• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What's the deal-online flash games are so demanding?

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,974 (2.22/day)
Likes
2,178
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#1
I'm curious to know what makes these type of games so demanding on the cpu.

Take as an example the facebook farmville, it takes between 35-45% of my Q9450. I just checked it out with fraps, when maximized I get 15-20 fps! That's with Sli 8800M GTX....

Thing is that when I switch off power, the fps remain the same.
In normal games my fps gets halved if I go on battery because the graphics cards down-clock themselves, but not in this case.

I want to kick myself for introducing them to my daughter, I thought her 1.5Ghz single core AMD would have coped with simple online flash games but oh boy weren't we for a disappointment! Her cpu was chugging on fan full speed at 100% :rolleyes: Prolly she gets 3-5fps I assume, I haven't checked out yet.

What makes these flash games so demanding? My laptop can play games at 60 fps full detail but am I right into thinking flash games don't utilize gpu power at all but rely only on cpu?
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2008
Messages
4,775 (1.32/day)
Likes
2,993
Location
Kingston, Ontario Canada
System Name My Rig | Kids Rig
Processor Core i5 3570K @ 4.0 ghz 1.15 vcore | FX 8350 @4 ghz
Motherboard EVGA Z77 FTW 1.21 BIOS |Gigabyte 990FXA UDH (rev 4.0)
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO R2-push/pull with 2x 120mm PWM | CM Hyper 212
Memory Mushkin Blackline 4GB x 2 1600mhz XMP profile |G. Skill 4GB x 2 DDR3 1866mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 480 8gb | Asus Strix R9 390X 8GB
Storage Kingston SSDNOW V300 120/240 GB OS & Games / 1000 GB Data | 320GB OS / 500GB Data & Games
Display(s) Asus VA32AQ 32" IPS 60hz 1440P |Samsung S24D590 24" PLS 1080P
Case NZXT 810 Switch |Thermaltake Soprano Snow Edition
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DSX w/ Logitech z623 | Realtek
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750W 80+ Gold | CoolerMaster GS750M 80+ Bronze
Mouse Razer Diamondback Chroma | Tt Level 10M
Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma w/ meka-membrane keys | MadCatz S.T.R.I.K.E. TE w/ Kailh brown
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Thanks to Norton/Lt_JWS/Guitar for the 2nd pc parts :)
#2
I am curious too. BP i think its mostly the Zynga games where this issue arises. Cafe World, Farmville, etc all seem to lag my comps even when its the only tab open. I can run Fish Wrangler, Ghost Trapper, and MouseHunt on seperate tabs and i wont notice any slowdown. I think these flash games try to do a bit much for what FB games were designed to do
 
Last edited:

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
25,267 (5.67/day)
Likes
10,151
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#3
I did a bit of googling on Flash and CPU usage, and alot of the hits lead back to bugs already known in Flash. Not too sure if they really work, but I did run across "fixes" that may or may not help your specific situation.

A few of them mentioned memory leaks as well, do you notice the memory usage is abnormally high when the CPU is "studdering"?
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2008
Messages
4,775 (1.32/day)
Likes
2,993
Location
Kingston, Ontario Canada
System Name My Rig | Kids Rig
Processor Core i5 3570K @ 4.0 ghz 1.15 vcore | FX 8350 @4 ghz
Motherboard EVGA Z77 FTW 1.21 BIOS |Gigabyte 990FXA UDH (rev 4.0)
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO R2-push/pull with 2x 120mm PWM | CM Hyper 212
Memory Mushkin Blackline 4GB x 2 1600mhz XMP profile |G. Skill 4GB x 2 DDR3 1866mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 480 8gb | Asus Strix R9 390X 8GB
Storage Kingston SSDNOW V300 120/240 GB OS & Games / 1000 GB Data | 320GB OS / 500GB Data & Games
Display(s) Asus VA32AQ 32" IPS 60hz 1440P |Samsung S24D590 24" PLS 1080P
Case NZXT 810 Switch |Thermaltake Soprano Snow Edition
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DSX w/ Logitech z623 | Realtek
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750W 80+ Gold | CoolerMaster GS750M 80+ Bronze
Mouse Razer Diamondback Chroma | Tt Level 10M
Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma w/ meka-membrane keys | MadCatz S.T.R.I.K.E. TE w/ Kailh brown
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Thanks to Norton/Lt_JWS/Guitar for the 2nd pc parts :)
#4
ive noticed in task manager that mem usage for IE is high at times. Atm my 2 tabs each are about 350K, yet in a flash related game the number doubles (at least!!). This is funny cause WoW take about 700k to 900k of my mem usage.
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,974 (2.22/day)
Likes
2,178
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#5
High memory usage might certainly an issue...

