• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

What's wrong with my HDD?

Joined
Oct 20, 2006
Messages
455 (0.11/day)
Likes
41
Location
Hereford, England
Processor Intel Core i5 750
Motherboard Maximus III Formula P55
Cooling Ultima 90i
Memory 4GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) PNY GTX465 @ GTX470 w/ 1280MB vRAM
Storage OCZ Vertex 2E 60GB + 2x1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) Samsung 245B
Case Black Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply Antec NeoHE 550W
Software 7 Ultimate 64bit, OSX
#1
I bought a Samsung F1 1TB a while ago and it was great, really fast and stable. Recently I bought another one because I ran out of space. I installed windows on it and filled it up with music, games and films. Ever since I got it, it has seemed really sluggish. My PC just feels like a crappy old one, firefox takes about 15 seconds just to pop up, and seems really laggy and freezy when I use it. I was thinknig about RMAing it but I can just see the testers plugging it in and it 'working' (albeit slow) so they send it back and I just wasted £10 on postage.
Just now I plugged both of the drives into my PC and did an HDtach benchy on both, one straight after the other. I had no programs open and the PC was idling. Here are the results:

Old HDD:



New HDD:


As you can see something is clearly wrong... Any ideas? :confused: I might try another Sata port to make sure but I doubt that is the cause.
I copied a film from the old one to the new one, the transfer rate was 3.89-3.91 MB/s for some reason... :mad:
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,621 (1.09/day)
Likes
937
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#2
Highly fragmented? Too many partitions? i have the same problem only not to the same extent, no idea what causes it. Only shows up in HD tach tho, my pc doesn't slow down at all.

Also if you've just installed vista, it may be the search indexer doing it's job
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2006
Messages
455 (0.11/day)
Likes
41
Location
Hereford, England
Processor Intel Core i5 750
Motherboard Maximus III Formula P55
Cooling Ultima 90i
Memory 4GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) PNY GTX465 @ GTX470 w/ 1280MB vRAM
Storage OCZ Vertex 2E 60GB + 2x1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) Samsung 245B
Case Black Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply Antec NeoHE 550W
Software 7 Ultimate 64bit, OSX
#3
I frequently defragment with defraggler and there's only one partition on the drive. Vista has been installed for nearly 4 months so I dont think it's the indexer (also got similar results when I tested it on another pc).
Any other suggestions?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,376 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,020
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#4
I think it IS the indexer. Try turning indexing off and see what you get.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,621 (1.09/day)
Likes
937
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#5
I frequently defragment with defraggler and there's only one partition on the drive. Vista has been installed for nearly 4 months so I dont think it's the indexer (also got similar results when I tested it on another pc).
Any other suggestions?
I thought you just installed windows onto the new drive? Do as erocker says. run>services.msc the find the indexer service and disable it. restart and test again. see what happens. After be sure to re-enable it tho as it's a useful service
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#6
Indexer is a rubbish service IMO. I have it disabled so it cant touch any of my drives. It slows your PC, provides virtually no benefit in searches and hammers away at your HDD all the time.
It probably is that.

The service you are looking for is Windows Search.
Find it in the services.msc window and right click and stop and disable it.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,376 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,020
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#7
Indexing service is only useful if you have a lot of data and do a lot of searching.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2006
Messages
455 (0.11/day)
Likes
41
Location
Hereford, England
Processor Intel Core i5 750
Motherboard Maximus III Formula P55
Cooling Ultima 90i
Memory 4GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) PNY GTX465 @ GTX470 w/ 1280MB vRAM
Storage OCZ Vertex 2E 60GB + 2x1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) Samsung 245B
Case Black Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply Antec NeoHE 550W
Software 7 Ultimate 64bit, OSX
#8
Well I disabled the indexer, restarted and checked it wasnt running, but the same results. Im pretty sure it's not a program or service that's causing the problem as in the performance monitor the disk usage is at 0 and transfer rate is 0KB/s. Im thinking it's a hardware issue, maybe a conflict ot something?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,376 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,020
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#9
Have you tried using a different SATA port?
 
