• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

What would be holding me back?!

SlipSlice

New Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
770 (0.18/day)
Likes
1
Location
Indiana
Processor AMD ATHLON 64 SAN DIEGO 3700@2.42GHZ
Motherboard ASUS A8N5X
Cooling 1X80MM CASE FAN, 1X80MM CPU FAN, 2X120MM FANS(ONE TAKING AIR OUT..OTHER FOR HARDDRIVE
Memory 1.5 GIG, DDR400 CORSAIR
Video Card(s) eVGA 7900GS KO
Storage 160GIG WESTERN DIGITAL 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer 22' Widescreen
Case ROSEWILL CASE 5600 SERIES..2 BLUE LED CASE FANS
Audio Device(s) SOUND BLASTER LIVE 24 BIT!
Power Supply SPARKLE 400 WATT
Software WINDOWS XP HOME EDITION..its gr8/LOTS OF GAMES
#1
Ok so here is how it goes down... a few weeks ago I order a Rosewill 550 Watt PSU, and the XFX Geforce 6800Xt, I go to put the PSU, and didn't stay grounded getting cocky, and i fried my motherboard.. I got another one now, the ASRock K7VM3. I put the card and PSU in, and and play, and I lag so bad it is ridiculous.. I shouldn't lag with fear on medium with 800x600 resolution with this card should I? Actually some things are even on minimun and low.. I have read reviews with people have an Athlon XP 2500+ and run bf2 on high with this card so what is the deal..

If anybody has any thoughts on what may be holding me back, please feel free to post your suggestions, this is really really frustrating.

P.S. I have tried drivers like 3-4 times now and nothing has really helped. :mad:
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404 (1.73/day)
Likes
663
#2
your board is 4x agp...

solution, buy another baord.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 7, 2006
Messages
1,838 (0.42/day)
Likes
7
Location
Boston
Processor AMD X2 AM2+
Memory 2GB DDR2
Video Card(s) 7900gto
Storage 80GB+120GB 7200RPM IDE + 250GB SATA2 + 500GB SATA2
Display(s) 26" 1920x1200
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Ultra 600W with X-Connect
Software Vista Ultimate
#3
not necessarily (i'm adding, but wanted to post this first, and then edit :D)

http://www.pcmoddingmy.com/e107_plugins/content/content.php?content.142

it might make it slower, but laggy, no

something janky is going on

have you defragged lately? is your ram in dual channel? if you can get a hold of more ram, see if that helps (ram helps alot with fear, oblivion, and bf2/2142 to name a few), and if it does, then get more ram

but it shouldn't be laggy like that
 

SlipSlice

New Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
770 (0.18/day)
Likes
1
Location
Indiana
Processor AMD ATHLON 64 SAN DIEGO 3700@2.42GHZ
Motherboard ASUS A8N5X
Cooling 1X80MM CASE FAN, 1X80MM CPU FAN, 2X120MM FANS(ONE TAKING AIR OUT..OTHER FOR HARDDRIVE
Memory 1.5 GIG, DDR400 CORSAIR
Video Card(s) eVGA 7900GS KO
Storage 160GIG WESTERN DIGITAL 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer 22' Widescreen
Case ROSEWILL CASE 5600 SERIES..2 BLUE LED CASE FANS
Audio Device(s) SOUND BLASTER LIVE 24 BIT!
Power Supply SPARKLE 400 WATT
Software WINDOWS XP HOME EDITION..its gr8/LOTS OF GAMES
#4
I don't see why my ram would make a difference, at least it hasn't never before. I have a gig, isn't that enough for the time being? Defragged no, because I had this computer rebuilt meaning new motherboard new OS system because i had the "emachines motherboard" in it not to long ago, and well the Angel Soft recovery wouldn't work no more when I got this motherboard, so the guys at computer plus intalled the new OS for me..

Other than that I don't think I have did nothing else that would make this thing lag as much as it does..

is your ram in dual channel?
I don't believe so..
 

ATIonion

New Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2006
Messages
1,015 (0.25/day)
Likes
0
#6
make sure that your bios has that card as 4x agp and not 2xagp...



but this sounds kinda like ram to me....idk...try taking out one stick of ram and rebooting...test it with a benchmark or game...if nothing changes swap the RAM with the one left over...reboot and test....if nothing changes then you know its not your RAM...
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2006
Messages
1,838 (0.42/day)
Likes
7
Location
Boston
Processor AMD X2 AM2+
Memory 2GB DDR2
Video Card(s) 7900gto
Storage 80GB+120GB 7200RPM IDE + 250GB SATA2 + 500GB SATA2
Display(s) 26" 1920x1200
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Ultra 600W with X-Connect
Software Vista Ultimate
#7
actually, you prolly can't run dual channel, so nm

the easiest test would be to borrow ram from a friend/family/coworker and try it then.

actually, run 3dmark05, and tell us what you get. run it at stock (1024x768, no aa, no af) and you should get some comparable results to see if it's your gpu at least
 

SlipSlice

New Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
770 (0.18/day)
Likes
1
Location
Indiana
Processor AMD ATHLON 64 SAN DIEGO 3700@2.42GHZ
Motherboard ASUS A8N5X
Cooling 1X80MM CASE FAN, 1X80MM CPU FAN, 2X120MM FANS(ONE TAKING AIR OUT..OTHER FOR HARDDRIVE
Memory 1.5 GIG, DDR400 CORSAIR
Video Card(s) eVGA 7900GS KO
Storage 160GIG WESTERN DIGITAL 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer 22' Widescreen
Case ROSEWILL CASE 5600 SERIES..2 BLUE LED CASE FANS
Audio Device(s) SOUND BLASTER LIVE 24 BIT!
Power Supply SPARKLE 400 WATT
Software WINDOWS XP HOME EDITION..its gr8/LOTS OF GAMES
#8
Ok I have to download it again, I should have to result posted sometime tonight, so please be on, later
 

SlipSlice

New Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
770 (0.18/day)
Likes
1
Location
Indiana
Processor AMD ATHLON 64 SAN DIEGO 3700@2.42GHZ
Motherboard ASUS A8N5X
Cooling 1X80MM CASE FAN, 1X80MM CPU FAN, 2X120MM FANS(ONE TAKING AIR OUT..OTHER FOR HARDDRIVE
Memory 1.5 GIG, DDR400 CORSAIR
Video Card(s) eVGA 7900GS KO
Storage 160GIG WESTERN DIGITAL 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer 22' Widescreen
Case ROSEWILL CASE 5600 SERIES..2 BLUE LED CASE FANS
Audio Device(s) SOUND BLASTER LIVE 24 BIT!
Power Supply SPARKLE 400 WATT
Software WINDOWS XP HOME EDITION..its gr8/LOTS OF GAMES
#9

SlipSlice

New Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
770 (0.18/day)
Likes
1
Location
Indiana
Processor AMD ATHLON 64 SAN DIEGO 3700@2.42GHZ
Motherboard ASUS A8N5X
Cooling 1X80MM CASE FAN, 1X80MM CPU FAN, 2X120MM FANS(ONE TAKING AIR OUT..OTHER FOR HARDDRIVE
Memory 1.5 GIG, DDR400 CORSAIR
Video Card(s) eVGA 7900GS KO
Storage 160GIG WESTERN DIGITAL 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer 22' Widescreen
Case ROSEWILL CASE 5600 SERIES..2 BLUE LED CASE FANS
Audio Device(s) SOUND BLASTER LIVE 24 BIT!
Power Supply SPARKLE 400 WATT
Software WINDOWS XP HOME EDITION..its gr8/LOTS OF GAMES
#10
Anybody have any comments?
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,556 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,461
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#11
you shouldnt have any issues running on the 4x agp i know it isnt a very big diff cause the ti4200 i have is 4x and the 8x that is benchmarked online is very close performance wise that card wont fill the 4x bandwidth anyway so maybe your mobo downclocked the cpu? my old ECS did that when i hit performance settings
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,753 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,021
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#12
You sure you got ALL the drivers on? chipset/agp/sound/etc etc
 

xman2007

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
633 (0.15/day)
Likes
4
Processor E4300@ 3.0ghz
Motherboard Asus P5B
Cooling Arctic freezer
Memory 2gb supertalent ddrII 1000 5.5.5.15
Video Card(s) Inno 3d 8800gts 320mb
Storage Seagate 320gb
Display(s) 19" widescreen tft 5ms
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) X-fi Xtreme Audio
Power Supply Hiper 430w 30a dual rails
Software Vista Ultimate
#13
just check you dont have shadows/soft shadows enabled/ too high that eats a lot of resources in a lot of modern ga,es
 

