1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What low$ MB for a Intel Pentium E5300?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Sasqui, Sep 28, 2009.

  1. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    8,695 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,693
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    As the title says... looking for a CHEAP motherboard for an E5300.

    I have a set of DDR2-1066 Ram

    No frills, but would like onboard Audio and good overclocking potential. Prefer an intel chipset.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,605 (5.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,670
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    What's the budget for the board?
     
  3. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13,391 (5.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,258
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Gigabyte GA-EG41M-ES2L. I had the G31M-ES2L, and it was a solid, cheap board. OCed an E4600 to 3.2ghz with it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,605 (5.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,670
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  5. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    8,695 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,693
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    FREE! :rolleyes:

    ...Looking $75 and under.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,605 (5.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,670
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    If you don't go with the BloodIron look at a P43 or a 680i. If overclocking most e5300 chips are walled to about 355fsb. So you don't need an expensive board, just look for soemthing with alot of power phases.


    EDIT:

    If you don't mind going second hand, any of these board he has listed will do the job quite nicely.

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=103498

    I'm looking specifically at that 780i.
     
  7. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,015 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    742
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
  8. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    8,695 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,693
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Wow, I got my E6600 to 480FSB, but that involved dropping the multiplier down a notch. I could never get more than 3.6Ghz out of it. Wonder if the same is true for the 5300.


    Hmm... worth considering.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    8,695 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,693
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Yea, those were the ones I was looking at as well... thx.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  10. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,520 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,136
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Sasqui,

    I just bought this $62 Asus board:
    http://www.buy.com/retail/product.asp?sku=211504734

    It has onboard sound and video(if needed). Not sure how well it will overclock with the chipset but it's $40 cheaper than a P5Q(preferred for CPU overclocking). I think you could find a P5Q used here for $75. :toast: If you could that would run 450+ FSB and get a killer overclock.
     
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,605 (5.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,670
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I'm telling you, you will not need to get a very very expensive board. All boards that support 1600/400 and 1066 will pair with it very well.
     
  12. choppy

    choppy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    UK
    i'm looking for the same thing and the best mobo ive come across is the Gigabyte G31M-ES2L
     
  13. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    8,695 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,693
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Micro ATX as well... did you go for it?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  14. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13,391 (5.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,258
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    I have had 2, and they performed very well for the price. And they overclocked pretty well.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,520 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,136
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Heres a guy that hit 330 FSB for 3.8Ghz, damn good if I say so:

    http://www.techenclave.com/overcloc...ng-intel-e5200-gigabyte-ga-g31m-138820-2.html

    For $50 thats a great deal. Slap on a better air cooler and your golden!

    Although the Asus G41 board I mentioned handles DDR2 1066 and has the revised chipset. I'll let you know how it clocks on a Q8200 later this week if you want. I'm thinking 300FSB should be appropriate. :D
     
  16. Bot

    Bot

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    589 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    107
    newegg had the blackops on sale for $75 after MIR but it's back up to $119
    i would keep an eye out for it or get a price drop alert.
     
  17. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    8,695 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,693
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I still am dissapointed that the 4Ghz barrier seems so elusive on that chip... and surprised that 400FSB seems so far away. My 3 yr old DQ6 tops out at 480. Is it the CPU I'm looking at?


    Who makes that?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  18. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13,391 (5.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,258
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Foxconn
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. choppy

    choppy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    UK
    not yet i havent, looking to upgrade things on my current rig and once i do that and have leftovers il build a second rig with that mobo probably.

    have you got a budget for your mobo?
     
  20. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,605 (5.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,670
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    BlackOps isn't worth it right now if your on a budget due to the price of DDR3.
     
  21. Bot

    Bot

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    589 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    107

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)