• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Welcome to my nightmare........

Joined
May 20, 2007
Messages
165 (0.04/day)
Likes
1
Location
New Kensington, PA
Processor AMD Phenom 9850 BLACK EDITION 2.5GHz Socket AM2+ 125W Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard ASUS M3A32 Premium MVP Wi Fi
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS9700, 3 120mm fans. Side case fan
Memory 4GB Gskill
Video Card(s) 2 HIS 3870IceQ iTurbos
Storage 2, 1 160GB, 1 120GB
Display(s) Dell 22" HD
Case Thermal Take Armor
Audio Device(s) Auzen tech X-Fi Prelude 7.1
Power Supply Hiper 880w
Software Vista 32(general use and dx10 gaming), XP 64(gaming).
#1
After thinking my mobo was defective because of the looseness of the xfi card and how the sound would go out after an amount of time I dropped $160 on a new mobo and after 6 hours of messing with it I have come to the conclusion that now I have 2 shit mobos(which I can RMA) and a shit sound card(which I can RMA). The real burner is that I think I managed to damage my processor somehow during the process of removing it, see the geniuses at magic micro who built this computer decided that a heat sink that you practically have to rip off is good for the processor in the midst of getting this monster off I took the processor with it(release handle is unreachable with sink on). The computer works as im using it now but I have a rather strange problem. Now I can only run the computer with memory in the B channel, if I put any in A it will not post it will start but the screen is completely dark. I have called ASUS about 8 times and I am convinced they have the worst customer support I have ever seen. I got answers ranging from the memory being bad and to call samsung to just rma the mobo again....... almost all of them were completely rude also and the manager I asked to talk to(after being put on hold for about 20 minutes) was an asshole too. I was completely nice to them too. My calls concluded with them giving me a RMA number. I wasnt convinced that it was what they said so I put my old mobo in and IT HAD THE SAME EXACT PROBLEM, only would run with memory in the B channel. Now I am stumpted, I was always taught if your processor is damaged it will show drastic change and it will be obvious. I cannot figure this out any ideas???? Oh and bassmasta you were right.... wish you would of told me that before I bought the mobo :ohwell: even though im still not sure the sound card is bad as I gave my old ZS which was having the same problems to a friend and it works fine
 
Joined
May 20, 2007
Messages
165 (0.04/day)
Likes
1
Location
New Kensington, PA
Processor AMD Phenom 9850 BLACK EDITION 2.5GHz Socket AM2+ 125W Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard ASUS M3A32 Premium MVP Wi Fi
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS9700, 3 120mm fans. Side case fan
Memory 4GB Gskill
Video Card(s) 2 HIS 3870IceQ iTurbos
Storage 2, 1 160GB, 1 120GB
Display(s) Dell 22" HD
Case Thermal Take Armor
Audio Device(s) Auzen tech X-Fi Prelude 7.1
Power Supply Hiper 880w
Software Vista 32(general use and dx10 gaming), XP 64(gaming).
#2
I have been working on this computer for the last 6 hours...........
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,796 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,785
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#3
Dude - look a that MILLION sentence paragraph gave me a headache. Can you condense the problem into something readable?
 
Joined
May 20, 2007
Messages
165 (0.04/day)
Likes
1
Location
New Kensington, PA
Processor AMD Phenom 9850 BLACK EDITION 2.5GHz Socket AM2+ 125W Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard ASUS M3A32 Premium MVP Wi Fi
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS9700, 3 120mm fans. Side case fan
Memory 4GB Gskill
Video Card(s) 2 HIS 3870IceQ iTurbos
Storage 2, 1 160GB, 1 120GB
Display(s) Dell 22" HD
Case Thermal Take Armor
Audio Device(s) Auzen tech X-Fi Prelude 7.1
Power Supply Hiper 880w
Software Vista 32(general use and dx10 gaming), XP 64(gaming).
#4
sorry hard to type something that is confusing the hell out of me in a sensible fashion
 
