1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What Video Card Should I get??

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Joshmcmillan, Dec 2, 2007.

  1. Joshmcmillan

    Joshmcmillan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    892 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
    Hi,
    I've decided to upgrade from my integrated Geforce 6150 to a better video card. I don't want to spend too much, so my price range would lie around the 2400, 2600, 1650, 8500, 8600 range. I used to have an MSI ATI Radeon X1650 Pro and was quite happy with it. I can get one of them for around $120. Here is a link to the site I am most likely to buy the video card from as it is in Australia and reasonably local: http://umart.net.au/au/index.php?cPath=91_353&osCsid=f8302f7addbaa2436a2db4228078c119

    There is an 8600GT on that site for only $130 but It was a low end brand and i'm not sure what it would be like.

    Things I need to know:
    -Nvidia or ATI
    -8000 series, X1600 series or X2000 series
    -What Brand? (Inno3d, MSI, ExpertVision etc..)

    I won't be doing any over clocking and I want something that is reliable above all.

    Thanks,
    From Josh
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,123 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    If you can, go for the Sapphire HD3850 ;) (its cheap, yet powerful)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,679 (5.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,790
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Whats your budget like?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Joshmcmillan

    Joshmcmillan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    892 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
    3850 is a bit to expansive. I want something pretty cheap, that will play orange box good. lol.

    On that site which the link was too, budget would be up to $150 or maybe a bit more if it was well worth it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,679 (5.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,790
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    2600xt or 8600GT.

    IIRC, 2600XT is on a tad better than x1650xt when it comes to gaming performance.


    EDIT: I forgot to add, if your willing to thrash a card, after a voltmod the 8600GT is one hell of an overclocker.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Joshmcmillan

    Joshmcmillan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    892 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,066 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    I'd go with the 8600GT, unless you're a true fan of ATI. NVIDIA is offering the better products at this point, and the 2600XT left me with a sense of betrayal...

    Twenty bloody FPS in BioShock. The only reason I played it through to the end was because it was so good :p. Not to mention, Crysis and BioShock are built around NVIDIA GPUs. Valve is going with ATI, so...if you just want to play Orange Box, there's a 2600XT with your name on it here.

    Edit: I'm sorry, I didn't see you were from Australia :eek:.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,679 (5.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,790
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,123 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Inno3D stuff is cheap, but good. They usually have very solid memory chips that are great for overclocking. I know you're not into that, but they are a great buy anyway. Had one of their 7600GT's, it was a great card. I highly recommend them.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,123 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    I agree. My m8s Inno3D 8800GTS overclocks like a champ (highest Ive ever seen on a GTS)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Joshmcmillan

    Joshmcmillan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    892 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
    Hi,
    Although right now all I want to do with it is play the orange box. In the future, I will be getting other games. Most of the games I play are on consoles, however I like computer games as well, which is why I want a video card.

    I was looking around and a lot of people seem to say that the 2600XT is crap. Is Inno3d a reliable brand. I definitely don't want a video card that will break in 6 months when I haven't even over clocked it.

    I do like ATI more but only because I think there drivers are better. I have problems with drivers on 2 different Nvidia cards, and only ever a miner problem with an ATI cards driver. But I have no problems with buying Nvidia if there better. I'm very unbiased in that way.

    How well would a 6150 run team fortress 2 and Episode 2?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Inno3D is a very reliable brand and it apparently is good with any RMA issues. Mine never broke even after frankly insane clock speeds on both the memory and core. The 6150 will be crap and you know it. The HD 2600XT is OK with newer drivers, but I'm not a fan. Get the 8600GT.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,123 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    LOL and you think the 2600XT would be crap :roll:

    On your budget, you must decide between the 8600GT and the 2600XT. Neither card is breathtaking, but thats understandable considering the pricing. I personally would go with the 2600XT, but that is personal preference isnt it.

    Go for what YOU feel is right ;)

    http://www.gpureview.com/show_cards.php?card1=513&card2=520
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Joshmcmillan

    Joshmcmillan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    892 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
    6150 runs Half life 2 and deathmatch good enough. Would it run TF2 and Episode 2 the same?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,123 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Please stop being silly :D (joking) The 6150 is a POS, its not even an actual card, its onboard (that word leaves a bad taste in my mouth lol)

    If you want to game on your PC, at least get something half decent! Go for the 8600GT or 2600XT ;)

    Youve asked for advice and weve given it to you.....now act on it m8 :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    I'm sorry Josh, I have to agree with Hookey here. Can you honestly say the 6150 runs HL2 fine. No, it probably runs it at 800x600 and no higher, unless you turn off everything. If not then you are simply running it with a jerky frame rate. Be realistic about integrated graphics.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Joshmcmillan

    Joshmcmillan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    892 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
    Truth is, I'm poor. lol. Not really, as I have lots of stuff but I don't have any free right now. I need to buy a new monitor as well, my CRT went blurry, :(. So if I don't need a new video card I don't want to get one. I just thought I would need one, but do I?

    I'll go into HL2 now and look at what frame rate and settings I have.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,123 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Onboard graphics are basically just to give you a 'picture' on your monitor (ie internet surfing).....not for gaming :eek:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Couldn't have said it better myself. Josh, have you tried selling any siblings or relatives for glue yet? Perhaps become a drug dealer? I know this great Columbian chap.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. jpierce55

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,123 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    LOL, im pissing myself right now! :roll:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,123 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. Joshmcmillan

    Joshmcmillan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    892 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
    OK, here are the settings and FPS:

    Game: Half Life 2 Deathmatch
    Map: Run off (LAN Server)
    Resolution: 1024x768
    Model Detail: Medium
    Texture Detail: Medium
    Shader Detail: High
    Water Detail: Simple Reflections
    Shadow Detail: High
    Color Correction: Enabled
    Antialiasing Mode: None
    Filtering Mode: Anisotropic 4x
    Waite for Vertical Sync: Disabled
    High Dynamic Range: Full (if available)

    Frames Per Second (FPS): I would say when walking around, moving view around it would average around 30fps and would range from 25-40. It didn't seem jerky. With my X1650 Pro I used to have it on 1280x960 and I got like 73FPS average.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. Joshmcmillan

    Joshmcmillan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    892 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
    So would it be worth upgrading from that FPS considering it would cost me a lot of money that I don't have?

    I found a site that has a Sapphire X1950GT for $170, how much better is it then the 2600XT and the 8600GT??
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)