• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Weird things happening...

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,215 (4.38/day)
Likes
5,412
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#26
did you used gpu-z ?
it can find cards that windows does not .

may be a power connector has unplug from the ati , check that . if it is not the case unplug and replug the ati hd6k .
beware that some pci-e slot have a lock to fix vga card , you have to push it "gently"

in case that does nothing , ask for a rma
that should be better to boot with a cold pc , retry the restore if you see nothing

check the monitor and cables , may be try to connect to all your vga-connectors to find the one that is on

If you check the model number m17x, you will see that its actually a laptop and not a pc. The parts used are laptop parts and not desktop parts per se~ so there are no 'checking cables' and 'VGA connectors' unless the OP hooks it up to a monitor and has the laptop function as a desktop PC instead of a laptop.
To open up a laptop and dismantle the cooling unit to be able to apply new thermal grease or reseat the GPU can be a rather daunting task to somebody who is less experienced with tech especially when it comes to laptops, while it maybe a fairly simple and easy takes in most cases, the components are more tightly packed and there is less room to work with so knowing what you're doing helps a lot when dealing with laptops, its not as simple as just slotting expansion cards into PCI or PCI-E slots - there is a lot of dismantling that needs to be done and how much depends on the laptop itself. you might need to take the bottom of the laptop off completely to get to the components inside, Opening it up can also void warranty - Most OEMs dont care if you add more RAM or a new Hard drive but opening it up completely can void warranty.

----


Pigas - your best bet is to RMA the laptop if its still in warranty. the graphics card might have come loose and needs to be reseated. while its a simple task to reseat the graphic card to most of us here at TPU, you might not be so experienced in dealing with it on your own. better safe than sorry and have Alienware deal with it then you attempt it yourself and cause further damage to your laptop which isnt cheap to begin with.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 3, 2011
Messages
761 (0.32/day)
Likes
351
Location
At the Pub
System Name Kaby Doll
Processor i5 7600K W.C.
Motherboard Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Hardline Acrylic W.C.
Memory 2x8GB Corsair 3000
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 Sli W.C.
Storage M.2 850 Evo 512
Display(s) 4K 40" BDM4065UC
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) Asus Zonar
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Win 10 x64 atm
#27
+1 to freedom. This is all true.

My original feeling was the gpu is coming loose.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2010
Messages
155 (0.06/day)
Likes
25
#28
i absolutely do not know the alienware products , as he did not write anything in his "system specs" , i told to myself he was having some common desktop pc .
opening this latops can be hard because some pieces are "plug" like a Chinese puzzle .
but i have some experience with that kind of boards .
i recently updated cpu , vga , ram and hd of my 4 years old hp touchsmart 600



i rearranged cables that were below the fans and installed a ssd : so airflow is better and temp lower .
i also installed it in the AIR with a arm , so fresh air is passing with a better flow than at the time the pc was on a table....it killed its two drives : dvdrom and hd 1.5 Go

here it is :



as it is a laptop , i would open it only in case warranty is over , by now i would use gpuz in case monitor and windows start .
these laptop , like my hp , are made to die after 1 year and a half.... cleaning the dust inside is nearly impossible without breaking warranty ...
it is good to take the 3 years extention for 10 % more
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,215 (4.38/day)
Likes
5,412
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#29
i absolutely do not know the alienware products , as he did not write anything in his "system specs" , i told to myself he was having some common desktop pc .


Hey all, this is my first post, i am absolutely desperate.

I own an alienware m17x , with and AMD Radeon 6xxxHD series. windows 7. I am not that much of a computer expert, i just love gaming, hence the alienware.

Last night, i shut down my pc. When i turn it on, my resolution is 800x600 and i notice something is going extremely wrong. First thing that comes to mind is drivers for the graphics card, maybe they rolled back. Funny thing is, when i go on device manager, my graphics card wont show up. It only shows the Intel 3000 on it. I run World of Warcraft. It would barely run it on minimum speccs. I then came to the conclusion that i am playing without a graphics card-.-. I gave up, turned off the pc. I wake up the next day, turned on the pc, everything was back to normal again. I gamed for 12 hours, not a simple problem or overheat. I then restart the pc for some windows updates, POOF, no graphics card on device manager once again.

