• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What power supply do I need for Radeon 6950 Crossfire?

Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,216 (0.47/day)
Likes
55
Location
Canada
System Name Brutus
Processor i5 4690k @4.7Ghz (Watercooled)
Motherboard z97 MSI Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken x61 AIO watercooler
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 8gb (2x4gb) 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 980ti x2 (sli)
Storage 1 SSD 64GB (OS) + 2x500GB WesternDigital RAID 0
Display(s) YAMAKASI Catleap q270 SE 27inch Glossy 2560x1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Antec TPQ 1200w
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)
#1
What kind of power supply would I need to power 2 XFX radeon 6950 2gb...

I also intend to power my i7 875k and overclock it... I have many fans too...
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,467 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,142
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#2
750 watt or more quality brand PSU will be good.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,586 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,965
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#3
750 watt or more quality brand PSU will be good.
It's worth noting that my brand-new Silverstone 750W STRIDER GOLD is NOT capable of powering a Sandybridge i7 2600K rig with one reference, and one non reference card, when the system is overclocked, and neither is my new Corsair TX850W.

The TX 850 shows some signs of issues with a mild overclock, and the 750W Silverstone actaully manages to do better, but with the system maxed, it is not. I am not sure if it's the board is a bit tepermental with the 750W, but for sure the TX850 just isn't cutting it.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,467 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,142
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#4
It's worth noting that my brand-new Silverstone 750W STRIDER GOLD is NOT capable of powering a Sandybridge i7 2600K rig with one reference, and one non reference card, when the system is overclocked, and neither is my new Corsair TX850W.

The TX 850 shows some signs of issues with a mild overclock, and the 750W Silverstone actaully manages to do better, but with the system maxed, it is not. I am not sure if it's the board is a bit tepermental with the 750W, but for sure the TX850 just isn't cutting it.
Sounds like your PSU's are defective or it's an electrical issue with you house. I use a TX850 that is over a year old in my rig that consumes more power than yours and have had zero issues with it.. :ohwell:
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
4,315 (1.21/day)
Likes
1,015
Location
Multidimensional
System Name Derp!
Processor i7 7700 @ 4.2Ghz Turbo On
Motherboard Gigabyte B250 Phoenix Wifi ITX Motherboard
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i LP Cooler || Cooler Master Fan Pro RGB 120mm x 2
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400mhz RAM
Video Card(s) AMD Reference RX 480 8GB
Storage 250GB SS 960 Evo M.2 || WD Blue 500GB SSD || 2TB SG FC SSHD
Display(s) Hisense 1080p Smart LED HDTV 40inch
Case Fractal Node 202 Mini ITX Case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio / HDMI Audio Via GPU
Power Supply Corsair SFX 600W PSU
Mouse CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mouse
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mem-Chanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit
Benchmark Scores Later
#5
Same with what erocker said, a quality 750W PSU should be sufficient
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,652 (2.63/day)
Likes
3,438
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#6
Id agree with Erocker as well, Im using an HX850 and 6950's pushed as well as the cpu and all the extra shit sucking power from the psu, hasnt given a problem at all.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,586 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,965
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#7
Sounds like your PSU's are defective or it's an electrical issue with you house. I use a TX850 that is over a year old in my rig that consumes more power than yours and have had zero issues with it.. :ohwell:
Could be house power, for sure.

I think we're not about the same for power use, though. I think you've got it backwards, I'm pretty sure I'm pulling more power through cpu/gpus. What I'm missing in waterpump is easily made up in fans, soundcard and USB devices, as well as multiple monitors on the vgas pushing up the GPU a bit.

Both are fine @ stock, 100%. If you figure that AMD recommends a 500w PSU for just one card, and add the possible 225w from the second card, you've got 725w. I think 225w is a safe estimate, as AMD recommends a 550W PSU for single 6970...again, add in a possible 300W, and you are at 850W.

Fully clocked, I'm pushing 5.5ghz on the Sandybridge, and 1050/1450 on the VGAs. PSU is a huge factor when pushing clocks to the max, and I doubt anyone here is currently pushing similar clocks.

Could be because I'm got all the memory slots full, so the cpu is a bit more sensitive. In the end, the Antec 1200w works fine, as does the systems with just one card, and "reasonable" clocks.

Keep in mind, I'm pushing much more than the average user, and am not refering to "daily" clocks...I run stock pretty much day to day.

It's worth noting that XFX has told me that my 750W should be OK too.

Id agree with Erocker as well, Im using an HX850 and 6950's pushed as well as the cpu and all the extra shit sucking power from the psu, hasnt given a problem at all.
The HX is a MUCH better unit than the TX. I think you need to be REALLY picky if going 750W, but 850W is about right for most users.
 
Last edited:

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,467 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,142
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#8
Could be house power, for sure.

I think we're not about the same for power use, though. I think you've got it backwards, I'm pretty sure I'm pulling more power through cpu/gpus. What I'm missing in waterpump is easily made up in fans, soundcard and USB devices, as well as multiple monitors on the vgas pushing up the GPU a bit.

Both are fine @ stock, 100%. If you figure that AMD recommends a 500w PSU for just one card, and add the possible 225w from the second card, you've got 725w. I think 225w is a safe estimate, as AMD recommends a 550W PSU for single 6970...again, add in a possible 300W, and you are at 850W.

