• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What is status of ATItools development?

CookieCutter

New Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Thanks for providing great tool like this for us.
But I wonder what has happened to development of ATITools.

Release version is 2 years old. The latest beta version is a year old, too. No clear release schedule for version 2.7 in sight. There are quite many bug reports to be solved and graphic cards that are issued from ATI and some share of new game incompatibilities to be handled properly. But no news from developer anymore. ATITool seems to be perpetually suspended in Void or Purgatory... or forgotten by developer.

Is the development of ATITools abandoned? Or just suspended due to lack of time or resources? Or just lack of interest from users or of developer? Is there any other idea going about it? If it is suspended due to lack of developer time, why don't go open source?

I am not urging the developer to hurry up to release updated version sooner or later. But we, ATI Tool lover, need some prospect on expected release schedule. I can wait unless it will take yet another year. Just I'd like to know what is going on ATI Tools development and I hope that we can hear some news about it before end of this year.

If ATI Tools is not going to be updated in foreseeable future, what is best alternative? I don't need much advanced feature. Just simple alternative will do. Please Tell me.

Thanks again for good tool.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,582 (6.78/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 7800X3D
Motherboard ASUS TUF x670e
Cooling EK AIO 360. Phantek T30 fans.
Memory 32GB G.Skill 6000Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus RTX 4090
Storage WD m.2
Display(s) LG C2 Evo OLED 42"
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic Evo
Audio Device(s) Topping E70 DAC, SMSL SP200 Headphone Amp.
Power Supply FSP Hydro Ti PRO 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk V3 Pro
Keyboard Tester84
Software Windows 11
From what I've heard there is a new utility in the works. That is all I know.:)
 

CookieCutter

New Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Oh I see... Then, I'd like to address my wish for new utility.
I do some mild video card over clock, but am not hard-core over clocker.
I just tweak GPU core clock and memory clock quite mildly.
In fact, even current ATI tool is too much for me; too many functions, too many options, too complicated, too big and heavy tool.

Basic functionalities I use:
1) auto set core/memory clock and fan speed on Windows start up with some delay (low 2D setting to save power and for quiet/silent environment)
2) auto 3D game detection and set clocks/fans to pre-defined 3D over clocking setting. Revert to 2D clock when I finish 3D game. I need some sound feed back when switching 2D/3D mode.
3) Display current temperature of GPU core in system tray icon. I'd like to add displaying "3D video workload percent" option, too.

All other bells and whistles ( like finding maximum clock/artifact scanning, keyboard shortcut switching, memory, gamma and fan tweak, elavorate profile management, etc) are just useless to me and many non-hard-core gamers out there. I have tried similar tool like RivaTunner, ATI Tray Tools but I had chosen ATITools because it is the simplest, easiest to use and the lightest one.

Please, don't make new utility yet another complex tool like other swiss-army knife type tool, for example: ATI Tray tool or Riva Tuner with manay many menus, options, functions. If developer go such route for new utility, please make simpler and lighter version of ATITools with much LESS functionality than current ATI Tools for casual user like me.

I don't want yet another swiss-army knife for my graphic card.
 
Last edited:

Gam'ster

New Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2007
Messages
979 (0.16/day)
Location
South Wales, UK
System Name Toshiba L350
Processor AMD QL-65
Motherboard Toshiba 780G/SB700
Cooling Laptop
Memory 3GB
Video Card(s) ATI HD3000
Storage 250GB
Display(s) 17" Widescreen
Case Black/Carbon effect
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Brick
Software WIN7
From what I've heard there is a new utility in the works. That is all I know.:)

Cool i just hope it works for me, with my current set up/drivers ( even with fresh re-install and different drivers ) i can not get ati tool to work it keeps triggering vpu recover and a crash when vpu is off :(, but apart from a few driver fixes im very happy jumping from nvidia to ATI.
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
555 (0.09/day)
Location
Indiana
System Name Evil Dragon
Processor AMD FX-8320 Vishera @4.7ghz
Motherboard Asus 970 pro gaming Aura
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series H100i V2(fully Lapped). 4 40mm NB/VRM fans. 6 Thermaltake Riing 12 Series fans
Memory 2X8gig GeIL EVO Veloce Series DDR3 1600 @9.9.9.26
Video Card(s) Powercolor Red Devil RX 480 (1400/2100)
Storage PNY XLR8 480gig SSD. Patriot Pyro SE 60gig SSD.
Display(s) ASUS VP228H LED
Case Thermaltake Core V31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC1150 W/Creative Sound Blaster Cinema 2
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ 110
Keyboard Roccat Isku FX
Software Win 10 Pro
Wizzard has said a new version is in the works. But dont expect it before the new year.

