• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

What is the best Dual core AMD CPU and mobo on budget?

Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,571 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,164
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#26
i am not too sure if my BE is still alive that is why i want to get a new CPU i don't want to be having to wait for another one to get here if it isn't working and if it is then i can have fun benching 2 CPUs and try to get my 5kBE to 3.5ghz. so all in all i just want another CPU so i can play around with them.
if that is the case get that X2 2400BE. Guranteed 3 ghz with little bump in voltage. I bought that few weeks ago when egg had that $10 off coupon and on my other ECS home server it is running at 2.8G at default voltage and hit 3 with little bump.

So buy a good board that will support Deneb and use this little cpu to play around and may be keep it for flashing etc in the future.
 

Fastmix

New Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
627 (0.18/day)
Likes
115
Location
The Kingdom of Heaven
#27
Thats cool man. I'm somewhat of AMD fanboy myself i just had to get Intel for the overclocking experience.
Although as soon as Deneb comes out, I'll leave Intel...for a while.

Intel is like that slut you just want to bang. Shes for the players, and the desperate. While AMD is the girl you have been with for years, on an "on and off" term, but you love her to much to let her go.
:laugh:
Someone is in love.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,571 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,164
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#28

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,320 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,423
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,002 (3.35/day)
Likes
2,156
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
#30
if that is the case get that X2 2400BE. Guranteed 3 ghz with little bump in voltage. I bought that few weeks ago when egg had that $10 off coupon and on my other ECS home server it is running at 2.8G at default voltage and hit 3 with little bump.

So buy a good board that will support Deneb and use this little cpu to play around and may be keep it for flashing etc in the future.
that is a good idea but people are missing the point... I want HIGHER SPEEDS OR HIGHER BENCHMARKs then i had with my 5kBE i don't something that will give me lower/same scores. I don't really care if the 8750 is a waste of money
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,571 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,164
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#31
that is a good idea but people are missing the point... I want HIGHER SPEEDS OR HIGHER BENCHMARKs then i had with my 5kBE i don't something that will give me lower/same scores. I don't really care if the 8750 is a waste of money
Then go for the 3 aces blacky man, don't even ask:toast:

Damn man you are forcing me to go to Frys now to get a good board.
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,002 (3.35/day)
Likes
2,156
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
#32
Then go for the 3 aces blacky man, don't even ask:toast:

Damn man you are forcing me to go to Frys now to get a good board.
lol i'm not forcing you to but i am making you want one lol
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,571 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,164
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#33
lol i'm not forcing you to but i am making you want one lol
tonight I am building a new pc for my wife with existing parts + the lovely 4850 VC. She promised me after 9pm that machine will be mine:D unless we both are playing online.

So now I am thinking I should just give my ECS + 9500 machine to her and build the 790FX + 3 aces + 4850 VC for me;)
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,002 (3.35/day)
Likes
2,156
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
#34
tonight I am building a new pc for my wife with existing parts + the lovely 4850 VC. She promised me after 9pm that machine will be mine:D unless we both are playing online.

So now I am thinking I should just give my ECS + 9500 machine to her and build the 790FX + 3 aces + 4850 VC for me;)
that would be a nice rig. from what i hear the 8750s have no problem pulling off 3ghz or more. AMD really improved there overclocking from the first X4 and X3
 

Buster

New Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2006
Messages
42 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
.RO
System Name Spider
Processor AMD Athlon 5000+ brisby at 3,25ghz 1,4v (arctic freezer64 ultra +arctic silver 5)
Motherboard MSI M9A2 CF-F v1.0 moded mosfet cooler AMD 790X
Cooling AC FREEZER 64 + 4 Antec coolers
Memory 2x1gb A-Data vitesta ddr2 800+ @ ddr960 cl4
Video Card(s) HD 3850 Powercolor PCS factory OC 720/1800@(pencilmod)850/2150
Storage Seagate barracuda 7200.11 S-ataII 500gb 32mb
Display(s) 19" Samsung wide 5ms
Case casecom 12cm intake
Audio Device(s) ALC888 onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake dualrail 430w Total watt viewer (idle 60wats)120mmfan version!
Software Windows XP Pro SP3 eXPperince edition
Benchmark Scores 11300 -3dmark 2006 39100-3dmark 2001
#35
go for a brisbane core but with the G2 stepping , i've recently bought a new 5000+ brisby G2 and a 790x msi mobo goes to 3.4ghz at 1.45v only you have to watch out for the mosfets on this mobo !! , the 5000+ brisby is a winner in the am2 dual core series !! :p
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
3,047 (0.86/day)
Likes
295
Location
Pontaic Michigan
System Name The Netbook
Processor Intel Atom n270
Memory 1GB DDR2 533mhz
Video Card(s) Intel G945
Storage 250GB
Display(s) 10.1" LCD
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Starter x86
#36
ok... what about the AMD 8750 tri core would it be faster then my 5kbe@3.2ghz? The good thing is that it would let me run my ram at its full 1066 speed.
The giga board I use lets me OC like a mad man (270+HT) and you can even set your divider to 5.33 so you can run your ram at 1066 without boosting your bus.
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,002 (3.35/day)
Likes
2,156
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
#37
go for a brisbane core but with the G2 stepping , i've recently bought a new 5000+ brisby G2 and a 790x msi mobo goes to 3.4ghz at 1.45v only you have to watch out for the mosfets on this mobo !! , the 5000+ brisby is a winner in the am2 dual core series !! :p
well i have the 5000+ black Edition and it doesn't get what i want. that is why i am looking for something higher
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,002 (3.35/day)
Likes
2,156
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
#38
The giga board I use lets me OC like a mad man (270+HT) and you can even set your divider to 5.33 so you can run your ram at 1066 without boosting your bus.
could you give me a link? Also what voltage can it give to CPU also what voltage to RAM?
my giga board let me do 300+HT before it shit its self :banghead:
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
3,047 (0.86/day)
Likes
295
Location
Pontaic Michigan
System Name The Netbook
Processor Intel Atom n270
Memory 1GB DDR2 533mhz
Video Card(s) Intel G945
Storage 250GB
Display(s) 10.1" LCD
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Starter x86
#39
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128339

