1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

which CPU should i buy?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by El_Mayo, Apr 20, 2009.

  1. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,002 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,453
    bah, at 40% off, shipping shouldn't hurt as much :) anyhow, my grand-parents go to France a lot, and I have a lot of family in France, so shipping will hurt even less ;)
     
  2. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,608 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    534
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    scrap the cpu's i want an obama toy!
     
  3. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,881 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    255
    n-ster.. he's willing to sell you a pc
    do you have paypal?
     
    n-ster says thanks.
  4. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,872 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,671
    Location:
    Ohio
    what? :p
    It's really the heat and voltage that reduces lifespan. At stock volts, a processor that runs 2GHz stock speed on the stock cooler and has a load temp of 60*c will last less than that same processor that runs at 3GHz oc'd speed with a load temp of 50*c. However, if the first processor runs 1.35v and the second processor runs at 1.4v for example, they will last about the same.

    My Athlon64 5200+ ran overclocked for 2 years under my AC Freezer 64 Pro. Most of it's life was spend at 2.8GHz+ 1.4v under constant full load running Folding @ Home. When I bought my Phenom 9500, I had to buy a new motherboard because the overclocking options in my motherboard didn't work with that processor. So I bought a new board and retired the old motherboard and processor (athlon64 x2 and dfi lanparty) to my uncle who runs everything at stock with good cooling. He has the AMD heatpipe cooler on it with some of my MX-2 thermal paste. (unfortunately, my phenom died when I tried to run it at 2.65GHz 1.375v. kapow! bought this sempron and am very happy with it)
     
  5. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,872 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,671
    Location:
    Ohio
    gotta love action figures of anti-gun Obama waving around shotguns and assault rifles
     
  6. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,881 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    255
    right... i think i will get the 720BE cos money's tight atm lol
    "Location: Unstable Socialist States of America"
    lmao pure right wing
     
  7. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    So just because you 'hear' that AMD is better you avoid them like the plague? Intel might have faster high end processors with the i7 but in the mid-high end AMDs X3s are where it is at.

    You are going to buy a Q9550 and pay more money, around £80-100 more because you do not like the AMD's equivalent in performance. :banghead:




    Ok dude, waste your money at your leasure:roll:

    Edit:

    Finally you see sense. What changed your mind price or performance?

    Have you seen the reviews yet?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Lozan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    1. You can go with the MSI Platinum because that's not too expensive and performs well.

    2. The OCZ Reaper RAM is only around £120 for 6GB 1800MHz :)
     
  9. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,881 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    255
    erm yeah i saw a review for the 720BE
    i looked at only the gaming benchmarks, cos like i said
    i'm currently using an AMD Turionx2 (2.0Ghz) and that's good enough for my multitasking needs.. so an ultra high end cpu would be overkill
    i think i'm going to get a Quad AMD however..

    like this
    http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/specpage.html?AMD-P2920

    or

    http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/specpage.html?AMD-P9950

    or even

    http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/specpage.html?AMD-P2940

    probably the 9950 though...
     
  10. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Avoid the Phenom 9950, they are the older generation with the Agena core opposed to the newer Deneb core, especially because the 9950 is the Phenom I

    The Phenom II X3 720 is faster (and cheaper) than the Phenom 9950.

    Also the II X3 can use both DDR3 and DDR2 so it is a better upgrade path. If you are content with quadcore opposed to tri-core I would recommend the Phenom II X4 820 or 955 because those can also use both DDR3 and DDR2.
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2009
    El_Mayo says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    refresh page for edits
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,881 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    255
  13. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Indeed they are both Phenom IIs and hence they will be faster than the Phenom 9950.

    But unfortunately the 920 and 940 only support DDR2.

    The only Phenom IIs that support DDR3 and DDR2 at the moment is the 720, 820, 945, and 955.

    But DDR3 memory is expensive, you would be better off skipping DDR3 memory and buying a cheap £50 AM2+ motherboard that supports DDR2 PC8500 and sticking in any of the Phenom II range.
     
    El_Mayo says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,881 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    255
    alright mate.. it's gonna be the black edition PII 940
    black edition = more overclocking?
    and i'll just get cheap DDR2 memory (GeiL Black Dragon)
     
  15. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    The Phenom 940 is a good CPU, black edition has the unlocked multiplier and hence overclocks easier.

