• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

What FPS will this system produce in crysis??? :D

Joined
Jun 8, 2007
Messages
86 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
Hertfordshire, UK
#1
Hi,

Can anyone offer some estimates on the frame rates this system will deliver in Crysis. Thanks ppl :p

# Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450
# 3 x 9800GTX Black Editions in Tri SLI
# XFX 790 SLI Motherboard
# 500GB Western Digital WD5000AAVS Caviar Green
# 1000W Zalman ZM1000-HP Dual Heatpipe Cooled Modular PSU

**Sorry Mispelling in the title. Thanks**
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
4,980 (1.39/day)
Likes
788
Location
Greensboro, NC, USA
System Name Cosmos F1000
Processor 6700K Skylake
Motherboard ASRock Z170 OC Formula
Cooling Corsair H100i, Panaflo's on case
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 2x8GB DDR4 3400
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA ACX 2.0 Superclocked GTX 980 ti SLI'd
Storage 2TB Samsung 850 Pro , 4TB WD Hard Drive
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT PG278Q 27"
Case CM Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) Realtek® ALC1150 with logitech 5.1 system (midrange quality)
Power Supply CORSAIR HXi HX1000i 1000watt
Mouse G500 Logitech
Keyboard K65 RGB Corsair Tenkeyless Cherry Red MX
Software Win7 x64 Professional
#2
You would do better with two GTX 260's or GTX 280's ;)
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
4,980 (1.39/day)
Likes
788
Location
Greensboro, NC, USA
System Name Cosmos F1000
Processor 6700K Skylake
Motherboard ASRock Z170 OC Formula
Cooling Corsair H100i, Panaflo's on case
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 2x8GB DDR4 3400
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA ACX 2.0 Superclocked GTX 980 ti SLI'd
Storage 2TB Samsung 850 Pro , 4TB WD Hard Drive
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT PG278Q 27"
Case CM Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) Realtek® ALC1150 with logitech 5.1 system (midrange quality)
Power Supply CORSAIR HXi HX1000i 1000watt
Mouse G500 Logitech
Keyboard K65 RGB Corsair Tenkeyless Cherry Red MX
Software Win7 x64 Professional
#4
I'm sure I heard that the most powerful system atm has 3 x 9800gtx's, I only have a budget of $1000 for graphics. Thanks
Scaling with that many GPU's would only be useful if that Quad gets OC'ed to 4.5Ghz+. I just doubt you will be doing that.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
4,980 (1.39/day)
Likes
788
Location
Greensboro, NC, USA
System Name Cosmos F1000
Processor 6700K Skylake
Motherboard ASRock Z170 OC Formula
Cooling Corsair H100i, Panaflo's on case
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 2x8GB DDR4 3400
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA ACX 2.0 Superclocked GTX 980 ti SLI'd
Storage 2TB Samsung 850 Pro , 4TB WD Hard Drive
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT PG278Q 27"
Case CM Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) Realtek® ALC1150 with logitech 5.1 system (midrange quality)
Power Supply CORSAIR HXi HX1000i 1000watt
Mouse G500 Logitech
Keyboard K65 RGB Corsair Tenkeyless Cherry Red MX
Software Win7 x64 Professional
#6
So it would not produce that high a frame rates then ???
It would produce very high frames! ;)


Two GTX 280's should do alot better than 3 9800gtx's. Two GTX 260's should do a little better than 3 9800gtx's.

It depends on the prices of them in your area really.;)
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2007
Messages
86 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
Hertfordshire, UK
#7
Thanks, can you give me a guestimate on the frames it would deliver in crysis? :rolleyes:

260's are around $450 each for good ones and 280's are $800 each for evga's. Thanks again
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
258 (0.07/day)
Likes
48
Location
Massachusetts
Processor FX-8350
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws
Video Card(s) XFX 7870
Storage 120GB OCZ SSD, 2x1TB storage
Display(s) Asus 27" IPS, Samsung 23" secondary
Case Cooler Master Cosmos
Power Supply Corsair 650w
Software Win7 Ultimate
#8
Last edited:

FelipeV

New Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
95 (0.03/day)
Likes
16
Location
Brazil
Processor Core2Duo E8500@4250Mhz 8,5x500
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-E
Cooling Thermal True X 120
Memory 8GB Gskill F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ @ 1000Mhz
Video Card(s) PowerColor HD 4870X2
Storage 2x320GB R0 + 2x80GB
Display(s) AOC 212va 22"
Case Asys Freedom
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software Vista Business 64/ W7 RC7100 64
#10
Thats a GTX280 runing Crysis at Very High settings unde Vista 32 resolution 1280x960, Q6600 @ 3.33Ghz

http://youtube.com/watch?v=GEwpoD-ucKs

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/GEwpoD-ucKs&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/GEwpoD-ucKs&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

EDIT: What I´m doing wrong ? video is not showing ?

My friend did a lot of videos showing his new GTX280, the page is um portuguese, but you just have to wath the videos ;)
http://www.framebuffer.com.br/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2343
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,114 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#11
Ok, but can anyone offer any frame rate predictions ??????? Thanks
we can give guesses. they wont be accurate. The duration of the game lasts a few hours, and its open ended. if you played the whole game looking at your feet your FPS would be a lot different to someone who climbs every hill to get a height advantage in game, or a person who blows up ever last explosive item they can find.