Ram does 2.2v max so far (kinda depressing, I know. I'm hoping the next bios update will help that)
As for CPU volts, I've had it up to 1.7v on my phenom, if I'm not mistaken you can push it all the way to .6v over stock.... you can drop it to .6 below stock too.
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,002 (3.35/day)
Likes
2,156
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
#40
thanks. :toast: i can't use that board then because the ram voltage has to be 2.2v for stock speeds so that would mean no overclocking the ram... yes i have to have that voltage to run stable at stock speeds i was wanting lower voltage but that is the lowest i could get stable on my old giga board.
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159 (3.90/day)
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#42
I have played with at least 5 different boards with the new AMD chipsets. With AMD the 790FX is the only way to go, the others have all sorts of missing settings.......

ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe AM2+/AM2 AMD 790FX ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
South Bridge: AMD SB750 $188.99


If you want crossfire



ASUS Crosshair II Formula AM2+/AM2 NVIDIA nForce 780a SLI HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail $289.99

If you want SLi(BTW this board looks just like my board:) ) There were talks about a 790chipset for AMD maybe that will come with AM3 but who knows(maybe they are waiting for DDR3 support)......This board would be the one for me, because it can do Tri SLi and should be able to run the AM3 chips(I've been reading).


AMD Phenom 8750 Toliman 2.4GHz 3 x 512KB L2 Cache 2MB L3 Cache Socket AM2+ 95W Triple-Core Black Edition Processor - Retail $134.00

I know it puts you over budget, but sometimes you need 2 lol.:pimp: I still say wait for AM3 chips

But I'm telling you I have talked to a AMD chip desiger engineer, and of course never got a
definite answer but the 45nm the ones that will be out soon. Is the boom as AMD Quad when it comes to ocing I did get that out of him kind of. You know me I want the 4Ghz quad running in my boxes.

if your chip is dead buy the cheapest dual core there is and wait for AM3
AMD Athlon X2 4450e Brisbane 2.3GHz Socket AM2 45W Dual-Core Processor Model ADH4450DOBOX - Retail 58.99
 
Last edited:

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,002 (3.35/day)
Likes
2,156
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
#43
Thanks DaMulta it brings me way over budget by the time i get a PSU added in ($430 budget) so maybe the Asus board a good PSU and keep my 5kBE or pick up a 6k 89w chip then just try to hold out for the 45nm quads
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159 (3.90/day)
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#44
Yea I know:(

I have updated the post above to what I really think.

The N chipset I think is the way to go, unless you want to run CF. I can't stand not running more than one card anymore. In COD4 with one card I get lag with all the smoke on high detail. With two cards that goes away.

I know money does not grow on tress, I wish it did:)
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,002 (3.35/day)
Likes
2,156
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
#45
Yea I know:(

I have updated the post above to what I really think.

The N chipset I think is the way to go, unless you want to run CF. I can't stand not running more than one card anymore. In COD4 with one card I get lag with all the smoke on high detail. With two cards that goes away.

I know money does not grow on tress, I wish it did:)
i game at 1280x1024 so my 1 8800GT will be fine for now, maybe volt mod it and aftermarket cooling
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159 (3.90/day)
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#46
i game at 1280x1024 so my 1 8800GT will be fine for now, maybe volt mod it and aftermarket cooling
You should still want 2 8800GT cards. I don't care what anyone says about low(1280x1024 res) when you crank up the AA and other settings the 2 or 3 card really does help.





I was the one running 2x2900XT cards with a monitor that had that max res for quite some time. It helped.
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,002 (3.35/day)
Likes
2,156
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
#47
You should still want 2 8800GT cards. I don't care what anyone says about low(1280x1024 res) when you crank up the AA and other settings the 2 or 3 card really does help.





I was the one running 2x2900XT cards with a monitor that had that max res for quite some time. It helped.
Thanks. :toast: by the time a voltmod can't get me the settings i want i will be upgrading. I never even turn the AA on so that doesn't matter. I personally can't see the difference between having AA cranked up and having it off but that is just me.I am kinda thinking about getting the 790FX and using my 8800GT then when i get the money upgrading the card to what ATI card i can get at the time then if ATI doesn't have PhysX by then just use the 8800GT for physX
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,125 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,207
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#48
If your thinking of the 8750, I just noticed on ncix that the 125w 9950 is only 30 bucks more. I'm considering it.....
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159 (3.90/day)
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#49
I still don't know if you will be able to mix the two for PhysX if you can without issue more power to the people that do it. I just think it's less trouble to have the real deal and have 2 of the cards that's guaranteed to be able to do it without problems.

I would put down some money that next years games REALLY start using PhysX.


You can't tell the difference when you crank up AA all the way? lol.
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,002 (3.35/day)
Likes
2,156
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
#50
I still don't know if you will be able to mix the two for PhysX if you can without issue more power to the people that do it. I just think it's less trouble to have the real deal and have 2 of the cards that's guaranteed to be able to do it without problems.

I would put down some money that next years games REALLY start using PhysX.


You can't tell the difference when you crank up AA all the way? lol.
no i can't. my friends say they can but i just don't see it.