Joined
May 20, 2007
Messages
165 (0.04/day)
Likes
1
Location
New Kensington, PA
Processor AMD Phenom 9850 BLACK EDITION 2.5GHz Socket AM2+ 125W Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard ASUS M3A32 Premium MVP Wi Fi
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS9700, 3 120mm fans. Side case fan
Memory 4GB Gskill
Video Card(s) 2 HIS 3870IceQ iTurbos
Storage 2, 1 160GB, 1 120GB
Display(s) Dell 22" HD
Case Thermal Take Armor
Audio Device(s) Auzen tech X-Fi Prelude 7.1
Power Supply Hiper 880w
Software Vista 32(general use and dx10 gaming), XP 64(gaming).
#5
okay lets just say that I just installed a new mobo and I can only use the B channel on my memory or it wont post
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.09/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#6
So just stick all your RAM in the B channel?
 
Joined
May 20, 2007
Messages
165 (0.04/day)
Likes
1
Location
New Kensington, PA
Processor AMD Phenom 9850 BLACK EDITION 2.5GHz Socket AM2+ 125W Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard ASUS M3A32 Premium MVP Wi Fi
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS9700, 3 120mm fans. Side case fan
Memory 4GB Gskill
Video Card(s) 2 HIS 3870IceQ iTurbos
Storage 2, 1 160GB, 1 120GB
Display(s) Dell 22" HD
Case Thermal Take Armor
Audio Device(s) Auzen tech X-Fi Prelude 7.1
Power Supply Hiper 880w
Software Vista 32(general use and dx10 gaming), XP 64(gaming).
#7
and its doing it on two different boards, one that was working fine(minus seperate sound problems) before. So its either something else or I managed to end up with two broken motherboards.
 
Joined
May 20, 2007
Messages
165 (0.04/day)
Likes
1
Location
New Kensington, PA
Processor AMD Phenom 9850 BLACK EDITION 2.5GHz Socket AM2+ 125W Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard ASUS M3A32 Premium MVP Wi Fi
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS9700, 3 120mm fans. Side case fan
Memory 4GB Gskill
Video Card(s) 2 HIS 3870IceQ iTurbos
Storage 2, 1 160GB, 1 120GB
Display(s) Dell 22" HD
Case Thermal Take Armor
Audio Device(s) Auzen tech X-Fi Prelude 7.1
Power Supply Hiper 880w
Software Vista 32(general use and dx10 gaming), XP 64(gaming).
#8
i didnt pay $160 to only use half my memory are you kidding? Im asking if anyone can help me figure this out if you people dont wanna help feel free not to say anything jeez.
 

Mediocre

New Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2006
Messages
1,237 (0.29/day)
Likes
70
Processor C2D E8400 @ 3.60GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-Pro w/ extra Vreg HS
Cooling Apogee GTX, 2x120mm DD, MCP-1000P Res/Pump, all 3/8" 7x80mm (4x push/pull, 2x exhaust, 1x side)
Memory 2 x 1GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 @ 800 (4-3-3-6)
Video Card(s) EVGA 9800GTX+
Storage 3 x 80 GB WD SATA300 (2x RAID 0)
Display(s) Scepter x37 1080p 37" LCD & Samsung 204B
Case CoolerMaster HAF932
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Mushkin HP-580AP (C/O TPU!)
Software Vista Ultimate (32-bit)
#9
FYI - readability is just and <Enter> key away. feel free to press it in between thoughts. Reading that is kinda like that guy who can say a million things without taking a breath...it just goes on & on & on...anyway...


Does a single stick work in the A channel? See if 512 will boot
If yes, I'd say you might have a weak memory controller...

Do you have any OC on the RAM/Processor?
What you described with the heatsink removal is common. If you didn't bend any pins the processor is fine.

Have you tried setting it to lower RAM (not sure of AMD dividers) like 533 or 633 or whatever it is? My bro's PC has 4x512 and won't run @ ddr400 (its skt 939) all stix are rated at 400, but I think the memory controller on the board can't handle it...thats also an asus.

And even if your frustrated, you really could have left the last part of your post off...just delete everything after the ? mark...
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159 (3.89/day)
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#10
Do you hsve the lstest bios? Sre there sny jumpers on the board? Will it boot with one stick in channel A?
 

