• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

What do you think of this set-up?

Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.09/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#2
Everything looks in order. Don't forget the operating system, monitor, and speakers :p. I'm also not too sure about that sound card, I'd reccomend a Soundblaster X-Fi. And you have alot of money to spend on computer parts lol.
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#3
atxman1 said:
Greetings.

Is this ok? Is everything compatible? I'm a little concerned about the sound card.


Case: SilverStone TEMJIN J05B
Motherboard: Asus A8N32 SLi Deluxe
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 3700
Cooling: Nitrogon NT06
Memory: 4x 512MB Corsair XMS, DDR
Graphics: EVGA 7900 GTX
Sound: EMU 1820M
Hard drive: DiamondMax, SATA 300GB
Optical Drive: Sony DRU 820A
Power: Silverstone ST65ZF, 650W
I've just had two DiamondMax drives DOA. I'd recommend that you go for Western Digital instead.

As for sound, an X-fi would be good but if they're too expensive an Audigy 4 (OEM) like mine is very cheap now and still sounds great.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
5,289 (1.23/day)
Likes
19
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x512MB GeIL
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL
Storage 2x80GB Western Digital
Display(s) HP vs17
Case SuperTalent
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Ultra X-Finity 500 Watt
#4
Pretty good, that's fine, but like others said, change the hard drive to either Wstern Digital or SeaGate, and change the sound to SB Audigy 4. I wish I had money like you.
 

Polaris573

Senior Moderator
Joined
Feb 26, 2005
Messages
4,268 (0.91/day)
Likes
672
Location
Little Rock, USA
Processor LGA 775 Intel Q9550 2.8 Ghz
Motherboard MSI P7N Diamond - 780i Chipset
Cooling Arctic Freezer
Memory 6GB G.Skill DDRII 800 4-4-3-5
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7850 2 GB PCI-E
Storage 1 TB Seagate 32MB Cache, 250 GB Seagate 16MB Cache
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Coolermaster Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#5
I have have a maxtor HDD too, and I have to agree with everyone else get a Seagate or some other brand. I've had it less than a year and I'm starting to get errors in SMART tests.
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#6
Polaris573 said:
I have have a maxtor HDD too, and I have to agree with everyone else get a Seagate or some other brand. I've had it less than a year and I'm starting to get errors in SMART tests.
I've run checks recently on my DiamondMax9 and that passes with no problems so I'm happy enough with that. :toast:

As for the diamondmax 10s... I got two of those from ebuyer, both of them passed all of the burn in tests ect but neither would format. And maxtor wanted me to send them back to Ireland and pay for postage myself which would have been at least £10, so when you consider that the drives themselves only costed £30 it didn't seem worth it so I contacted Ebuyer and they sorted everything.

I didn't learn my lesson, I bought a Hitachi instead! How long till that fails? :laugh:
 

Polaris573

Senior Moderator
Joined
Feb 26, 2005
Messages
4,268 (0.91/day)
Likes
672
Location
Little Rock, USA
Processor LGA 775 Intel Q9550 2.8 Ghz
Motherboard MSI P7N Diamond - 780i Chipset
Cooling Arctic Freezer
Memory 6GB G.Skill DDRII 800 4-4-3-5
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7850 2 GB PCI-E
Storage 1 TB Seagate 32MB Cache, 250 GB Seagate 16MB Cache
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Coolermaster Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#7
I've had a 40GB Diamondmax for about 5 or 6 years and it's still going strong. I don't know what the deal is with the Diamondmax 10 but I'm pretty dissapointed in it.
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#8
Polaris573 said:
I've had a 40GB Diamondmax for about 5 or 6 years and it's still going strong. I don't know what the deal is with the Diamondmax 10 but I'm pretty dissapointed in it.
The other annoying thing is even though they know some of their drives have trouble they make it really hard to get hold of new firmware.
 

xman2007

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
633 (0.15/day)
Likes
4
Processor E4300@ 3.0ghz
Motherboard Asus P5B
Cooling Arctic freezer
Memory 2gb supertalent ddrII 1000 5.5.5.15
Video Card(s) Inno 3d 8800gts 320mb
Storage Seagate 320gb
Display(s) 19" widescreen tft 5ms
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) X-fi Xtreme Audio
Power Supply Hiper 430w 30a dual rails
Software Vista Ultimate
#9
atxman1 said:
Greetings.

Is this ok? Is everything compatible? I'm a little concerned about the sound card.


Case: SilverStone TEMJIN J05B
Motherboard: Asus A8N32 SLi Deluxe
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 3700
Cooling: Nitrogon NT06
Memory: 4x 512MB Corsair XMS, DDR
Graphics: EVGA 7900 GTX
Sound: EMU 1820M
Hard drive: DiamondMax, SATA 300GB
Optical Drive: Sony DRU 820A
Power: Silverstone ST65ZF, 650W

are you going to be using that for a high end music station ? otherwise why spend that kind of money on a soundcard thats ludicrous lol id go with the soundblaster xfi
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.09/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#11
My Western Digital IDE Hard Drive lasted 9 months before failing SMART tests, but that was partly my own doing :laugh:. For future reference, the manufacterors are serious when they say DO NOT TOUCH HARD DRIVE BY TOP OR BOTTOM. Also, don't move your hard drive while the system is on, and don't tweak anything while the system is on. I hope this SATA drive lasts a while...lol.
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.82/day)
Likes
102
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
#12
hehe
i have several wd hdds spanning multiple generations and sizes...i have yet to kill one
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2006
Messages
38 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#13
x1900xt would be better, just trust me on this. I have used a geforce4, fx5900, 6800ultra, 7800gtx, 9800pro, x800xt, x1800xt and the ATI offering always had better image quality and ran more smoothly.
 

FLY3R

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2006
Messages
395 (0.09/day)
Likes
41
Processor AMD 3700+ SD Core @ 2.8gHz
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Expert
Cooling Zalman
Memory G.Skill Extreme Series (2x 1GB) PC4000
Video Card(s) Evga 7800GT
Storage 80GB Seagate
Display(s) ViewSonic 20.1" Widescreen 16:9
Case CoolerMaster Centron
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 ZS Gamer
Power Supply SeaSonic 600w SLI
Software XP pro (sp2)
#14
Thats a pretty dang nice set up, but i agree an X-fi and maby a raptor for quicl loading times. just my 0.02 cents.