As has been said: GTX 280's are more cost efficient, as we know they are faster in general. we cant make up numbers without someone actually having the exact system you're talking about, which no one here does. most of us use weaker GPU's and faster (OC'd) CPU's.

tri SLI is simply rare because it doesnt scale very well yet, and doesnt provide much benefit over dual cards.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#12
If your gonna be playing other games, two HD 4870X2's would be better along with a Intel X48 chipset. Crossfire scales alot better than SLi. Tho the GTX280 is probably better, crossfire scales almost 80% performance with 3 cards.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,490 (0.93/day)
Likes
571
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor 3770K @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5H
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 8GB DDR3 @ 2000MHz 10-10-10-28 1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 8GB Gaming
Storage Crucial M4 128 Gb + 4TB
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Corsair HX 620W
Software Windows 10 x64
#13
If you have a buget of $1000/£500 for graphics then I would get a single GTX280 or maybe 2 if you can find a bargain. Crysis doesn't scale particularly well with multi-GPU setups andway so you might want to consider waiting a month for the 4870x2 if Crysis performance is all you care about.

There are several custom configs including one here in the games secion which give you the same/higher quality than "very high" in the options and a good framerate (30-40) with a 4870.
 

aCid888*

New Member
Joined
May 19, 2008
Messages
2,754 (0.79/day)
Likes
630
Location
In a state of flux...
#14
Why you want eVGA I've got no idea, a 280 can be had from ocUK for £264.36 + VAT and that's probably not even the cheapest you can find them.

I'd go with the 260 as it can be had for £193.86 from the same site! get two of these and I'm sure you wont be crying your getting just 20fps in Crysis (who wants to play this game anyway??).

Or just go ATI and stop even thinking about nVidia until they get their head out of their ass and lower prices some more as the ATI 4870 can be had for only £175.06...and that's not too bad for UK prices.
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2007
Messages
86 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
Hertfordshire, UK
#15
To be honest I'm not going to be playing crysis loads. More than likely I'll be playing COD4, Battlefield 2142, Need For Speed, Rome Total War, Wolfenstein etc. So I used Crysis as a top benchmark.
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.07/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#16
To be honest I'm not going to be playing crysis loads. More than likely I'll be playing COD4, Battlefield 2142, Need For Speed, Rome Total War, Wolfenstein etc. So I used Crysis as a top benchmark.
Well cod4 will be easy at highest res and settings, bf2142 same and the rest could be handled in about 100fps.
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2007
Messages
86 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
Hertfordshire, UK
#17
I was thinking of paying the extra and getting 2 XFX 280GTX XXX Editions at £710 total. What do people think ?? I'm going to be purchasing a 'CoolIT cpu watercooler' so I can overclock the CPU to 3.8ghz.
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2005
Messages
3,100 (0.66/day)
Likes
813
System Name TheReactor
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.95ghz - delid
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VIII Genie z170
Cooling EK EVO NIckle/Pump, 2xBlackIce GTX 240's
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz Cas 14
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980ti Gaming 6G
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Display(s) HP ZR30W - 2560X1600
Case Corsiar 550
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Antec Quattro 1000W
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair Gaming k70
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#18

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.07/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#19
I was thinking of paying the extra and getting 2 XFX 280GTX XXX Editions at £710 total. What do people think ?? I'm going to be purchasing a 'CoolIT cpu watercooler' so I can overclock the CPU to 3.8ghz.
I got my q6600 to 3.8 on air so I think you could get more out of it. Erm the 280's look a good purchase for future games but even one would do for the games you want to play atm.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
4,434 (1.29/day)
Likes
1,050
Location
Clifton Park, NY
System Name [Uber Noober Setup]
Processor [i7 3770K]
Motherboard [MSI P67A-G45(B3)]
Memory [32GB Corsair Vengeance (8GBx4)]
Video Card(s) [EVGA GTX 1080]
Storage [128GB OCZ VTX4 SSD, 2TB Internal HDD]
Display(s) [2x 27" ASUS at 1920x1080p - 1x 34" Samsung at 1440p]
Case [Coolermaster CM 690]
Audio Device(s) [X-Fi XtremeGamer]
Power Supply [CORSAIR 850W]
Software [Windows 10 64-Bit]
#21
u dont need to spend that much on gpu's if those r the games ur playing... i have 1 9800gtx amp ed. and i run crysis on high setting smooth with no hiccups


and its generally fps not frps
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
4,434 (1.29/day)
Likes
1,050
Location
Clifton Park, NY
System Name [Uber Noober Setup]
Processor [i7 3770K]
Motherboard [MSI P67A-G45(B3)]
Memory [32GB Corsair Vengeance (8GBx4)]
Video Card(s) [EVGA GTX 1080]
Storage [128GB OCZ VTX4 SSD, 2TB Internal HDD]
Display(s) [2x 27" ASUS at 1920x1080p - 1x 34" Samsung at 1440p]
Case [Coolermaster CM 690]
Audio Device(s) [X-Fi XtremeGamer]
Power Supply [CORSAIR 850W]
Software [Windows 10 64-Bit]
#23
Yeah I Know, thats why I said I maid a spelling mistake b4
missed it, my mistake. But the only reason to have 3 9800gtx's is for benching or to enlarge ur e-peen
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.07/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#25
what temp is it running at idle and on load ?? Thanks
20's idle 38 max and thats a thermalight ultra 120 extreme with a 190 cfm fan.

Edit E-peen means e-penis e.g making yourself look better on the internet because you have a beefy pc. The idea that someone is showing off there epenis is to be honest childish, The reason one might have 3 9800GTX's is because they like to have the best performance or benchmarking and I don't see a problem with that.
 
Last edited: