• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What is the safe Max voltage for GDDR5?

Joined
Dec 2, 2008
Messages
368 (0.07/day)
Location
Over There
System Name Games for Breakfast
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.3ghz
Motherboard ASRrock Z77 extreme6
Cooling Cooler Master TX3 Dual Fan
Memory 16GB DDR3 - RipjawsX 1600 1.5v @ 8-8-8-22 1T
Video Card(s) Asus AMD R9 290 4GB Reference PCB
Storage Samsung F3 Spinpoint 1TB
Display(s) HP 22vx IPS LED
Case Cooler Master Elite 331
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX650 V1
Keyboard CM Storm Devastator
Software Windows 10 64bit
Hello guys,

I'm fine tuning my overclock on my HD 6950 flex, and I'm using the Trixx Mod 4.0.4 which allows me to control the Vcore for the GPU, and also the memory voltage.

At stock, the VRAM is at 1.58v. Trixx allows me to go as high as 1.8v.

Should I leave it alone, or should I push my memory a little further?
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,277 (0.27/day)
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Acer Nitro 5
Processor Ryzen 9 5900x || R5 2500U @ 35W
Motherboard MAG B550M MORTAR WIFI || default
Cooling Custom Water || Liquid Metal
Memory 2x16GB HyperX 3600 @ 3800 || 2x8GB DDR4 @ 2400MTs
Video Card(s) Vega 56 EKWB UV @ 1700Mhz+ 1075MHzHBM || RX 560X
Storage Samsung 9801TB x2 + Striped Tiered Storage Space (2x 128Gb SSD + 2x 1TB HDD) || 128GB + 1TB SSD
Display(s) Iiyama PL2770QS + Samsung U28E590, || 15,6" 1080P IPS @ 100Hz Freesync enabled
Case SilverStone Alta G1M ||
Power Supply Cooler Master V850 SFX || 135Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 11 64bit || Win 11 64bit
I'm also wondering the same thing.

My 7950 has its ram voltage at 1,6V, and I have lots and lots of headroom, but as the voltage is unlocked, it would be great to know where the limits at.

I suppose 5-10% overvolt should be reasonably harmless, but I honestly don't know. Temperatures also matter a great deal I guess.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
3,540 (0.98/day)
Location
GMT +2
System Name Red Radiance l under construction
Processor 5800x
Motherboard x470 taichi
Cooling stock wrath
Memory TridentZ Neo rgb 3600mhz (2x8 kit)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 nitro+
Storage 970 evo nvme
Display(s) lc27g75tq
Case tt core x5 tge
Audio Device(s) sennheiser's pc323d usb soundcard
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse roccat burst pro
Keyboard roccat ryos mk fx
Software windows 10
before you play with mem voltage be sure that mem has good cooling. a lot of coolers although they look like they cover whole pcb actualy contact only with gpu.
max voltage dependes from manufacturer of ram.
i daub you will get big gain from ocing memory. bottleneck of your card is what gpu is capable of then memory parameters
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2008
Messages
368 (0.07/day)
Location
Over There
System Name Games for Breakfast
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.3ghz
Motherboard ASRrock Z77 extreme6
Cooling Cooler Master TX3 Dual Fan
Memory 16GB DDR3 - RipjawsX 1600 1.5v @ 8-8-8-22 1T
Video Card(s) Asus AMD R9 290 4GB Reference PCB
Storage Samsung F3 Spinpoint 1TB
Display(s) HP 22vx IPS LED
Case Cooler Master Elite 331
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX650 V1
Keyboard CM Storm Devastator
Software Windows 10 64bit
Well, the HD 6000 series was actually somewhat bandwidth starved, and with VRAM overclocks I can see gradual gains in benchmarks and some gains.

Even though I agree that the most performance comes from OCing the core.