Edit: Rivatuner should do what you are wanting till ATITool is updated.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 2, 2007
Messages
5,106 (0.84/day)
Location
Kansas
Processor Core i5 3570K
Motherboard AsRock z77 Pro4
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Extreme
Memory 2x4GB GSkill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming
Storage 240GB OCZ ARC 100, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Antec P100
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Edge 750W
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64
This is how You will know when it's out.

You will come to the site and not be able to get on; a message will greet you saying the servers exploded due to the download requests.:roll:
 

Gam'ster

New Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2007
Messages
979 (0.16/day)
Location
South Wales, UK
System Name Toshiba L350
Processor AMD QL-65
Motherboard Toshiba 780G/SB700
Cooling Laptop
Memory 3GB
Video Card(s) ATI HD3000
Storage 250GB
Display(s) 17" Widescreen
Case Black/Carbon effect
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Brick
Software WIN7
Wizzard has said a new version is in the works. But dont expect it before the new year.

Edit: Rivatuner should do what you are wanting till ATITool is updated.

Im using riva atm i just like ati tool better is all..:)

lol don, a crater were w1zz's house was :D
 

Assimilator1

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2005
Messages
23 (0.00/day)
Location
UK,Surrey,Guildford
System Name Main rig
Processor Q6600 @3.35 GHz
Motherboard Asus P5Q Pro (Intel P45)
Cooling Thermalright Ultima 90
Memory 2GB OCZ Platinium rev2
Video Card(s) Radeon HD 4830 512MB
Storage 1TB Samsung & 300GB Maxtor
Display(s) Hansol 900P
Case Cooler Master Elite
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Antec TPII 430
Software Win XP SP3
Benchmark Scores Power draw from wall running F@H 1xSMP & GPU, 260-270w. Running ATItool & F@H 2xSMP, 305-310w
CookieCutter
The scanning artifact part of ATItools is a crucial function of it!, especially if you do any overclocking or testing for defective cards. If you're overclocking your GPU & not using the scanning artifact feature you should! ;)

Btw until it is updated (if?) adjust clock speeds on another util (like riva tuner) & check results with the fury cube on ATItool :)

But anyway, yes I agree it would be nice to know what's happening to ATItool.
 
Last edited:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
26,856 (3.72/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 5700X
Memory 48 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 4080
Storage 2x HDD RAID 1, 3x M.2 NVMe
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
atitool development is stopped. i'm working on a successor which is already working perfectly fine to do nvidia OC. ati overclocking is somewhat working. stability testing isnt there yet.
 

Assimilator1

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2005
Messages
23 (0.00/day)
Location
UK,Surrey,Guildford
System Name Main rig
Processor Q6600 @3.35 GHz
Motherboard Asus P5Q Pro (Intel P45)
Cooling Thermalright Ultima 90
Memory 2GB OCZ Platinium rev2
Video Card(s) Radeon HD 4830 512MB
Storage 1TB Samsung & 300GB Maxtor
Display(s) Hansol 900P
Case Cooler Master Elite
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Antec TPII 430
Software Win XP SP3
Benchmark Scores Power draw from wall running F@H 1xSMP & GPU, 260-270w. Running ATItool & F@H 2xSMP, 305-310w
Ah good to know their's an update via a successor, thanks W1zzard :).
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2005
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Location
Wakefield, West Yorkshire, Uk, Nr Earth
atitool development is stopped. i'm working on a successor which is already working perfectly fine to do nvidia OC. ati overclocking is somewhat working. stability testing isnt there yet.

Excellent news ;) just what we needed to hear!
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,168 (2.52/day)
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
atitool development is stopped. i'm working on a successor which is already working perfectly fine to do nvidia OC. ati overclocking is somewhat working. stability testing isnt there yet.

I want beta copy LOL


Thanks for working on a new one for everyone. Of course yourself too(If you didn't want it I don't see why you would make one.:) )


Marry Christmas too you if you make it back to this thread in time.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2006
Messages
310 (0.05/day)
System Name Junkamatic
Processor i7
Motherboard Z77
Cooling Thermaltake
Memory Corsair
Video Card(s) Evga GTX770
Storage 4 Seagate Satas
Display(s) VW266H
Case Lian-Li A77B
Audio Device(s) on-board
Power Supply Corsair HX1000w
Software W7
W1zzard keep up the great work. :rockout:
 

CookieCutter

New Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
CookieCutter
The scanning artifact part of ATItools is a crucial function of it!, especially if you do any overclocking or testing for defective cards. If you're overclocking your GPU & not using the scanning artifact feature you should! ;)

Btw until it is updated (if?) adjust clock speeds on another until (like riva tuner) & check results with the fury cube on ATItool :)

But anyway, yes I agree it would be nice to know what's happening to ATItool.