    If you tell us the budget, we can find you components on the internet and help you find the best deal.


    Edit:



    £400 can easily build you a Phenom II with 8 GB of ram and say a ATI 4850. That will be enough to play any game at maximum settings for 2 years.

    But in 6 months new CPUs and graphics cards come out, so there might be better deals, so this research process might have to be re-iterated.
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2009
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,881 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    255
    ahh right
    how helpful :)
    the thing is however.. i can't afford the pc for a while (about 6months)
    so atm i have about 4 budgets

    1. 700 GBP
    2. 600 GBP
    3. 500 GBP
    4. 400 GBP (very unlikely.. but this is incase i do something stupid like blow my savings xD)

    i'm prepared to put aside any nvidia/ati/intel/amd bias.. i just want good performance
    oh and those prices above INCLUDE a monitor (20" -22")
    i'd like to do some gaming in 1680x1050 so.. no overkill (GTX 295 is a no-no)
     
  17. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,881 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    255
    really? how any link/images to prove it?
     
  18. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,881 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    255
    i will need a HDD (500Gb+)
    but i can get a cracked OS
     
  19. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Do you need a power supply unit, case and CD/DVD drive?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,881 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    255
    yes.. obviously!
    lmao
     
  21. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,881 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    255
    oh that's alrite lol
    dvd drives are cheap anyway
    but with the PSU.. should i get a high performance one like Corsair or OCZ.. or just a cheap value one?
     
  22. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Personally I'm ok with non-branded.

    But usually I recommend branded for other people, performance wise it doesn't really matter, you're only paying for reliability, warranty, and low noise.

    I haven't yet had a PSU fry or anything
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,881 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    255
    oh... i'd rather have reliability then
     
  24. Jadawin

    Jadawin

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    173 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    I would strongly recommend the Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition, a nice AM2+ Mainboard and lots of DDR2-RAM, preferably 8 GB. That will be enough RAM for several years and a very good Quadcore with overclocking potential. For most things except games this will be a monster machine. And for gaming just get a good gfx card. A 3 GHz Quadcore will be enough for most games in the next 3-4 years. And you will be able to use the new AM3-Processors from AMD in your AM2+ board, like the new Phenon II X4 955 and even faster ones.

    Take a look at that, too:

    http://translate.google.com/transla...ssoren_kaufberatung_mai_2009.html&sl=de&tl=en

    As far as PSUs are concerned, only buy one with a 80PLUS certificate. That guarantees a good efficiency and to achieve that, the PSU can't be made from cheap crap parts. Well known brands usually have high efficiency.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    [​IMG]


    XFX HD 4830 512MB DDR3 Dual DVI HDTV out PCI-E Graphics Card
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/159719 £74.98

    ASROCK N68PV-GS GeForce 7050 Socket AM2+ VGA DVI Out 6 Channel Audio MATX Motherboard
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/161000 £42.03

    AMD Phenom II X3 720 2.8GHz Socket AM3 6MB L3 Cache Retail Boxed Processor
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/159071 £119.32

    Seagate ST3500418AS 500GB Hard Drive SATAII 7200rpm 16MB Cache - OEM
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/158860 £43.34

    Corsair 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 1066MHz/PC2-8500 XMS2 Memory CL5 2.1V
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/148816 £42.49

    Arctic Power 600W PSU - With PCI-E, 3x SATA, 20+4, ATX12V, 8pin +12V Connectors - Retail Boxed
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/124926 £34.99

    LG GH22NS40 22X SATA DVD±RW/DL/RAM Black Bare Drive - OEM
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/151999 £15.85

    Casecom KB-7720BK Black ATX Midi Tower Case - No PSU
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/108273 £12.99

    Total inc VAT (free super saver delivery) £385.99

    If you replace the Phenom II X3 720 with the Phenom II X4 940 from Novatech.com it will work out as £226.67 + £167.89 = £394.56

    That rig is enough to play any game today at maximum settings. It should breeze through games for about 2 years. At most you'll only need to replace the GPU in the future.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)