• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Weird things happening...

Pigas

New Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2014
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hey all, this is my first post, i am absolutely desperate.

I own an alienware m17x , with and AMD Radeon 6xxxHD series. windows 7. I am not that much of a computer expert, i just love gaming, hence the alienware.

Last night, i shut down my pc. When i turn it on, my resolution is 800x600 and i notice something is going extremely wrong. First thing that comes to mind is drivers for the graphics card, maybe they rolled back. Funny thing is, when i go on device manager, my graphics card wont show up. It only shows the Intel 3000 on it. I run World of Warcraft. It would barely run it on minimum speccs. I then came to the conclusion that i am playing without a graphics card-.-. I gave up, turned off the pc. I wake up the next day, turned on the pc, everything was back to normal again. I gamed for 12 hours, not a simple problem or overheat. I then restart the pc for some windows updates, POOF, no graphics card on device manager once again.

I need a saviour.

Kind regards,

Pigasios Michael
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
2,866 (0.83/day)
Likes
697
Location
South Carolina
System Name KILLER
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 Gaming
Cooling Water Cooling
Memory 2x4GB Gskill 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780TI
Storage SSD Kingston 240GB
Display(s) 24" Asus 144hz
Case Cooler Master HAF
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum
Power Supply Antec 1200 Watt Modular
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage 51342
#2
Sounds like your graphics card is going out to me.

Are you getting any colored dots or tears in your graphics when it was working?
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#3
Sounds like an Enduro issue. I would reinstall the HD6000 drivers and the Enduro updates.
 

Pigas

New Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2014
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#4
Nothing, it works like a charm when it is actually working. I can tell when its working because it displays it in the device manager.
 

Pigas

New Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2014
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#5
TRWOV, I uninstalled and reinstalled my drivers, nothing. The fishy thing though is that when i download the auto detector from the AMD website, i tells me that it cannot detect the required hardware in my OS
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#6
You could also try fn + F7 to disable Enduro and set the HD6000 as the permanent GPU (no switching back and fort between the Intel IGP and the Radeon GPU).
 

Pigas

New Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2014
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#7
Tried that, in order for the pc to give me that option there needs to be 2 available GPU. At the moment of failure, there is only one. As a result the option is not given.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#8
humm.... maybe the "Nuke it" option? I'm out of ideas. :confused:
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,605 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,363
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#9
Dont be shy what gpu is it besides a 6xxx?

Id pop out the motherboards bios battery for a few min then re-insert and re-start the rig and see if that fixes it.

To me it sounds like the bios is fubar atm.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#10
What drivers are you using? Alienware's or AMD's?
 

Pigas

New Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2014
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#11
Well..its an i7-2670QM CPU@ 2.2 GHZ. That is as much as i can find right now since i cant get my graphics card info. Not showing up anywhere on the pc nor checks i run.
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,605 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,363
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#13
Well..its an i7-2670QM CPU@ 2.2 GHZ. That is as much as i can find right now since i cant get my graphics card info. Not showing up anywhere on the pc nor checks i run.
Like I suggested reset the bios and see if it's all good.

If not remove the gpu's driver and re-install the AMD one.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
2,866 (0.83/day)
Likes
697
Location
South Carolina
System Name KILLER
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 Gaming
Cooling Water Cooling
Memory 2x4GB Gskill 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780TI
Storage SSD Kingston 240GB
Display(s) 24" Asus 144hz
Case Cooler Master HAF
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum
Power Supply Antec 1200 Watt Modular
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage 51342
#14
Have you tried a system restore to an earlier date.

Try going back to a date where you know it was working fine.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#16
Since it shows up at random I'm leaning towards it being a driver/OS issue. Maybe the GPU driver call times out and Windows starts without it.

It happened to me once with an USB 3.0 card reader. Once in a while it wouldn't start on Windows 7 and had to reset for it to show up. Using the Event Viewer I learned that the USB 3.0 driver was taking too long to initialize (Event ID 102). I suspected that Windows just went on without it on some occasions.

*SHY* How do i reset the bios? As i said i dont know much.. close to nothing.
On a laptop you'd have to open it and remove the CMOS battery but of course I bet you'd lose your warranty with Alienware. In your case I'd go into the bios (press DEL, ESC or F2 at startup, every manuyfacturer has its way) and load the "fail safe defaults" or whatever name they choosed.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
2,866 (0.83/day)
Likes
697
Location
South Carolina
System Name KILLER
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 Gaming
Cooling Water Cooling
Memory 2x4GB Gskill 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780TI
Storage SSD Kingston 240GB
Display(s) 24" Asus 144hz
Case Cooler Master HAF
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum
Power Supply Antec 1200 Watt Modular
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage 51342
#17
System Restore is located here.

Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Recovery

Click open system restore once there.
 

Pigas

New Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2014
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#18
Your explanation makes sense. Whats the solution to that problem? If that is the case?
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#19
Your explanation makes sense. Whats the solution to that problem? If that is the case?
Sadly, I didn't find one. The issue corrected itself after upgrading to Windows 8 but that was because W8 has built in USB 3.0 support (doesn't need drivers).
 

Pigas

New Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2014
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#20
Meh.. Restoring now, will let you know of the results. Ps is it possible to purchase and install windows 8 on the spot?
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2010
Messages
155 (0.06/day)
Likes
25
#22
did you used gpu-z ?
it can find cards that windows does not .

may be a power connector has unplug from the ati , check that . if it is not the case unplug and replug the ati hd6k .
beware that some pci-e slot have a lock to fix vga card , you have to push it "gently"

in case that does nothing , ask for a rma
 

Pigas

New Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2014
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#23
Dont feel confident opening uo the pc. The restore caused for both the graphic cards not to display on device manager. Ill try alien restore tommorow
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#24
Joined
Jul 25, 2010
Messages
155 (0.06/day)
Likes
25
#25
that should be better to boot with a cold pc , retry the restore if you see nothing

check the monitor and cables , may be try to connect to all your vga-connectors to find the one that is on