• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

what are the resistors on the bottom of a cpu for??

Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
2,998 (0.94/day)
Likes
458
Location
vermont
System Name The wifes worst enemy
Processor i5-6600k
Motherboard gigabyte G1 gaming Z170X 6
Cooling water
Memory 16gb G.skill ripjaw DDR4 2400 4X4GB 15-15-15-35-2T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9380-X 4GB
Storage crucial M500 120GB SSD, Pny 256GB SSD, seagate 750GB, seagate 2TB HDD, WD blue 1TB 2.5" HDD
Display(s) 27 inch samsung @ 1080p but capable of much more ;)
Case Corsair AIR 540 Cube Mid tower
Audio Device(s) onboard creative x-fi
Power Supply EVGA GQ1000W MODULAR
Mouse generic for now
Keyboard generic for now
Software gotta love steam, origin etc etc
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/philbrown_23/
#1
i have an i3-550. and today when I went to put it in one of the tiny resistors just fell off, well intel refuses rma because, because before I tried it for functionality i requested rma they stated IF there is a problem with it its due to the memory on the cpu!! even though I told them a resistor just fell off!! they are truly ignorant imo, but anyways the cpu still works just like it always did before this happened. so my question is wtf are they there for if the cpu works without them??
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
921 (0.29/day)
Likes
186
Location
London, UK
Processor AMD FX 8350 Black Edition @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 Rev 4.0
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Samsung Green 16GB 30nm 1600Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) XFX HD 7950 DD 3GB @ 850/5000Mhz
Storage 240GB Intel 520 SSD + 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" QHD
Case Fractal Design R5 Black
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760W
Mouse Corsair Raptor M40
Keyboard Corsair Raptor K50
Software Windows 10 Pro
#2
how did the resistor 'just' fall off? theyre supposed to be ultra omg tight on

do some load testing and compare, if theres any difference
 

freaksavior

To infinity ... and beyond!
Joined
Dec 11, 2006
Messages
8,086 (2.01/day)
Likes
889
System Name Absolute Zero | M.A.S.S
Processor Intel i7 4770k | i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H | EVGA X58 FTW3 SLI
Cooling Phanteks ph-tc14pe | CM 212+ Push Pull
Memory Mushkin 16Gb at 2400Mhz | Corsair Vengence 6x8Gb=48Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA SC GTX 770 2Gb | Nvidia 7300GT
Storage Sandisk 256Gb Ultra Plus x 2 raid0 + 72.12 500Gb | Intel 320 80Gb 2x1.5Tb, 2x2Tb 2x.5Tb + 3 x6Tb
Display(s) Samsung 245BW + Asus PB278Q + Samsung 40" 650A | None
Case NZXT H630 |Rosewill 8bay 4u server chasiss
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar HDAV + GTX770 | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone DA800 | Rocketfish 700w aka fsp
Software Windows 7 ultimate X64 | Debian 7 wheezy
#3
i have an i3-550. and today when I went to put it in one of the tiny resistors just fell off, well intel refuses rma because, because before I tried it for functionality i requested rma they stated IF there is a problem with it its due to the memory on the cpu!! even though I told them a resistor just fell off!! they are truly ignorant imo, but anyways the cpu still works just like it always did before this happened. so my question is wtf are they there for if the cpu works without them??
complain and complain some more. You tried being nice, now go mean. or be nice again and send them a high res pic showing its not your fault.
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
2,998 (0.94/day)
Likes
458
Location
vermont
System Name The wifes worst enemy
Processor i5-6600k
Motherboard gigabyte G1 gaming Z170X 6
Cooling water
Memory 16gb G.skill ripjaw DDR4 2400 4X4GB 15-15-15-35-2T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9380-X 4GB
Storage crucial M500 120GB SSD, Pny 256GB SSD, seagate 750GB, seagate 2TB HDD, WD blue 1TB 2.5" HDD
Display(s) 27 inch samsung @ 1080p but capable of much more ;)
Case Corsair AIR 540 Cube Mid tower
Audio Device(s) onboard creative x-fi
Power Supply EVGA GQ1000W MODULAR
Mouse generic for now
Keyboard generic for now
Software gotta love steam, origin etc etc
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/philbrown_23/
#4
how did the resistor 'just' fall off? theyre supposed to be ultra omg tight on
do some load testing and compare, if theres any difference
thats what I thought m8 hence my OMGWTGBBQQ im gonna shit myself reaction when it happened. i opened it up turned it over to compare it with a lynnfield bottom and noticed one resistor was not positioned right and i touched it, VERY lightly and it just fell off!! the cpu still works and oc's the same actually it used to run stock at 1.2v now runs stock at 1.16v and oc's the same at a tad lower voltage. almost like the resistor caused the need for higher vcore for some reason :confused:

