• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What video card provides...

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
7,200 (1.24/day)
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor AMD Ryzen7 1300X 4.0GHz
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua
Memory Gskil TridentZ RGB DDR4 3000MHz RAM
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1050
Storage WD 3T
Display(s) 50" Samsung and a 23" asus LCD 1080p
Case Antech LanAir Pro.
Audio Device(s) Denon AVR3802
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Optical
Keyboard K120 Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 bit Home OEM
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/jkke77][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/jkke77-2.png[/img][/url]
I know this is a strange question but I would really like to know what video card provides the best sound.
Since HDMI is the new normal for hooking up sound equipment (Home theater style. ) Why are sound cards still not HDMI or even have true Dolby atmos?
And since I use my computer for 99% of all my entertainment needs and since the Denon AVR is the main amp for sound.
Please no generic lame answers, I know that there is True Dolby Atmos and DTX and lots of other sound settings that creators us e for there media. There can NOT be a generic answer. Somewhere down the line the sound they moved from a simple sound card to on board sound to HDMI.
I want the one video card out that can pass through True Dolby Atmos sound there just HAS to be some thing I am missing.
PCM ( Pulse Code Modulation) IS NOT TRUE FING DOLBY ATMOS, It's NOT even close to any of that!
So there HAS to be some thing for this or am I missing something?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,356 (5.02/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
They are all the same. All the nVidia cards use the nVidia sound card, all the AMD cards use the AMD sound card. Video card makers aren't building special sound equipment into video cards.
 
Joined
May 8, 2020
Messages
77 (0.46/day)
System Name ValueRig
Processor i5-3470
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H61M-S2P-B3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 Evo *fanless
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 6GB Gaming XXX
Storage 120GB Crucial BX300 - 1TB WD Caviar Blue (2010)
Display(s) 3X LG Flatron L1753T (3840x1024)
Audio Device(s) VIA VT2021 integrated :)
Power Supply Seasonic SSR-750FX
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Old IBM
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1
HDMI is digital. So is the audio part of it.
But digital is not as good as analog :)

ps
in an hdmi interface there are only a few pins dedicated for audio. So it is pointless to have a sound card with HDMI (unless it is a weird one that also sends some video and stuff).
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
20,932 (4.24/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz {2x8GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
The signal is digital so it doesnt matter. What matters the most is your choice of AVR (audio processor) and speakers as those are the two components that will be processing and outputting sound.

Thats why AVRs and speakers costs can run into the thousands for an extremely good setup.
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
7,200 (1.24/day)
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor AMD Ryzen7 1300X 4.0GHz
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua
Memory Gskil TridentZ RGB DDR4 3000MHz RAM
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1050
Storage WD 3T
Display(s) 50" Samsung and a 23" asus LCD 1080p
Case Antech LanAir Pro.
Audio Device(s) Denon AVR3802
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Optical
Keyboard K120 Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 bit Home OEM
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/jkke77][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/jkke77-2.png[/img][/url]
So wait hold on, The HDMI signal is both video and audio? And the AVR is the "decoder" so the video card has nothing to do with the sound, Yet the sound comes from the video HDMI port as a digital signal that passes through to my AVR and it takes that (Probably 2 Chanel signal ) and Produces the DTX and Atmos sound I hear? That is a lot of heavy lifting.
So that leaves no need at for any sound card or DAC unit because the HDMI signal is 4K so the sound sound be HD as well.
WOW how confusing. SO sound cards are a relic then. :(
And yeah even a digital signal has some degradation and the sound signal passes through the video card yet is not processed till it gets to the AVR.
would it not stand to reason that there is some kind of video sound passing through the card if so then there has to be some sorta time taken for this.
Like with 1080p it can not do 4k so you have to upgrade right?

So what is going on in the digital sound world and the video world?

The signal is digital so it doesnt matter. What matters the most is your choice of AVR (audio processor) and speakers as those are the two components that will be processing and outputting sound.

