• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

What is holding back my oc?

Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
529 (0.17/day)
Likes
20
Processor i3-4160
Motherboard msi z97 pcmate
Cooling generic
Memory 8gb ballistix
Video Card(s) evga 750 ti ftw
Storage samsung ssd 120gb + 1tb samsung
Case 210 elite
Power Supply evga 500w
Software Win 7 ultimate 64bit
#1
So i have my e4500 at 2.95 right now 268 x 11.

Ram is at ddr2-402 (i have to choose the lowest out of the three option 402,536, and 670 for system to boot). This give me ddr2-4300.

If i increase to fsb to 269, it says something about incorrect boot device and ask to restart.
If I change ram speed to, say, the second option, ddr2-536, screen won't even post at fsb 250ish.

I think it's either my mobo or my ram or both.

mobo: http://www.afterdawn.com/hardware/product_details.cfm/6806/asus_p5ld2-x_1333
ram: kingston 2gb kvr533d2n4
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2008
Messages
3,459 (1.04/day)
Likes
483
Location
95350
Processor ???
Motherboard 760
Cooling HK
Memory 3x1gb
Video Card(s) 285 Classified / EVGA 480
Display(s) 22" Acer /42" Toshiba
Case Stacker
Power Supply Toughpower 1000w / Coolmaster 650w
Software All of them
#2
Incorrect boot device is you have 2 hdd and your booting the hard drive without the os or a cable is loose somewere on the hdd
What cooler do you have on the CPU?
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
529 (0.17/day)
Likes
20
Processor i3-4160
Motherboard msi z97 pcmate
Cooling generic
Memory 8gb ballistix
Video Card(s) evga 750 ti ftw
Storage samsung ssd 120gb + 1tb samsung
Case 210 elite
Power Supply evga 500w
Software Win 7 ultimate 64bit
#3
i only have 1 hdd and the freezer 7 keeping my e4500 at 23'C idle
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#4
Incorrect boot device is you have 2 hdd and your booting the hard drive without the os or a cable is loose somewere on the hdd
What cooler do you have on the CPU?
Or the controller shitting out because of the bus speed. Is there some option for a PCI lock? Are you touching the PCI-e clock?
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2008
Messages
3,459 (1.04/day)
Likes
483
Location
95350
Processor ???
Motherboard 760
Cooling HK
Memory 3x1gb
Video Card(s) 285 Classified / EVGA 480
Display(s) 22" Acer /42" Toshiba
Case Stacker
Power Supply Toughpower 1000w / Coolmaster 650w
Software All of them
#5
give the northbridge a bump in volts
also make sure the timmings on the ram are default and the voltage for the ram also

it could be you maxed out the of or hit a fsb hole
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
529 (0.17/day)
Likes
20
Processor i3-4160
Motherboard msi z97 pcmate
Cooling generic
Memory 8gb ballistix
Video Card(s) evga 750 ti ftw
Storage samsung ssd 120gb + 1tb samsung
Case 210 elite
Power Supply evga 500w
Software Win 7 ultimate 64bit
#6
i think i leave it at auto. Now that you say it, I remember reading something about changing pci and pci-e speed when i first learn to oc...i remember something about setting it at 90...
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2008
Messages
3,459 (1.04/day)
Likes
483
Location
95350
Processor ???
Motherboard 760
Cooling HK
Memory 3x1gb
Video Card(s) 285 Classified / EVGA 480
Display(s) 22" Acer /42" Toshiba
Case Stacker
Power Supply Toughpower 1000w / Coolmaster 650w
Software All of them
#7
should be 100
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
529 (0.17/day)
Likes
20
Processor i3-4160
Motherboard msi z97 pcmate
Cooling generic
Memory 8gb ballistix
Video Card(s) evga 750 ti ftw
Storage samsung ssd 120gb + 1tb samsung
Case 210 elite
Power Supply evga 500w
Software Win 7 ultimate 64bit
#8
the mobo doesn't really give me much options to do. I can't change any kind of voltage in bios\

edit: the bios only shows pci express. is it pci or pci-e?
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2008
Messages
3,459 (1.04/day)
Likes
483
Location
95350
Processor ???
Motherboard 760
Cooling HK
Memory 3x1gb
Video Card(s) 285 Classified / EVGA 480
Display(s) 22" Acer /42" Toshiba
Case Stacker
Power Supply Toughpower 1000w / Coolmaster 650w
Software All of them
#9
Pci-e is PCI express

I would suggest an upgrade if possible
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
529 (0.17/day)
Likes
20
Processor i3-4160
Motherboard msi z97 pcmate
Cooling generic
Memory 8gb ballistix
Video Card(s) evga 750 ti ftw
Storage samsung ssd 120gb + 1tb samsung
Case 210 elite
Power Supply evga 500w
Software Win 7 ultimate 64bit
#10
oh one more thing. I first can't even increase the fsb to anywhere more than 230. But after couple days i can get pass that and work my way up little by little. (it's like every couple days the chip increase its fsb threshold by little...until it hits 268 :()

everything else is default except for the fsb cuz i can't possible change it anyway. Should i do sth with the multiplier?
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2008
Messages
3,459 (1.04/day)
Likes
483
Location
95350
Processor ???
Motherboard 760
Cooling HK
Memory 3x1gb
Video Card(s) 285 Classified / EVGA 480
Display(s) 22" Acer /42" Toshiba
Case Stacker
Power Supply Toughpower 1000w / Coolmaster 650w
Software All of them
#11
Yes but bring your FSB down