• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What are the different FX-8350 clock speeds?

Joined
Sep 27, 2016
Messages
37 (0.07/day)
Likes
4
Processor Ryzen 5 1600X @ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard MSI B350M Mortar Arctic
Cooling Corsair H60 Liq. Cooler
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengance XPL
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1070 SSC
Storage Crucial BX200 480GB
Display(s) 32" Samsung
Case Corsair Carbide Air 240 White
Audio Device(s) Altec Lansing 3-way (legacy)
Power Supply 750W Rosewell Hive Gaming
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win10 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores Timespy 6068 Fiestrike 16054
#1
I know that the 8350 doesn't do 4.2GHz if all 4 modules (8 cores) are active. But what is the breakdown between the base clock of 4GHz and 4.2GHz as less cores are in use? I hope I'm asking this right.
i.e. if 4 cores are active, is the clock speed 4.1GHz?
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
1,984 (4.82/day)
Likes
1,137
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD FX-6300 - 4.5 Ghz
Motherboard ASRock 970M Pro3
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - 4x4GB A-DATA 1866 Mhz (OC)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1060 Turbo 6GB ~ 2139 Mhz / 9.4 Gbps
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x 1 Tb Seagate something or other
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
#2
The clocks are governed by power consumption.

FX CPUs have basically two stages of "turbo boost". One which applies on all cores and one which applies on half.

On my 6300 it was something like 3.8 Ghz on all 6 cores and it was supposed to reach 4.1 on half (though it never did for some reason). Turbo Core is glitchy and doesn't work properly like most other clock "boost" technologies. I suggest turning it off and setting the clocks manually to the highest boost value while leaving the voltage at stock and disabling APM.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2016
Messages
37 (0.07/day)
Likes
4
Processor Ryzen 5 1600X @ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard MSI B350M Mortar Arctic
Cooling Corsair H60 Liq. Cooler
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengance XPL
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1070 SSC
Storage Crucial BX200 480GB
Display(s) 32" Samsung
Case Corsair Carbide Air 240 White
Audio Device(s) Altec Lansing 3-way (legacy)
Power Supply 750W Rosewell Hive Gaming
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win10 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores Timespy 6068 Fiestrike 16054
#3
The clocks are governed by power consumption.

FX CPUs have basically two stages of "turbo boost". One which applies on all cores and one which applies on half.

On my 6300 it was something like 3.8 Ghz on all 6 cores and it was supposed to reach 4.1 on half (though it never did for some reason). Turbo Core is glitchy and doesn't work properly like most other clock "boost" technologies. I suggest turning it off and setting the clocks manually to the highest boost value while leaving the voltage at stock and disabling APM.
Where did you find that information on your FX-6300? The stuff about the fact that it was supposed to be 4.1GHz on half?
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
1,984 (4.82/day)
Likes
1,137
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD FX-6300 - 4.5 Ghz
Motherboard ASRock 970M Pro3
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - 4x4GB A-DATA 1866 Mhz (OC)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1060 Turbo 6GB ~ 2139 Mhz / 9.4 Gbps
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x 1 Tb Seagate something or other
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
#4
Where did you find that information on your FX-6300? The stuff about the fact that it was supposed to be 4.1GHz on half?
I do not think they explicitly explain how it works anywhere but that's the gist of it , 2 boost frequency are available one for all cores and one for when half of them are being used.

https://www.amd.com/Documents/AMD_FX_Performance_Tuning_Guide.pdf

AMD Turbo Core Technology: AMD Turbo Core Technology and Application Power Management (APM) allow the CPU cores to run above the CPU Base clock value as long as the CPU remains within the thermal and power limits. As an example the AMD FX-8150 CPU has a base clock of 3600MHz but it can run at 3900MHz when up to 8 cores are active and at 4200MHz when up to 4 cores are active assuming it stays within the power and thermal limits. Under very heavy workloads the CPU will return to the base clock – 3600MHz in the case of AMD FX-8150 CPU.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2016
Messages
37 (0.07/day)
Likes
4
Processor Ryzen 5 1600X @ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard MSI B350M Mortar Arctic
Cooling Corsair H60 Liq. Cooler
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengance XPL
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1070 SSC
Storage Crucial BX200 480GB
Display(s) 32" Samsung
Case Corsair Carbide Air 240 White
Audio Device(s) Altec Lansing 3-way (legacy)
Power Supply 750W Rosewell Hive Gaming
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win10 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores Timespy 6068 Fiestrike 16054
#5
Ah, I see. Thank you. That must be why CPUworld.com doesn't break it down in Ghz values by cores in use.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,207 (5.19/day)
Likes
5,496
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#6
I know that the 8350 doesn't do 4.2GHz if all 4 modules (8 cores) are active. But what is the breakdown between the base clock of 4GHz and 4.2GHz as less cores are in use? I hope I'm asking this right.
i.e. if 4 cores are active, is the clock speed 4.1GHz?

4.0 is default, 4.2GHz is Turbocore function for 1 core at a time.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,555 (1.25/day)
Likes
1,069
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD FX 8350 | i7 2600 | i7 970
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ | GA-H77M-D3H | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Coolermaster Gemini with Noctua 3000RPM Fan | Big shairkan B
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600 6-8-6-24| 2x4GB Corsair 1600 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Gainward GTX 650 TI GS | ASUS 7970 Matrix
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB WD ES/WD Black | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) Samsung 2494hs 24" 1080P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Gigabyte aivia krypton gaming mouse | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
#7
4.0 is default, 4.2GHz is Turbocore function for 1 core at a time.

I would of said this too but Im pretty sure I have seen mine go up to close to 4.3Ghz (just under) on all 8cores when used hard.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,207 (5.19/day)
Likes
5,496
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#8
Joined
Sep 27, 2016
Messages
37 (0.07/day)
Likes
4
Processor Ryzen 5 1600X @ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard MSI B350M Mortar Arctic
Cooling Corsair H60 Liq. Cooler
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengance XPL
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1070 SSC
Storage Crucial BX200 480GB
Display(s) 32" Samsung
Case Corsair Carbide Air 240 White
Audio Device(s) Altec Lansing 3-way (legacy)
Power Supply 750W Rosewell Hive Gaming
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win10 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores Timespy 6068 Fiestrike 16054
#9
@ Melvis
Some CPUs might be better clocked than others out-of-the-box. For example... I've had several Evga gfx cards, and all of their GPUs ran faster than the rated base/boost clock. When I queried Evga about this, I was told that the rated base/boost speeds were just what you were guaranteed to get.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,972 (4.02/day)
Likes
6,624
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7960X 4.5GHz 16c/16t 1.2V
Motherboard MSI XPower Gaming Titanium
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) 27" Acer Predator 144hz IPS + Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#10
@ Melvis
Some CPUs might be better clocked than others out-of-the-box. For example... I've had several Evga gfx cards, and all of their GPUs ran faster than the rated base/boost clock. When I queried Evga about this, I was told that the rated base/boost speeds were just what you were guaranteed to get.
graphics cards are not cpus. Their boost works similar, but not the same. Cpus have a set limit. The boost value listed is the MINIMUM, not max, for nvidia gpus. ;)