / Everest
Audio Device(s) (Onboard) Realtek ALC883 5.1 High Definition / Onboard
Power Supply Antec True Power 480w / 400w Winpower
Software Win Vista Premium SP2 / Win XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 = 6709 ... lol
#15
Sorry man, It's just something i've used for years now and it's kind of a part of my life :roll:

I take the software for granted haha.

Anyways im sure im not the first to say it but welcome to TechPowerUp (TPU) :)
 

Tweak-2-

New Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2009
Messages
117 (0.04/day)
Likes
5
Location
In a hidden area
#16
thank you mc-dexter ,, i'm enjoying it here already ,, i was at www.mocosapce.com but found no intelect there ,, i was fourm posting for 2 years ,, no stars no nothing ,, just making friends ,, loosing friends ,, helping ppl,, and fighting about whats wright and what not
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2007
Messages
2,229 (0.60/day)
Likes
316
Location
Larisa, Greece
System Name StarCruiser Dark Knight v.2
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-3570K
Motherboard P8Z77-V LX
Cooling 1x custom W/C loop/ inflow:6x120 /outflow:4x120, 2x200
Memory Viper 3 Black Mamba (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) Powercolor LCS 5870
Storage 1X 128GB OCZ, 2 x 1.500 Gb Seagate
Display(s) Samsung 24" LC24F396
Case custom MDF case (I BUILT IT) check sig.....NOW
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Tagan 900 watt
Software Win 7 RC / Open office / Games
#17