complain and complain some more. You tried being nice, now go mean. or be nice again and send them a high res pic showing its not your fault.
they state any problems with the cppu if any will be because my muhkin redlines run at 1.65v!! the are retarded, I told them they default to 1333mhz at 1.5v but they are seriously handicapped.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
2,655 (0.70/day)
Likes
775
Processor Intel i5-2500k @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO w/ AC MX-2
Memory 8GB DDR3 1866 Gskill Snipers 9-10-9-28
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X
Storage 240GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) 23' Dell AW2310
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Fatality Professional
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP2 Platinum
Software Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
#5
Now I think you should go mean...just like freaksavior said.

"Is this how you guys manufacture your CPUs?! Where is the quality control in all of this? I get a defective CPU and you guys won't even take a look at it?! I will be sure to spread word that Intel does not care about its customers whatsoever!!!"

Ok, maybe that last sentence isn't necessary, but if it gets to a point that they will not give you the time of day, then maybe.

Or better yet, ask to speak to a manager immediately. That always stirs the hairs on the back of their necks.
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
2,998 (0.94/day)
Likes
458
Location
vermont
System Name The wifes worst enemy
Processor i5-6600k
Motherboard gigabyte G1 gaming Z170X 6
Cooling water
Memory 16gb G.skill ripjaw DDR4 2400 4X4GB 15-15-15-35-2T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9380-X 4GB
Storage crucial M500 120GB SSD, Pny 256GB SSD, seagate 750GB, seagate 2TB HDD, WD blue 1TB 2.5" HDD
Display(s) 27 inch samsung @ 1080p but capable of much more ;)
Case Corsair AIR 540 Cube Mid tower
Audio Device(s) onboard creative x-fi
Power Supply EVGA GQ1000W MODULAR
Mouse generic for now
Keyboard generic for now
Software gotta love steam, origin etc etc
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/philbrown_23/
#6
im going to continue to test it if it is faulty im going to call them back and make shit happen
 

GENTLEMEN

New Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
198 (0.07/day)
Likes
21
Location
Philippines
System Name needs a new case with good cable management
Processor amd phenom II 1055t @ 3.5GHz (250 * 12)
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GA-UD3H
Cooling Thermaltake FRIO
Memory 8GB DDR3-1600 Corsair xms3 (4x2GB)
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce GTX 460 Sonic Platinum 1 GB (FINALLY)
Storage Intel x25-m 80GB (boot), Seagate 80GB + 250GB + 1tb (Hitachi) + 300gb (Raptor)
Display(s) Samsung 2233sw
Case Antec 300 (way too cramped)
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 RX 650w
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x64
#7
1. Test part by part. But even if it's all good, call their tech support or something.
2. If they do nothing but blame your parts, even if they work flawlessly, look for their supervisor

Btw, how much more OC can you get out of that thing after the resistor thing fell off?
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,822 (1.56/day)
Likes
618
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.3Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
#9
I say send it back, I did have that happen before on a E2180, and the voltage changed on it and I couldn't change it back.