Thats why AVRs and speakers costs can run into the thousands for an extremely good setup.
Yeah I am at $2,500.00 maybe a bit more. But I am extremely happy with this setup just looking to improve whatever I can I am getting really Anal and all OCD on this Audiophile system.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
1,128 (0.24/day)
Location
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Processor i7-3770K
Motherboard Biostar Hi-Fi Z77
Cooling Swiftech H20 (w/Custom External Rad Enclosure)
Memory 16GB DDR3-2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Alienware GTX 1070
Storage 1TB Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) 32" LG 1440p
Case Cooler Master 690 (w/Mods)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 750-TX
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard G. Skill Mechanical
Software Windows 10 (X64)
So wait hold on, The HDMI signal is both video and audio? And the AVR is the "decoder" so the video card has nothing to do with the sound, Yet the sound comes from the video HDMI port as a digital signal that passes through to my AVR and it takes that (Probably 2 Chanel signal ) and Produces the DTX and Atmos sound I hear? That is a lot of heavy lifting.
So that leaves no need at for any sound card or DAC unit because the HDMI signal is 4K so the sound sound be HD as well.
WOW how confusing. SO sound cards are a relic then. :(
And yeah even a digital signal has some degradation and the sound signal passes through the video card yet is not processed till it gets to the AVR.
would it not stand to reason that there is some kind of video sound passing through the card if so then there has to be some sorta time taken for this.
Like with 1080p it can not do 4k so you have to upgrade right?

So what is going on in the digital sound world and the video world?


Yeah I am at $2,500.00 maybe a bit more. But I am extremely happy with this setup just looking to improve whatever I can I am getting really Anal and all OCD on this Audiophile system.
There's no degradation, as the data is sent again if there's a problem with it originally. There's no attenuation or degradation of the signal, like there is with analog signals.

That's right, there's no need for a sound card these days, unless you want to hook up some headphones or something without an HDMI input.
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
7,200 (1.24/day)
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor AMD Ryzen7 1300X 4.0GHz
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua
Memory Gskil TridentZ RGB DDR4 3000MHz RAM
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1050
Storage WD 3T
Display(s) 50" Samsung and a 23" asus LCD 1080p
Case Antech LanAir Pro.
Audio Device(s) Denon AVR3802
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Optical
Keyboard K120 Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 bit Home OEM
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/jkke77][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/jkke77-2.png[/img][/url]
There's no degradation, as the data is sent again if there's a problem with it originally. There's no attenuation or degredation of the signal, like there is with analog signals.

That's right, there's no need for a sound card these days, unless you want to hook up some headphones or something without an HDMI input.
But there is no signal processing on card so what or where is that digital signal coming from?
 

Endymio

New Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2020
Messages
7 (0.30/day)
The HDMI signal is both video and audio? And the AVR is the "decoder" so the video card has nothing to do with the sound, Yet the sound comes from the video HDMI port as a digital signal that passes through to my AVR and it takes that (Probably 2 Chanel signal ) and Produces the DTX and Atmos sound I hear? So that leaves no need at for any sound card or DAC unit because the HDMI signal is 4K so the sound sound be HD as well.
To be precise, HDMI devices are only required to support the baseline audio standard, which is pretty low (2-channel stereo, 16 bit 32khz PCM). The HDMI standard allows for much better audio resolution such as 8-channel DTS-HD, but individual HDMI devices may not support it. So, while in theory, digital signals roam the entire known multiverse unchanged and undegraded, but whenever they cross a boundary that requires format conversion, they may lose something in translation.

WOW how confusing. SO sound cards are a relic then. :(
Why the frowny face? Remember the old Buggles hit and sing to the tune: "HDMI killed the audio card...."
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2018
Messages
178 (0.21/day)
Location
Australia

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
7,200 (1.24/day)
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor AMD Ryzen7 1300X 4.0GHz
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua
Memory Gskil TridentZ RGB DDR4 3000MHz RAM
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1050
Storage WD 3T
Display(s) 50" Samsung and a 23" asus LCD 1080p
Case Antech LanAir Pro.
Audio Device(s) Denon AVR3802
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Optical
Keyboard K120 Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 bit Home OEM
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/jkke77][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/jkke77-2.png[/img][/url]
Why the frowny face? Remember the old Buggles hit and sing to the tune: "HDMI killed the audio card...."
Yes LOL.
These pages have some useful info. Using Google-Fu ;)


Yeah I found that first one too and well by the looks of it they do have a sound format so yeah I need a better video card if I want better sound digitally.
So the video card does have to have a sound interface or digital place for sound processing.
And this is just what I am talking about. There is NO way in hell that signal was coming in as DTX or DD or Atmos. If so my AVR system would tell me. All I get is PCM THAT IS FING NOT DD DTX DTXS OR ATMOS! I have played every fing Youtube BS Atmos 4k bullshit video and my system says ONE FING THING! PCM ! That gives me Multichannel Dolby surround Some other stuff that also makes no sense like virtual-x and some other crap. NOTHING at all says that signal is ATMOS or DTS or DDS at all! or my AVR would show it.
So there is that.

