1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What socket are you using?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Kantastic, Sep 12, 2010.

?

What socket does your main rig use?

  1. 775

    34.7%
  2. 1156

    14.9%
  3. 1366

    17.8%
  4. AM2/AM2+/AM3

    32.7%
  1. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,165 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    996
    I was reading this news thread regarding Swiftech's new pre-assembled cooling kits and noticed that users complained about why AM3 (including AM2/AM2+) mounting hardware wasn't included in the new kits (or any old kits for that matter). This was the response Swiftech's CEO replied with:

    It's no doubt that Intel dominates AMD in terms of market share but factors such as differences in platforms (desktops, laptops, netbooks, mainstream, enthusiast, etc) all contribute to that matter... which really isn't relevant seeing as enthusiasts make up only a very small percentage of the consumer base.

    Now, I would have assumed that the market for such water cooling kits are limited to the enthusiast market which consist of people like us (okay I'm arguable/not even), people who would even think about considering buying a $300 water cooling kit. This leads me to my question: Does Intel still have a significant lead over AMD in the enthusiast market? Is the lead large enough to justify not including AM2/AM2+/AM3 compatibility with their kits?

    IMO, it probably costs them $5 more to make the AMD mounting hardware and nothing extra to include. $5 won't really make a difference considering it's a $300 kit but to have to package, ship, go through customs and whatever, people would likely be paying $15-$20 after shipping if they bought it separate.
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2010
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    I'm 1366, but I still don't see the justification of not including it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,060
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    775... theirs still no reason for the everyday user to go beyond this socket besides flexing their epeen
     
  4. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,890 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,156
    Location:
    Northern CA, USA
    He said they might add it as an option, which I think is fair enough.

    Voted.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,165 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    996
    He actually found a solution; He spoke to all retailers and had them give buyers an option of adding (and paying for) the AMD mounting hardware during check-out. I can't really vote since I change between AM3 & 1366 every month, first time trying out 1156 but lets see how long I'll stay on this socket.
     
  6. Athlon2K15

    Athlon2K15 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,776 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,320
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    1366 the only way to go
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,133 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,909
    Voted 1156.

    To shed some light on the matter. Lets say we are looking at an AMD and Intel rig, both at 4GHz. Both start off on air. Now the AMD at 4GHz is say 50-60 degrees loaded, where the newer intels are in the 70-90 range. I dont think its user base as much as it is the straight need for intel to go water when looking for 4ghz+;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,158 (10.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,095
    AMD's heat tolerances aren't as high as Intel due to a different manufatcturing process (SOI vs. High K). Once you hit 60c with an AMD rig performance starts to degrade. AMD in many cases needs to run water for 4ghz+ as well. Temperatures aside they are both pretty equal in terms of what kind and how much cooling they need.
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,920 (9.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,471
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    that was the point i made in PM's with kantastic while discussing the creation of this thread... its not so much that theres less AMD users, its just that intel users have more heat to deal with - so they're more likely to go to water when OCing
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,014 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,856
    2wicked and mjkmike say thanks.
  11. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    435
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    AM2+, I don't see using any "blue sockets" in the future, either.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Yep. I have 2 here. lol.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,130 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,323
    Location:
    Pune
    there is no difference between AM2+ and AM3 except that AM3 is associated with DDR3 and AM2+ with DDR2.

    the amd sockets should have been made different options..
     
  14. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,001
    I thought another factor was that the AMD sensors significantly under report the heat.
     
  15. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    435
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    The reason for screwy temp figures for AMDs is that there's only one temp sensor and it's located in the coolest part of the chip, the NB that is. Using an external k-type probe I've measured differences up to over 10ºC on my chip vs. software readings.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,661 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    280
    Location:
    London
    Voted. Main system: AM3, second system: AM2+
     
  17. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,519
    that wasn't the question, at all.

    not only was he not asking whether it was necessary to use a newer socket, what he was doing was attempting to find out what the market share of those sockets are, specifically (at least, from our little test group here) ... and he was specifically talking about high end enthusiast users, not everyday users.

    I understand your point - and even agree... it just has nothing to do with this... we are almost all enthusiasts here, so the "everyday user" moniker doesn't fit the majority of us very well - which was again, the point of the OP.

    Main system (i7/1366) , Second (PII/AM2+) , HTPC (i3/1156)
     
  18. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,533
    Location:
    Kingston, Ontario Canada
    775 main rig, 2nd rig AM2+ (upgrading to AM3 or AM3r2 in the future as I already have a AM3 proc)
     
  19. Dave63

    Dave63 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    106 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Hamilton, NY
    AM2+ Till next gen pased AM3.
     
  20. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    955
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    :roll:

    Yeah I still have the 775 socket :rockout: !
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. mjkmike

    mjkmike

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,647 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,807
    Location:
    Alberta,Canada
    I voted for AMD but I still have my I7930 and I hope others are like me and like more than just one brand of rig.
     
  22. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    955
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Most of us are just poor white folk .. :wtf:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. mjkmike

    mjkmike

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,647 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,807
    Location:
    Alberta,Canada
    ^^ you don't have to own it to like it.
     
  24. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    955
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Well no .
    It's ok I guess . :rolleyes:
     
    mjkmike says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,501 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,144
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    I have a laptop that is my main rig for now so I am sad to see my socket is not there. I have a Socket P (478).
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)