• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

What's up with Origin

Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
1,107
Likes
176
Location
Greenville, NC
System Name Champ's 1440P Rig
Processor Intel i7-4770K @ 4.6 GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB 1600 Mhz 4x4 Blue Ram
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1080 FE
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 256 GB/RAID 0 Western Digital Blue 1 TB HDDs
Display(s) Acer XG270HU
Case Antec P100
Power Supply Corsair CX850M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard TT eSports Poseidon
Software Windows 10
#1
So I just bright a couple of games to test my system and they require origin for activation. This is my first time dealing with this. Its not working. Service is unavailable was the message. I brought a physical CD so I don't understand why I have to go online. From what i've read, origin is/was a half done effort on EAs part. I try to be nice and not fly my pirate flag and this is what I get. I'm trying to install NSF Most Wanted and I have BF4. Probably gonna be the same time
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,040
Likes
1,852
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i7 3770k @ 4.5 GHz /1.25 volt
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H with Beta Bios F20e
Cooling PHTC12DX CPU + MK-13 VGA, 1xDelta EFB1212VH, 2xYate Loon 140 PWM, 2xCorsair 120 PWM
Memory Samsung 30nm Green MV3V4G3D DDR3 16 GB (4x4GB) @ 1800 MHz CL9 1.35 volt
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 770 XLR8 2GB @ Core 1254 MHz / Ram 1800 MHz
Storage Seagate 600 240GB SSD (Boot) + 2xWD Caviar Blue WD10EZEX 1TB Data
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 + Asus VH242H 1920x1080
Case Lian Li PC A05 (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD USB Audio Dongle
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A, Corsair MM600, inateck 900mm x 300mm Mat
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL and Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key (Cherry Browns)
Software Win7 64 Pro
Benchmark Scores Wprime 32 5.758 http://www.wprime.net/Scores/19988/View
#2
So I just bright a couple of games to test my system and they require origin for activation. This is my first time dealing with this. Its not working. Service is unavailable was the message. I brought a physical CD so I don't understand why I have to go online. From what i've read, origin is/was a half done effort on EAs part. I try to be nice and not fly my pirate flag and this is what I get. I'm trying to install NSF Most Wanted and I have BF4. Probably gonna be the same time
You nailed it with the 6th sentence lol.
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2013
Messages
954
Likes
385
Location
Cumberland Plateau
System Name EVGA-FX | Lenny (Lenovo Y480)
Processor AMD FX-8320 @ 4.5GHz 1.416v | i7 3610qm
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600 | 8gb DDR3 @ 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX780 Classified @ 1228MHz 1.615v | GT640m LE
Storage Crucial M500 480GB, WD Caviar Blue 500GB, WD Scorpio Blue 750GB | Samsung 250GB 840
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 1440p | 42" Vizio 3D LCD TV 1080p
Case CoolerMaster HAF XB Evo
Power Supply Seasonic G-650
Software Windows 6.3.9600
#3
So I just bright a couple of games to test my system and they require origin for activation. This is my first time dealing with this. Its not working. Service is unavailable was the message. I brought a physical CD so I don't understand why I have to go online. From what i've read, origin is/was a half done effort on EAs part. I try to be nice and not fly my pirate flag and this is what I get. I'm trying to install NSF Most Wanted and I have BF4. Probably gonna be the same time
Keep trying. If it still doesn't work, their online chat has been very responsive when I've used it. Not sure if it is staffed on the weekends tho.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2012
Messages
614
Likes
357
Location
Nebulas
System Name X99
Processor 5930K @ 4.7GHz @ 1.323v
Motherboard Rampage V Edition 10
Cooling EK
Memory Dominator Platinum 32GB
Video Card(s) 2x Gigabyte xtreme gaming 980ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 850 Pro & WD320
Display(s) Tempest X270OC @100Hz
Case Thermaltake Core P5
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply 120-G2-1600-X1
Mouse Mamba 2012
Keyboard K70
Software Win10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/6823139
#4
Download the latest version of origin then login with your EA account, then install the games. I dislike all these interfaces from the game publishers. What can you do but use them if you wish to play their games.

After everything is installed just select offline mode when you play.
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2005
Messages
245
Likes
20
Processor 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V
Cooling Stock
Memory Samsung MV-3V4G3D/US 4x4 1866@99927 1.41v
Video Card(s) Sapphire 280x
Display(s) crossover
Case junk
Audio Device(s) usbstick
Power Supply enermax 82+pro 5years+ still good
#5
With so much finger in your face u still want to activate ? You sure ???
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
1,107
Likes
176
Location
Greenville, NC
System Name Champ's 1440P Rig
Processor Intel i7-4770K @ 4.6 GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB 1600 Mhz 4x4 Blue Ram
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1080 FE
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 256 GB/RAID 0 Western Digital Blue 1 TB HDDs
Display(s) Acer XG270HU
Case Antec P100
Power Supply Corsair CX850M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard TT eSports Poseidon
Software Windows 10
#6
Download the latest version of origin then login with your EA account, then install the games. I dislike all these interfaces from the game publishers. What can you do but use them if you wish to play their games.