There is literally no way Youtube would be able to send a DDS or DTX or even Atmos signal through over the internet NO WAY IN HELL that signal is ever coming through, MY AVR would CHANGE automatically to that signal! I know it does it automatically! And as of yet not ONE fucking thing from the internet has come across full atmos NOT EVER!
 
Last edited:

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
16,749 (3.44/day)
Location
UK\US
Processor 2500k \ AMD 3900X+NH-D15
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ ASRock AM4 Pro 4
Memory Samsung low profile 1600 \ Patriot 2x16GB PVS432G320C6K
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X
Storage 2xIntel 80Gb (SATA2) Crucial MX500 \ Samsung 860 1TB +Samsung Evo 250GB+500GB+ 2xCorsair Force 120GB
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( VE2000BWS ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-A820 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX-630 Infinity RS4000 Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse Steelseries Sensei wireless \ Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
Yeah windows will show what your setup is capable of, take no notice of the Toshiba TV for some reason it displays that and not the AV some do and some don't like the Marantz i had showed the AV.

You set it up though the sound options like how many speakers you have and all that and if windows apply's it's own crap.

 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
11,519 (2.93/day)
System Name Delta // HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3600 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 XC ULTRA GAMING// EVGA GTX 1050 ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 1Tb SSD
Display(s) ASUS VP348QGL 34" Quad HD 3440 x 1440 // 55" LG 4K SK8000 Series
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Scarlett // HDMI to Samsung HW-R650 sound bar
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Cooler Master MM710 53G
Keyboard Logitech 920-009300 G512 SE
Software Windows 10 Pro // Windows 10 Pro
Sound cards are antiquated technology and have been for years. Having a sound chips in a case is goin to introduce electronic interference. It only makes sense to move the digital signal to an external source. Optical is good but has limitation to the bandwidth.

As far as the digital vs analog. Well if you like analog then use all analog, clicks and pops can add something so music. But a true analog system has no PC at all. I have a guitar with a tube amp, my system cannot reproduce the sound I get from it. Not even close
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
13,526 (2.81/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER XC ULTRA
Storage Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSD
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Xubuntu 20.04 Linux
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/23478641 www.3dmark.com/spy/13863605 www.3dmark.com/pr/306218
Where do you think the chips are that provide HDMI support?
There's not enough interference in there to change a 0 to a 1 or the PC would not function.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
18,683 (4.73/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
Yes LOL.

Yeah I found that first one too and well by the looks of it they do have a sound format so yeah I need a better video card if I want better sound digitally.
So the video card does have to have a sound interface or digital place for sound processing.
And this is just what I am talking about. There is NO way in hell that signal was coming in as DTX or DD or Atmos. If so my AVR system would tell me. All I get is PCM THAT IS FING NOT DD DTX DTXS OR ATMOS! I have played every fing Youtube BS Atmos 4k bullshit video and my system says ONE FING THING! PCM ! That gives me Multichannel Dolby surround Some other stuff that also makes no sense like virtual-x and some other crap. NOTHING at all says that signal is ATMOS or DTS or DDS at all! or my AVR would show it.
So there is that.

There is literally no way Youtube would be able to send a DDS or DTX or even Atmos signal through over the internet NO WAY IN HELL that signal is ever coming through, MY AVR would CHANGE automatically to that signal! I know it does it automatically! And as of yet not ONE fucking thing from the internet has come across full atmos NOT EVER!
You realize you have a gtx1050 (according to system specs), and that pascal based gpu has everything you need, right...? Look at the chart again, bud.

AFAIK, YT only outputs stereo...makes sense you aren't seeing anything above that. Ask Google if YT supports atmos...read the responses.

Why not run spdif from PC to AVR? Wouldn't that pass any signals through and let the AVR decode w/e it is?

