• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What is holding my gaming performance back?

Joined
Feb 21, 2014
Messages
204 (0.13/day)
Likes
45
Location
Finland
System Name WorstEVER
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87-G45 GAMING
Cooling Thermalright Silver Arrow IB-E
Memory G.Skill 8GB (2x4GB) Sniper, DDR3 1600MHz, 9-9-9-24, 1.35V
Video Card(s) 7970 Matrix Platinum
Storage Samsung 840EVO / Samsung F1
Display(s) Crossover Blacktune 2763 AMG "PP"
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Corsair HX 750 Gold
Software Win7 x64 ultimate
Benchmark Scores over 9000
#76
try to check ur bios setups, there can be setup what should be changed
ps. 60hz monitor shows only 60 frames per second
 
Last edited:

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,487 (4.20/day)
Likes
6,419
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x HGST 3TB (RAID0) | 1x ADATA 128SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#77
Far Cry 3. Yeah I know but shouldn't it be more? Especially since it's not achieving the framerate?
bf 4 FC all the cpu limited games you mention require CLOCK RATE my old W3520 was like 30% usage in BF4 and BF3 at 4ghz
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2010
Messages
155 (0.05/day)
Likes
25
#78
Thanks for the guides but I noticed something else now. After a fair time playing I noticed temp stabilized around 53 C but my cpu usage never went above 50% in-game. Could that be why I am not getting the performance I should?
have a look in the power option in control panel
then click change plan settings at right of selected scheme : balanced
then click change advanced plan settings.....

and then look [where?] ......
my answer after a thank or more... ;']

ps : may be pci-express , link state....OFF
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2013
Messages
954 (0.56/day)
Likes
385
Location
Cumberland Plateau
System Name EVGA-FX | Lenny (Lenovo Y480)
Processor AMD FX-8320 @ 4.5GHz 1.416v | i7 3610qm
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600 | 8gb DDR3 @ 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX780 Classified @ 1228MHz 1.615v | GT640m LE
Storage Crucial M500 480GB, WD Caviar Blue 500GB, WD Scorpio Blue 750GB | Samsung 250GB 840
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 1440p | 42" Vizio 3D LCD TV 1080p
Case CoolerMaster HAF XB Evo
Power Supply Seasonic G-650
Software Windows 6.3.9600
#79
Well you gets what you pay for, look at it another way, the link you posted cleary shows that many of the AMD CPU's cost less than half of some of the Intel's but deliver more than half of the FPS..... so better value?
Thanks for that logical assessment. Better value indeed (IME).
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,491 (4.35/day)
Likes
5,695
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}
Memory Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage WD Black Edition 512GB SSD (Boot)|Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1xFractal Design HP-12|1x140mm Noctua P14S Redux|2x Corsair ML 140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
#80
have a look in the power option in control panel
then click change plan settings at right of selected scheme : balanced
then click change advanced plan settings.....

and then look [where?] ......
my answer after a thank or more... ;']

ps : may be pci-express , link state....OFF
I dont think this could be the issue otherwise a lot more people would have reported it on the net.

Thanks for your suggestions but I hate it when people grasp at straws......
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
2,852 (1.26/day)
Likes
2,058
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name Windows 7 64-bit Core i5 3570K
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.2 GHz, 1.26 V
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77MX-D3H
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory 4 x 4 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 @ 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) Gainward NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 Phantom
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue 1 TB, Seagate Baracuda 1 TB
Display(s) Dell P2414H
Case CoolerMaster Silencio 550
Audio Device(s) VIA HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX v2 650W
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro, Cherry MX Reds
Software MS Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit SP1
#81
I would reinstall motherboard chipset drivers (as DRDNA already suggested twice) and also graphics drivers (clean install)
This is Far Cry 3 CPU performance on 7970 GHz at 1200p (very high quality) so something is definitely not right
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2013
Messages
954 (0.56/day)
Likes
385
Location
Cumberland Plateau
System Name EVGA-FX | Lenny (Lenovo Y480)
Processor AMD FX-8320 @ 4.5GHz 1.416v | i7 3610qm
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600 | 8gb DDR3 @ 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX780 Classified @ 1228MHz 1.615v | GT640m LE
Storage Crucial M500 480GB, WD Caviar Blue 500GB, WD Scorpio Blue 750GB | Samsung 250GB 840
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 1440p | 42" Vizio 3D LCD TV 1080p
Case CoolerMaster HAF XB Evo
Power Supply Seasonic G-650
Software Windows 6.3.9600
#82
I would reinstall motherboard chipset drivers (as DRDNA already suggested twice) and also graphics drivers (clean install)
This is Far Cry 3 CPU performance on 7970 GHz at 1200p (very high quality) so something is definitely not right
If that is true, I should remove the OC on my cpu and downgrade my GPU for better performance.

