1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

what am3 board and DDR3 shall i go for?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Reefer86, Oct 5, 2009.

  1. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,511 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    UK
    hi, guys

    Im sending back my DFI DK M2rs as the small screen as the bottom that gives numbers has stopped working, now ebuyer dont stock this board and once again they will be giving me the cash back. Seems like a perfect time to upgrade to AM3 and grab some DDR3. I will have a AM3 chip arriving also and a water cooling loop.

    I have no real knowledge of DDR3, ie i know lower latencies are better but should i go for triple or dual channel is there much of a difference? Which ones are the best to go for?

    What boards are people using now and what boards are known as being the best. money isnt the issue as i will have £130 coming back to me and i dont mind spending a little more if it 'the best' board to get.

    Any feedback or recommendations would be appreciated.

    Thanks Reefer.
     
  2. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,511 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    UK
    no one got a view? or help?
     
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,758
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    triple channel is for intel 1336 only.


    as for DDR3 specifics, i dont know - wait for someone with more knowledge on the matter.

    and cmon, you only gave it 30 minutes... one bump every 24 hours.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    15,255 (4.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,496
    ah triple channel will work in an AMD board, just its matched set is all, only thing is you pay way more for triple channel than getting 2 dual channel sets.
     
  5. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,511 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    UK
    is there any real performance boost between triple and dual channel tho apart from the huge price. Is there any real speed etc i should be going for or?
     
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,642 (5.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,745
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Not much of a difference between triple and dual channel here but the main point has been covered. No triple channel on AM3.

    At minimum please look into getting a 2x2GB DDR3 kit. :) What's your price range?
     
  7. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,511 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    UK
    always go for bang for buck really, i dont have a price range at all but i also dont spend money just for the sake of it. Like if something is worth 50quid more for the future proofing or for the performance value then i will go for it. I dont normally go for the 'that will do' as im a keen over clocker and buying a bad kit will just hold me back...and in turn i will have to upgrade and cost me more money.
     
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,642 (5.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,745
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  9. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,814 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    For mobos, MSI GD70 is awesome, greater clocker and cheaper than the board I got, which is the Asus ROG Crosshair 2. The board I have is bad ass but I haven't installed it yet, will probably mess with it before I leave out this weekend to Canton OHIO (football HOF BABY!). Memory GSkill has some wicked kits out. I got a 2x2GB DDR3 1600 kit for like 90 bucks off the egg, its the trident. Their Rip Jaws are good though. OCZ has some black AMD kits that are pretty awesome with nice latencies. Kingston or Corsair Dominator GTs are also good but youll pay for more them.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,401 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,410
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Like said the GD-70 is awesome, over here its the cheapest of the top end boards and is amazing. But can't go wrong with the M4A79 or the ROG, or the Gigabyte, all the AM3 790FX boards are really top notch products.
     
  11. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13,391 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,258
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    The MSI 790FX-GD70 is great, as everybody else has said. So is the MA-790FXT UD5P, which I would probably choose because I wasn't too happy with my MSI board. Another excellent option is the Asus M4A79T Deluxe.
     
    Reefer86 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,511 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    UK
    the gigabyte UD5P makes me do a sex wee in my pants! love that board so sexy! But then i love the black on the MSI. I will be having a blue loop tho so black or blue would be great.

    So as long as i go for one of them i should be good, hmmm ebuyer only stock the asus and the Gigabyte... so i think i might go for the Gigabyte

    The dominators are so sexy but carry a huge price tag imo, there are some nice Gskill kits and also some nice OCZ kits around rated at 1600mhz at 8-8-8-24

    or some nice patriots at 7-7-7-20 1600mhz they look dam nice, and nice price tag

    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=MY-023-PA&groupid=701&catid=8&subcat=1387


    But i know there is faster ddr3 out there so should i be going for the fastest stuff to ensure future proof. As when ddr2 came out i bought 800 when i should have gone for 1066
     
  13. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,996 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    470
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    For AMD you really want to keep the latency as low as possible, so those DDDR3 1600 looks fine.

    If you are looking at the bang for the buck, this DFI 790FX is nice.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813136067
     
    Reefer86 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,511 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    UK
    that DFI board is really nice im sending back my 790gx am2 dfi , but ebuyer the place that i have to exchange for another board isnt stocking the DFI AM3 atm.
     
  15. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,941 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,203
    Location:
    Watauga, Texas
    I have all 790FX boards mentioned (currently running Asus, MSI being shipped to El Fiendo, and Giga board sitting at a friends) and id say the MSI is the best.

    As for RAM ive always ran G.Skill since DDR days.

    The Dominator GTs are nice, but id say get some Ripjaw 1600s. The blue and black ones (to go with your color)

    Just an FYI the Phenom II setups arent about speed but more tighter timings. Im running my G.SKill 2000s at 1600 7-7-7-18.
     
    Reefer86 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,401 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,410
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I'm not sure what 73 pounds is compared o US prices, but over here G.Skill has some 4GB (2x2GB) sticks that are DDR3 2000mhz for $99 I believe Ripsaws. They also have some DDR3 1800 for like $90, that 2000mhz stuff is dirt cheap, but they might not offer it over there.
     
    Reefer86 says thanks.
  17. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,511 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    UK
    thanks alot guys, i will see what i can dig up and let you know, but now i know what im looking for :)
     
  18. inf3rno

    inf3rno

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    415 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Now you have a clear picture boy. :D
     
    Reefer86 says thanks.
  19. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,511 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    UK
    shall i take the Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P 790FX or the ASUS M4A79T Deluxe 790FX Socket AM3 as i am sending my board back on monday and have to choose a replacement. i have taken it down to these two boards.
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2009
  20. inf3rno

    inf3rno

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    415 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Both boards are solid but I ll go for the asus one.
     
    Reefer86 says thanks.
  21. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,511 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    UK
    ASUS M4A78T-E 790GX i suppose this could be an option and offset the price of the ddr3
     
  22. inf3rno

    inf3rno

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    415 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Pakistan
    But the board supports DDR3 1600.

    So be careful choosing your 2000 bus speed memory.
     
  23. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,511 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    UK
    i dont understand what you mean?
     
  24. pantherx12

    pantherx12

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,718 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,701
    Location:
    Suffolk/Essex, England
    Reefer I've got DDR3 for sale at the moment, ddr1333mhz but it clocks to 1600mhz with very little voltage increase.
     
  25. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    5,002 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,737
    If your wanting to play with the "I want to unlock core(s)" bug then I'd go for the Gigabyte board over a Asus. Asus boards just plain suck when it comes to using ACC on the Sempron 140, X2's, and X3's. Remember though some proc cores are just defective and just will not unlock stable. I wouldn't waste money getting a triple channel set of ram and especially getting ram w/ ratings 1800-above because running a set @ 1600 and then 1800-above, you are not going to notice a difference and alot of 1333 kits can hit 1800-2000.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)