• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Whats wrong with a PC that only boots once and restarting does nothing?

Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
193 (0.04/day)
Location
North of Iran
System Name Main system
Processor Intel Core-i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-Pro Gamer
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16 Gig Geil DDR3(2x8GB 1600-CL11)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 Gaming
Storage Western Digital Blue Cavier 500 and 1 Terabyte + 1 Terabyte Green Cavier + Samsung SSD 850 EVO 250G
Display(s) ASUS ML238 LED Monitor
Case Green Viper X3
Audio Device(s) Onboard-Realtek
Power Supply Green 700watt (Its a rebranded psu from highpower/kolink I guess)
Software Windows 10 /Ubuntu 16.04
Hello everyone. I hope you are having a great time.
I tried to build a retro PC from my and my cousins old parts. I set up the motherboard with the power supply unit connected and 2 1G ram.
His motherboard has integrated graphics so I attached the monitor and turned the PC on.
To cut a long story short, at first it booted and showed a glitchy output.
text were scrambled and suddenly there was a cascade of colorful stripes, I restarted, and removed one ram module, I no longer saw any such cascade of color.
but the system doesnt boot, In order to boot the system, (which by the way has no drives attached to it, not even a vga as it uses an integrated one and at this point im testing if everything works or not)
I have to remove the power cord from behind the power supply, wait a minute and then attach it. upon doing so, the system beeps once and the motherboard logo gets shown. then it reaches the black screen and if I restart
the system doesnt do anything, even beeping!, the cpu fan spins, if I add a vga, the vga fan spins, yet there is no system beep and there is no booting up! there is nothing!
If I remove rams, the system beeps with two consecutive beeps, signaling there is no ram whatsoever.
So I the motherboard faulty? are rams faulty? or is it my PSU thats some how faulty?

The motherboard is like 12+ years old. RAMs are also as old.
Thank you all in advance
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
28,355 (6.24/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
What specific motherboard and psu are you using?
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2019
Messages
883 (9.20/day)
System Name just ordinary potato system, but dont understimate potato..
Processor ryzen raven ridge 2200g
Motherboard msi b350 pc mate
Cooling x2 cheap china handmade
Memory klevv dual channel 3000mhz, random ddr2 stick
Video Card(s) vega 8, rx 580
Storage wd green ssd 240gb, 3tb seagate expnasion, random laptop hdd x4, 1tb 3.5
Display(s) acer vgo 22inch fullhd 75hz
Case cheap segotep/dazumba mid atx, alcatroz mini atx
Audio Device(s) genius retro wood style, harman kardon stick iii
Power Supply be quite system power9, powerlogic standar, voltron 300fx
Mouse rexus, genius ps/2, powerlogic ps/2 ball tracking
Keyboard rexus, random china product x3
Software talking abt best software, autodesk/unity3d/notepad yes notepad!!
Benchmark Scores theres nothing to brag abt potato, but it can run decent 30fps fullhd with good setting:)
Hello everyone. I hope you are having a great time.
I tried to build a retro PC from my and my cousins old parts. I set up the motherboard with the power supply unit connected and 2 1G ram.
His motherboard has integrated graphics so I attached the monitor and turned the PC on.
To cut a long story short, at first it booted and showed a glitchy output.
text were scrambled and suddenly there was a cascade of colorful stripes, I restarted, and removed one ram module, I no longer saw any such cascade of color.
but the system doesnt boot, In order to boot the system, (which by the way has no drives attached to it, not even a vga as it uses an integrated one and at this point im testing if everything works or not)
I have to remove the power cord from behind the power supply, wait a minute and then attach it. upon doing so, the system beeps once and the motherboard logo gets shown. then it reaches the black screen and if I restart
the system doesnt do anything, even beeping!, the cpu fan spins, if I add a vga, the vga fan spins, yet there is no system beep and there is no booting up! there is nothing!
If I remove rams, the system beeps with two consecutive beeps, signaling there is no ram whatsoever.
So I the motherboard faulty? are rams faulty? or is it my PSU thats some how faulty?

The motherboard is like 12+ years old. RAMs are also as old.
Thank you all in advance
try enter safemode in low res 640x480 maybe?
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
193 (0.04/day)
Location
North of Iran
System Name Main system
Processor Intel Core-i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-Pro Gamer
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16 Gig Geil DDR3(2x8GB 1600-CL11)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 Gaming
Storage Western Digital Blue Cavier 500 and 1 Terabyte + 1 Terabyte Green Cavier + Samsung SSD 850 EVO 250G
Display(s) ASUS ML238 LED Monitor
Case Green Viper X3
Audio Device(s) Onboard-Realtek
Power Supply Green 700watt (Its a rebranded psu from highpower/kolink I guess)
Software Windows 10 /Ubuntu 16.04
What specific motherboard and psu are you using?
I'm using Asus p4vbx-mx mother board. a socket 478 mother! my PSU is 530watt which very old. like 14-15 years old that has not been in use for like 6/7 years.

try enter safemode in low res 640x480 maybe?
It doesnt even boot properly let alone going into safe mode!
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
1,342 (1.04/day)
System Name Bro2
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Carbon
Cooling Corsair h115i pro rgb
Memory G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14
Video Card(s) RX Vega 64 Red Devil
Storage M.2 Samsung Evo 970 250MB/ Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD
Case Fractal Design G
Audio Device(s) realtec 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AXi 760W
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Windows 10 64 bit
I'm using Asus p4vbx-mx mother board. a socket 478 mother! my PSU is 530watt which very old. like 14-15 years old that has not been in use for like 6/7 years.
I'd go with a different PSU. Try any other than the one you have installed. If you have a PSU that works in your current system or any other system that is 100% ok then try it. If the problem stays it would mean that the PSU is not the issue. (Although I wouldn't use 14-15 years old psu even if it worked ok)
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
448 (4.53/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name None
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2x8GB (1R) 3466MHz CL16-18-18-36 1T, B-die @3600 CL16-16-16-32 1T (1:1:1)
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix RX580 OC 8GB
Storage Samsung NVMe 970Pro 512GB / SATA-III 850Pro 1TB SSD
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA panel.
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z / Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G15 v2
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit
If there is not any drive on it and thus no OS... how are you restarting? By pressing the reset?
What are you trying to do? Can you go into Bios?
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
717 (2.30/day)
Location
Chicago Land
Processor Lidless PGA 2700X
Motherboard Asus B450-I Gaming
Cooling Stock Air
Memory Corsair 3000nhz 13-15-15-15-32-53 2T
Video Card(s) Asus strix GTX 980 OC
Storage SSD
Display(s) 21" - 55"
Case None
Power Supply Antec CP series 850w
Mouse Razar Mamba Tournament Edition
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software W7
Benchmark Scores Max Cpu clock 7685Mhz FX-8300 WPrime 32m 2.886 seconds AMD 2700x
Usually a result of bios corruption.
You can try to update or install the original bios or go to bios depot on ebay and order a new bios chip for the board.
 
Top