Are you using the hdmi for video as well or just audio?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
11,519 (2.93/day)
System Name Delta // HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3600 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 XC ULTRA GAMING// EVGA GTX 1050 ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 1Tb SSD
Display(s) ASUS VP348QGL 34" Quad HD 3440 x 1440 // 55" LG 4K SK8000 Series
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Scarlett // HDMI to Samsung HW-R650 sound bar
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Cooler Master MM710 53G
Keyboard Logitech 920-009300 G512 SE
Software Windows 10 Pro // Windows 10 Pro
Where do you think the chips are that provide HDMI support?
HDMI has no analog processing on the card. The digital signal is not effected by electrical noise

There are some sound cards and motherboard that attempt to provide shielding against it, and work fairly well. Most of the high end sound cards come with shielding
 
Last edited:

Endymio

New Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2020
Messages
7 (0.30/day)
There's not enough interference in there to change a 0 to a 1 or the PC would not function.
That's a function of the signal being digital rather than analog, not because the audio processing is integrated into HDMI. The statement to which I replied claimed that a discrete sound card would always suffer from interference, which is incorrect.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
11,519 (2.93/day)
System Name Delta // HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3600 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 XC ULTRA GAMING// EVGA GTX 1050 ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 1Tb SSD
Display(s) ASUS VP348QGL 34" Quad HD 3440 x 1440 // 55" LG 4K SK8000 Series
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Scarlett // HDMI to Samsung HW-R650 sound bar
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Cooler Master MM710 53G
Keyboard Logitech 920-009300 G512 SE
Software Windows 10 Pro // Windows 10 Pro
The statement to which I replied claimed that a discrete sound card would always suffer from interference, which is incorrect.
Now your back tracking, not what I said. I said "Having a sound chips in a case is goin to introduce electronic interference" I also clarified later in the reply that some cards have shielding.
I get that some are still using sounds cards. I did for years and I have a few in the closet, maybe there not completely done but rather there are better options now.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 26, 2019
Messages
238 (0.52/day)
Processor R7 1700 non-X @ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte AORUS Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua
Memory 32 GB 3200 MT/s CL16
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64
Storage 2x 500 GB SSD, 2x 3 TB HDD
Case Silverstone FT02
Software Manjaro Linux, W10 if I have to
HDMI is digital. So is the audio part of it.
But digital is not as good as analog :)

ps
in an hdmi interface there are only a few pins dedicated for audio. So it is pointless to have a sound card with HDMI (unless it is a weird one that also sends some video and stuff).
Digital is not as good? Then I hope you're not using computers anywhere in your audio system, because they only deal in digital. Vinyl and cassette tapes are great but they only go so far lol.
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
7,200 (1.24/day)
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor AMD Ryzen7 1300X 4.0GHz
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua
Memory Gskil TridentZ RGB DDR4 3000MHz RAM
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1050
Storage WD 3T
Display(s) 50" Samsung and a 23" asus LCD 1080p
Case Antech LanAir Pro.
Audio Device(s) Denon AVR3802
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Optical
Keyboard K120 Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 bit Home OEM
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/jkke77][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/jkke77-2.png[/img][/url]
All I can say is this.
If the signal that is coming through my system to the AVR is True Dolby surround sound or Atmos or DTS My AVR would show that signal coming through as such. But there has yet to be one digital signal that comes from the internet that is true digital Dolby surround sound.
Yeah you can sure get that 4K and 8K look from the viewing platform but from the sound area it sucks ass.
Show me ONE of them BS videos on Youtube that is true Atmos or even true digital surround sound even.
There is only one way so far that I have seen the DTX and Dolby logos on my AVR and that is when I play a Blue-ray disk. So something some where is fucked and it aint on my END!
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
18,683 (4.73/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
All I can say is this.
If the signal that is coming through my system to the AVR is True Dolby surround sound or Atmos or DTS My AVR would show that signal coming through as such. But there has yet to be one digital signal that comes from the internet that is true digital Dolby surround sound.
Yeah you can sure get that 4K and 8K look from the viewing platform but from the sound area it sucks ass.
Show me ONE of them BS videos on Youtube that is true Atmos or even true digital surround sound even.
There is only one way so far that I have seen the DTX and Dolby logos on my AVR and that is when I play a Blue-ray disk. So something some where is fucked and it aint on my END!
I just posted (and you thanked it)/told you that YT only presents in stereo...what's fucked on your end is understanding that you aren't getting more than stereo from YT in the first place. :p

There's this for streaming - https://www.cnet.com/how-to/how-to-stream-dolby-atmos-from-netflix-itunes-vudu-and-amazon/#:~:text=If you want to get,of four Atmos streaming sources.

