• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Western Digital Announces Caviar Green 2.5 TB and 3 TB SATA Hard Drive

Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
205 (0.06/day)
Likes
45
Location
Richmond,VA
Processor FX8350 @ 4.6ghz
Motherboard MSI 990FX-GD80 v2
Cooling Hyper 212 evo
Memory 16gb G.Skill 1866 8-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 7950
Storage Samsung 512GB 850 Pro SSD ; 3 x 1TB Seagate Drives Standalone
Display(s) Twin Dell E2215H
Case Rosewill Blackhawk Ultra
Power Supply Seasonic 850X Full Modular
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#26
Never had a WD drive go bad on me...ever. I still have some WD IDE drives running.
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
63 (0.01/day)
Likes
20
Location
Sweden
#27
Is it possible to use this as a boot drive if you create two partitions and make the boot partition smaller than 2TB on a normal BIOS mainboard that does not support EFI?
 

Nibrok

New Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2010
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name Rocker
Processor i7 920 @ 4.2g
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth X58
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600 (12gb) 7-7-7-20
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX570 OC
Storage Intel X25-M SSD (160gb)
Display(s) HP 24" w2407
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX650
Software Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
#28
Just picked up (5) 2tb Samsung F4 drives for a raid 5 array @ $95 each and they are smokin fast. Also, I have a 5tb raid box all with 1gb WD Green drives and never had a problem with them. Although I will have to agree with the other person who post about the sequential write speeds with the WD's, they are slooooooooooooooooow.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,059 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,123
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
#29
My real reason: because they're 3TB.

I do like WD, but also Seagate and the others who are still producing today. There is one exception -Samsung- who I haven't bought yet (but I have a couple 2TB drives in my cart right now).

My rough estimate counting personal and work systems that I oversaw in the last eight years, 2 bad drives in 900. Even had good luck with Deathstars. I had them in air-cooled bays, so the idea that it may have been a heat issue with them seems plausible. Don't know if an official reason was ever given by IBM or not. Not that it's important now.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
887 (0.24/day)
Likes
137
Location
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Processor Intel Xeon X5670 Hexa-core @ 4.6GHz @ 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD7
Cooling Swiftech H20 (w/Custom External Rad Enclosure)
Memory 6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill Trident 2000Mhz + 6GB (3x2GB) Corsair 1600Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 SC
Storage 1TB Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) Samsung BX2440 (24" LED Backlit)
Case Cooler Master 690 (w/Mods)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 750-TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (x64)
#30
i hope you have a computer with EFI instead of a BIOS, cause otherwise you wont be able to use one of these as a system drive.
So that's good news to Mac owners (except for the lack of BootCamp support), since all modern Macs use EFI. I'm sure a lot of professionals will be looking forward to the added drive space.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#31
As if you would want to use one of these as your main drive. Get an SSD and use this as storage, obviously. As for data loss, you'll find more and more people are making sure to backup their vital data, either with an external enclosure or a NAS. I myself would be interested in having 2 of the Black series (once they are out) as internal drives and then using a NAS with 2 of these Green variants as backup. But I'll need to wait for the premium to be knocked off the price.

EDIT: After reading Anand's review, he is suggesting the same thing:

But I wouldn't recommend using it as a boot/application drive, the random performance and even light workload performance just doesn't measure up. The 3TB drive (or a pair of them in RAID 1) would be a great companion to an SSD for all of your mass storage needs.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,373 (2.57/day)
Likes
5,816
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#32
The problem is with Windows actually, not BIOS itself. At least so i heard in some other thread.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
1,625 (0.35/day)
Likes
552
Location
The Pico Mundo Grill
System Name Commercial towing vehicle Nostromo
Processor R7 1700X Base Clock @4.000.000.000 Hz
Motherboard Crosshair Hero VI (BIOS 1701)
Cooling Hydro H110i V2 High Performance
Memory 2x8 GB Dominator CMD16GX4M2B3200C16 v4.31
Video Card(s) 970 STRIX
Storage 960 EVO M2 500 GB w. EKWB EK-M.2 NVMe nickel heatsink / UV400 480 GB / Red PRO 4 TB
Display(s) VG248QE
Case HAF XB
Audio Device(s) Onboard / JDS Labs O2 AMP / K550 headphones
Power Supply AX 860
Mouse KANA
Keyboard K60
Software Win 10 Pro x64 / KIS 2018
Benchmark Scores 2141 lightyears per hour.......
#33
i've had many WD blacks die on me for no reason. they just fried overnight, in the same enclosures that seagates and samsungs still run fine in.

WD blacks are barely faster than my 5,400RPM samsung 2TB's - if that.


