• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What is the point of two Ethernet ports on my motherboard?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Phusius

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
1,316 (0.46/day)
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200/1475 @ 1175v
Display(s) Dell 23" 2ms
Case Carbide 500r
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
If I hook two lines up from my router to both ports does that mean my internet and download speeds will be faster?
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
3,159 (0.89/day)
Location
Portugal
System Name _JP_'s Daily Driver
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14 + NM-AM4 + NF-P14r
Memory 2x 8GB G.Skill Trident Z (F4-3200C16D-16GTZB)(Hynix)
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 280X Gaming
Storage HyperX Savage 240GB + KC300 240GB + 750EVO 500GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2361V 23'' FHD
Case NOX Blaze
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlasterX AE-5
Power Supply Corsair TX650M
Mouse Microsoft Comfort Mouse 4500
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard (PS/2)
Software Windows 10 x86-64 (1809)
No.
It means that if your motherboard (and your router) supports double-teaming for those ports, bandwidth will be almost doubled.
If not, it just means you have two ethernet ports on your motherboard which you can plug both to the router and have them that way.
At best you can specify what goes trough which port.
 

Phusius

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
1,316 (0.46/day)
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200/1475 @ 1175v
Display(s) Dell 23" 2ms
Case Carbide 500r
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
How do I know if it supports double teaming. Can you help me?

My mother is the Asus Z68 Deluxe NON-gen3 version, and my router is the Belkin N600 DB, and I pay for a 24mbs fiber optic internet each month.
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,514 (1.93/day)
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 3.0
Processor i7 8700k @ 4.7GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus X APEX
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 16GB 3600 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 4TB
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Corsair 1200W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
Surely your motherboard came with an owners manual, have you referenced there?

The manufacture may have details to benefits as to why they placed multiple ports on your board.
 

lindy

New Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2012
Messages
81 (0.03/day)
Location
45° 59' 55.57” N 86° 09' 20.10” W
System Name Infernal Contraption
Processor AMD FX 8150
Motherboard Gigabyte 990XA-UD3
Cooling Antec Kuhler H20 620
Memory 16 gig. Corsair Vengance DDR3 1600 LP
Video Card(s) Galaxy/Nvidia GTX 560 2gb
Storage OCZ 60g. SSD/Seagate 2Tb. 7200rpm
Display(s) Asus
Case Lian Li PC-60FN
Audio Device(s) Onboard HD
Power Supply Seasonic X750
Software Win. 7 Ult. 64/ SUSE 12.1 64
What is the point of two Ethernet ports on my motherboard?
Networking...

If I hook two lines up from my router to both ports does that mean my internet and download speeds will be faster?
Nope...

And, yes I can be a real smart *** :D
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,194 (1.54/day)
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Dual LAN MBs are more often used for dual network connectivity and/or daisy chaining network connections, as per in an office or home office environment.

Your bandwidth is going to be limited by the ISP speed you have. Having a dual LAN MB can't really change that.

If none of the above applies to you, the only actual use you may get out of the 2nd LAN port is redundancy, meaning having a backup in case the first fails for some reason.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
1,493 (0.45/day)
Location
State College, PA, US
System Name My Surround PC
Processor Intel Core i7 8086K @ 5.1 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 5
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X / XSPC Rasa CPU / Swiftech MCW82 / Koolance HX-1320 w/ 4 Corsair Fans
Memory 32GB (2 x 16 GB) Team DDR4-3200 CL16-18-18-38
Video Card(s) MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 980 Ti Armor 2X
Storage Samsung SSD 970 Pro 512GB, 2 x 4TB HGST NAS HDD in RAID 1
Display(s) 3 x Acer K272HUL 27" in Surround 7860x1440
Case NZXT Source 530
Audio Device(s) Integrated ALC1220 + Sony MDR-7506 + Logitech Z-5500 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1250 1.25kW
Mouse Patriot Viper V560
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I learned this recently, but teaming does not exactly double bandwidth. You can transfer data at only 1 Gb/s to each IP address, but if you transfer to more than one IP address simultaneously, then the aggregate bandwidth can exceed 1Gb/s. This means it's great for servers that serve many clients simultaneously but is less useful for home users who usually only transfer to one client at a time.