then it died shortly after which is why I have a E2140 now.
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
2,998 (0.94/day)
Likes
458
Location
vermont
System Name The wifes worst enemy
Processor i5-6600k
Motherboard gigabyte G1 gaming Z170X 6
Cooling water
Memory 16gb G.skill ripjaw DDR4 2400 4X4GB 15-15-15-35-2T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9380-X 4GB
Storage crucial M500 120GB SSD, Pny 256GB SSD, seagate 750GB, seagate 2TB HDD, WD blue 1TB 2.5" HDD
Display(s) 27 inch samsung @ 1080p but capable of much more ;)
Case Corsair AIR 540 Cube Mid tower
Audio Device(s) onboard creative x-fi
Power Supply EVGA GQ1000W MODULAR
Mouse generic for now
Keyboard generic for now
Software gotta love steam, origin etc etc
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/philbrown_23/
#10
so far it poc's the same at lower voltage. only change I see is lower voltage need at the same or higher clocks. before it took 1.475v for 4.8ghz im going to shoot for that and see what happens. intel is claiming that any 1156 cpu will only run with 1.5volt ram and nothing more and if there is a problem no matter what that problem is it is due to running ram higher than 1.5v. the problem is they look up the ram models and even tjhough they default at 1.5v 1333mhz they are advertised at their XMP speeds and intel tech support doesnt know how ram, motherboards etc work. they tried telling me anything lower than an i5 750 will not run on the P55 chipset as well, which I told them they needed to check their facts because that is very untrue
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159 (3.89/day)
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#11
You could of always superglued it back on, and then sent it in for RMA. Or, the simple way is to pretend you didn't see it fall off. Factory defect is all it is. Your not an engineer, you have no clue what is supposed to be, or not be on the chip.

Just say it does not work end of story. You tried it in another machine, and it still does not work.
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
2,998 (0.94/day)
Likes
458
Location
vermont
System Name The wifes worst enemy
Processor i5-6600k
Motherboard gigabyte G1 gaming Z170X 6
Cooling water
Memory 16gb G.skill ripjaw DDR4 2400 4X4GB 15-15-15-35-2T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9380-X 4GB
Storage crucial M500 120GB SSD, Pny 256GB SSD, seagate 750GB, seagate 2TB HDD, WD blue 1TB 2.5" HDD
Display(s) 27 inch samsung @ 1080p but capable of much more ;)
Case Corsair AIR 540 Cube Mid tower
Audio Device(s) onboard creative x-fi
Power Supply EVGA GQ1000W MODULAR
Mouse generic for now
Keyboard generic for now
Software gotta love steam, origin etc etc
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/philbrown_23/
#12
i said that they state ram incompatability i told them 100 times thats not it but they insisted, im going to get the rma and when I do intel is not going to forget me thats for damn sure. i dont have the $$ to just throw away a cpu cuz intel tech/warranty support is ignorant
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159 (3.89/day)
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#13
Yea, intel hates to do RMAs that is a fact. They really drill you about your problem like your an idiot before they will do anything. I guess it's a way that they cut cost on RMAs.
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
2,998 (0.94/day)
Likes
458
Location
vermont
System Name The wifes worst enemy
Processor i5-6600k
Motherboard gigabyte G1 gaming Z170X 6
Cooling water
Memory 16gb G.skill ripjaw DDR4 2400 4X4GB 15-15-15-35-2T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9380-X 4GB
Storage crucial M500 120GB SSD, Pny 256GB SSD, seagate 750GB, seagate 2TB HDD, WD blue 1TB 2.5" HDD
Display(s) 27 inch samsung @ 1080p but capable of much more ;)
Case Corsair AIR 540 Cube Mid tower
Audio Device(s) onboard creative x-fi
Power Supply EVGA GQ1000W MODULAR
Mouse generic for now
Keyboard generic for now
Software gotta love steam, origin etc etc
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/philbrown_23/
#14
this is the resistor
 

Attachments

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159 (3.89/day)
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#15
I bet no one really knows but intel. I bet it has to do with voltages inside the chip. Sometimes those can fall off, and you will never see any problems unless you just happen to have the right caulation that required it to be correct..
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#16
i said that they state ram incompatability i told them 100 times thats not it but they insisted, im going to get the rma and when I do intel is not going to forget me thats for damn sure. i dont have the $$ to just throw away a cpu cuz intel tech/warranty support is ignorant
They aren't really ignorant..fact of the matter is that the ram company is ignorant, and doesn't tell you that using thier ram will viod your processor's warranty.