Oliver_FF

New Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
544 (0.13/day)
Likes
65
Processor Intel q9400 @ stock
Motherboard Lanparty P45-T2RS
Cooling Zalman CNPS-9500
Memory 8GB OCZ PC2-6400
Video Card(s) BFG Nvidia GTX285 OC
Storage 1TB, 500GB, 500GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung T200HD
Case Antec Mini P180
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply 700w Hiper
Software Ubuntu x64 virtualising Vista
#11
I've got a messed up X-Fi Elite Pro, it never ever worked in XP - xp would boot and just say there was an unrecognized device. With Vista, it just won't boot if the hardware isn't 100% ok...

As for the ram issue, it could well be a CPU issue, considering that your memory controller is on your CPU itself, whereas most of the users around here are on Intel's where the memory controller is located in the northbridge. Ask around, try to borrow someone elses AMD see if it solves the issue.
 
Joined
May 20, 2007
Messages
165 (0.04/day)
Likes
1
Location
New Kensington, PA
Processor AMD Phenom 9850 BLACK EDITION 2.5GHz Socket AM2+ 125W Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard ASUS M3A32 Premium MVP Wi Fi
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS9700, 3 120mm fans. Side case fan
Memory 4GB Gskill
Video Card(s) 2 HIS 3870IceQ iTurbos
Storage 2, 1 160GB, 1 120GB
Display(s) Dell 22" HD
Case Thermal Take Armor
Audio Device(s) Auzen tech X-Fi Prelude 7.1
Power Supply Hiper 880w
Software Vista 32(general use and dx10 gaming), XP 64(gaming).
#12
Do you hsve the lstest bios? Sre there sny jumpers on the board? Will it boot with one stick in channel A?
yes and It will not run in A at all.... nothing will, even known good sticks. I have come to the conclusion that my A channel will not work. I can put anything in B1 and B2 and it works. I ran orthos for 24 hours and no errors with the B channel full. But since my computer wont post with anything in A obviously cant test that.
 
Joined
May 20, 2007
Messages
165 (0.04/day)
Likes
1
Location
New Kensington, PA
Processor AMD Phenom 9850 BLACK EDITION 2.5GHz Socket AM2+ 125W Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard ASUS M3A32 Premium MVP Wi Fi
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS9700, 3 120mm fans. Side case fan
Memory 4GB Gskill
Video Card(s) 2 HIS 3870IceQ iTurbos
Storage 2, 1 160GB, 1 120GB
Display(s) Dell 22" HD
Case Thermal Take Armor
Audio Device(s) Auzen tech X-Fi Prelude 7.1
Power Supply Hiper 880w
Software Vista 32(general use and dx10 gaming), XP 64(gaming).
#13
and I cleared the cmos twice....
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
1,192 (0.30/day)
Likes
128
Location
scotland
System Name spuds K8-X2
Processor amd athlon X2 4200+ toledo s939 2794mhz 254x11 1.4 vcore
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo4-F v1.0 (MS-7125) nforce4 sata2 mod, laptop cpu heatpipe copper nb cooler
Cooling akasa evo "blue" + 90mm fan, 2x120mm front, 250mm side, 120mm rear, 120mm in psu, pci slot exhaust.
Memory OCZ Platinum XTC DDR PC3200 4GB(4x1024) @254mhz 3-3-3-8 2T
Video Card(s) sapphire HD3870 512mb GDDR4 vf900cu, several ramsinks on components / nvidia 7300gt 256mb secondary
Storage hitachi 160gb (slightly fried) / hitachi 120gb ATA / Seagate 160gb / 2x ps3 seagate 60gb
Display(s) CTX EX1300F 20" flat CRT, 1280x1024@100hz / 19" benq FP91G X / 19" hanns-g (all free)
Case mesh server/gaming black case, 9x 5.25' drive bays, silvestone auto fan controller
Audio Device(s) onboard realtek alc850 7.1/soundblaster LIVE! ct4780 + kxaudio - sony home theatre surround
Power Supply winpower 650w, system draws around 470-500w under load(+all screens)
Software win7 64bit
Benchmark Scores ~16m trips/sec using mty trip generator. triple monitor gaming using SoftTH. 3840x1024
#14
id say one of the pins thats connected to the a channel is snapped. id check your cpu, let it heat up a bit before removing hs to make it easier to remove, with gentle twisting it should come off easy,
 