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
921 (0.26/day)
Likes
128
System Name Demented
Processor AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ 4.5
Motherboard ASRock 970 EXTREME3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Sniper Gaming Series 8GB (2 x 4GB)
Video Card(s) PowerColor AXR9 280X 3GBD5-2DHE/OC Radeon R9 280X
Storage (1)Crucial M500 240GB ssd (1)WD 500GB Black Edition
Display(s) Samsung 27" w/ Acer X163W 16" secondary
Case Antec P183
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio (On Board 7.1)
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-650TX 650W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival
Keyboard Tt eSPORTS MEKA G-Unit
Software Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium
#10
Possibly a SATA cable gone bad or not plugged in good? Try another cable or reverse them. Did you check in the bios to see of both drives were set up the exact same way?
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2006
Messages
455 (0.11/day)
Likes
41
Location
Hereford, England
Processor Intel Core i5 750
Motherboard Maximus III Formula P55
Cooling Ultima 90i
Memory 4GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) PNY GTX465 @ GTX470 w/ 1280MB vRAM
Storage OCZ Vertex 2E 60GB + 2x1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) Samsung 245B
Case Black Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply Antec NeoHE 550W
Software 7 Ultimate 64bit, OSX
#11
I tried all the other ports on the mobo and a different cable, it didnt help but for some reason when windows loaded up it was thrashing the hd like mad for some reason, apparently it was svchost.exe reading a load of random files for some weird reason... windows defender is switched off, the indexer was disabled and i dont have any antivirus or anything (not that that would be using svchost anyway...), does anyone know what svchost.exe does?
Anyway I just plugged the hd into another computer and ran hdtach, these are the results:



It looks better but still a bit weird...
I tried copying a 5gb file from it to the WD5000AAKS that the comp was running from, I got 75MB/s transfer to start with, but it then decreased to about 40mb/s, which seemed ok.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,621 (1.09/day)
Likes
937
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#12
The thrashing at startup is probably pre-fetch service. I'm still not sure what causes it at random times tho. sometimes my computer becomes unusable for 30 mins due to disk activity and it isn't the indexer service.
Your HD tach screen now looks identical to mine.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2006
Messages
455 (0.11/day)
Likes
41
Location
Hereford, England
Processor Intel Core i5 750
Motherboard Maximus III Formula P55
Cooling Ultima 90i
Memory 4GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) PNY GTX465 @ GTX470 w/ 1280MB vRAM
Storage OCZ Vertex 2E 60GB + 2x1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) Samsung 245B
Case Black Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply Antec NeoHE 550W
Software 7 Ultimate 64bit, OSX
#13
It could be the prefetch, I dunno though. I had this exact same hard drive model before and had no issues with it, this was with the same hardware and same operating system. Im pretty sure prefetch doesnt slow your system to these speeds. Even just on google in firefox when I type a word it takes a few seconds just for it to come up, its really jerky... So annoying! I might do a reinstall tbh to see if that fixes the problem. I wont be able to format it though, I have nowhere to backup all my stuff :ohwell:
 
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
921 (0.26/day)
Likes
128
System Name Demented
Processor AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ 4.5
Motherboard ASRock 970 EXTREME3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Sniper Gaming Series 8GB (2 x 4GB)
Video Card(s) PowerColor AXR9 280X 3GBD5-2DHE/OC Radeon R9 280X
Storage (1)Crucial M500 240GB ssd (1)WD 500GB Black Edition
Display(s) Samsung 27" w/ Acer X163W 16" secondary
Case Antec P183
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio (On Board 7.1)
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-650TX 650W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival
Keyboard Tt eSPORTS MEKA G-Unit
Software Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.55/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#15
i dont have any antivirus or anything (not that that would be using svchost anyway...), does anyone know what svchost.exe does?
LOL

1./ Get yourself an antivirus. At a minimum get a trial one running and check that PC
2./ svchost.exe is a "runtime host" for services and DLLs. It is the first place you should consider a virus to hide!