1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Which DDR3 should I put in my gaming rig?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by happy, Apr 14, 2012.

  1. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
  2. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,252 (4.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,755
    Location:
    US
    Stick with the Corsairs, there is not point getting slower ram although getting more of the Corsair might be a good thing depending on how memory intensive the video editing is..
     
    happy says thanks.
  3. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    Really:toast: good response above ^^
     
  4. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,082 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    308
    happy says thanks.
  5. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Do those have profiles to choose from because my Corsair has a custom profile that I just click in the bios and I automatically get the 1600mhz.
     
  6. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,082 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    308
    It defaults at 1600 and you can then easily change the timings and speed manually.
    at 1600 you can easily do 8-8-8-24 1T 1.5v
    at 1866 8-9-9-24 1T 1.5v
    at 2133 9-10-10-28 1T 1.55v
     
    happy says thanks.
  7. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,252 (4.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,755
    Location:
    US
    The sammys are good sticks, i always set them to what they are. They seem a little more touchy on my AMD setup but thats on a cheap mobo. They work a treat on my intel setup..

    Why spend the extra $40 ish just to have the voltage a little lower really ?. Then again i replaced all my ram in my INTEL and AMD setups HAHA although i was running 3 set of 2x2GB and 1 4x4GB.

    I guess you could get 2 pairs of the sammys and sell the Corsairs so it covers the cost a little better.
     
    happy says thanks.
  8. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    May I ask what does more mhz actually do versus more memory.
     
  9. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,082 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    308
    More memory means you can run more things (multitask) at once faster since it is stored in the temporary memory or Random Access Memory instead of retrieving it from the hard drive - you need 64 bit OS to use above 3.25gb though.

    More mhz improves the speed of your read/write/copy as the ram is running at a higher ratio to the cpu speed.

    The memory tab on cpu-z will show you the ratio and the ram benchmark on AIDA64 will show you your read/write/copy scores.

    Look at a review of the samsung ram on this page and you'll see:
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Samsung/MV-3V4G3/7.html
     
    happy says thanks.
  10. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,082 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    308
    happy says thanks.
  11. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Thanks for helpful information. Needs to go read up on them information now. :respect:
     
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,605 (5.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,670
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Good analogy; Think novels here.

    900 pages(2x4GB) of a small typeface(slower ram) vs. 900 pages(2x4GB) slightly bigger typeface(faster ram). 450 pages(2x2GB) small typeface (slower ram) vs. 450 pages(2x2GB) small typeface (slower ram). As you can see you will be able to essentially read more with the bigger typeface(speed of ram) but not fit as much on a page(size of ram).
     
  13. Anusha

    Anusha

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    754 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    my suggestion is just get the ones with shortest heatsinks so that you don't run into trouble when buying your favourite CPU air cooler.

    so in this case, the Corsair Vengeance LP sticks are the better buy.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,082 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    308
    The Samsungs are way shortest...same height as the ram slot clips on each side.
     
  15. NC37

    NC37

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,492 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    372
    Aye, that is a good note. They do make an LP version of the same sticks. Prices roughly about the same. Sometimes I see them less, then other times more.
     
  16. Anusha

    Anusha

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    754 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    the newegg link in the first post is for LP sticks.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9,461 (5.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,567
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I wouldn't mix and match sticks of memory. I would try to stick with the same model that I already had.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)