1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

what's better ?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by yanyd, Jun 2, 2009.

  1. yanyd New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok i ll buy my config, after one week , and i want to be shure what's the best for my money.I will use my config. as gameing system and the most important is that i ll OVERCLOCK it and i want to know which of these 2 are the best . What do you recomment ? :

    >MAIN BOARD
    >ASUS P5QC /P45/LGA775 1
    >
    >CPU
    >C2 QUAD Q9550/2.83/1333/12/BOX 1
    >
    >RAM
    >KIT 3X2GB DDR3 1333 KINGSTON 1
    >
    >HDD
    >500GB SEAGATE SATA2/7200/16MB 1
    >
    >VIDEO CARD
    >SAPPHIRE HD4890 1G GDR5 FULL 1
    >
    >CASE
    >ASUS TA-M11 /NOPSU 1
    >
    >PSU FORTRON EPSILON 600/ 600W 1


    and :
    GB EP45-UD3P /P45/LGA775
    C2 QUAD Q9550/2.83/1333/12/BOX
    KIT 2X2GB DDR2 1066+ A-DAT
    ASUS TA-M11 /NOPSU 1
    HD4890 1G GDR5 FULL 428lv
    PSU FORTRON EPSILON 700/ 700W
    HITACHI SATA2/16MB

    thx !
     
  2. DreamSeller Guest

    pick another case and PSU u might want to go amd way ? :>
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,588 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    That Asus board looks kind of cheap, and it doesn't get a very good rating on newegg. Out of the two, get the Gigabyte for sure. And like DreamSeller said, have you considered AMD?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,866 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    710
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Be sure to get a good top brand name PSU for your system!!
    Its the backbone of the hole thing!!
    Corsair is one of the best!!
     
  5. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,190 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,069
    Location:
    Texas
    Not to beat a dead horse...but the PSU is CRITICAL!!! I learned the hard way. Take everyone's advice...Corsair of PCPower and Cooling. IDK about Intel, I am an AMD/ATI guy myself...But the PhenomIIs are pretty sick and overclock like a beast. PII over C2D anyday. If you can't go i7, go PII...just my 2 cents. :) Congrats on the new rig, no matter what you choose. :D
     
  6. yanyd New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    A friend told me that AMD phenom cant outstrip Intel Q9550 and that s why i heavent consider the AMD way .
     
  7. Major_A

    Major_A

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    144 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Outstrip? I own a Q9550 and at this point I'd say don't waste your money. You can get an i7 for a few dollars more, but then you have to factor in the cost of the motherboard and more expensive DDR3 RAM.
     
  8. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    There are some cheaper crucial 3gb kit that can clock real well, and they are cheap. The difference will be the cost of motherboard.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)