SlipSlice

New Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
770 (0.18/day)
Likes
1
Location
Indiana
Processor AMD ATHLON 64 SAN DIEGO 3700@2.42GHZ
Motherboard ASUS A8N5X
Cooling 1X80MM CASE FAN, 1X80MM CPU FAN, 2X120MM FANS(ONE TAKING AIR OUT..OTHER FOR HARDDRIVE
Memory 1.5 GIG, DDR400 CORSAIR
Video Card(s) eVGA 7900GS KO
Storage 160GIG WESTERN DIGITAL 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer 22' Widescreen
Case ROSEWILL CASE 5600 SERIES..2 BLUE LED CASE FANS
Audio Device(s) SOUND BLASTER LIVE 24 BIT!
Power Supply SPARKLE 400 WATT
Software WINDOWS XP HOME EDITION..its gr8/LOTS OF GAMES
#14
I don't know how to update my chipset, because I got a new motherboard, ASRock K7VM3. could somebody help me find the most recent updates for my chipset?

Other than that I know my sound card drivers are installed and working, and graphics i have tried 5-6 times with no performance change, so it is probably not that, it might just be my chipset.

just check you dont have shadows/soft shadows enabled/ too high that eats a lot of resources in a lot of modern ga,es
nothing is on high, lol, hell i get like 20 fps on medium/minimun
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,753 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,021
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#15
Just go to your motherboard manufacturers website, under products find your board, click on support, click on drivers and it will give you a list of the most up to date, download the chipset/AGP/LAN etc and install, reboot and your away, I am guessing but I think that not all the necessary drivers are installed, either way you have nothing to lose, its always wise to update chipset drivers once in a while in any case.

Here you go, I dont just do this for anyone ya know!

http://www.asrock.com/support/download.asp?Model=K7VM3
 

SlipSlice

New Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
770 (0.18/day)
Likes
1
Location
Indiana
Processor AMD ATHLON 64 SAN DIEGO 3700@2.42GHZ
Motherboard ASUS A8N5X
Cooling 1X80MM CASE FAN, 1X80MM CPU FAN, 2X120MM FANS(ONE TAKING AIR OUT..OTHER FOR HARDDRIVE
Memory 1.5 GIG, DDR400 CORSAIR
Video Card(s) eVGA 7900GS KO
Storage 160GIG WESTERN DIGITAL 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer 22' Widescreen
Case ROSEWILL CASE 5600 SERIES..2 BLUE LED CASE FANS
Audio Device(s) SOUND BLASTER LIVE 24 BIT!
Power Supply SPARKLE 400 WATT
Software WINDOWS XP HOME EDITION..its gr8/LOTS OF GAMES
#16
the Lan drivers only? is that it?
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,753 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,021
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#17
the Lan drivers only? is that it?
No, download the chipset and AGP which are contained in the "Via 4 in 1" and download the AMR.
 

SlipSlice

New Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
770 (0.18/day)
Likes
1
Location
Indiana
Processor AMD ATHLON 64 SAN DIEGO 3700@2.42GHZ
Motherboard ASUS A8N5X
Cooling 1X80MM CASE FAN, 1X80MM CPU FAN, 2X120MM FANS(ONE TAKING AIR OUT..OTHER FOR HARDDRIVE
Memory 1.5 GIG, DDR400 CORSAIR
Video Card(s) eVGA 7900GS KO
Storage 160GIG WESTERN DIGITAL 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer 22' Widescreen
Case ROSEWILL CASE 5600 SERIES..2 BLUE LED CASE FANS
Audio Device(s) SOUND BLASTER LIVE 24 BIT!
Power Supply SPARKLE 400 WATT
Software WINDOWS XP HOME EDITION..its gr8/LOTS OF GAMES
#18
does it which way i install them preferably or not?
 
V

v-zero

Guest
#19
It's probably that slow ass RAM. FEAR loves the stuff, it makes a real performance difference. 2GB of pc3200 is smooth on anything 6600gt and above...
 