I need a saviour.

Kind regards,

Pigasios Michael
While adding system specs to your account would help in the long run as it helps us diagnose problems faster its not a necessary forum requirement, a necessary requirement would be to read the OP/Thread before answering. As mentioned the 'PC' in question is a Alienware m17x - the OP did not edit his post and edit it in, it was there from the start for all to see.

Also - Just because you know what you're doing when it comes to working on laptops doesnt mean the OP does. While the Touchsmart 600 maybe a AIO PC it is NOT a Laptop though very similar to one depending on the model/make.

I didnt know it was fine to give wrong answers so long as the OP hadnt filled in his system specs.
 

Pigas

New Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2014
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#30
Its allrighy guys no hustle, i just woke up, i try alien restore in a couple pf hourd and let you know how it went. thanks for a the replies and help. much appreciated.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,406 (5.42/day)
Likes
9,579
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#31
i absolutely do not know the alienware products , as he did not write anything in his "system specs" , i told to myself he was having some common desktop pc .
opening this latops can be hard because some pieces are "plug" like a Chinese puzzle .
but i have some experience with that kind of boards .
i recently updated cpu , vga , ram and hd of my 4 years old hp touchsmart 600



i rearranged cables that were below the fans and installed a ssd : so airflow is better and temp lower .
i also installed it in the AIR with a arm , so fresh air is passing with a better flow than at the time the pc was on a table....it killed its two drives : dvdrom and hd 1.5 Go

here it is :



as it is a laptop , i would open it only in case warranty is over , by now i would use gpuz in case monitor and windows start .
these laptop , like my hp , are made to die after 1 year and a half.... cleaning the dust inside is nearly impossible without breaking warranty ...
it is good to take the 3 years extention for 10 % more
You sir are a ghetto mod redneck :laugh:
 

Pigas

New Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2014
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#34
Yea..still in the same position..i was wondering is there any chance the graphics card is about to fry? and it is just hanging in there? *note* when it works i can game for 12 hours+ without any problem
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,908 (3.43/day)
Likes
5,425
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#35
It's a new(ish) machine, I would go for an RMA at this point.

EDIT: After a fresh Windows install, if you didn't do that already.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.84/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#36
Meh.. Restoring now, will let you know of the results. Ps is it possible to purchase and install windows 8 on the spot?
W8 won't likely help. In my case it did the trick because it has built in USB 3.0 support but I doubt it'll have built in support for your card.



Follow this guide: http://www.techrepublic.com/blog/wi...own-issues-that-cause-slower-boot-times/3253/

and see if the GPU or its driver have any problem initializing. The GPU drivers should begin with "ati" or "AMD" on their name.




And yeah, if the laptop still has warranty you should contact Alienware support too. Maybe someone else has gone through your very same issue before and they might have a solution.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
1,050 (0.31/day)
Likes
132
Location
Pikeville NC
System Name In the works
Processor 4670k
Motherboard ASUS Z87
Cooling 5x120mm
Memory 8GB Sniper Gskill 1833
Video Card(s) MSI 970 Gaming
Storage 2x 240gb SSD's + 1TB seagate
Display(s) 27" Acer 1920x1080
Case Corsair Carbide 200R
Power Supply OCZ Power 600W Modular
Keyboard Corsait K70 with red switches
Software Win10
#40
Joined
Jul 25, 2010
Messages
155 (0.06/day)
Likes
25
#42
his pc was sold win win7 so it should be out of warranty .
you should open it and clean the dust [when pc will be cold] , may be your cpu or vga had burnt a cable because of the temp .
if it is the case , you should get one on ebay .
same goes with vga ......