Google... fookn amazing!
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
7,200 (1.24/day)
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor AMD Ryzen7 1300X 4.0GHz
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua
Memory Gskil TridentZ RGB DDR4 3000MHz RAM
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1050
Storage WD 3T
Display(s) 50" Samsung and a 23" asus LCD 1080p
Case Antech LanAir Pro.
Audio Device(s) Denon AVR3802
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Optical
Keyboard K120 Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 bit Home OEM
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/jkke77][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/jkke77-2.png[/img][/url]
I just posted (and you thanked it)/told you that YT only presents in stereo...what's fucked on your end is understanding that you aren't getting more than stereo from YT in the first place. :p

There's this for streaming - https://www.cnet.com/how-to/how-to-stream-dolby-atmos-from-netflix-itunes-vudu-and-amazon/#:~:text=If you want to get,of four Atmos streaming sources.

Google... fookn amazing!
Okay so in order to get Dolby atmos or DTS you need a signal right? Then You need a source to decode it (the AVR) Now if there is NO streaming signal for my computer to pick up like DTS or Dolby the AVR can reproduces the Dolby surround but it is NOT the same.
Show me ONE youtube video that had TRUE Dolby! It is NEVER going to happen! They will NOT stream or can not stream it. Yeah they got all that video shit but boy are they lacking on the sound stuff.
But what I see is more crap that I need to hook up so I might get it streamed from the inter net. Like some Apple box? Oh man this is getting too messed up.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
18,683 (4.73/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
Okay so in order to get Dolby atmos or DTS you need a signal right? Then You need a source to decode it (the AVR) Now if there is NO streaming signal for my computer to pick up like DTS or Dolby the AVR can reproduces the Dolby surround but it is NOT the same.
Correct. You need a signal with Atmos/DTS encoding in it for your AVR to read. Since the YT signal is only stereo, you'd have to use one of the 'fake' modes as you're alluding to.
Show me ONE youtube video that had TRUE Dolby! It is NEVER going to happen! They will NOT stream or can not stream it. Yeah they got all that video shit but boy are they lacking on the sound stuff.
For the third time, you won't get anything but stereo from YouTube. Capeesh? :)
 
Last edited:

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
7,200 (1.24/day)
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor AMD Ryzen7 1300X 4.0GHz
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua
Memory Gskil TridentZ RGB DDR4 3000MHz RAM
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1050
Storage WD 3T
Display(s) 50" Samsung and a 23" asus LCD 1080p
Case Antech LanAir Pro.
Audio Device(s) Denon AVR3802
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Optical
Keyboard K120 Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 bit Home OEM
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/jkke77][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/jkke77-2.png[/img][/url]
Correct. You need a signal with Atmos/DTS encoding in it for your AVR to read. Since the YT signal is only stereo, you'd have to use one of the 'fake' modes as you're alluding to.
For the third time, you won't get anything but stereo from YouTube. Capeesh? :)
Now that is exactly what I am saying.
So in Fact YouTube and the rest (Literally everything from the Internet) can NOT give a signal other than stereo. See now I am clear.
Since there is NO way that the Internet can stream anything other than stereo then I do not need a new video card or sound card ( WONT do shit) I need to get a bunch of new movies as my blue ray player is the only thing that can do this.
Well so much for using a computer as a movie theater. Guess I am back to the blueray player. well that will free up 2TB's of space.
So there are also NO games that can or even that use any surround sound since well you can NOT stream any audio other than 2 Chanel?
YouTube and others need to stop there false advertising. They suck!
So a computer has everything but HDMI true audio. This is what I am hearing.
It's all 2 channel stereo that is some how taken and broken up into diffident "areas" to give the allusion of surround. I can tell from the real and the fake this is what I am saying. It does NOT sound real and that is what I am looking for.

I am an Audiophile chasing that dragon!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
18,683 (4.73/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
See now I am clear.
Awesome! Third time was a charm, I guess!

Again, I believe if you use the SPDIF output on your PC and send that to the AVR, if anything has the right coding your receiver should then show it's working in whatever mode.
Well so much for using a computer as a movie theater. Guess I am back to the blueray player. well that will free up 2TB's of space.
So there are also NO games that can or even that use any surround sound since well you can NOT stream any audio other than 2 Chanel?
Why not get a BR player for the PC and use SPDIF?

If games are encoded with surround and you are using SPDIF to the AVR, it should decode surround.

It's all 2 channel stereo that is some how taken and broken up into diffident "areas" to give the allusion of surround.
illusion.

Yes, your AVR takes the 2ch signal and can make fake surround modes out of it, correct.
 
Top