• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Whats wrong with my P4C800 delux motherboard?

Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
193 (0.04/day)
Location
North of Iran
System Name Main system
Processor Intel Core-i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-Pro Gamer
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16 Gig Geil DDR3(2x8GB 1600-CL11)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 Gaming
Storage Western Digital Blue Cavier 500 and 1 Terabyte + 1 Terabyte Green Cavier + Samsung SSD 850 EVO 250G
Display(s) ASUS ML238 LED Monitor
Case Green Viper X3
Audio Device(s) Onboard-Realtek
Power Supply Green 700watt (Its a rebranded psu from highpower/kolink I guess)
Software Windows 10 /Ubuntu 16.04
Hello everyone, hope you are all having a great day.
I recently bought a motherboard;P4C800 deluxe(rev 2.0 it seems pic is given below) to build a retro PC gaming for my nephew.
It came with a Pentium 3.0 ghz, 2gigs of DDR400 CL3 RAM. I attached everything and one thing I noted right away was that the motherboard speaker(that little speaker that beeps when all is good or something goes bad) doesn't work. there is no beep or what so ever!
What does this indicate? is this something major? cause at the back of the motherboard, I spotted a two scratches. here is how they look :

I installed windows xp, installed the vga, installed a game such as GTA Vice city and played it for 5/10 minutes . I also installed the LAN and surfed the net for a minute to make sure if it can connect to the internet and the LAN capability works.
I then rebooted to add two more 1G modules. 1 from Kingston and another one with Kingmax. PC didnt boot at all! I tried to add one module to the existing ones, again nothing changed. this time I got a voice message saying : overclocking failed or something like this. I didnt overclock at all. everything is on default settings .
anyway, I removed all rams, and tested each ram in isolation. nothing works. every-time I add a ram module other than the two that was sent with this mobo(here it is ), it fails with the voice saying
'over clocking failed or something like that.
I tested 6 modules, from 256Mb(dont remember thebrand name), 512MB(both same model from kingstone), 1Gig modules (kingstone, kingmax) and they all failed.
There was however, one instance that When I used one 512MB module, for a very breif time, the bios showed 2560MB, and that was it. that never happened again.
I tested all rams in isolation and with other rams , the only rams that work are the ones that came with the mobo and their images are also shown below.

what do you say? is this board faulty ? should I return it? or will it be fine?
Thanks a lot in advance
These are my RAMs serial number:
(2x512MB KIngston): (Product page) :KVR400X64C3A/512
(1x1GB Kingston): (Product page): KVR400X64C3A/1G


and here are the pics :

۲۰۱۹۰۹۱۸_۲۲۲۹۰۹.jpg
۲۰۱۹۰۹۱۸_۲۲۲۹۳۲_2.jpg
۲۰۱۹۰۹۱۸_۲۲۳۱۱۶.jpg
۲۰۱۹۰۹۱۸_۲۲۳۲۱۲.jpg
۲۰۱۹۰۹۱۸_۲۲۳۲۱۹.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 30, 2008
Messages
1,718 (0.42/day)
Processor 5930K
Motherboard MSI X99 SLI
Cooling WATER
Memory 16GB DDR4 2132
Video Card(s) EVGAY 1080 nilla
Storage SEVERAL SSD"S
Display(s) Catleap/Yamakasi 2560X1440
Case D Frame MINI drilled out
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse DEATH ADDER
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Tournament
Software W10HB
Benchmark Scores PhIlLyChEeSeStEaK
Board memory has to be on the compatibility list from Gigabyte, also all sticks need to match same size, same amount. I'm suprised it boots considering it looks like broken traces underneath it.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
28,255 (6.22/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Stop mixing memory

Go to asus website and look up the qvl for the memory of that motherboard, plus scratched traces and also a crack near a ground point (screw hole) could mean legitimate board damage, @Bones @Mr.Scott Scottwhat y'all think?
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
193 (0.04/day)
Location
North of Iran
System Name Main system
Processor Intel Core-i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-Pro Gamer
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16 Gig Geil DDR3(2x8GB 1600-CL11)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 Gaming
Storage Western Digital Blue Cavier 500 and 1 Terabyte + 1 Terabyte Green Cavier + Samsung SSD 850 EVO 250G
Display(s) ASUS ML238 LED Monitor
Case Green Viper X3
Audio Device(s) Onboard-Realtek
Power Supply Green 700watt (Its a rebranded psu from highpower/kolink I guess)
Software Windows 10 /Ubuntu 16.04
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
8,403 (2.37/day)
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel Xeon X3470
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. P55A-UD3R (Socket 1156)
Cooling Enermax ETS-T40F
Memory Samsung 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800
Storage V-GEN03AS18EU120GB, Seagate 2 x 1TB and Seagate 4TB
Display(s) Samsung 21 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case Icute Super 18
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte
Power Supply Silverstone 600 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Sades Excalibur + Taihao keycaps
Software Win 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
Stop mixing memory

Go to asus website and look up the qvl for the memory of that motherboard, plus scratched traces and also a crack near a ground point (screw hole) could mean legitimate board damage, @Bones @Mr.Scott Scottwhat y'all think?
for me looks like from the board than from memory since the scratch looks bad and it's multi layer pcb so deep scratch could affect many traces in the board
 

dorsetknob

"YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
8,401 (1.56/day)
Location
Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
is this board faulty ? should I return it? or will it be fine?
I would return it for a refund
It Should work with 1stick of ram (unless ram is Dud) at a time.
those Scratches to me justify returning Board !.
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2019
Messages
710 (2.47/day)
System Name Fatboii
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X @ 4.2 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero WiFI
Cooling Custom water
Memory Patriot Viper Steel 2x8GB @ 3733 15-15-15-34-52-1T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 under water
Storage Samsung SM951 256GB + 860 EVO 1TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG PG278Q 144Hz
Case Fractal Design R6 Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 850w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master Pro Keys L
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I only game on this system... built for silence, not absolute max performance. ;)
Those scratches mean it is likely a dud - send it back.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2015
Messages
472 (0.29/day)
System Name The Banshee
Processor R7 1700 @ 3.8GHz 1.375V
Motherboard ASRock X370 Taichi
Cooling CPU + GPU Custom loop
Memory 2x8GB G.SKILL Trident Z B-die @ 3200 CL14 1.35V
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 780 Ti @ 1300/1900 1.212V
Storage 120GB OS SSD & 1TB Mass Storage HDD
Display(s) LG 25UM57-P
Case Farctal Design Arc XL
Audio Device(s) ATH-M20x
Power Supply Evga SuperNova 1300 G2
Mouse Evga Torq X3
Keyboard Thermaltake challenger
Software Win 10 Pro 64-Bit
The possibly damaged traces only look to be for the IDE/Floppy connections to the SB which wouldn't really cause the board to stop working.
More likely is that it's just the bios not being configured properly for the new ram or it's just being picky with ram which is fairly common of these old boards.
 
Top