After everything is installed just select offline mode when you play.
That maybe the prob. This game is from 2012-13
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
469
Likes
264
Processor i5 4690K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-PRO Wi-Fi ac USB 3.1
Cooling Cryorig H5 Ultimate
Memory 16 GB Corsair XMS3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 290X 8GB Tri-X OC
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240
Display(s) ASUS MG278Q
Case Corsair Carbide 600Q
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 750W Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#7
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
1,107
Likes
176
Location
Greenville, NC
System Name Champ's 1440P Rig
Processor Intel i7-4770K @ 4.6 GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB 1600 Mhz 4x4 Blue Ram
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1080 FE
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 256 GB/RAID 0 Western Digital Blue 1 TB HDDs
Display(s) Acer XG270HU
Case Antec P100
Power Supply Corsair CX850M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard TT eSports Poseidon
Software Windows 10
#8
I might have spoken too soon. I still having a hard time get the client software to update itself. I loks like it will finally go thru now thou
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
1,107
Likes
176
Location
Greenville, NC
System Name Champ's 1440P Rig
Processor Intel i7-4770K @ 4.6 GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB 1600 Mhz 4x4 Blue Ram
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1080 FE
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 256 GB/RAID 0 Western Digital Blue 1 TB HDDs
Display(s) Acer XG270HU
Case Antec P100
Power Supply Corsair CX850M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard TT eSports Poseidon
Software Windows 10
#9
So i finally got it to install and now its telling me I need to download the game. This cd is 6.5 gigs. Whats on it? My internet is too slow to dl that game. I'm taking both back if I can't find a way around this
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,902
Likes
9,994
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#10
Which game? If BF4, it is probably 6.5 GB of updates. If Most Wanted, start the install process via the disk, not Origin. The disk will invoke Origin and Origin will start copying files from the disk, then patch (if necessary).
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
1,107
Likes
176
Location
Greenville, NC
System Name Champ's 1440P Rig
Processor Intel i7-4770K @ 4.6 GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB 1600 Mhz 4x4 Blue Ram
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1080 FE
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 256 GB/RAID 0 Western Digital Blue 1 TB HDDs
Display(s) Acer XG270HU
Case Antec P100
Power Supply Corsair CX850M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard TT eSports Poseidon
Software Windows 10
#11
I need tech support because it will only download the game.

Found a solution, but it's so unnecessary. I have to essentially trick origin into thinking it downloaded the files by taking some steps to copy the files off the CD and putting them i the directory. Maybe I'll be playing in a couple of hours
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
1,107
Likes
176
Location
Greenville, NC
System Name Champ's 1440P Rig
Processor Intel i7-4770K @ 4.6 GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB 1600 Mhz 4x4 Blue Ram
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1080 FE
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 256 GB/RAID 0 Western Digital Blue 1 TB HDDs
Display(s) Acer XG270HU
Case Antec P100
Power Supply Corsair CX850M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard TT eSports Poseidon
Software Windows 10
#12
Which game? If BF4, it is probably 6.5 GB of updates. If Most Wanted, start the install process via the disk, not Origin. The disk will invoke Origin and Origin will start copying files from the disk, then patch (if necessary).
This worked for BF4. I'm not too fond of this Origin thing.
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2013
Messages
954
Likes
385
Location
Cumberland Plateau
System Name EVGA-FX | Lenny (Lenovo Y480)
Processor AMD FX-8320 @ 4.5GHz 1.416v | i7 3610qm
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600 | 8gb DDR3 @ 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX780 Classified @ 1228MHz 1.615v | GT640m LE
Storage Crucial M500 480GB, WD Caviar Blue 500GB, WD Scorpio Blue 750GB | Samsung 250GB 840
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 1440p | 42" Vizio 3D LCD TV 1080p
Case CoolerMaster HAF XB Evo
Power Supply Seasonic G-650
Software Windows 6.3.9600
#13
This worked for BF4. I'm not too fond of this Origin thing.
A lot of people aren't. May be better to just buy the games in digital form in the future. I haven't had an issue doing it this way.
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2008
Messages
4,209
Likes
3,545
System Name Ironic
Processor Intel 2500k 4.4Ghz
Motherboard ASROCK|Z68 PROFESSIONAL Gen 3
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 32GB GSkill Ripjaw X 1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 290 Vapor-X 4Gb
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB SATA 3 (6G/s)
Display(s) 22" Dell Wide/ 22" Acer wide/24" Asus
Case Antec Lanboy Air Black & Blue
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy 7.1
Power Supply Corsair Enthusiast TX750
Mouse Logitech G9x, custom frame
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK
Software Win 7 Ult 64 bit (with a side of XP64)
#14
I just wanted to say, I had to type "I will not troll and laugh" ten times in order to NOT post a bad post.
Good luck with the issue. Hate Origin.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,364
Likes
9,491
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#15
Don't get me wrong, I hate EA and everything they stand for because of the amount of developers they have ruined with money, but does anyone here remember when Steam first started out? As I recall, it was bloody awful, but with the last 10 years it's improved to be the most successful gaming distributor/service on the interwebz. I'm not saying Origin is capable of catching up, EA are evil and will never put anything good on sale for less tthan 90% RRP, but just remember. Steam sucked as much as Origin too when it was a babby.
 