But still, is there a voltage that is agreed upon as being the safe limit?
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2008
Messages
368 (0.07/day)
Location
Over There
System Name Games for Breakfast
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.3ghz
Motherboard ASRrock Z77 extreme6
Cooling Cooler Master TX3 Dual Fan
Memory 16GB DDR3 - RipjawsX 1600 1.5v @ 8-8-8-22 1T
Video Card(s) Asus AMD R9 290 4GB Reference PCB
Storage Samsung F3 Spinpoint 1TB
Display(s) HP 22vx IPS LED
Case Cooler Master Elite 331
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX650 V1
Keyboard CM Storm Devastator
Software Windows 10 64bit
Any more opinions out there? :)
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
3,540 (0.98/day)
Location
GMT +2
System Name Red Radiance l under construction
Processor 5800x
Motherboard x470 taichi
Cooling stock wrath
Memory TridentZ Neo rgb 3600mhz (2x8 kit)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 nitro+
Storage 970 evo nvme
Display(s) lc27g75tq
Case tt core x5 tge
Audio Device(s) sennheiser's pc323d usb soundcard
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse roccat burst pro
Keyboard roccat ryos mk fx
Software windows 10
http://www.sapphiretech.com/presentation/product/?cid=1&gid=3&sgid=1041&pid=1099&psn=&lid=1&leg=0
256bit bus, 5ghz, 2gb cant see what you can ask for except if you are playing on 3+ monitors

with computer chips there isnt anything like save limit. what is ok for 1 chip doesnt mean will be ok for next chip on the dye.
wiki says ddr5 is based on ddr3. working volatege of ddr3 is 1.5v so anythinga around ±0.2v should be ok. but check if radiator is attached to ram as well. with summer coming you dont want toasted ram.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,767 (0.80/day)
Location
Hong Kong
Processor Core i7-12700k
Motherboard Z690 Aero G D4
Cooling Custom loop water, 3x 420 Rad
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 2080 Ti
Storage Plextor M10P 2TB
Display(s) InnoCN 27M2V
Case Thermaltake Level 20 XT
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster AE-5 Plus
Power Supply FSP Aurum PT 1200W
Software Windows 11 Pro 64-bit
You have to be careful when OCing VRAM, without proper cooling or too much voltage will kill the memory very quickly.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,145 (0.76/day)
Processor 8700k Intel
Motherboard z370 MSI Godlike Gaming
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS Copper 840 with D5
Memory TridentZ RGB G.Skill C16 3600MHz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage Crucial MX SSDs
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Core P5 Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Corsair
Software Win10
You have to be careful when OCing VRAM, without properly cooling or too much voltage will kill the memory very quickly.

Agreed, I would not fiddle with VRAM voltage wise, you can get permanent artifacts by doing that. Not worth it.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
12,896 (3.21/day)
Location
Concord, NH, USA
System Name Apollo
Processor Intel Core i9 9880H
Motherboard Some proprietary Apple thing.
Memory 64GB DDR4-2667
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Pro 5600M, 8GB HBM2
Storage 1TB Apple NVMe, 4TB External
Display(s) Laptop @ 3072x1920 + 2x LG 5k Ultrafine TB3 displays
Case MacBook Pro (16", 2019)
Audio Device(s) AirPods Pro, Sennheiser HD 380s w/ FIIO Alpen 2, or Logitech 2.1 Speakers
Power Supply 96w Power Adapter
Mouse Logitech MX Master 3
Keyboard Logitech G915, GL Clicky
Software MacOS 12.1
Well, the HD 6000 series was actually somewhat bandwidth starved, and with VRAM overclocks I can see gradual gains in benchmarks and some gains.

That's definitely not the case with my 6870s. Memory bandwidth actually has the smallest impact on my GPUs, where most performance can be had with a core overclock.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (1.04/day)
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
ive noticed that when overclocking core, I only see a slight gain when my memory gets beyond 1750mhz, and that needs 0.010 more on volts. anything pass that and itll shut down when benching. most cards have some kind of limit before you need to up voltage anyway, and you will hit that before needing extra voltage