It sucks that Intel's support was ineffective at conveying this, and it sucks that companies promote overclocking with things like "Extreme" and "Black" Edition cpus, and even provide tools to overclock, but the fact of the matter is that as soon as you use many brands of memory at different speeds over 1333, or even 1066, depending on platform, you void many times not only your warranty, but also your right to any support with issues that may arise.

And it's things like this that have me saying overclocking is ruining the industry. It's just not often that these situations that show this are really taken in that context.


So, if you ever run that ram at anything over 1.5v and 1333, yes, you are SOL, as that is outside of warranty, and any other problems you might have are no longer relevant, as the warranty has already been voided.

Take the problem up with Mushkin, for selling you the ram, putting it on market. There are laws for this situation too, you know.

EDIT:

Intel XMP page said:
Δ Warning: Altering clock frequency and/or voltage may: (i) reduce system stability and useful life of the system, processor and other system components; (ii) cause the processor and other system components to fail; (iii) cause reductions in system performance; (iv) cause additional heat or other damage; and (v) affect system data integrity. Intel has not tested, and does not warranty, the operation of the processor beyond its specifications. Intel has not tested, and does not warranty, the operation of other system components beyond their industry standard specifications. Intel assumes no responsibility that the processor and other system components, including if used with altered clock frequencies and/or voltages, will be fit for any particular purpose.
http://www.intel.com/consumer/game/extreme-memory.htm


Of course, this bit is hidden on the XMP page, but it's there. XMP is NOT supported by Intel. Nor is memory using XMP profiles. Your processor has no warranty. See the above.


HAte to tell ya that, but that's the short and the long of it. Of course, if you kept the resistor, it can be repaired.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
2,998 (0.94/day)
Likes
458
Location
vermont
System Name The wifes worst enemy
Processor i5-6600k
Motherboard gigabyte G1 gaming Z170X 6
Cooling water
Memory 16gb G.skill ripjaw DDR4 2400 4X4GB 15-15-15-35-2T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9380-X 4GB
Storage crucial M500 120GB SSD, Pny 256GB SSD, seagate 750GB, seagate 2TB HDD, WD blue 1TB 2.5" HDD
Display(s) 27 inch samsung @ 1080p but capable of much more ;)
Case Corsair AIR 540 Cube Mid tower
Audio Device(s) onboard creative x-fi
Power Supply EVGA GQ1000W MODULAR
Mouse generic for now
Keyboard generic for now
Software gotta love steam, origin etc etc
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/philbrown_23/
#17
no intel told me if I get ram at 1333mhz 1.5v and it still dont work they will rma the cpu. it doesnt void the warranty they just wont rma unless it has been tested not functional with their compatability list. and i would love to see the guy that can solder the resistor that size and I wont risk putting the cpu in the oven, as of right now im cool with it its working fine at lower than stock (well before the falling resistor) voltage. the day it wont function ill rma it. but i called them baack to clarify and they clearly stated they will honor warranty IF it doesnt function with 1333mhz 1.5v ram as thats what they guarantee.

EDIT: and fact is intel uses overclocking to sell their cpu's, they sponser overclockers and shit like that just to show everyone that intel overclocks are far more superior and have been doing this since the beggining of cor2duo
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#18
Depending on which one, I coudl fix it...it's just a matter of having the right stuff to do so.


It's actually most likely a capacitor though, used to smooth out voltage to somewhere in the cpu. If it clocks better, chances are that particular connection drained current that is now being used elsewhere.



