• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What is the difference between CPU NB VID and NB Voltage?

Joined
Feb 22, 2009
Messages
565 (0.17/day)
Likes
535
System Name Artas1984
Processor Intel Core i7 5775C
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical 2X8 GB DDR3 1600 MHz CL8
Storage Samsung Evo 850 M.2 500 GB & Western Digital SE 6 TB
Display(s) Dell S2415H
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Razer DeathAdder 2013
Keyboard Aula SI-859
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 BIT
#1
1) NB Voltage Control
2) CPU NB VID Control

What is the difference? I know one thing - i must increase both the north bridge frequency and voltage in order to overclock a Phenom II, but i don't get it which setting is actual the north bridge voltage control and what is the other?
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2011
Messages
1,163 (0.47/day)
Likes
471
System Name Desktop
Processor Intel i7-3930k
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth X79
Cooling Intel AIO
Memory 8x4GB 1866MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage Adaptec 2405 SAS|Hitachi SAS 15k 450GB|2xSeagate 2TB|WD RE Enterprise 4 TB|HP Ultrium 1760 LTO4 Tape
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Fractal Define XL Black
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi Uber>Schiit Asgard 2>Sennheiser HD600
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Logitech G613
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
NB Voltage control is for the NB that is on the motherboard - you don't need to change that, it will likely cause more problems than good.

CPUNB - the NB that is in the CPU (memory controller), the safe voltage is somewhere up to 1.3V but I run it around 1.25V for 2600MHz. Remember that on Phenom II CPU's in order to get maximum performance from overclocking you also need to overclock the CPUNB (most people only overclock the CPU but forget about the NB).
One thing you need to be careful with CPUNB is that it depends on the CPU clock, so for example:
If you have your CPU at 3.5-3.6GHz, you should have the CPU_NB at around 2600MHz, running it at 2800MHz could give you less performance.
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2009
Messages
565 (0.17/day)
Likes
535
System Name Artas1984
Processor Intel Core i7 5775C
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical 2X8 GB DDR3 1600 MHz CL8
Storage Samsung Evo 850 M.2 500 GB & Western Digital SE 6 TB
Display(s) Dell S2415H
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Razer DeathAdder 2013
Keyboard Aula SI-859
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 BIT
#4
NB Voltage control is for the NB that is on the motherboard - you don't need to change that, it will likely cause more problems than good.
Looks like you were right, not the first replier.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
2,443 (0.98/day)
Likes
1,868
#5
Looks like you were right, not the first replier.
What?


Read the second article, please.

You mess with CPU voltage, frequency, and multipliers first. Once everything is stable there you need to slightly bump up the NB voltage. Messing with the VID increases the initial voltage to the North Bridge, which shouldn't need to happen unless you're pushing some crazy memory overclocks.

If you're starting with the NB then you've got some priority problems. Perhaps a bit more background would help?
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848 (1.90/day)
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#6
different motherboard and cpus will respond to the CPU/NB voltage differently,for instance my crosshair formula 3 only needed 1.17 for 2800 and 1.24 for 3000
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2009
Messages
565 (0.17/day)
Likes
535
System Name Artas1984
Processor Intel Core i7 5775C
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical 2X8 GB DDR3 1600 MHz CL8
Storage Samsung Evo 850 M.2 500 GB & Western Digital SE 6 TB
Display(s) Dell S2415H
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Razer DeathAdder 2013
Keyboard Aula SI-859
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 BIT
#7
What is VID: http://www.overclock.net/t/251112/cpu-vid

Short: start-up voltage


How do I overclock a Phenom (idiot's guide): http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=267708


The short of it; don't change VID.
Well... Increasing vid voltage allowed to boot Windows when CPU was overclocked. Keeping it to default did not allowed me to boot... Both of you guys state different opinions... Although i agree with athlonx2 from experience that motherboard means a lot...

Also i don't need the idiots guide.. I have had experience ocing AMD CPU since NF4 times, i only need a specific part about the difference between what i mentioned...
 
Last edited: