• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

whats up with the ads?

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (1.19/day)
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#51
"THIS IS NOT A JOKE - CONGRATULATIONS YOU WON"
yaaay :laugh:


Guys honestly how luck am I :D? Guaranteed winner! AND ITS NOT EVEN A JOKE! :)! (I mean it cant lie, its the internet)

lol, I dont have a problem with the ads, as long as there is that option in user CP that disables those vibrant ads :D
 

Attachments

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (1.19/day)
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#53
YAY!!!!!!!!!!! you won!!!!!!!!!!!!! wooo hoooo!!!!

.....

wait.... wtf did you win?
I KNOW HOW GOOD IS IT :D

I dno, if I am lucky I might get a free pack of spyware :)

Lol na thats a good thing about the ads...they dont have rubbish attached to them (well, at least I hope not :p)
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
7,185 (1.95/day)
Likes
769
Location
Adelaide Australia
System Name Becca 2
Processor AMD A10 4600m quad core @ 2.3 ghz
Motherboard dunno
Cooling Logitech alto connect
Memory 16 Gig ddr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Ati HD 7660G + & 7470M
Storage 1 TB
Audio Device(s) onboard crap
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit with sp1
#54


Guys honestly how luck am I :D? Guaranteed winner! AND ITS NOT EVEN A JOKE! :)! (I mean it cant lie, its the internet)

lol, I dont have a problem with the ads, as long as there is that option in user CP that disables those vibrant ads :D
Lol u lucky mongel Pinchy mon i never see stoof like that heheh :rolleyes::eek::laugh:
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2008
Messages
976 (0.27/day)
Likes
82
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700 @ 3.825ghz 1.36v
Motherboard ASRock x370 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-C14s
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB 16gb 3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 ti
Display(s) LG 4k IPS
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 + more fans
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply EVGA P2 750w
Mouse G900
Keyboard G810
Software Windows 10 Pro
#55
I dont mind them as much here. Least they arnt as they are like on toms hardware where while your reading the words are popups themselves! Though most are tech related at least.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,486 (9.18/day)
Likes
17,517
Location
Hyderabad, India
#56
I've added exceptions to the Ad-Block Extension. You can do so and help support TPU. It's only a few hundred milliseconds' load time. At least TPU isn't forcing you to disable Ad-Block the way some other sites with heavy ads do.



 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.13/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#57
the ads dont bother me. it's the once a week popup that bothers me. i seem to be the only person with this problem however i have determined that it is not my computer by witnessing the same thing happen on a number of freshly installed computers.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2008
Messages
1,088 (0.30/day)
Likes
153
#58
Well I wouldn't mind the adds, I usually don't even notice them BUT something must be done about the ones on the top of the page. They actually over lapse on the TPU banner which is not cool at all. I know that most of you have wide screens so this isn't an issue but I like to surf at 1024/768 because most sites are intended for that resolution or the lower 800/600. I know that there are a lot of people out there who still use this resolution and having an add pop up over the logo of the front page is annoying to say the least...
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,160 (3.43/day)
Likes
18,113
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#59
Well I wouldn't mind the adds, I usually don't even notice them BUT something must be done about the ones on the top of the page. They actually over lapse on the TPU banner which is not cool at all. I know that most of you have wide screens so this isn't an issue but I like to surf at 1024/768 because most sites are intended for that resolution or the lower 800/600. I know that there are a lot of people out there who still use this resolution and having an add pop up over the logo of the front page is annoying to say the least...
whats your suggestion for the situation where the logo + ad are wider than the available screen space?
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,486 (9.18/day)
Likes
17,517
Location
Hyderabad, India
#60
Look at the frame that holds the Zotac ad:



I shrunk the window and the Zotac frame shrunk by itself and since Shockwave/Flash objects are scalable, the ad adjusted itself. Encourage Flash content on the top ad. With frame shrink (in small screens), the ad shrinks and still looks neat.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2008
Messages
1,088 (0.30/day)
Likes
153
#61
whats your suggestion for the situation where the logo + ad are wider than the available screen space?
A. Make the adds smaller.
I don't know if that's an option tho...

B. Make the logo smaller
( I wouldn't do that myself)

C. A hybrid solution.
Make the current logo blend into the background and use a smaller one on the left side. Something like they have on gametrailers.com

;D. Put that red TPU button on the top right side of the ads and when you press it they get closed.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,486 (9.18/day)
Likes
17,517
Location
Hyderabad, India
#62
The beauty of an ad service is that they post ads specific to the user's geographic region. For example, I get this one:



Pretty decent. In fact it could catch many hits due to the demographic of our user/visitor base. Lot of fresh blood :)
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,490 (0.93/day)
Likes
571
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor 3770K @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5H
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 8GB DDR3 @ 2000MHz 10-10-10-28 1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 8GB Gaming
Storage Crucial M4 128 Gb + 4TB
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Corsair HX 620W
Software Windows 10 x64
#63
The ads don't bother me, I think it's a small price to pay to have such a good site, a few ads are to be expected cheesy or not.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,486 (9.18/day)
Likes
17,517
Location
Hyderabad, India
#64
TPU isn't puking ads at you, those are just 3~4 frames. Compare that to some other tech sites that have at least 800 KB of Flash based adverts on the homepage.
 

monohouse

New Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2007
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#65
yhea, I almost totally forgot about those, a good thing. sometimes I don't notice how much bandwidth not having flash in the browser saves me, not to mention the loading times of the pages.
that is why I am here, speculating that is also why you are here also. luckily to me it's just a matter of choice, I don't see any banners on any site anyways, but if I didn't have that option and I knew of another tech site that DOESN"T have any banners, I wouldn't visit it any more than that one time. TPU is a good exception (relatively), but they could have done better (absolutely). I didn't even know they had any banners until now.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
1,874 (0.38/day)
Likes
256
Location
The Kingdom of Norway
System Name Wiak's Gaming Rig 2017
Processor Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X370-PRO
Cooling Noctua
Memory Corsair Vengenace LPX 3200 CL16 @ 2933
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 480 8GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Case Corsair 200R
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Corsair Sabre Laser
Keyboard Logitech Orion Brown (G610)
#66
TPU isn't puking ads at you, those are just 3~4 frames. Compare that to some other tech sites that have at least 800 KB of Flash based adverts on the homepage.
i agree
lol some sites takes ages to download
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,486 (9.18/day)
Likes
17,517
Location
Hyderabad, India
#67
yhea, I almost totally forgot about those, a good thing. sometimes I don't notice how much bandwidth not having flash in the browser saves me, not to mention the loading times of the pages.
that is why I am here, speculating that is also why you are here also. luckily to me it's just a matter of choice, I don't see any banners on any site anyways, but if I didn't have that option and I knew of another tech site that DOESN"T have any banners, I wouldn't visit it any more than that one time. TPU is a good exception (relatively), but they could have done better (absolutely). I didn't even know they had any banners until now.
Ever visited TweakTown with the Ad-Blocker enabled?
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
7,185 (1.95/day)
Likes
769
Location
Adelaide Australia
System Name Becca 2
Processor AMD A10 4600m quad core @ 2.3 ghz
Motherboard dunno
Cooling Logitech alto connect
Memory 16 Gig ddr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Ati HD 7660G + & 7470M
Storage 1 TB
Audio Device(s) onboard crap
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit with sp1
#69
Just checked what one they got going for me now Gamerswear lol yeah right hehe