And I hear what you are saying, but the truth is that as I showed above, they have every right to deny RMA. If you do get one, you should consider yourself lucky. Everything you mention is marketing, and each little bit they promote, they cover with desclaimers, liek the one I quoted above. If they could get away with plastering naked chicks on the box for more sales, they'd do that too.
 

Necrofire

New Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
585 (0.16/day)
Likes
43
System Name Chuck
Processor Core i5-2500k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard msi P67A-C43
Cooling hyper 212, 2 120mm fans
Memory 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) XFX 6870
Storage 60GB sata3 sandforce ssd, 1TB samsung hdd
Display(s) Yamakazi Catleap
Case Possibly Antec, not sure
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 600W
#19
They are capacitors like cadaveca said.
It probably still works because that capacitor might have just been tied to ground. Redundancy.
 

freaksavior

To infinity ... and beyond!
Joined
Dec 11, 2006
Messages
8,086 (2.01/day)
Likes
889
System Name Absolute Zero | M.A.S.S
Processor Intel i7 4770k | i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H | EVGA X58 FTW3 SLI
Cooling Phanteks ph-tc14pe | CM 212+ Push Pull
Memory Mushkin 16Gb at 2400Mhz | Corsair Vengence 6x8Gb=48Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA SC GTX 770 2Gb | Nvidia 7300GT
Storage Sandisk 256Gb Ultra Plus x 2 raid0 + 72.12 500Gb | Intel 320 80Gb 2x1.5Tb, 2x2Tb 2x.5Tb + 3 x6Tb
Display(s) Samsung 245BW + Asus PB278Q + Samsung 40" 650A | None
Case NZXT H630 |Rosewill 8bay 4u server chasiss
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar HDAV + GTX770 | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone DA800 | Rocketfish 700w aka fsp
Software Windows 7 ultimate X64 | Debian 7 wheezy
#20
I always try the nice tactic first, it usually gets you further but not always. I was super nice to acer when I called them and after 20 minutes i finally raised my voice told her to get me a sup so I could order a damn battery, a few minutes later I had my battery order placed. Sometimes, you got to keep pushing. I work at host gator customer service, and when a customer starts getting mad at me 1 of 2 things happen.

A - I start being a little less nice
B - I give it to a sup to take care of.

Either way, since you've tried being nice, trying being a bit "meaner"
 

GENTLEMEN

New Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
198 (0.07/day)
Likes
21
Location
Philippines
System Name needs a new case with good cable management
Processor amd phenom II 1055t @ 3.5GHz (250 * 12)
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GA-UD3H
Cooling Thermaltake FRIO
Memory 8GB DDR3-1600 Corsair xms3 (4x2GB)
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce GTX 460 Sonic Platinum 1 GB (FINALLY)
Storage Intel x25-m 80GB (boot), Seagate 80GB + 250GB + 1tb (Hitachi) + 300gb (Raptor)
Display(s) Samsung 2233sw
Case Antec 300 (way too cramped)
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 RX 650w
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x64
#21
Well, if it WAS the ram that is the problem, it would be the first case of "ram damages cpu" that I've heard of :laugh: or you could say that it fell off when you unboxed the cpu.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#22
once my previous old athlon 3500+ cpu had been fitted in such a way that 3 pins were not in their holes and they were bent out of shape. i never noticed this till i took it out for packaging and shipping it off!! :p
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,659 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,009
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
#23
It'd be interesting if it's only purpose was to make it less power efficient when it goes beyond spec to limit overclocking. All 1156 procs seem to eat up the volts and have trouble past 4 GHz (quads at least). There's been an explanation for it in reviews, but really reviewers wouldn't know for sure, only intel would.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#24
overclocking 101 should try knocking off all the resistors and try overclocking it??
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,659 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,009
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
#25
Errr, probably not. I'd start with just trying to see if there's been any effect on longevity.