smash the back doors of the core is what I recommend, ive seen and read about many people killing there cards with too much mem voltage and now have permanent artifacts!
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2008
Messages
368 (0.07/day)
Location
Over There
System Name Games for Breakfast
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.3ghz
Motherboard ASRrock Z77 extreme6
Cooling Cooler Master TX3 Dual Fan
Memory 16GB DDR3 - RipjawsX 1600 1.5v @ 8-8-8-22 1T
Video Card(s) Asus AMD R9 290 4GB Reference PCB
Storage Samsung F3 Spinpoint 1TB
Display(s) HP 22vx IPS LED
Case Cooler Master Elite 331
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX650 V1
Keyboard CM Storm Devastator
Software Windows 10 64bit
Alright, you guys convinced me. I'm leaving VRAM voltage alone :)
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
1,518 (0.25/day)
Location
The Gulag Casino
System Name ROG By purecain
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero
Cooling Noctua NH U12A
Memory 32Gb G.Skill Trident RGB 4150@3600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS TUF 3090 / Titan V
Storage 1TbSamsung Evo M.2/ 2TbSamsung QVO/ 1TbSamsung Evo780/ 120gbKingston Now
Display(s) LG 65UN85006LA 65" Smart 4K Ultra HD HDR LED TV with Google Assistant & Amazon Alexa
Case Thermaltake CoreX71 Limited Edition Etched Tempered Glass Door
Audio Device(s) On board/NIcomplete audio 6
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS 1000w 80+
Mouse M65 RGB Elite
Keyboard K95 RGB Platinum
Software Windows10pro
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/gtle1y][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/gtle1y-6.png[/img][/url]
@MaxAwesome- good choice... gddr5 is delicate...
+0.5v should be ok though....

edit# +0.050 is about as much as I myself have ever increased gddr5 voltage...

I would use 0.005 increments to find an adequate setting...

good luck... :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,277 (0.27/day)
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Acer Nitro 5
Processor Ryzen 9 5900x || R5 2500U @ 35W
Motherboard MAG B550M MORTAR WIFI || default
Cooling Custom Water || Liquid Metal
Memory 2x16GB HyperX 3600 @ 3800 || 2x8GB DDR4 @ 2400MTs
Video Card(s) Vega 56 EKWB UV @ 1700Mhz+ 1075MHzHBM || RX 560X
Storage Samsung 9801TB x2 + Striped Tiered Storage Space (2x 128Gb SSD + 2x 1TB HDD) || 128GB + 1TB SSD
Display(s) Iiyama PL2770QS + Samsung U28E590, || 15,6" 1080P IPS @ 100Hz Freesync enabled
Case SilverStone Alta G1M ||
Power Supply Cooler Master V850 SFX || 135Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 11 64bit || Win 11 64bit
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (1.04/day)
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
haha yea don't go putting an extra 0.500v

I been upto 0.010v for higher clocks but didn't see any gains from it
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
1,614 (0.36/day)
Location
State College, PA, US
System Name My Surround PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 7950X
Motherboard ASUS STRIX X670E-F
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X / EK Quantum CPU / EK Quantum GPU / XSPC 480mm w/ Corsair Fans
Memory 64GB (2 x 32 GB) G.Skill DDR5-6400 CL32
Video Card(s) EVGA NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 XC3 Ultra 24GB
Storage WD SN850 2TB, 4 x 4TB HGST NAS HDD for Windows Storage Spaces
Display(s) 2 x Viotek GFI27QXA 27" 4K 120Hz + LG UH850 4K 60Hz + HMD
Case NZXT Source 530
Audio Device(s) Sony MDR-7506 / Logitech Z-5500 5.1
Power Supply Corsair RM1000x 1 kW
Mouse Patriot Viper V560
Keyboard Corsair K100
VR HMD HP Reverb G2
Software Windows 11 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Mellanox ConnectX-3 10 Gb/s Fiber Network Card
Almost always it's not the DRAM that is the limiting factor for the memory clock frequency but the memory controller or the traces on the PCB, in which case increasing the memory voltage would do nothing.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123 (1.03/day)
Location
North of Germany
System Name Nexus PC
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1231 v3, 3600 MHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H97-HD3
Cooling Thermalright Macho V2
Memory 24GB DDR3, 1400MHZ CL8
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 290
Storage Samsung EVO 960 250gb, EVO 850 250gb, Vertex 3 128gb. 2 TB of Rotational.
Display(s) 1xAsus MX299, 2x Asus MX239, Oculus Rift CV1
Case Sunflower Tower
Audio Device(s) C-Media CMI8738/C3DX
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Cyborg R.A.T. 7
Software Win7 64Bit Ultimate
didnt knew there was a way to influence the memory voltage on a reference 6970
(volterra reg)...i would be happy if someone could show me how to do that, im upgrading to a 7950 anyway in a week :)
 
Top