i just read the : ftp://ftp.dell.com/Manuals/all-prod...ops/alienware-m17x_Reference Guide2_en-us.pdf
and you should have a nvidia vga inside , not an ati ....

open the case and check what is your vga
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
488 (0.15/day)
Likes
272
Processor i5 4690K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-PRO Wi-Fi ac USB 3.1
Cooling Cryorig H5 Ultimate
Memory 16 GB Corsair XMS3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 290X 8GB Tri-X OC
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240
Display(s) ASUS MG278Q
Case Corsair Carbide 600Q
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 750W Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#43
Sounds like a hardware failure. Strongly recommend RMA since opening the case to diagnose further will probably void your warranty. Since you sound unfamiliar and uncomfortable with diving into the guts of your laptop you should probably leave it to the professionals.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,203 (2.95/day)
Likes
2,394
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#44
its getting cold. and the solder joints are failing.

if it has a radeon 6 series, it has to be quite old. and remember laptops are NEVER for gaming. NEVER.
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2013
Messages
954 (0.59/day)
Likes
385
Location
Cumberland Plateau
System Name EVGA-FX | Lenny (Lenovo Y480)
Processor AMD FX-8320 @ 4.5GHz 1.416v | i7 3610qm
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600 | 8gb DDR3 @ 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX780 Classified @ 1228MHz 1.615v | GT640m LE
Storage Crucial M500 480GB, WD Caviar Blue 500GB, WD Scorpio Blue 750GB | Samsung 250GB 840
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 1440p | 42" Vizio 3D LCD TV 1080p
Case CoolerMaster HAF XB Evo
Power Supply Seasonic G-650
Software Windows 6.3.9600
#45
its getting cold. and the solder joints are failing.

if it has a radeon 6 series, it has to be quite old. and remember laptops are NEVER for gaming. NEVER.
Nonsense comment there. I've had plenty of gaming laptops that could smoke most mid-range desktops. Are they more expensive? Yes. Do they run warmer then a desktop? Yes. Can they be used for gaming? MOST CERTAINLY.
 

Pigas

New Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2014
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#46
I am absolutely in love with this machine. A simple hardware failure does not mean laptops are not fit for gaming. Anyhow.. I turned it on today, it was working. Restarted it, same thing. Seems like after a whole night of being turned off, the GPU is able to run. So its either a nearly dead GPU or a cable running l
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,660 (1.67/day)
Likes
2,609
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#47
his pc was sold win win7 so it should be out of warranty .
you should open it and clean the dust [when pc will be cold] , may be your cpu or vga had burnt a cable because of the temp .
if it is the case , you should get one on ebay .
same goes with vga ......

i just read the : ftp://ftp.dell.com/Manuals/all-products/esuprt_laptop/esuprt_alienware_laptops/alienware-m17x_Reference Guide2_en-us.pdf
and you should have a nvidia vga inside , not an ati ....

open the case and check what is your vga
Chances are, the OP has a M17x R3, as they, had the AMD(ATI) 6870 / 6970 / 6990 or NVidia GTX 460M/GTX 560/GTX 580 options with Windows 7.
Dell, still, offers windows 7 on their Alienware line.
You can get AMD or Nvidia cards on the different incarnations.

And, just for info... I believe they are at or around the R4, or so, revision.

Here is a list of alienware laptops and desktops with links to drivers and such.
@OP : I believe your's is number nine in the list.

If you updated the BIOS... did you use your TAG number to be sure you got the correct one for your model?
Also, you can enter your tag number at the dell support site and it should be able to show your as shipped configuration... whether NVidia or AMD.

I believe, this may be your model's support page with the latest bios being A12 -- > Alienware M17X R3

If, I were you... I would call Dell (Alienware) support and explain to them that there are a lot of unanswered "no graphics cards showing in BIOS" in the Dell forum threads which are really unanswered and that your is doing the same and see if they will, maybe, help or send a replacement card... you might get lucky.

Just be nice to 'em.
 
Last edited: