• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What type of thermal compund for my graphics card?

Joined
Apr 21, 2011
Messages
494 (0.20/day)
Likes
56
Location
Hesperus IV
System Name Salvaged
Processor AMD Phenom II X6, 1055T
Motherboard MSI (cant remember model..)
Cooling Antec Kühler + extra fans (Antec, Zalman, Coolermaster, Generic brand)
Memory 8Gb (2 x 4Gb)
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD6870
Storage Samsung 1TB, 320 Seagate, 250 Samsung
Display(s) LG Electronics
Case ANTEC Sonata III 500 (found/salvaged + modified)
Audio Device(s) 8Ch + Harman Kardon 2.1 (modified, electronics in JVC wood speakers)
Power Supply It's made in Denmark, never seen a PSU made there..
Software Win7 X64 Ultimate
#26
I have not read this thread completely, but I'll give my two cents. The compound you use should depend a little on the type of mounting for the GPU. If you have push-pins and springs, use a thinner compound. If it mounts with screws, you can use a thicker one. Using a tick compound requires more pressure to spread it out properly, and springs & push-pins won't do that for you.
It has screws, and springs. Some "shims" also, non metallic however.
Also, another forum member mentions some sort of "pads" that are on the RAM of the graphics card, should I just so if I would mess things up, order some thermal pads at the same time? I do know I need to find out the thickness of the ones on the card.

I assume the screws should be mounted in a criss/cross pattern so it spreads out properly?
(Thinking of same procedure mounting a cylinder to a motorcycle engine).

Thanks for the heads up!
 
Joined
Jun 6, 2012
Messages
514 (0.25/day)
Likes
168
Processor Intel Core 2 QX6850
Motherboard ABIT AB9 Pro
Cooling Zalman CNPS-9900 MAX-R
Memory Patriot PDC24G6400LLK (4x 2 GB)
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce GTX 560 Ti Twin Light Turbo
Storage Not Enough!
Display(s) Samsung T240HD
Case NZXT Zero
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply Thortech Thunderbolt Plus TTBPK00G 1000W
Mouse Logitech G600
Keyboard CM Storm Trigger (Cherry MX Brown)
Software NOT Windows 10
#27

t_ski

Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
11,960 (2.78/day)
Likes
6,443
System Name My i7 Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus X99-A II
Cooling Nickel-plated EK Supremacy EVO, D5 with XSPC Bayres & BIX Quad Radiator
Memory 4 x 8GB EVGA SuperSC DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SuperClocked
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256GB m.2 SSD + 480GB Sandisk storage SSD
Display(s) Three Asus 24" VW246H LCD's
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#28
...should I just so if I would mess things up, order some thermal pads at the same time? I do know I need to find out the thickness of the ones on the card.
If you choose to order some, you would need to know the thickness. You can salvage some types of pads, as long as you remove them carefully.

I assume the screws should be mounted in a criss/cross pattern so it spreads out properly?
Yes, that's the recommended method
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,203 (2.96/day)
Likes
2,394
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#29
but its supposed to be done counterclockwise/clockwise to prevent warping
 

Norton

Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain
Staff member
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
12,804 (5.77/day)
Likes
36,677
Location
USA
System Name My Fortress/Trish (WCG)/Julia (WCG)/Ella (WCG)/Junior(WCG)/Cruncher 1 & 2/Kreij (WCG)
Processor Ryzen 1700X/i7-970/2600K/i7-980X/3930k/Opteron 6168x4/Ryzen 1600X/FX-8350
Motherboard X370 Taichi/ ASUS R3E/Asus P8P67 Pro/P9X79 Pro/EVGA X58 SLI 3/SuperMicro 4P
Cooling NH-D14/Phanteks/NH-U14S/H70/DeepCool/CM 212+ (x4)/NH-U14S/CM212
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ-3200 (1700X), 16GB GSkill FlareX-2400 (1600X),... various...., 4P- 16x1GB
Video Card(s) RX 580/HD 4670/HD 7770/HD 7770/HD 7770/onboard/HD 7770/onboard
Storage WD 500GB SSD/Seagate 2TB SSHD, everything else is Western Digital (mostly)
Display(s) Dell U2414H & 2409W / Dell 2208WFP (shared)
Case Silverstone FT01B/Source 530/Corsair 230T/Define XL R2/Silverstone FT05/Define R4/custom
Audio Device(s) on board (All)
Power Supply Corsair HX850/TX650/CS650M/X Gold 750/EVGA P2 850/X Gold 1050/HX650
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Thermaltake Challenger Prime (Great for $30!!!)
Software Win 7 Home 64 (Win 10 Pro 64)/Win Pro 64 or Ubuntu 12.04 LTS/14.04 LTS/17.04
Benchmark Scores Why sit on the Bench when you can get in the game and Crunch!!!
#30
It has screws, and springs. Some "shims" also, non metallic however.
Also, another forum member mentions some sort of "pads" that are on the RAM of the graphics card, should I just so if I would mess things up, order some thermal pads at the same time? I do know I need to find out the thickness of the ones on the card.