Fully clocked, I'm pushing 5.5ghz on the Sandybridge, and 1050/1450 on the VGAs.

Could be because I'm got all the memory slots full, so the cpu is a bit more sensitive. In the end, the Antec 1200w works fine, as does the systems with just one card.
According to my UPS I'm pulling 655W under full load. My six core AMD chip eats a hell of a lot more juice than your Sandy Bridge, even at 5.5ghz most likely. Then again, I am using a UPS are you? My house is very old and I did have random issues with my computer before using a UPS which have dissappeared after installing it. I would recommend getting one as I'm convinced they make a difference if you have older wiring etc. in your home. I think people need to address the quality of power going in to their PSU's.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,586 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,965
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#9
Yep, got a UPS. Single 30A circuit, new, with just the PC, now. Just installed the new circuit recently, actually. I'm doing a fair bit more specific power testing, with the Zalman units...I'm pulling WAY more than you think. I'm pulling about 625w from the wall from the cards alone. They don't draw that much, closer to just under 275w each, but then PSU efficiency takes it's bite as well.

CPU is pulling 195w itself, again, not all is CPU, but VRM's aren't really that efficient just yet.

I've got inline plugs on every power connector except for molex and sata, and 24-pin monitoring power usage.

In the back of my mind I wanna remind you about Peet's e6400 cpu, and what we each thought about how much power was being used. ;)
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,467 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,142
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#10
I'm pulling about 625w from the wall from the cards alone.
You must use a different kind of electricity where you live. :laugh: I just don't see how that is possible.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,467 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,142
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#12

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,586 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,965
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#13
Lol. I don't wanna have to deal with XFX support. NO THANK YOU.:laugh:
:laugh: They did keep replacing my cards, although I had issues, I'm rocking it now! ;)

I was actually pretty shocked by how much they are sucking, but I mean, just go take a look at W1zz's reviews...and the clocks he gets...the lightening 6970 review is a good place to start, that card with reasonable clocks was pulling 250w, and he's not reporting numbers from the wall...he's monitoring from the plugs and the slot. And I'm pushing higher numbers from a worse peice of silicon.


Uh, The 190W you are quoting is @ stock. :laugh: An extra 60w is no big deal. Um, erocker...lol, how come you're missing the obvious?

For our power consumption testing AMD's power control system was set to "0" for all tests. Only for Furmark Maximum, we set the slider to "+20".
If I had really good cards, the power consumption would probably be less, but really mine clock pretty poorly.


EDIT:


A 750W is going to limit clocks. And 850W, gonna limits those looking for extremes. Either can work...although I think many 750W PSU's just won't cut it with overclocking, and will be the weak link.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Messages
907 (0.28/day)
Likes
85
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5h
Cooling XSPC Raystrom
Memory 4x4GB DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) 7950 crossfire
Storage a few
Display(s) 27" Catleap
Case Xigmatek Elysium
Audio Device(s) Xonar STX
Power Supply Seasonic X1050
Software Windows 7 X64
#14
I'm running an i5 760 and two 6950s in crossfire on a Seasonic X650 Gold. This psu has yet to break a sweat. Even with the 760 at 4ghz and the cards at 900/1350 when running three threads of Linx and GPU tool scanning for artifacts my pc doesn't draw much over 500w at the wall including my 28" monitor according to my UPS.
 
Last edited:

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,586 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,965
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#15
I'm running an i5 760 and two 6950s in crossfire on a Seasonic X650 Gold. This psu has yet to break a sweat. Even with the 760 at 4ghz and the cards at 900/1350 when running three threads of Linx and GPU tool scanning for artifacts my pc doesn't draw much over 500w at the wall including my 28" monitor.
That's actually pretty impressive. Just keep in mind that when cpu speed and power increases, so do framerates, meaning a GPU paired with a 4GHz i7 CPU will draw a bit more power than when paired with a 4GHz i5 chip or a 4GHz AMD chip. More frames=more power consumed.
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Messages
907 (0.28/day)
Likes
85
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5h
Cooling XSPC Raystrom
Memory 4x4GB DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) 7950 crossfire
Storage a few
Display(s) 27" Catleap
Case Xigmatek Elysium
Audio Device(s) Xonar STX
Power Supply Seasonic X1050
Software Windows 7 X64
#16
Are there any differences between an i7 like the 860 that I had and my current 760 other than hyper threading which actually hurts more often than it helps when it comes to gaming? I'm also not really pushing this cpu too hard as far as voltage goes. My 6950s also sit at the stock 1.1v core voltage. I'm sure that I could get it to draw quite a bit more with some more voltage that I don't really need and something like OCCT's psu test but more than 650w I'm not sure.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,586 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,965
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#17
Are there any differences between an i7 like the 860 that I had and my current 760 other than hyper threading which actually hurts more often than it helps when it comes to gaming?
I haven't found many situations where HT hurts anything. I've the 760(on P7P board I reviewed here) and the 870(on Maximus III Gene, I also reviewed here), as well as the Sandybridge rig. I can get both 1156 CPUS to 4.4ghz though, and came to conclusion that the 870 does better, simply due to being able to push 2400mhz on the ram, while getting much over 2133 on the 760 is near on impossible with the boards I got.

There's been a couple of games that wouldn't play well with HT when released, but that's not really due to the CPU..that's down to poor progamming.