It's true below I had a total of 3 IE and 2 windows explorer but wth not one game I have uses up that much RAM, whether Sims 3, Dragon Age, Fallout 3, Crysis or Cryostasis...
:eek:

Btw this is Fishworld, it's not a Zynga game.

 
Joined
Aug 15, 2008
Messages
5,941 (1.65/day)
Likes
1,192
Location
Watauga, Texas
System Name Univac SLI Edition
Processor Intel Xeon 1650 V3 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard eVGA X99 FTW K
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO, Swiftech MCP50x, Alphacool NeXXos UT60 360, Black Ice GTX 360
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan X Tri-SLI w/ EK Blocks
Storage HyperX Predator 240GB PCI-E, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 34" Ultra-Wide (U3415W) / (Samsung 48" Curved 4k)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic Edition
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Thermaltake 1350watt Toughpower Modular
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard CODE 10 keyless MX Clears
Software Windows 10 Pro
#6
The game does the processing on your machine instead of their servers to prevent server overload. Youll notice with farmville and especially cafe that they take alot of bandwidth, mem, and cpu.

One thing you can try is downloading Adobes beta 10.1 plugin (it was beta when i last had an Nvidia card) and it does the work on the GPU like folding and other cuda apps. That way there if your daughter has an Nvidia 8000+ GPU it wont use the cpu. Just a theory though.

Me and my dad noticed the flash crap cause his cpu was near maxing and he has a 940BE at 3.8ghz. What i did for him though, was set Firefox affinity to one core and it would max the core but not slow down.
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,974 (2.22/day)
Likes
2,178
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#7
One thing you can try is downloading Adobes beta 10.1 plugin (it was beta when i last had an Nvidia card) and it does the work on the GPU like folding and other cuda apps. That way there if your daughter has an Nvidia 8000+ GPU it wont use the cpu. Just a theory though.

Me and my dad noticed the flash crap cause his cpu was near maxing and he has a 940BE at 3.8ghz. What i did for him though, was set Firefox affinity to one core and it would max the core but not slow down.
I'm trying it on the laptop, but neither of the above worked. :ohwell: Thanks just the same.

Apparently what's needed is to get the flash utility to use the GPU.
I mean for all powerful CPU one has when it comes to graphics rendering it's like the 3dmark06 and you get a crappy score compared to that rendered by dedicated GPU.
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2008
Messages
5,941 (1.65/day)
Likes
1,192
Location
Watauga, Texas
System Name Univac SLI Edition
Processor Intel Xeon 1650 V3 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard eVGA X99 FTW K
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO, Swiftech MCP50x, Alphacool NeXXos UT60 360, Black Ice GTX 360
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan X Tri-SLI w/ EK Blocks
Storage HyperX Predator 240GB PCI-E, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 34" Ultra-Wide (U3415W) / (Samsung 48" Curved 4k)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic Edition
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Thermaltake 1350watt Toughpower Modular
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard CODE 10 keyless MX Clears
Software Windows 10 Pro
#8
True but it isnt rendering graphics. If you set the afinity to just one core it will only use up one core of the cpu but it has to be firefox. So youll still have one core at 100% just it shouldnt use up your whole cpu.
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,974 (2.22/day)
Likes
2,178
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#9
but it has to be firefox.
Why ff? Will it utilize the gpu then? (I don't think so...)

I tried with IE, set affinity to one core, saw that it worked like that from the Task Manager, but the game still ran at under 20 fps.

(I'm not seeking to make the pc run faster, the game has no impact on other applications I run if I multitask. I just want the game to get higher fps and not stutter and lag lol)
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2008
Messages
5,941 (1.65/day)
Likes
1,192
Location
Watauga, Texas
System Name Univac SLI Edition
Processor Intel Xeon 1650 V3 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard eVGA X99 FTW K
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO, Swiftech MCP50x, Alphacool NeXXos UT60 360, Black Ice GTX 360
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan X Tri-SLI w/ EK Blocks
Storage HyperX Predator 240GB PCI-E, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 34" Ultra-Wide (U3415W) / (Samsung 48" Curved 4k)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic Edition
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Thermaltake 1350watt Toughpower Modular
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard CODE 10 keyless MX Clears
Software Windows 10 Pro
#10
Whats your connection speed? Cause it runs fine on my dads pc eith only 1 core going.
 

syker

New Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
83 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#11
it works on my friend's laptop very well. they have no lag whatsoever, although they are using CPU. it probably has to do with the way they are made. along with the different brands.
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,974 (2.22/day)
Likes
2,178
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#12
Syker and PP: what CPU's are they?