Before you even do this, you need a router or switch that supports teaming. And it won't speed up your internet connectivity unless you have a fiber line to your residence that supports over 1000Mbps (most likely not).
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
3,159 (0.89/day)
Location
Portugal
System Name _JP_'s Daily Driver
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14 + NM-AM4 + NF-P14r
Memory 2x 8GB G.Skill Trident Z (F4-3200C16D-16GTZB)(Hynix)
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 280X Gaming
Storage HyperX Savage 240GB + KC300 240GB + 750EVO 500GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2361V 23'' FHD
Case NOX Blaze
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlasterX AE-5
Power Supply Corsair TX650M
Mouse Microsoft Comfort Mouse 4500
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard (PS/2)
Software Windows 10 x86-64 (1809)
Eh, I was in doubt that it was something like that...wasn't too far off. And I should have said the doubled bandwidth was theoretical.
Still, his download speeds are still limited first by his ISP (in this case, 24Mbps) and second by the server from where he is downloading, be it either by rule or distance.
The fact that the motherboard has two ethernet ports won't improve that.
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
5,975 (2.01/day)
Location
Hi! I'm from the Internet
System Name Selene / Yoda
Processor Fx 8350 @ 4.4 / Phenom II x6 1090t @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 r4.0 / Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Cooling H100i / Xig Dark Knight
Memory 4x 8gb G.Skill Snipers / 4x 4gb G.Skill Ares
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9 290x / XfX DD & VisionTek HD6850's C'fired
Storage 256gb ssd, 2x 2tb Wd Blacks & 1x 1tb Wd black / 1x 1tb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp 2408 WFp / Hp w2207
Case Raidmax Vampire / Chieftec Alum. Dragon Blue
Audio Device(s) Onboard Hd Audio / Onboard Hd Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX 850 watt / Corsair TX 750 watt
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair Strafe
Software Win 10 pro / Win Vista Home prem. 64 bit
Benchmark Scores What are benchmarks anyway?
Back in the day we used to put 2 Ethernet cards in one rig. We would hook the cable modem up to one and the other to a network switch. Fast easy router. Guess you can do the same and instead of hooking the modem to one nic you can hook it to the router and the other to a switch and share the net connection to allow access to more rigs.
 

AlienIsGOD

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Aug 9, 2008
Messages
5,040 (1.20/day)
Location
Kingston, Ontario Canada
System Name Aliens Ryzen Rig | Hand Me Down Special
Processor Ryzen R7 2700 @3.6ghz all cores | i5 3570K
Motherboard Gigabyte B450 Aorus Elite (F50a BIOS) | EVGA Z77 FTW
Cooling CM HYPER 212 RGB Black edition | CM Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB X 2 DDR4 3000mhz Team Group Vulcan | 4 x 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse RX 5700 8GB | Sapphire RX 480 Reference
Storage Adata XPG 8200 PRO 512GB SSD OS / 240 SSD+480 GB M.2 SSD Games / 1000 GB Data | SSD + HDD
Display(s) Asus VA32AQ 32" IPS 60hz 1440P | Samsung S24D590PL 24" PLS 1080P
Case NZXT H500 Black | NZXT 810 Switch
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek | Onboard Realtek
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 650w 80+ Gold | EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750w 80+ Gold
Mouse Steelseries Rival 500 15 button mouse w/ Razor Goliathus Chroma XL mousemat | Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark RGB w/ Romer G tactile keys | Logitech G513 Carbon w/ Romer G tactile keys
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Pro
i knew having 2 ports on my old Gigabyte EP45 DS4P were pretty much useless for the regular user.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
7,726 (1.73/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name _
Processor 8700K @ 5.1 Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z370-A PRO
Cooling 120mm Custom Liquid
Memory 32 GB 3600 Mhz DDR4 16-16-16-36-380 trfc - 2T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 2080 Ti Windforce (Undervolted OC 1905MHz)
Storage 3x1TB SSDs
Display(s) Alienware 34" 3440x1440 120hz, G-Sync
Case Jonsbo U4
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse silent click gaming mouse
Keyboard tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
so that you can have two Ethernets. duh. :D

That's like asking why have two women in bed... don't ask - just stick your cable in there and envy your router for all of the action it's getting.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,516 (8.50/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ Corsair H55 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
to keep it simple, your two network ports are for the use of connecting to two networks at the same time.


there is no purpose to them for 99.9% of home users.
 
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
324 (0.12/day)
Location
Malaysia
System Name Elmo
Processor i7 3930k
Motherboard Asus P9 X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH D-14
Memory 16 GB DDr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) 4GB GTX 770 Windforce X3
Storage 60gbforce3,120gbchronos,120gb force GS,120GB Kingston Hyperx 3k,750gb hitachi, 500gb wd green
Display(s) Samsung 23" led 1080p X 2
Case Nzxt Switch 810
Power Supply Corsair HX 750W
Software win7 ultimate 64 bit
You can set one for upstream and the other for down stream or both to way. You can double your Lan throughput but you wont double your wan throughput
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
7,726 (1.73/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name _
Processor 8700K @ 5.1 Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z370-A PRO
Cooling 120mm Custom Liquid
Memory 32 GB 3600 Mhz DDR4 16-16-16-36-380 trfc - 2T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 2080 Ti Windforce (Undervolted OC 1905MHz)
Storage 3x1TB SSDs
Display(s) Alienware 34" 3440x1440 120hz, G-Sync
Case Jonsbo U4
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse silent click gaming mouse
Keyboard tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit


or you can double your mint.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,542 (5.15/day)
mussels has the main use for it. At work we use these to connect a PC to its own private network then the other would be for a VPN connection to allow third party venders to remote control and fix the machine in times of need.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2008
Messages
1,876 (0.46/day)
System Name Computer
Processor 1700X
Motherboard CH6
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory G.Skill 32GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 Evo Msata
Display(s) LG 23" IPS
Power Supply Seasonic 760 Platinum
Software Windows 8.1 64-Bit
You will love it someday when one of them dies
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
1,493 (0.45/day)
Location
State College, PA, US
System Name My Surround PC
Processor Intel Core i7 8086K @ 5.1 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 5
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X / XSPC Rasa CPU / Swiftech MCW82 / Koolance HX-1320 w/ 4 Corsair Fans
Memory 32GB (2 x 16 GB) Team DDR4-3200 CL16-18-18-38
Video Card(s) MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 980 Ti Armor 2X
Storage Samsung SSD 970 Pro 512GB, 2 x 4TB HGST NAS HDD in RAID 1
Display(s) 3 x Acer K272HUL 27" in Surround 7860x1440
Case NZXT Source 530
Audio Device(s) Integrated ALC1220 + Sony MDR-7506 + Logitech Z-5500 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1250 1.25kW
Mouse Patriot Viper V560
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
You can set one for upstream and the other for down stream or both to way. You can double your Lan throughput but you wont double your wan throughput
The ports are already full duplex, so one of them can simultaneously transmit 1000Mbps up and 1000Mbps down; you don't need two to do that.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,194 (1.54/day)
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
You will love it someday when one of them dies
Redundancy is the least plausible reason to go dual LAN by far. Chances are one port will outlive the life of the upgrade cycle. They don't easily die with heavy use like disc burners do.
 
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (1.83/day)
How do I know if it supports double teaming. Can you help me?

My mother is the Asus Z68 Deluxe NON-gen3 version, and my router is the Belkin N600 DB, and I pay for a 24mbs fiber optic internet each month.
Not relevant, your router is very unlikely to support it, and even if it does there is no reason to connect to your router faster.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
11,317 (3.09/day)
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2080// EVGA GTX 980 ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 1Tb SSD
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 55" LG 4K SK8000 Series
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Scarlett // HDMI to Samsung HW-R650 sound bar
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master CK550 RBG
Software Windows 10 Pro // Windows 10 Pro
Is it just me or is it obvious its for two networks. Two cat5 cables to a router is just not logical. You would have to have SSDs to use that speed at both ends. Besides routers are only 1000Mbs the same a one cat5, right?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
2,188 (0.52/day)
Location
Minnesota, USA
System Name TaichiTig
Processor 6800K @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASRock X99 Taichi
Memory 32GB DDR4 3200
Video Card(s) 1060 3GB
Storage 1TB 960 Evo, 1TB 850 Evo, 7x 6TB X300 in DrivePool
Display(s) BenQ PD3200U + Samsung C32HG70
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) Behringer UMC404HD, 2x JBL LSR308, Sennheiser HD558, Beyerdynamic DT-1350, Etyomic HF3
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Deck Legend
Software Win10
Redundancy is the least plausible reason to go dual LAN by far. Chances are one port will outlive the life of the upgrade cycle. They don't easily die with heavy use like disc burners do.
True, however I was just saved by having two ethernet ports when one on my one of my servers failed. This is not statistically significant but it's true that if it does, you'll be glad to have two.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
11,520 (3.95/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.75Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04 (5.3.0 Mainline Kernel)
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
At work I use two NICs. One is on the internal network which is where some of our servers are, the other goes right to the internet using a static ip for testing. That external IP is setup so I can test and develop SAML 2.0 SSO with Google without impacting anyone else (netmasking on just that ip) and so I can tell if a slowdown is actually our network and not the ISP. The internal IP gives me access to everything without having to use tunnels or use web traffic when I could be working locally.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,194 (1.54/day)
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Is it just me or is it obvious its for two networks.
Already been said in so many words, but that's just one of the normal uses. Daisy chaining would be another common one.
 

baggpipes

New Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2009
Messages
163 (0.04/day)
System Name R2D2
Processor AMD FX-4100
Motherboard MSI 970 G45
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston T1 8GB 1600 DDR3 @ 1800mHz
Video Card(s) AMD Sapphire 6850
Storage RAID 0 WD Caviar Blue 1TB total
Display(s) Acer 19" widescreen and Sony 32" Bravia 1080p 60hz
Case NZXT Gamma Series
Power Supply 700w OCZ Mod Stream Pro
Software Windows 7 Professional
Benchmark Scores hit 4.5ghz stock cooler....
Easy manual loopback test? :troll:
 
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
4,092 (0.96/day)
Location
Iowa, USA
System Name FUTURE CUBE!
Processor intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE BK
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 3000 Mhz C15 32GB 2x16GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti
Storage 2x M.2 Samsung Evo 250GB/500GB / WD Blue 500GB / 2x RAID1 Toshiba P300 3TB
Display(s) Samsung C24FG70 1080p 144hz Quantum Dot/ASUS VH226H 1080p 21.5"
Case "THE CUBE" Custom built, pure Red Alder wood
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core3D/ Logitech Z-2300 200 watts/ Beyerdynamic DT 880
Power Supply Seasonic X Gold 650W
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Windows 10 Pro
I always thought you could have one from router to PC then other port go to something like an xbox.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top