In fact, I usually use ATI tools to UNDER-CLOCK my GPU.
I am casual gamer and play games not so much, just few hours a week. For most of my computer time, I just browse web sites and do some dull jobs, which doesn't use powerful 3D capability of my video card. In such occasion, I usually use ATI Tool to under-clock my GPU, like 100-200 MHz core clock/memory clock, to reduce irritating fan noise, heat and to save power consumption.

If I have choice, I am willing to abandon over-clocking capability for simple and easy underclocking functionality.

If W1zzard is working on very powerful (but heavy and comlex, inevitably) new tool for hard-core over-clockers/gamers, how about making simple and light version for UNDER-CLOCKING GPU for casual gamers like me?
.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
1,197 (0.21/day)
Location
Asia, PH
Processor Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | P4 @ 2.1GHz
Motherboard Asus Commando ROG (Vdroop mod) | Asus P4V8X-MX
Cooling MegaShadow w/ 2x Scythe Slipstream MX-2 Paste + Kama Bay + 4x120mm case fan | stock Intel
Memory Kingston 4x1GB DDR2 @ 800MHz w/ OCZ XTC cooler | 1GB DDR @ 400MHz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 260 1792mb 448bit @ 713/1458/1116x2 | GeForce 4 MX 440 AGP8X 64mb 64bit
Storage 640GB WD AACS 250GB Excelstor 160GB Seagate | 40GB WD
Display(s) Samsung T220, Samsung 32" 1080P | LG L1752S
Case Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 | Trendsonic mid tower
Audio Device(s) Asus Supreme FX (Creative Inspire 5.1 speaker), Samsung HT-Z220 | Onboard audio (2.1 Speaker)
Power Supply Gigabyte Odin Pro 800W | 550W generic
Software Vista Ultimate 64 SP2 | XP Pro 32 SP3
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06 - 17,348 Vantage - P13,510 Super PI 1M - 12.765s @ 4.1GHz GenericCPUbench - 6,864 ms 38,
In fact, I usually use ATI tools to UNDER-CLOCK my GPU. For most of my computer use time, I just browse web and do some dull jobs, which doesn't use 3D capability of my video card. I don't play game so much.

So, to reduce irritating fan noise, heat and to save power consumption, I usually use ATI Tool to under-clock my GPU, like 100-200 MHz core clock/memory clock.

If I have choice, I am willing to abandon over-clocking capability for simple and easy underclocking capability.

yep, same goes for me I have a profile on rivatuner for the OC pressing the OC shortcut key profile if I do gaming same goes for desktop I also have an underclock shortcut key profile. Saves electricity though thankfully Intel downclocks the processor when not in use :toast:
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
1,540 (0.26/day)
System Name :3
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 - 3ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Dynamic Energy Saver Ultra Durable II Intel Motherboard
Cooling cm 212 EVO
Memory G.SKILL 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 275
Storage WD black 500gb Samsung 1tb
Display(s) 27" 1366x768 Olevia 527v
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ALC889
Power Supply CORSAIR TX Series CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V v2.3 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Ac
Software Windows 8 pro
if you need any testers for the new tool, i have a 2900xt 1gb and alot of free time on my hands

EDIT: oh yeah, i underclocked mine in the bios, the 2d clocks are set to 200gpu and 300vram

3d is 750mhz / 900mhz [droped the memory clocks to make it 100% stable, it never crashed befor except in fallout 3 now it doesnt crash at all in fallout 3 and a couple other bugs seem to have dissapeared
 

Assimilator1

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2005
Messages
23 (0.00/day)
Location
UK,Surrey,Guildford
System Name Main rig
Processor Q6600 @3.35 GHz
Motherboard Asus P5Q Pro (Intel P45)
Cooling Thermalright Ultima 90
Memory 2GB OCZ Platinium rev2
Video Card(s) Radeon HD 4830 512MB
Storage 1TB Samsung & 300GB Maxtor
Display(s) Hansol 900P
Case Cooler Master Elite
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Antec TPII 430
Software Win XP SP3
Benchmark Scores Power draw from wall running F@H 1xSMP & GPU, 260-270w. Running ATItool & F@H 2xSMP, 305-310w
In fact, I usually use ATI tools to UNDER-CLOCK my GPU.
I am casual gamer and play games not so much, just few hours a week. For most of my computer time, I just browse web sites and do some dull jobs, which doesn't use powerful 3D capability of my video card. In such occasion, I usually use ATI Tool to under-clock my GPU, like 100-200 MHz core clock/memory clock, to reduce irritating fan noise, heat and to save power consumption.

If I have choice, I am willing to abandon over-clocking capability for simple and easy underclocking functionality.

If W1zzard is working on very powerful (but heavy and comlex, inevitably) new tool for hard-core over-clockers/gamers, how about making simple and light version for UNDER-CLOCKING GPU for casual gamers like me?
.
OK, but aren't the lower 2D clocks low enough anyway?
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
7,662 (1.25/day)
Location
c:\programs\kitteh.exe
Processor C2Q6600 @ 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Anus PQ5
Cooling ACFPro
Memory GEiL2 x 1 GB PC2 6400
Video Card(s) MSi 4830 (RIP)
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320 GB Perpendicular Recording
Display(s) Dell 17'
Case El Cheepo
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software MCE2K5
Wizzard has said a new version is in the works. But dont expect it before the new year.

Edit: Rivatuner should do what you are wanting till ATITool is updated.


New year, icanhas?
 

CookieCutter

New Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
How about release low level Video tweak I/O library?

If developer W1zzard is too busy to develop such a light and simple version (without much over-clocking capability) of ATI Tools or its successor , how about releasing separate library routines for video card tweak ( low-level Video BIOS I/O, device driver handing, etc) for application programing?

Then others will be able to develop such light version of ATI Tool utilizing the library and ATI tools device driver. That will open many possibilities like plug-ins/add-on's, etc. I am a programmer and willing to contribute to such effort, though I have no experience in such an Windows device level programing. At least, I can help UI/Windows application aspect of such project.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
555 (0.09/day)
Location
Indiana
System Name Evil Dragon
Processor AMD FX-8320 Vishera @4.7ghz
Motherboard Asus 970 pro gaming Aura
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series H100i V2(fully Lapped). 4 40mm NB/VRM fans. 6 Thermaltake Riing 12 Series fans
Memory 2X8gig GeIL EVO Veloce Series DDR3 1600 @9.9.9.26
Video Card(s) Powercolor Red Devil RX 480 (1400/2100)
Storage PNY XLR8 480gig SSD. Patriot Pyro SE 60gig SSD.
Display(s) ASUS VP228H LED
Case Thermaltake Core V31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC1150 W/Creative Sound Blaster Cinema 2
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ 110
Keyboard Roccat Isku FX
Software Win 10 Pro

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Staff member
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
15,427 (2.44/day)
Location
Mid-Atlantic
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 13600KF
Motherboard AsRock B760M Steel Legend Wifi
Cooling Noctua NH-U9S
Memory 4x 16 Gb Gskill S5 DDR5 @6000
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming OC 6750 XT 12GB
Storage WD_BLACK 4TB SN850x
Display(s) Gigabye M32U
Case Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 P2
Mouse MX Master 3s
Keyboard Logitech G915 Wireless Clicky
Software The Matrix
a new tool will rock all of our worlds i am sure. i kinda hope the new tool implements a stress test like prime95 where we can stress it for a set amount of time and it checks for errors all the while. that would be a nice tool to have to for gpu stability overclocking.
 

Assimilator1

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2005
Messages
23 (0.00/day)
Location
UK,Surrey,Guildford
System Name Main rig
Processor Q6600 @3.35 GHz
Motherboard Asus P5Q Pro (Intel P45)
Cooling Thermalright Ultima 90
Memory 2GB OCZ Platinium rev2
Video Card(s) Radeon HD 4830 512MB
Storage 1TB Samsung & 300GB Maxtor
Display(s) Hansol 900P
Case Cooler Master Elite
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Antec TPII 430
Software Win XP SP3
Benchmark Scores Power draw from wall running F@H 1xSMP & GPU, 260-270w. Running ATItool & F@H 2xSMP, 305-310w
Like Prime95?? don't you mean like ATItool was but with a time limit? ;)
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Staff member
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
15,427 (2.44/day)
Location
Mid-Atlantic
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 13600KF
Motherboard AsRock B760M Steel Legend Wifi
Cooling Noctua NH-U9S
Memory 4x 16 Gb Gskill S5 DDR5 @6000
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming OC 6750 XT 12GB
Storage WD_BLACK 4TB SN850x
Display(s) Gigabye M32U
Case Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 P2
Mouse MX Master 3s
Keyboard Logitech G915 Wireless Clicky
Software The Matrix

Assimilator1

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2005
Messages
23 (0.00/day)
Location
UK,Surrey,Guildford
System Name Main rig
Processor Q6600 @3.35 GHz
Motherboard Asus P5Q Pro (Intel P45)
Cooling Thermalright Ultima 90
Memory 2GB OCZ Platinium rev2
Video Card(s) Radeon HD 4830 512MB
Storage 1TB Samsung & 300GB Maxtor
Display(s) Hansol 900P
Case Cooler Master Elite
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Antec TPII 430
Software Win XP SP3
Benchmark Scores Power draw from wall running F@H 1xSMP & GPU, 260-270w. Running ATItool & F@H 2xSMP, 305-310w
atitool doesnt give errors or warning readouts like prime95 tho.
A? yes it does, when you 'scan for artifacts' & it finds one (or more) you get a messege in the box saying the number of errors, the incorrect pixel shows and it emits a 'bong' noise to let you know :p;)
 
Top