I effed. That is using very high and not ultra.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2009
Messages
248 (0.07/day)
Likes
46
Location
Netherlands
Processor i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900-A LED
Memory Corsair Dominator GT CMT16GX3M4X2133C9 (4x4 Gb)
Video Card(s) 2 x (Sapphire) AMD Radeon HD7970 [Ref] -(crossfire) [out via DVI-D]
Storage 4 x WDC WD1002FAEX
Display(s) Dell U3011 @ 2560x1600 [in via DVI-D]
Case Coolermaster Stacker STC T01
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Pro [PCI-E]
Power Supply Corsair AX 1200W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#83
have a look in the power option in control panel
then click change plan settings at right of selected scheme : balanced
then click change advanced plan settings.....

and then look [where?] ......
my answer after a thank or more... ;']

ps : may be pci-express , link state....OFF
That horrible trend of begging for thankyous by some people. Mainly without anything to thank for. That feature should be disabled... No, begging should be punished.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2009
Messages
248 (0.07/day)
Likes
46
Location
Netherlands
Processor i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900-A LED
Memory Corsair Dominator GT CMT16GX3M4X2133C9 (4x4 Gb)
Video Card(s) 2 x (Sapphire) AMD Radeon HD7970 [Ref] -(crossfire) [out via DVI-D]
Storage 4 x WDC WD1002FAEX
Display(s) Dell U3011 @ 2560x1600 [in via DVI-D]
Case Coolermaster Stacker STC T01
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Pro [PCI-E]
Power Supply Corsair AX 1200W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#84
@ antony209494: which model number Caviar Green was it again you're using? Might be interesting to know.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
2,852 (1.26/day)
Likes
2,058
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name Windows 7 64-bit Core i5 3570K
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.2 GHz, 1.26 V
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77MX-D3H
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory 4 x 4 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 @ 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) Gainward NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 Phantom
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue 1 TB, Seagate Baracuda 1 TB
Display(s) Dell P2414H
Case CoolerMaster Silencio 550
Audio Device(s) VIA HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX v2 650W
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro, Cherry MX Reds
Software MS Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit SP1
#85
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
156 (0.08/day)
Likes
11
System Name Cerberus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 4.00 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Antec Kuhler H2o 620
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200 Mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS 290X Direct CU II
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 256 GB + Western Digital WD10EARS-00MVWB0 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S22B350
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
#86
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
156 (0.08/day)
Likes
11
System Name Cerberus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 4.00 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Antec Kuhler H2o 620
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200 Mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS 290X Direct CU II
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 256 GB + Western Digital WD10EARS-00MVWB0 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S22B350
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
#87
Also tried installing the chipset drivers again, updated BIOS and have formatted several times in the past with this rig trying to solve this problem when I had 6970 crossfire. So it's not a software issue.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
156 (0.08/day)
Likes
11
System Name Cerberus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 4.00 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Antec Kuhler H2o 620
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200 Mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS 290X Direct CU II
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 256 GB + Western Digital WD10EARS-00MVWB0 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S22B350
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
#88

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,297 (9.35/day)
Likes
13,840
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Corsair H155i Pro (yay for maglev fans!)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 3066 C18
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5 White Gold edition + RGB lighting
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#89
didnt read if it was mentioned, but disable CPU parking. google for a few different apps that do it, but trust me it'll make a difference and likely solve your issues.


even tho its meant to be fixed in windows 8, my brother had similar issues in BF4 due to core parking disabling his virtual cores too aggressively, effectively halving his CPU power. when it happened turbo mode would kick in and out as well, causing his CPU to 'stutter' a lot as it couldnt make up its mind if it should run as 4 or 8 threads.


easy to turn on and off, just google for the reg keys or a tool to do it, reboot and test.


also as someone with an i5 *and* an AMD 1090T thuban, let me say this: the AMD chips are strong in multi threaded apps (like BF4) but weak in single threaded (DX9 games). its as simple as that - 3.6GHz 1090T -> 3.7GHz i5, 40% faster in single threaded tests and DX9 games, but pretty much on par in multi threaded (due to the AMD having more cores)
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
156 (0.08/day)
Likes
11
System Name Cerberus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 4.00 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Antec Kuhler H2o 620
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200 Mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS 290X Direct CU II
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 256 GB + Western Digital WD10EARS-00MVWB0 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S22B350
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
#90
didnt read if it was mentioned, but disable CPU parking. google for a few different apps that do it, but trust me it'll make a difference and likely solve your issues.


