1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

what should i get?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by frankie827, Dec 28, 2008.

  1. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
    hey guys
    so i got a $250 gift certificate for newegg for christmas....so i was thinking about upgrading my pc..
    i was thinking about maybe a
    1. new cpu
    2. new motherboard
    3. more ram
    4. tv tuner
    5. 1tb hard drive
    6. a new case
    7. water cooling/new heatsink

    only 1 off these things or a combo that makes it so the total is under 250 or 260



    could you guys give me some insight?
    my pc is in my system specs


    thanks!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    New motherboard and case.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,828 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Depends on what you wanna do. If your wanting to just beef up your speed, get a cpu/mb. If your wanting more gaming power pick up an extra 260. I would probably go w/ a tv tuner/1.5tb drive if I was in your shoes.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,866 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    710
    Location:
    South Carolina
    New processor would be your best bet...Get the E8600
     
  5. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Not necessary.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    955
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Well since your computer spec's look amazing I would say if you are into it go with a water cooling setup . This might get you cooler and get you more of an OC on your Quad .
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,213 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    360
    one thing you could update is that soundcard and maybe get yourself a nice set of headphones or speakers to go with it?
     
  8. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut

    i totally forgot about my sound card haha
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
    what cooler do you recommend?
    i dont know anything about water cooling
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
    why a 1.5tb hdd? isnt 1tb enough?

    and i dont think my psu will handle another 260 =[
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    955
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Well with that kind of cash you can get yourself a nice setup some thing like this .
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835103045

    This .
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835118015

    Or this . But this might not give you the performance on that quad core ..
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835227001

    The fact is new egg is so limited in what you can get as they really suck for good water cooling setups .

    The only really good one is the first one I linked you to ..
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
    ok
    what happens if i my system demands more power than my psu can supply?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,338 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    PC shuts down by itselfs and refuses to post until u get a better psu. Constant BSOD's. System underclocks components by itself... lol
     
  14. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
    will it damage any of my components?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,338 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Possible, just be sure not to skimp on a PSU. ever!!!
     
  16. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    first your PS is PLENTY for two 260s..

    I would get a bigger screen (I love my 24")

    +1 on the better soundcard too

    (what do you do with ur comp? it looks pretty nice the way it is)
     
  17. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,646 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    i would say a decent new hdd would do you a world of wonders, with ur quad/4gb ram/vista a new samsung f1 or WD 320gb platter drive would cut windows load time quite a bit aswell as your apps/games etc it really does make a big difference imo going from a cheap 160/250gb hdd to ne of the latest offerings

    then whatever else you feel like, maybe a new case ?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut

    i use it for gaming mainly
    but i also use it as a media center and for school work
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    I dont know if the switch to digital will mean you need a special tuner card or not, if not how about a trade with him on the Tuner card
    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=69731
    (kills 2 birds with 1 stone)
    I had one of those dual tuner cards and it worked nicely.

    I REALLY love my Asus D1 sound card. (pretty cheap upgrade)

    What speakers are you using?
     
  20. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
    logitech x-530
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. HolyCow02

    HolyCow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    New York
    hmmmm I dunno... maybe go with a new hdd or a sound card. My third choice would be a new mobo
     
  22. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,939 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,458
    Location:
    US
    Would not spend it your system look ok as is. All though a nice Speaker setup like a HiFI amp would be enjoyable if you only use computer speakers.


    So either a Amp or save it till some newer stuff comes out. Check the card if it does out of date if you save it.
     
  23. DarkEgo

    DarkEgo

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    226
    You could get a SSD for your operating system, and with the extra get new speakers/headphones, and a sound card.
    This and This would be nice.
     
  24. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,005 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    New motherboard...Since your not running SLI, I would go with a P35 or P45. Your Q6600 does not need to be upgraded. You can OC it a lot further then 3.0Ghz even if its a B3 stepping 3.4Ghz should be possible. You should be able to get a good mobo and cpu only water cooling for 250.00 and then crank that Quad up.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    this would be such an easy thread if your computer sucked, lol. But it dosent, your sound card is OK (matches with ur speakers) so upgrading it would help a little.

    Your PS is fine as is

    Your video card is better than 99% of everyone else's in the world and should be plenty for a 20" LCD.

    As to upgrading ur Mobo unless OCing is your goal a new one wont make a lot of difference.

    So that leaves the Tuner card, possibly a case improvement (I dont like the sideways HDD mount of the Nzxt.) or the big Hdds (using ur 160s in Raid0 for the OS)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)