WD cost more, use more power, make more heat, and arent any faster than samsung - so i see no reason to go them.

oh and as for their green drives which negate some of those problems.... SLOOOOOOOOOOOOOW at sequential writes. from personal experience, never again.
Hmmm....that works the other way around for me......
I never had a prob. with my WD´s, but two of my four Samsungs F1 (1TB) died on me ... They are in the same enclosure as my Caviar Black 2TB´s.....
and when we are @ it .... I still have two 74 GB Raptors running, and they are 7 years old.....so I´ll stik with WD.....
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
1,534 (0.57/day)
Likes
200
Location
Britland
System Name Gaming temp// HTPC
Processor AMD A6 5400k // A4 5300
Motherboard ASRock FM2A75 PRO4// ASRock FM2A55M-DGS
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-D1284 // stock phenom II HSF
Memory 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance // 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance low profile
Storage 64gb sandisk pulse SSD and 500gb HDD // 500gb HDD
Display(s) acer 22" 1680x1050
Power Supply Seasonic G-450 // Corsair CXM 430W
#34
The problem is with Windows actually, not BIOS itself. At least so i heard in some other thread.
I thought it was a problem with both but to be honest i really dont have much of an idea about the causes of the 2.19tb limit.

From the legit reviews review
"The WD Caviar Green 2.5TB and 3TB drives have capacities in excess of 2.19 TB and this presents barriers for PC hardware, firmware and software. To get around these issues WD is bundling its WD Caviar Green 2.5 and 3 TB hard drives with an Advanced Host Controller Interface (AHCI)-compliant Host Bus Adapter (HBA), which will enable the operating system to use a known driver with correct support for large capacity drives."

In the review they used the drive as a secondairy and used the included pci-e to connect the drive to the test setup so i would assume the os is a major problem but have no clue if it could be used as a primary drive even with the included adaptor :confused: I have no idea, what about 2 2tb drives raided, does that not cause problems due to the os seeing it as a single 4tb drive? :confused:

I give up :laugh:
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,122 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,550
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#35
The problem is with Windows actually, not BIOS itself. At least so i heard in some other thread.
its two problems

windows cant use partitions above 2TB except in 64 bit
BIOS cant boot from partitions (or is it drives?) that are greater than 2TB
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2010
Messages
68 (0.02/day)
Likes
12
#36
* To boot from this (>2,2 TB) drive you need a 64-bit OS (Vista/7) and UEFI.
* To use it (>2,2 TB) as a secondary drive without UEFI you need Vista/7 and the HBA controller.
* The disk must be partitioned with GPT to use more than 2,2 TB due to the limitations of MBR.

Gathered from WD and Wiki, please correct me if I'm wrong.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2009
Messages
467 (0.15/day)
Likes
89
Location
TR
Processor C2duo e6750@ 2800mhz
Motherboard GA-P43T-ES3G
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x2Gb Kingstone HyperX DDR3 1600 (KHX1600C9D3K2/4GX )
Video Card(s) HIS HD 6870
Storage samsung HD103SJ
Case Xigmatek Utgard
Audio Device(s) X-FI Titanium Pci-e
Power Supply Xigmatek NRP-PC702 700W
Software win7 ultimate -64bit
#37
Another problem is external Hdd cases ,none of them on market can see more than 2TB atm iirc
its two problems

windows cant use partitions above 2TB except in 64 bit
BIOS cant boot from partitions (or is it drives?) that are greater than 2TB
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#38
its two problems

windows cant use partitions above 2TB except in 64 bit
BIOS cant boot from partitions (or is it drives?) that are greater than 2TB
That's why Windows 7 setup prompts you to create that 100 MB boot partition, so that BIOS boots from a 100 MB logical drive.
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,261 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,451
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
#39
I still don't get why anyone would want to boot from these drives? Their sher size will now effect speed. I would never use a drive larger than 1 TB as a system drives cause I just don't see a reason to do it.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
1,534 (0.57/day)
Likes
200
Location
Britland
System Name Gaming temp// HTPC
Processor AMD A6 5400k // A4 5300
Motherboard ASRock FM2A75 PRO4// ASRock FM2A55M-DGS
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-D1284 // stock phenom II HSF
Memory 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance // 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance low profile
Storage 64gb sandisk pulse SSD and 500gb HDD // 500gb HDD
Display(s) acer 22" 1680x1050
Power Supply Seasonic G-450 // Corsair CXM 430W
#40
I still don't get why anyone would want to boot from these drives? Their sher size will now effect speed. I would never use a drive larger than 1 TB as a system drives cause I just don't see a reason to do it.
Obviously it's the same kind of people who would want 2 in raid 0 for a 6tb boot drive :laugh:
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2009
Messages
467 (0.15/day)
Likes
89
Location
TR
Processor C2duo e6750@ 2800mhz
Motherboard GA-P43T-ES3G
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x2Gb Kingstone HyperX DDR3 1600 (KHX1600C9D3K2/4GX )
Video Card(s) HIS HD 6870
Storage samsung HD103SJ
Case Xigmatek Utgard
Audio Device(s) X-FI Titanium Pci-e
Power Supply Xigmatek NRP-PC702 700W
Software win7 ultimate -64bit
#41
We have to one day ,hdds over 2TB will be norm someday and we will see a lot of people coming and asking why they are having problem(s) .Not just for today .

I still don't get why anyone would want to boot from these drives? Their sher size will now effect speed. I would never use a drive larger than 1 TB as a system drives cause I just don't see a reason to do it.