even tho its meant to be fixed in windows 8, my brother had similar issues in BF4 due to core parking disabling his virtual cores too aggressively, effectively halving his CPU power. when it happened turbo mode would kick in and out as well, causing his CPU to 'stutter' a lot as it couldnt make up its mind if it should run as 4 or 8 threads.


easy to turn on and off, just google for the reg keys or a tool to do it, reboot and test.


also as someone with an i5 *and* an AMD 1090T thuban, let me say this: the AMD chips are strong in multi threaded apps (like BF4) but weak in single threaded (DX9 games). its as simple as that - 3.6GHz 1090T -> 3.7GHz i5, 40% faster in single threaded tests and DX9 games, but pretty much on par in multi threaded (due to the AMD having more cores)
Yes it was mentioned. Well the problems I have are in heavy DX11 games and all my DX9 games run fine.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,297 (9.35/day)
Likes
13,840
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Corsair H155i Pro (yay for maglev fans!)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 3066 C18
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5 White Gold edition + RGB lighting
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#91
Yes it was mentioned. Well the problems I have are in heavy DX11 games and all my DX9 games run fine.
then i'd be definitely looking into the core parking (try an alternate tool) and CPU overheating :)
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
156 (0.08/day)
Likes
11
System Name Cerberus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 4.00 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Antec Kuhler H2o 620
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200 Mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS 290X Direct CU II
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 256 GB + Western Digital WD10EARS-00MVWB0 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S22B350
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
#92
then i'd be definitely looking into the core parking (try an alternate tool) and CPU overheating :)
OK I'll give it a shot.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,297 (9.35/day)
Likes
13,840
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Corsair H155i Pro (yay for maglev fans!)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 3066 C18
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5 White Gold edition + RGB lighting
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#93
OK I'll give it a shot.
the best way to explain it would be is that when core parking stuffs up, it cant decide if your CPU should be 4 threaded or 8 threaded.

say, if you could have four cores at 100% load it'd do that and turn four off, but should your load go just 1% higher, it'll have a little spaz swapping back and forth, and that can cause stuttering.

on a system with less CPU power, it'd stay in the 8 core mode more often - no stutter
on a system with more CPU power (OC'd) it'd be fine in the 4 core mode.


your CPU comes with pairs of 2 cores, core parking was designed for systems with hyper threading (which are more like 1.5 cores instead of 2) which i've read can be related to triggering off these bugs. windows 8/8.1 generally improved it for a lot of people, but i guess it didnt fix it for everyone.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
156 (0.08/day)
Likes
11
System Name Cerberus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 4.00 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Antec Kuhler H2o 620
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200 Mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS 290X Direct CU II
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 256 GB + Western Digital WD10EARS-00MVWB0 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S22B350
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
#94
Actually I am going to try windows 8.1 first (I am still on 8) and see if anything good happens.
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2013
Messages
954 (0.56/day)
Likes
385
Location
Cumberland Plateau
System Name EVGA-FX | Lenny (Lenovo Y480)
Processor AMD FX-8320 @ 4.5GHz 1.416v | i7 3610qm
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600 | 8gb DDR3 @ 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX780 Classified @ 1228MHz 1.615v | GT640m LE
Storage Crucial M500 480GB, WD Caviar Blue 500GB, WD Scorpio Blue 750GB | Samsung 250GB 840
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 1440p | 42" Vizio 3D LCD TV 1080p
Case CoolerMaster HAF XB Evo
Power Supply Seasonic G-650
Software Windows 6.3.9600
#95
wdc wd 15 ears-00mvwb0

And here is the specs sheet: (lol sorry wrong copy paste the first time)

http://www.wdc.com/wdproducts/library/SpecSheet/ENG/2879-701229.pdf
"WD20EARS-00MVWB0/07MVWB0/22MVWB0/60MVWB0 2TB (3/6)"

That is the model with 3 platters. I'd be curious to see a speed test on one of those Green drives.

