1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What's The Cheapest Raid 0 Setup I Can Get With At Least 80gb Of Hard Drive Space??

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Casheti, Jul 26, 2006.

  1. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Hi. I currently have a 300GB SATA Hard drive which doesn't cut it for gaming. I need something fast with at least 80GB of storage, to improve my loading times etc....Unless somebody knows where I can get a cheap second 300GB hard drive??

    I'm probably looking at maybe £60 per hard drive.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Yeah, but they cost a lot, and I'm on super tight budget. I'm still trying to sell an ECS RS400-A mobo and 2 X1300's, 1x 512 and 1x 256, both PCI-E. Then hopefully I can end up with near enough £100 and get something nice for my computer.

    Here's where I'm selling them.

    http://www.chilledpc.co.uk/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=18
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    I know the feeling m8 LOL, PC's are an expensive hobby ;)

    You would be better off selling your parts seperately on ebay :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Scheich

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    245 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    I am using a raid-0 with 2x80 gb samsung sataII drives. The decrease in loading time is about 20-30% at best.
    Are you sure you really need that ? Games used.. ET, WC3, Oblivion.

    Havent benchmarked it, so dont nail me on this one :)

    Most games are compressed these days, so a faster cpu will help much more.
    The only real use for a raid i see, are continious disk transfers, in order to keep windows somewhat responsive.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    I can't sell on eBay, no credit card, parents don't have one either. :( I would prefer to sell them by asking around, then getting to send them off, and them sending me the money.

    And I think RAID 0 is awesome. Decreased loading times, etc. Apparently it works wonders on BF2, and I'm SICK of always being the last to load in.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. jph1589

    jph1589 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    126 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    info

    Do you have Staples stores in the UK? Maxtor drives have been on very good sales ever since seagate bought them.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Yeah, I got staples. But...I need to sell my stuff before I can buy anything
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. b1lk1

    b1lk1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Messages:
    688 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    The more drives you use in a RAID 0 array the faster it is. If you are lookingfor a cheap solution, get 4 40GB drives and RAID0 them. It would be faster than 2 Raptors.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    All I have at the moment is a 20GB, an 80GB and a 300GB. Can I do anything with them?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    You dont need a credit card to sell on ebay m8, just a normal bank account card will do :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)