SlipSlice

New Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
770 (0.18/day)
Likes
1
Location
Indiana
Processor AMD ATHLON 64 SAN DIEGO 3700@2.42GHZ
Motherboard ASUS A8N5X
Cooling 1X80MM CASE FAN, 1X80MM CPU FAN, 2X120MM FANS(ONE TAKING AIR OUT..OTHER FOR HARDDRIVE
Memory 1.5 GIG, DDR400 CORSAIR
Video Card(s) eVGA 7900GS KO
Storage 160GIG WESTERN DIGITAL 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer 22' Widescreen
Case ROSEWILL CASE 5600 SERIES..2 BLUE LED CASE FANS
Audio Device(s) SOUND BLASTER LIVE 24 BIT!
Power Supply SPARKLE 400 WATT
Software WINDOWS XP HOME EDITION..its gr8/LOTS OF GAMES
#20
i don't believe that it is the ram because, not only is fear not running right now game is running right. It has to be the card. look at my 3dmark 05 score

it should be doubled that.
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2006
Messages
1,768 (0.41/day)
Likes
267
Location
Oklahoma, USA
System Name W.I.P.
#21
i don't believe that it is the ram because, not only is fear not running right now game is running right. It has to be the card. look at my 3dmark 05 score

it should be doubled that.
I dont think so....if it were doubled you would be up to x850 performance which Im sorry but your 8 pipe card isnt gonna score that high. Im not exactly sure which model of card you have but I do know that the 6800xt also comes in 128-bit memory interface. I would say if your card is underperforming, its probably not by much.
 

SlipSlice

New Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
770 (0.18/day)
Likes
1
Location
Indiana
Processor AMD ATHLON 64 SAN DIEGO 3700@2.42GHZ
Motherboard ASUS A8N5X
Cooling 1X80MM CASE FAN, 1X80MM CPU FAN, 2X120MM FANS(ONE TAKING AIR OUT..OTHER FOR HARDDRIVE
Memory 1.5 GIG, DDR400 CORSAIR
Video Card(s) eVGA 7900GS KO
Storage 160GIG WESTERN DIGITAL 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer 22' Widescreen
Case ROSEWILL CASE 5600 SERIES..2 BLUE LED CASE FANS
Audio Device(s) SOUND BLASTER LIVE 24 BIT!
Power Supply SPARKLE 400 WATT
Software WINDOWS XP HOME EDITION..its gr8/LOTS OF GAMES
#22
actually this one is 256 bit, Gddr3, 256 mb. they put a new one on newegg after i bought this one..the one i bought isn't on there anymore..they sold out..nice try though..:)
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.82/day)
Likes
102
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
#23
sounds about right to me really. via chipsets suck balls when it comes to gaming, always have. doesnt help you have a 1.6ghz cpu (if im not mistaken). the 6800xt is nothing more then a 6600gt with a 256bit bus. not that fast and the memory interface doesnt add a whole lot of speed.
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.67/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
#24
laggy graphics eh? sounds like gpu throttling.
 

SlipSlice

New Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
770 (0.18/day)
Likes
1
Location
Indiana
Processor AMD ATHLON 64 SAN DIEGO 3700@2.42GHZ
Motherboard ASUS A8N5X
Cooling 1X80MM CASE FAN, 1X80MM CPU FAN, 2X120MM FANS(ONE TAKING AIR OUT..OTHER FOR HARDDRIVE
Memory 1.5 GIG, DDR400 CORSAIR
Video Card(s) eVGA 7900GS KO
Storage 160GIG WESTERN DIGITAL 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer 22' Widescreen
Case ROSEWILL CASE 5600 SERIES..2 BLUE LED CASE FANS
Audio Device(s) SOUND BLASTER LIVE 24 BIT!
Power Supply SPARKLE 400 WATT
Software WINDOWS XP HOME EDITION..its gr8/LOTS OF GAMES
#25
sounds about right to me really. via chipsets suck balls when it comes to gaming, always have. doesnt help you have a 1.6ghz cpu (if im not mistaken). the 6800xt is nothing more then a 6600gt with a 256bit bus. not that fast and the memory interface doesnt add a whole lot of speed.
How come that my cpu reads 1.25 ghz on my system specs then.. It has done this before. I reset the jumper on the motherboard once before and it read AMD athlon 2800+ again..wth.

So what do you think I should do, my ATI Radeon 9550 outperforms this card almost. should I send this one back before my 30 days is up, and just save the money for another system and new card?