Actually I am going to try windows 8.1 first (I am still on 8) and see if anything good happens.
I know it's a pain, but at this point it may be worth backing up your current installation and seeing if you have any of the same issues on a clean install of Windows.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2009
Messages
248 (0.07/day)
Likes
46
Location
Netherlands
Processor i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900-A LED
Memory Corsair Dominator GT CMT16GX3M4X2133C9 (4x4 Gb)
Video Card(s) 2 x (Sapphire) AMD Radeon HD7970 [Ref] -(crossfire) [out via DVI-D]
Storage 4 x WDC WD1002FAEX
Display(s) Dell U3011 @ 2560x1600 [in via DVI-D]
Case Coolermaster Stacker STC T01
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Pro [PCI-E]
Power Supply Corsair AX 1200W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#96
wdc wd 15 ears-00mvwb0
And here is the specs sheet: (lol sorry wrong copy paste the first time)
http://www.wdc.com/wdproducts/library/SpecSheet/ENG/2879-701229.pdf
That is the 3rd version of WD20EARS: WD20EARS-00MVWB0 = 3 platters 667GB each (the production of this model began at the end of May 2010).
Here is a comparison review with other drives amongst which Caviar Black.
Your 3-platter version is at least somewhat faster than the older 4 (x500GB) platter version.
http://www.behardware.com/art/imprimer/835/
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2009
Messages
248 (0.07/day)
Likes
46
Location
Netherlands
Processor i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900-A LED
Memory Corsair Dominator GT CMT16GX3M4X2133C9 (4x4 Gb)
Video Card(s) 2 x (Sapphire) AMD Radeon HD7970 [Ref] -(crossfire) [out via DVI-D]
Storage 4 x WDC WD1002FAEX
Display(s) Dell U3011 @ 2560x1600 [in via DVI-D]
Case Coolermaster Stacker STC T01
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Pro [PCI-E]
Power Supply Corsair AX 1200W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#97
You are right I am sorry for the bad info.
No your info wasn't bad. I made a mistake, and edited my post (before you quoted).

What is core parking: http://blogs.technet.com/b/askperf/...-intelligent-timer-tick-timer-coalescing.aspx
Can cause stuttering, dynamic lags and peaks, in games.
The Fix
- Go to Regedit
- Select Edit > Find... and find this key: " 0cc5b647-c1df-4637-891a-dec35c318583 "
- Within this key, there is a value called: " ValueMax " This value represents the % number of cores the system will park
- Change the value of " ValueMax" to 0 so that, it matches " ValueMin "
- You will have to find the key a few times and repeat the process for each time it is found - the number of instances will depend on the number of power profiles in your system. To do this go back up to Edit > Find Next. (I had 3 instances of this key in my registry.)
- Do a full shutdown and power-off and cold-re-start.
The Result
Better load balancing across all you CPU cores - no spiking - in Windows 7 Task Manager
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
156 (0.08/day)
Likes
11
System Name Cerberus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 4.00 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Antec Kuhler H2o 620
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200 Mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS 290X Direct CU II
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 256 GB + Western Digital WD10EARS-00MVWB0 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S22B350
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
#98
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
156 (0.08/day)
Likes
11
System Name Cerberus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 4.00 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Antec Kuhler H2o 620
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200 Mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS 290X Direct CU II
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 256 GB + Western Digital WD10EARS-00MVWB0 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S22B350
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
#99
That is the 3rd version of WD20EARS: WD20EARS-00MVWB0 = 3 platters 667GB each (the production of this model began at the end of May 2010).
Here is a comparison review with other drives amongst which Caviar Black.
Your 3-platter version is at least somewhat faster than the older 4 (x500GB) platter version.
http://www.behardware.com/art/imprimer/835/
I think you misunderstood.

My drive is the the WD 10 ears-00mvwb0 NOT the 20. It's 1 TB not 2.

This one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136490

I have another drive in my pc (a baraccuda ST31000528AS) and that's what makes 2 TB.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2011
Messages
1,019 (0.41/day)
Likes
494
Processor Core i7 6800k @ 4.1GHz @ 1.325v
Motherboard MSI X99A Raider
Cooling Custom loop
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengence LED @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080 Ti @ +25core +400mem
Storage 960 EVO 1TB, OCZ Vector 512GB, 2x Samsung 830 128GB, 750GB Samsung, 1.5TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Acer XB270HU, Qnix QX2710
Case Corsair Carbide 500R White
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply EVGA P2 850W
Mouse RAT8
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Ultimate 2016 Edition
Software Win 10 x64
Actually I am going to try windows 8.1 first (I am still on 8) and see if anything good happens.
Windows 8 and 8.1 do not need the parking fix. Microsoft built the OS with the AMD CPUs in mind (the OS knows how to properly handle AMD "8-core" products.)