• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

What is bottlenecking my system?

Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
28 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
Processor i7 3770K @4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Cooling Corsair H60 w/ 2x Noctua NF-F12 PWM Fans(Push-Pull) & Arctic Cooling MX-4 Thermal Paste
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengeance@1600Mhz
Video Card(s) 2xEVGA GTX 670
Storage 120GB OCZ Vertex/WD 1TB Caviar Black
Display(s) 2xAsus 23.6" 2MS 60Hz
Case Thermal take Overseer RX-I
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon3D
Power Supply Corsair HX750 w/ Braided Cables
#1
In games such as BF3, on outdoor maps my fps goes way down compared to maps indoors, im talking from 160+fps to 70-80. However in games such as Metro 2033 and Hitman Absolution, the FPS is stable. My specs are 2xEVGA GTX 670 FTW@Stock speeds(314.07 Drivers), i7 3770K @4.4Ghz(never goes over 45C), Corsair Vengeance RAM @1360 Mhz, 120GB SSD OCZ, Asus P8z77-V Pro and an HX750 Watt PSU by Corsair. I think it may be my ram but I'm not 100% sure because every time I clock it at 1600mhz (base clock for it) my PC crashes, even with a different motherboard inside.

Also my GPU usage in metro and hitman is always 90-100%, however in BF3(just outdoor maps/parts) the usage goes down to 60-70%

Here is a link to my RAM:

http://www.corsair.com/en/vengeance-16gb-dual-channel-ddr3-memory-kit-cmz16gx3m4a1600c9.html

Any help would be great, thanks.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
1,364 (0.72/day)
Likes
411
Location
Israel
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X UD5H
Cooling Antec H20 920
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 4x4GB 2000mhz 9-11-10-24 CR-1
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage Crucial M500 240Gb/Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) LG 29UM67 2560x1080 75hz IPS
Case Coolermaster 690
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Titanium + Sennheiser PC360
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#2
Its very odd that your pc crashes when ram is set to 1600mhz,you cpu is more than capable of running 1600mhz,what timings are you using with 1600?
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,121 (1.39/day)
Likes
892
Processor Ci7 5960X
Motherboard RVE
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS 840 with D5
Memory Some random DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 960 EVO
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Dimastech Bench EasyXL
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Software Win10
#3
Which voltage are you running the sticks at?

You should be able to run your ram at 1600 MHz with 9-9-9-24, 1.5V since they are tested for that speed.

Your BIOS probably has tighter timings set that make your system instable.

It's normal to dip down in FPS when going outdoor though, I don't know if BF3 can use more than 2GB of VRAM on 1080p but it might even be that.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
28 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
Processor i7 3770K @4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Cooling Corsair H60 w/ 2x Noctua NF-F12 PWM Fans(Push-Pull) & Arctic Cooling MX-4 Thermal Paste
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengeance@1600Mhz
Video Card(s) 2xEVGA GTX 670
Storage 120GB OCZ Vertex/WD 1TB Caviar Black
Display(s) 2xAsus 23.6" 2MS 60Hz
Case Thermal take Overseer RX-I
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon3D
Power Supply Corsair HX750 w/ Braided Cables
#4
Its very odd that your pc crashes when ram is set to 1600mhz,you cpu is more than capable of running 1600mhz,what timings are you using with 1600?
I left everything on auto(I'm not too familiar with ram) and 1.5V which is what corsair recommended
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
28 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
Processor i7 3770K @4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Cooling Corsair H60 w/ 2x Noctua NF-F12 PWM Fans(Push-Pull) & Arctic Cooling MX-4 Thermal Paste
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengeance@1600Mhz
Video Card(s) 2xEVGA GTX 670
Storage 120GB OCZ Vertex/WD 1TB Caviar Black
Display(s) 2xAsus 23.6" 2MS 60Hz
Case Thermal take Overseer RX-I
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon3D
Power Supply Corsair HX750 w/ Braided Cables
#5
Which voltage are you running the sticks at?

You should be able to run your ram at 1600 MHz with 9-9-9-24, 1.5V since they are tested for that speed.

Your BIOS probably has tighter timings set that make your system instable.

It's normal to dip down in FPS when going outdoor though, I don't know if BF3 can use more than 2GB of VRAM on 1080p but it might even be that.
I'm running them at 1.5V and I forgot to mention my video memory never goes over 1800MB and the reason my fps goes down is because my GPU usage goes down to about 50-60%, and I think that's cause by a bottleneck somewhere
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#6
wait.

outdoors is slower than indoors...who'd have thought that drawing an scene far bigger than another would have less performance!?! Call the papers!

Take some screenshots of your BIOS memory screens...let's see if we can't get you sorted there.


