1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What did you get for Christmas?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by CjStaal, Dec 25, 2005.

  1. CjStaal

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,767 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Calverton, New York
    I got a 17" 4:3 ratio hp tft lcd flat screen :rockout: :respect: (also other things, but small, no other ocmputer parts).
    What did you guys get?
    It's vga connected and not dvi :(
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Dillinger

    Dillinger

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    282 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    John Wayne Gacy's basement
    nothign i live alone
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. DR.Death

    DR.Death New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Canada
  4. newmodder New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    669 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    british columbia
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,734 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    I got a new kit of ram, OCZ Platium PC3200 2 x 1GB... all it's doing is causing my system to crash/BSOD. No matter what settings I use it fails tests and still crashes. Must be defective.

    Think I have to RMA it now...

    -Dan
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. newmodder New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    669 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    british columbia
    voltage/overclocking

    i would check your dimm voltages. if had your system overclocked when installing these dimms it may have caused a problem,i would set you sys to stock speeds and then try again. ocz dimms can take a beating in voltage 3v and up safely and very tight timings.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,734 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    I've tried everything... loose timings, tight, higher voltage... different CPC with different timings. BF2 runs fine... but prime95 fails straight away, and I get errors in memtest. It's running a little better now, but not how it should. I'm going to test each stick individually and see if it's one causing the problems.

    Anyways, back on topic, my statement wasn't intended as a hijack. :p

    -Dan
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,685 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    1 GB OCZ High Performance DDR2 533 3-3-3-8, brings me up to 2 GB :) . Unfortunately my other 2 DIMMs are 4-4-4-11 so I'm stuck with those timmings till I can get rid of them :( .
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. infrared

    infrared

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,397 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    I got money to help pay off the money i spent on my mum's credit card for my new pc! :p
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. Steven B

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    651 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Is it the ce-6 or UCCC, eigther way dont go over 2.9v. And ussually the problem is that 3d fails while 2d is dead stable.
    Easier, tell me the timings at ddr500, 3,3,2,8 is CE-6, and liek 3,4,3,8 is UCCC.

    Also a TRC of 11 is good for utt/bh5 but try to lower it for 5-7

    Also back on topic im ordering a P5WD2-E Premuim, and some ddr2 and a new grpahics card./
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2005
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Poisonsnak New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    363 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Saskatoon, SK
    I thought the tRC of 11 was an nForce2 thing not a BH-5 thing.

    Anyway nice haul guys. I got Civilization 4 but no hardware, which is ok, I don't really like it when other people buy me hardware because I feel obligated to use it even if it sucks.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Steven B

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    651 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Not its a utt/bh5 thing, the 2 gig ics cant take it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. wtf8269

    wtf8269 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,494 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Ohio
    Which DIMMs are you using? The orange ones usually work better.

    Back on topic, I got F.E.A.R., Quake 4, and Call of Duty 2. I haven't played Quake 4 or CoD2 yet, but I've been playing F.E.A.R. at maximum settings.:)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. CjStaal

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,767 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Calverton, New York
    I have $210 I think that is enough for the p/s and case & liquid :-D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,734 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    Go here, don't want this thread to be hijacked, and being hijacked by a mod doesn't set a great example.

    My mom got me this cute cat teddy bear style thingy. When I opened it, first thing that came to mind was, aren't I a little old for this kind of thing. But it's to clean my monitor... I love it. :)

    -Dan
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Zurb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    41 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Finland
    I bought myself a new mobo: Dfi lanparty UT nf3 250gb s754
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,013 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,213
    Location:
    Canuck in Norway
    My Missus bought me a Logitech G5
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,584 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    i just got me a G15 with giftcards!
    its nice
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,585 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,063
    Location:
    Florida
    only thing really computer related a sound card in the sig (way better than the one that died (made in 98 :() so im pleased no more crackling thunder) and a new windows xp disk my other one broke :( but it comes with sp2 haha ~70mb download my @$$ (though i have dsl so it really doesnt matter :ohwell: )
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  20. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,174 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    276
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    512mb Pc3200 (laptop ram ;) )
    80gb usb hdd...
    $150+$25 arch card $
    VB step by step
    America the calender
    Logitech G7
    Laptop bag..
    Headphones
    FM transmitter
    um............
    that about sums it up :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. CjStaal

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,767 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Calverton, New York
    ^^ your quite the lucky one
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,585 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,063
    Location:
    Florida
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  23. infrared

    infrared

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,397 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    hey solaris, how did you get a replacement xp disk? The one i have's barely readable since i'm using it all the time. And it doesn't have sp2, which is just an inconvienience!

    Thanks :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,585 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,063
    Location:
    Florida
    hey buddy i got mine in best buy but i saw it at walmart when i whent like 2 days ago. dont remember how much it was low 90's maybe but ya up in the top left corner of the box says ...................Now includes Service pack 2 with advanced security features.....its so sweet now i can do somethin else productively instead of waiting for 15min for sp2.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  25. dunnleed08 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    223 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    in some sh@#%$!part of tennessee
    just wondering

    ...is this forum...where i have gotten some very good advice, mind you....full of nothing but young kids who live with their parents...?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)