1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What's going wrong here?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Ben Clarke, Nov 22, 2007.

  1. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Hey guys,

    Some of you might remember my "Disk Read Error" problem, well, it's happening again, except this time I can't fix it. Also, I can no longer read from a CD/DVD, so I can't try to repair my installation. I think the motherboard may have problems, but can't be sure. Any suggestions on ways to fix this? Thanks.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Fuse-Wire

    Fuse-Wire New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    856 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Scotland, Far away from normality as possible
    hmmm try to aquire a spare CD or DVD drive and a net set of cables to see if they function, if not then there could be a serious problem
     
  3. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Perhaps your DVD drive is dodgy. You can get a replacement DVDRW drive for less than 20 pounds!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Tried with a spare DVD-RW from an old system, same problem. Neither of the harddrives work either.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Fuse-Wire

    Fuse-Wire New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    856 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Scotland, Far away from normality as possible
    hmmm not sounding to promising im afraid ben. tried a bios flash yet?
     
  6. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    check your cables, an improper cable connection could cause the corruption of data and read/write errors. is your cd/dvd drive sata or pata? idk how the cd/dvd drive not reading come into the picture.
     
  7. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Dodgy IDE or Sata connectivity on your motherboard. Have you tried the lastest motherboard bios and latest chipset drivers? if it's physically broken, and your sure that your IDE/SATA devices are not to blame, you may have to buy a new motherboard. AM2 motherboards can be had from 25-30 pounds easily.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Latest BIOS, all connections secure, they work in the old system. Motherboard then? Great. No games until Christmas :(
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,365 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    It could be that your cable is broken, try getting another cable and hooking it up.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    No games till Christmas, are you crazy!! The games you do have installed at present use a No CD crack for them, so you can play without disc. Secondly, I'm sure you can afford 25 pound for a new motherboard!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Fuse-Wire

    Fuse-Wire New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    856 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Scotland, Far away from normality as possible
    sorry to hear ben :shadedshu
     
  12. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Nope.... have disks for them, but this system I'm using no wcan't handle them. And I can't buy anything until Christmas...

    @JC316: Yeah, tried, fail.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. {JNT}Raptor

    {JNT}Raptor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    733 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    NY
    Ben have you tested your memory yet?....Bad memory can corrupt your Hard Drives as well....worth a shot.

    Hope It helps. :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Memtest reported no errors... and as I said, teh drives work fine on an old system.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. {JNT}Raptor

    {JNT}Raptor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    733 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    NY
    Whats your system log say.....giving any driver errors?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    I can't actually get into the OS... the errors occur right after POST.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Fuse-Wire

    Fuse-Wire New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    856 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Scotland, Far away from normality as possible
    mobo gone how unlucky, least its close to christmans, could have happened in March!!
     
  18. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Did then too,that's how I ended up with this one.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Fuse-Wire

    Fuse-Wire New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    856 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Scotland, Far away from normality as possible
    lol not your luck then is it?
     
  20. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    I actually have a similar problem with my ASUS M2V motherboard. But it only happens if I over clock it too far...System would attempt to boot, but I will get corrupt windows files upon bootup.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,961 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,756
    Location:
    Ohio
    That suxxors.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Doesn't give any corrupt files here, just

    "Disk read error
    Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart"
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. Fuse-Wire

    Fuse-Wire New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    856 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Scotland, Far away from normality as possible
    hmmm have you tried booting from an alternate source ie. backup OS on memory stick?
     
  24. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Don't have any working memory sticks, so that's out. And I don't think my BIOS actually supports USB booting.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. Fuse-Wire

    Fuse-Wire New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    856 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Scotland, Far away from normality as possible
    well then im outa ideas sorry, thats the only thing i could think of was to use alternate OS boot to access windows to see if you could get to the problem from there but awell.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)