BTW, I see no real bottleneck, just FYI. I run 1333 MHZ ram with dual cards no problem. Sure, you can get a few more FPS, maybe, with faster ram, and faster CPU..but not really.

Try playing at stock CPU speeds, stock GPU, too.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
28 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
Processor i7 3770K @4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Cooling Corsair H60 w/ 2x Noctua NF-F12 PWM Fans(Push-Pull) & Arctic Cooling MX-4 Thermal Paste
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengeance@1600Mhz
Video Card(s) 2xEVGA GTX 670
Storage 120GB OCZ Vertex/WD 1TB Caviar Black
Display(s) 2xAsus 23.6" 2MS 60Hz
Case Thermal take Overseer RX-I
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon3D
Power Supply Corsair HX750 w/ Braided Cables
#7
wait.

outdoors is slower than indoors...who'd have thought that drawing an scene far bigger than another would have less performance!?! Call the papers!

Take some screenshots of your BIOS memory screens...let's see if we can't get you sorted there.


BTW, I see no real bottleneck, just FYI. I run 1333 MHZ ram with dual cards no problem. Sure, you can get a few more FPS, maybe, with faster ram, and faster CPU..but not really.

Try playing at stock CPU speeds, stock GPU, too.
Alright will do, maybe an older driver may be better? I may bring my OC on my CPU down to 4.2Ghz and play around with the RAM, I'll upload some screenshots shortly. Also could my GPUs want more power? Is 750watts enough? I have a solid PSU, but in Precision X I put the power target at 120% so they could take as much as they need.

Also, by low fps in outdoor scenes, this is caused because the GPU usage goes down to 60%, why is that?
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.13/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#8
outdoors is slower than indoors...who'd have thought that drawing an scene far bigger than another would have less performance!?! Call the papers!
happens to me, I guessed it was to do with gpu having to do more graphical stuff outside. even happens on benchmarks. example Heaven. :toast:
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
28 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
Processor i7 3770K @4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Cooling Corsair H60 w/ 2x Noctua NF-F12 PWM Fans(Push-Pull) & Arctic Cooling MX-4 Thermal Paste
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengeance@1600Mhz
Video Card(s) 2xEVGA GTX 670
Storage 120GB OCZ Vertex/WD 1TB Caviar Black
Display(s) 2xAsus 23.6" 2MS 60Hz
Case Thermal take Overseer RX-I
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon3D
Power Supply Corsair HX750 w/ Braided Cables
#9
ok so my ram is at 9-9-9-24-2 @1.5V but still isnt stable above 1360Mhz
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,121 (1.39/day)
Likes
892
Processor Ci7 5960X
Motherboard RVE
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS 840 with D5
Memory Some random DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 960 EVO
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Dimastech Bench EasyXL
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Software Win10
#10
You may need a bit more voltage, I don't know about SB/IVY but GENERALLY if you occupy more memory channels it takes more voltage to get stability at higher frequencies.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#11
As a test, try running the CPU at default settings and running the RAM at 1600 through the XMP profile in BIOS.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
28 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
Processor i7 3770K @4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Cooling Corsair H60 w/ 2x Noctua NF-F12 PWM Fans(Push-Pull) & Arctic Cooling MX-4 Thermal Paste
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengeance@1600Mhz
Video Card(s) 2xEVGA GTX 670
Storage 120GB OCZ Vertex/WD 1TB Caviar Black
Display(s) 2xAsus 23.6" 2MS 60Hz
Case Thermal take Overseer RX-I
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon3D
Power Supply Corsair HX750 w/ Braided Cables
#12
Solved

Played around in the BIOS, adjusted voltages/timings, overclocked underclocked, and then now all of a sudden the RAM is solid and my frame rate is much better, as well as GPU usage. I was also able to stabilize my RAM @1600MHz, 1.5V, 9-9-9-24 timing. Thanks everyone.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2011
Messages
742 (0.32/day)
Likes
331
Location
At the Pub
System Name Kaby Doll
Processor i5 7600K W.C.
Motherboard Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Hardline Acrylic W.C.
Memory 2x8GB Corsair 3000
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 Sli W.C.
Storage M.2 850 Evo 512
Display(s) 4K 40" BDM4065UC
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) Asus Zonar
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Win 10 x64 atm
#13
wait.

outdoors is slower than indoors...who'd have thought that drawing an scene far bigger than another would have less performance!?! Call the papers!

Take some screenshots of your BIOS memory screens...let's see if we can't get you sorted there.


BTW, I see no real bottleneck, just FYI. I run 1333 MHZ ram with dual cards no problem. Sure, you can get a few more FPS, maybe, with faster ram, and faster CPU..but not really.

Try playing at stock CPU speeds, stock GPU, too.
Yes this is coreect on what i was gona say. Outside has to render many more pixels.