1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What motherboard should I buy?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by OrbitzXT, Apr 29, 2007.

  1. OrbitzXT

    OrbitzXT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,969 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    New York City
    I'm going to be building a new system soon, very similar to the one in my system specs which I'm selling but I'd like to make a few small alterations. I'd like something that can overclock very well, I will probably be buying an E6600 now that the price has dropped, maybe even a E6700. The Gigabyte DS3 I have now is very nice for overclocking, but it only has 2x SATA RAID ports. Are there any motherboards good with overclocking that has maybe 3 or 4 RAID? I'll probably use 3 drives, 4 doesn't seem worth the risk of a drive dieing.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,376 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    DS4 rev 3.3 and DQ6 are very nice Mobos.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    How about an ASUS P5B-Deluxe? They clock like a mofo, and have all the features you're after.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Yeah 6 (actually i think theres 8 sata ports :ohwell:)
    6 ports together and i know ive seen at least one more somewhere else randomly on the board lol...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    yep. 7...heres a pic just in case you wanted to see the sata.
    The one on its own said SATA Raid next to it.
    Does that mean you can have 7 drives in raid?

    Or just one, and another plugged into the SATA Raid port?
    hmmmmmmm
     

    Attached Files:

    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,052 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    I'm guessing that the black ones can be used for Raid, and the red ones can't...but until I see a manual I can't say more than that. Normally if you look on the website of the board makers they have the manual in pdf form.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Red ones should be for the Intel ICH8R Raid, and the Black ones should be the Jmicron RAID. Avoid the black ones. lol

    EDIT: Hmmm, nix that. It seems the group of 6 are all ICH8R connectors. Reds ones are considered Master and to be used for booting in a RAID, Black ones are considered Slave, and to be used for Storage in a raid. Apparently, you can't do a 6 drive array, ony 4 and 2, and 2 on the Jmicron.
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2007
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. OrbitzXT

    OrbitzXT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,969 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    New York City
    4 is more than enough for me, is it worth setting up 4 drives in RAID 0? My data is unimportant, I'm just a gamer so I want the most performance, but even still I don't want to have to deal with crashes often. Is 3 or 4 a better number of drives to use? At what point do the benefits of more drives outweigh the risk of one dieing?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,376 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    IF youre into Video editing, 3dAnimation RAID can give you a substantial amount of less time to wait or speed increase take it as you like.
    However thats all theres to it, no difference in games ( except loading times ).
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,052 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    I wouldn't use more than 2 drives in RAID 0, the benfits of using more than 2 are minimal and not worth it. Use 2 with RAID 0, and 2 more for storage.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)