Joined
May 20, 2007
Messages
165 (0.04/day)
Likes
1
Location
New Kensington, PA
Processor AMD Phenom 9850 BLACK EDITION 2.5GHz Socket AM2+ 125W Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard ASUS M3A32 Premium MVP Wi Fi
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS9700, 3 120mm fans. Side case fan
Memory 4GB Gskill
Video Card(s) 2 HIS 3870IceQ iTurbos
Storage 2, 1 160GB, 1 120GB
Display(s) Dell 22" HD
Case Thermal Take Armor
Audio Device(s) Auzen tech X-Fi Prelude 7.1
Power Supply Hiper 880w
Software Vista 32(general use and dx10 gaming), XP 64(gaming).
#15
cant twist it because it has plastic mounts blocking it its the kind that snaps on and you have to use a screw driver to pop it off, I have to use a back and forth motion to pretty much slide it off.
 
Joined
May 20, 2007
Messages
165 (0.04/day)
Likes
1
Location
New Kensington, PA
Processor AMD Phenom 9850 BLACK EDITION 2.5GHz Socket AM2+ 125W Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard ASUS M3A32 Premium MVP Wi Fi
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS9700, 3 120mm fans. Side case fan
Memory 4GB Gskill
Video Card(s) 2 HIS 3870IceQ iTurbos
Storage 2, 1 160GB, 1 120GB
Display(s) Dell 22" HD
Case Thermal Take Armor
Audio Device(s) Auzen tech X-Fi Prelude 7.1
Power Supply Hiper 880w
Software Vista 32(general use and dx10 gaming), XP 64(gaming).
#16
id say one of the pins thats connected to the a channel is snapped. id check your cpu, let it heat up a bit before removing hs to make it easier to remove, with gentle twisting it should come off easy,
HELL YEAH!!! I looked at it before and saw nothing but after you said that I decided to get the magnifying glass out and one of those little bastards was bent!!! I got out my eyeglass repair kit and used the tiny screw driver to fix it and now it works fine!!! hahah awesome just saved me alot of money.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
1,192 (0.30/day)
Likes
128
Location
scotland
System Name spuds K8-X2
Processor amd athlon X2 4200+ toledo s939 2794mhz 254x11 1.4 vcore
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo4-F v1.0 (MS-7125) nforce4 sata2 mod, laptop cpu heatpipe copper nb cooler
Cooling akasa evo "blue" + 90mm fan, 2x120mm front, 250mm side, 120mm rear, 120mm in psu, pci slot exhaust.
Memory OCZ Platinum XTC DDR PC3200 4GB(4x1024) @254mhz 3-3-3-8 2T
Video Card(s) sapphire HD3870 512mb GDDR4 vf900cu, several ramsinks on components / nvidia 7300gt 256mb secondary
Storage hitachi 160gb (slightly fried) / hitachi 120gb ATA / Seagate 160gb / 2x ps3 seagate 60gb
Display(s) CTX EX1300F 20" flat CRT, 1280x1024@100hz / 19" benq FP91G X / 19" hanns-g (all free)
Case mesh server/gaming black case, 9x 5.25' drive bays, silvestone auto fan controller
Audio Device(s) onboard realtek alc850 7.1/soundblaster LIVE! ct4780 + kxaudio - sony home theatre surround
Power Supply winpower 650w, system draws around 470-500w under load(+all screens)
Software win7 64bit
Benchmark Scores ~16m trips/sec using mty trip generator. triple monitor gaming using SoftTH. 3840x1024
#17
glad its sorted, at least it wasnt snapped off completely,
 

rick22

New Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2006
Messages
628 (0.15/day)
Likes
29
System Name bubba
Processor e something
Motherboard old but good mobo
Cooling my farts
Memory can't find it
Video Card(s) EVGA 250 took a shit..back to my 4850..fk off ati fanboys
Storage i think i have one
Display(s) not sure but it sucks
Case lol my mouth
Audio Device(s) me
Power Supply ass farts
Software that sucks to
Benchmark Scores i'm so fat i sat on the bench and smashed assssit
#18
please tell us whats wrong in 20 words or less..ty