• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

What happened to the GTX680 bioses in the database?

Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Messages
907 (0.29/day)
Likes
85
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5h
Cooling XSPC Raystrom
Memory 4x4GB DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) 7950 crossfire
Storage a few
Display(s) 27" Catleap
Case Xigmatek Elysium
Audio Device(s) Xonar STX
Power Supply Seasonic X1050
Software Windows 7 X64
#1
I've been stalking the TPU VGA bios collection waiting for the EVGA SSC bios to pop up and I noticed that there are only two GTX 680 bioses listed at the moment. There were twelve or so yesterday. :confused:
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,023 (3.43/day)
Likes
17,875
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#2
kepler bioses dumped with gpuz do not work correctly. nvidia has introduced a new bios format with kepler.. save bioses with nvflash (from our dl section, only dos version at this time).

i dumped the two bioses listed myself. if you have a gtx 680 with a different bios, please save it using nvflash and email it to me (w1zzard@techpowerup.com)

also changed in the bios collection today:
- files are now called .rom so people dont post requests: "please convert my bios to rom".
- also added proper parsing for kepler bioses with boost clocks
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Messages
907 (0.29/day)
Likes
85
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5h
Cooling XSPC Raystrom
Memory 4x4GB DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) 7950 crossfire
Storage a few
Display(s) 27" Catleap
Case Xigmatek Elysium
Audio Device(s) Xonar STX
Power Supply Seasonic X1050
Software Windows 7 X64
#3
Thanks for the info. I just dumped my bios and sent it to you. Now I just need to find someone with an EVGA ssc bios to do the same.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,023 (3.43/day)
Likes
17,875
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#4
thanks, added
 
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
2,516 (0.91/day)
Likes
680
Location
Canada
System Name m1dg3t | DeathBox | HairPi 3
Processor 3570k @ 4.0 1.15v BIOS | q9550 @ 3.77 1.325v BIOS
Motherboard Asrock z77e iTX | p5q Dlx 2301 BIOS
Cooling Custom Water | D-14 & HR-03gt | Passive HSF
Memory Samsung MV-3V4G3D 4g x 2 @ 1866 1.35v | OcZ RpR 2g x 4 @ 1067 2.2v
Video Card(s) MSi 7950 tf3 @1000 / 1350 | Asus 5870 V2 @ 900 / 1275
Storage Adata sx900 256Gb / WD 2500 HHTZ | WD 1001 FALS x 2
Display(s) BenQ gw2750hm | 46" Sharp Quatron
Case BitFenix Prodigy - m0dd3d | Antec Fusion Remote MAX
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink > Yamaha HTR 6290 | Xonar HDAV1.3 > Yamaha DSP z7
Power Supply Ocz mXp700w | Ocz zx850w | Cannakit 5v 2.5a
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G9x - Cable Repaired
Keyboard TT Meka G1 - Black w Cherry Blacks| Logitech G11
Software Win7 Home | Xp sp3 & Vista ultimate | Raspbian
Benchmark Scores Epeen!! Who needs epeen??
#5
I thought that nothing could be done with these BIOSes because of the digital signature or whatever :confused: Or did i misinterpret and you can swap BIOS from 1 card to another but just can not edit the stock BIOS?
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Messages
907 (0.29/day)
Likes
85
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5h
Cooling XSPC Raystrom
Memory 4x4GB DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) 7950 crossfire
Storage a few
Display(s) 27" Catleap
Case Xigmatek Elysium
Audio Device(s) Xonar STX
Power Supply Seasonic X1050
Software Windows 7 X64
#6
I thought that nothing could be done with these BIOSes because of the digital signature or whatever :confused: Or did i misinterpret and you can swap BIOS from 1 card to another but just can not edit the stock BIOS?
I think that its like AMD did with their 6xxx series and probably 7xxx series. You can't edit the bios but you can flash a bios with a digital signature. At least thats the impression that I get.
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Messages
907 (0.29/day)
Likes
85
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5h
Cooling XSPC Raystrom
Memory 4x4GB DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) 7950 crossfire
Storage a few
Display(s) 27" Catleap
Case Xigmatek Elysium
Audio Device(s) Xonar STX
Power Supply Seasonic X1050
Software Windows 7 X64
#8
Just a higher stock clock and a higher boost clock without the need to mess with any other software. I usually like to flash a mild overclock onto my vga bios when possible.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,023 (3.43/day)
Likes
17,875
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#9
I think that its like AMD did with their 6xxx series and probably 7xxx series. You can't edit the bios but you can flash a bios with a digital signature. At least thats the impression that I get.
i think that's the case.
 
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
3
System Name スゴイ
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k
Motherboard Asrock Z77E-ITX
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 8GB Samsung 1867 MV-3V4G3D
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 680 Signature+
Storage Plextor M3 256GB
Display(s) Dell U2412M
Case SilverStone SG05BB-450
Power Supply SilverStone ST45SF
#10
Sent eVGA SC Bios via email...