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
6,570
Likes
3,904
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / EyeSeven
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / i7 2600k @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler... H50 leaked!..
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / G.Skill DDR3 1600 8gb 2x4GB
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4Gb
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / SB X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
#16
Next time put origins into off line mode, and it will install off the disk. :toast:
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2010
Messages
51
Likes
12
Processor Intel I7 4770k
Motherboard Gigabyte G1.Sniper Z87
Cooling NZXT Kraken X60
Memory Gskill Sniper 2x8GB 2400 MHZ
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 780Ti GHZ Edition
Storage Samsung 240 Pro 256 GB
Display(s) Asus PB287
Case NZXT Phantom 840
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core 3d on Motherboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Software Win 7 Pro
#17
Don't get me wrong, I hate EA and everything they stand for because of the amount of developers they have ruined with money, but does anyone here remember when Steam first started out? As I recall, it was bloody awful, but with the last 10 years it's improved to be the most successful gaming distributor/service on the interwebz. I'm not saying Origin is capable of catching up, EA are evil and will never put anything good on sale for less tthan 90% RRP, but just remember. Steam sucked as much as Origin too when it was a babby.
I first used Steam because my ati radeon 9800xt came with Half Life 2 and required Steam. You are correct at the time Steam was horrible. It was many years later before I actually started to use it because of my experience with it in its early form.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2012
Messages
614
Likes
357
Location
Nebulas
System Name X99
Processor 5930K @ 4.7GHz @ 1.323v
Motherboard Rampage V Edition 10
Cooling EK
Memory Dominator Platinum 32GB
Video Card(s) 2x Gigabyte xtreme gaming 980ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 850 Pro & WD320
Display(s) Tempest X270OC @100Hz
Case Thermaltake Core P5
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply 120-G2-1600-X1
Mouse Mamba 2012
Keyboard K70
Software Win10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/6823139
#18
You are making this more diff than it is. Best thing to do is download a copy of origin online, install it and let it update. Then insert the CD/DVD and execute the .exe file. Then it will launch origin if not already running and install from the CD. After that BF4 will install a huge amount of patches.
 

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
6,570
Likes
3,904
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / EyeSeven
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / i7 2600k @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler... H50 leaked!..
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / G.Skill DDR3 1600 8gb 2x4GB
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4Gb
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / SB X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
#19
You are making this more diff than it is. Best thing to do is download a copy of origin online, install it and let it update. Then insert the CD/DVD and execute the .exe file. Then it will launch origin if not already running and install from the CD. After that BF4 will install a huge amount of patches.
If he doesn't put it into off line mode then it will still try to download the latest version. When he put's origins into off line mode and installs the game from the disc then the most he'll have to download will be just updates once he puts it back into On line mode. :toast:
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2012
Messages
614
Likes
357
Location
Nebulas
System Name X99
Processor 5930K @ 4.7GHz @ 1.323v
Motherboard Rampage V Edition 10
Cooling EK
Memory Dominator Platinum 32GB
Video Card(s) 2x Gigabyte xtreme gaming 980ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 850 Pro & WD320
Display(s) Tempest X270OC @100Hz
Case Thermaltake Core P5
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply 120-G2-1600-X1
Mouse Mamba 2012
Keyboard K70
Software Win10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/6823139
#20
If he doesn't put it into off line mode then it will still try to download the latest version. When he put's origins into off line mode and installs the game from the disc then the most he'll have to download will be just updates once he puts it back into On line mode. :toast:
I never have to put origin in offline mode to install a game from my DVD/ ROM, it just installed from the disc, then it downloads the updates.
 

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
6,570
Likes
3,904
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / EyeSeven
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / i7 2600k @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler... H50 leaked!..
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / G.Skill DDR3 1600 8gb 2x4GB
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4Gb
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / SB X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
#21
I never have to put origin in offline mode to install a game from my DVD/ ROM, it just installed from the disc, then it downloads the updates.
Well obviously it's not working for the OP, but I'm glad it worked for you buddy. Either way we have given him plenty of options, hopefully he will let us know something.