This is the current speed getting it over wifi on laptop:


What I can say is that such flash games run better on my desktop using E8400 @ 4Ghz (and 8800GT) than using laptop Q9450 @ 2.67 (and sli 8800 GTX) :ohwell:
 

DirectorC

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
1,624 (0.52/day)
Likes
267
Location
Florizy
System Name -= Son of a Whore =-
Processor E8400 @ 4.0GHz (445 x 9)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 3GB Corsair XMS2
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GT 512
Storage 74GB Raptor + Caviars in RAID0
Display(s) I-Inc 19" LCD 1440x900
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE & Logitech X-540
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Win32 v6.1.7600
Benchmark Scores Logitech KB & Sidewinder X3
#13
I think it has to do with the fact that you're running it inside a platform inside an OS. Look at how slow a lot of big apps coded with Java are. Not all of them, but a lot of them.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,992 (5.44/day)
Likes
11,256
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#14
It is because the CPU has to do everything, including render the graphics. Yes, the graphics aren't amazing, but a CPU sucks at rendering graphics.
 

DirectorC

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
1,624 (0.52/day)
Likes
267
Location
Florizy
System Name -= Son of a Whore =-
Processor E8400 @ 4.0GHz (445 x 9)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 3GB Corsair XMS2
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GT 512
Storage 74GB Raptor + Caviars in RAID0
Display(s) I-Inc 19" LCD 1440x900
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE & Logitech X-540
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Win32 v6.1.7600
Benchmark Scores Logitech KB & Sidewinder X3
#15

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,992 (5.44/day)
Likes
11,256
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#16
Joined
Aug 15, 2008
Messages
5,941 (1.65/day)
Likes
1,192
Location
Watauga, Texas
System Name Univac SLI Edition
Processor Intel Xeon 1650 V3 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard eVGA X99 FTW K
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO, Swiftech MCP50x, Alphacool NeXXos UT60 360, Black Ice GTX 360
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan X Tri-SLI w/ EK Blocks
Storage HyperX Predator 240GB PCI-E, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 34" Ultra-Wide (U3415W) / (Samsung 48" Curved 4k)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic Edition
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Thermaltake 1350watt Toughpower Modular
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard CODE 10 keyless MX Clears
Software Windows 10 Pro
#17
Syker and PP: what CPU's are they?

This is the current speed getting it over wifi on laptop:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/687815583.png

What I can say is that such flash games run better on my desktop using E8400 @ 4Ghz (and 8800GT) than using laptop Q9450 @ 2.67 (and sli 8800 GTX) :ohwell:
My dads using a 940BE which is now running stock. I didnt know he took off my overclock upon flash testing and he sets the afinity to one core and its smooth.

My internet connection is about 1.2mb down but my ping is 9. You dont have a very good connection to your server so my guess is maybe your lagging out like you would playing an online FPS? :confused:

It is because the CPU has to do everything, including render the graphics. Yes, the graphics aren't amazing, but a CPU sucks at rendering graphics.
Exactly. The more advanced the flash game, the heavier on the cpu.

Actually, Flash now supports GPU acceleration, and I believe QuakeLive uses it, but it's a little more complicated than that.
She said it didnt work so i think the flash game actually has to be optimized to run on the gpu.
 

DirectorC

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
1,624 (0.52/day)
Likes
267
Location
Florizy
System Name -= Son of a Whore =-
Processor E8400 @ 4.0GHz (445 x 9)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 3GB Corsair XMS2
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GT 512
Storage 74GB Raptor + Caviars in RAID0
Display(s) I-Inc 19" LCD 1440x900
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE & Logitech X-540
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Win32 v6.1.7600
Benchmark Scores Logitech KB & Sidewinder X3
#18
Yeah it's complicated :D The article talks about that. Lazy developers are lazy.
 
Top