1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What should I go for: A64 4000+ or X2 3800+ ??

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by HookeyStreet, Jan 12, 2007.

  1. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,123 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    I want to upgrade my CPU and I dont know which one to go for:

    AMD Athlon 64 4000+ skt939 @ £60 (OEM)

    or

    AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ skt939 @ £95 (retail with heatsink & fan)

    or

    AMD Opteron 165 1.8GHz skt939 @ £110 (retail with heatsink & fan)

    :confused:

    I mostly use my PC for video encoding, internet surfing, downloading, burning and a bit of CSS ;) So do you think I would benefit from the 'dual core' over the 'single core'??

    EDIT: Opteron now added to possible CPU list ;)
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2007
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,488 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,395
    Video encoding > SMP.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Grings

    Grings

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,717 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    446
    Location:
    Blighty
    i got an opteron 165 for £98 from komplett, dont know if they have any left though (double cache, supposedly better overclocker)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,123 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Its £110 now, but is that still a good price?

    'AMD Opteron 165, 1.8GHz, Socket 939, 2MB, BOXED w/fan'
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Grings

    Grings

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,717 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    446
    Location:
    Blighty
    probably, considering how hard its getting to find dual core 939's, usual places have been out of stock for ages (scan, aria, ebuyer etc)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. SpoonMuffin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    318 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    get the x2, encoding gakes advantage of dual cores/multi cpu's, if you use current software/codecs anyway :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Grings

    Grings

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,717 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    446
    Location:
    Blighty
    you need a board that gets a good fsb for any real speed though, its got a 9x multiplier
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)