I assume the screws should be mounted in a criss/cross pattern so it spreads out properly?
(Thinking of same procedure mounting a cylinder to a motorcycle engine).

Thanks for the heads up!
If you're using the AC Twin Turbo then you won't need ram pads. The kit comes with ram heatsinks and thermal adhesive for them*

*Note- the AC thermal adhesive has been somewhat lousy at times (ram sinks falling off) so you may want to pickup a fresh tube of a similar compound for them.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2009
Messages
325 (0.10/day)
Likes
146
System Name Harley
Processor Intel core i7 3820
Motherboard ASRock Extreme6 X79
Cooling NZXT Kraken X60
Memory Geil Enhance Corsa DDR3 1600+ 16GB
Video Card(s) EVGA SuperClocked GTX Titan
Storage OCZ Vertex4 128GB SSD / Toshiba 7200 2TB HDD
Display(s) Crossover 30" 2560x1600
Case CoolerMaster HAF XB - Custom Modded
Audio Device(s) n/a
Power Supply CoolerMaster Silent Pro Hybrid 1300w
Software Win7 64
#31
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
679 (0.32/day)
Likes
230
Location
Norway
System Name Games/internet/usage - Server - backup - HTPC
Processor I7 5820k - AMD A8-5600K BE - I7 920 - A8-7600
Motherboard ASUS X99-A2 - Gigabyte GA-F2A85X-UP4 - MSI x58 pro-e - Gigabyte GA-F2A88XN-WIFI
Cooling custom water loop for cpu and gpus - Arctic Cooling Freezer Xtreme r.2 - Noctua NH-U12P SE1366
Memory 16GiB Crucial Ballistix Sport 2666 MHz - 8GiB 1600MHz - 12 GiB corsair thing - 8GB 1866MHz
Video Card(s) 2x Radeon R9 290X CF - HD 7560D - 2x Radeon HD6950 CF - A8 -7600
Storage Samsung XP941 500 GB - 60 GB SSD + 6 x HDD 4 TB in RAID 6 - 4 SSD and 2 HDD - 250 GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP - Remote desktop - the Dell when in use - 55" TV screen
Case Caselabs Magnum M8 - Fractal Design Define R4 - Nanoxia DS 1 - Antec ISK 110 VESA
Audio Device(s) Toslink -> Shiit Modi 2 Uber -> Matrix m-stage -> HD650 - none - as main - HDMI out -> 5.1 system
Power Supply beQuiet dark power pro 1200W- corsair RM750x - Corsair AX850 - Antec 90 W pico power
Mouse Roccat tyon - remote desktop - Roccat tyon when in use - Logitech K830
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB - remote desktop - Corsair K95 RGB when in use - Logitech K830
Software Win 10 Pro - Win server 2012 essentials - Win 7 Pro - Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not high enough
#32
Yes I have checked. But I'm a bit sceptic, the stock cooler does cool, and when I have applied thermal paste I guess I'll see the difference. If it runs good with stock - I'll stay with stock.

What do you mean that the arctic cooling "stuff" fits the AMD HD 8000 series?
I don't have an AMD GPU, I have an nVidia GPU.. Or did you mean the older ATI card I was talking about? That one was an AGP card.[/QUOTE

All their GPU coolers have a AMD HD 8000 series card listed as supported, it was OT, also a bit weird ass they have not been released yet. (the HD 8000 series)

the nV 250 GTS is also listed as supported