1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Which DPI do you use for your gaming mouse?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by FreedomEclipse, Feb 21, 2010.

  1. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    6,014 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,051
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    whatever the middle setting is for the original version of the Logitech G5
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. epicfail

    epicfail New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    496 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canada
    considering it has 2000 dpi wouldnt it be 1000 ;-)


    but ya thats what i had before i had my lachesis it was pretty awesome
     
  3. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,152 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    422
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    You can't set the DPI to 0, so probably not. :laugh:
     
  4. modder New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    382 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    h
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2010
  5. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,072 (6.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,659
    wow for someone with a Daft Punk avy, you sure dont let your mind expand much do you.

    My skill nor my penis has anything to do with me not wanting to fling my arm all over my desk;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. epicfail

    epicfail New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    496 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canada
    haha unless you go a huge difference you dont feel it that much, well in my opinion atleast i went from 1280x1024 to 1680x1050 and i kept the same sensitivity,

    my e-peen does grow alot when i use my 4000dpi, when it needs more room i use On The Fly and theres instantaneously more room.
     
    modder says thanks.
  7. SabreWulf69

    SabreWulf69 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    358 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Cooloongup, Western Australia
    I use my Mamba most of the time Wired, with E-Peen at lan's going so you've got a G7 ay? fine mine's Wireless too lol, Battery life is exceptional cos I never really have extended hours of gameplay all the time and the mouse goes into standby when it's not being used. With the mouse in Wired mode I leave the battery out at home for lesser weight, and my 5600DPI setting uses the laser to the fullest potential I find hardware wise, not dulled back with software and doesn't have the auto-prediction "feature" my original DeathAdder 1800DPI mouse had. Lovely ergonomics like the DeathAdder, money wasn't an issue, and they removed some of the lighting bling that the DeathAdder had as your hand sits on top of the mouse anyways.
     
  8. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,262 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,008
    Location:
    Miami
    yeah I have the NDC firmware on my deathadder... I think i will be returning to the Intelli mouse explorer 3.0 tho... the newly released version :D
     
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    44,932 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,126
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    it was 800. i've mentioned it a few times now.


    i use the same DPI at 800x600 and 1920x1080... i see no need to change it based on resolution?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,084 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,584
    Location:
    US
    It depens on mouse mat too. Like my older mouse mat my DB used to be super fast on but the Steelseries mats ( glass ) it's much slower but much smoother which makes me want a higher DPI lol.
     
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    44,932 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,126
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    thats a good point. i'm sure many "i hate pads so i just use the desk" users use high sensitivity, to counter the generally rough surface of desks.

    I've got a smooth, perfect, sexy plastic pad, so i can use lower sensitivity more reliably...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,072 (6.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,659
    I play at 5600 DPI on a quadro mat from Nvidia;)

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2010
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,637 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    I will NEVER understand this ultra high dpi mice thing...

    It's great for speed setting but lets be honest, non of you can move your mouse 1/500th of an inch let alone 1/3000th anywhere near accurately.

    That being said I have my mouse set to 1100 normal and then the rest of my settings are 700/850/1100/1450/2000 for various types of work and games. As I said before, it's not about an accuracy thing so much as it's a movement speed thing.

    I know way too many people that think they need a 1000+dpi mouse because it's more accurate... Uh huh, sure technically... If you have a robot moving it.
     
  14. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,072 (6.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,659
    sorry to say niko but I crop images and charts in paint and photoshop, can say I've really ran into an issue yet.

    This is like this 24/7 on my review and gaming rig. So everything intailed applies at 5600DPI:D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,637 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    I'm not saying it hurts... It just doesn't do what some people think it does.

    For instance I had a guy talk to me about a G9 because he needs a more accurate mouse for web browsing and email.. :ohwell:
     
  16. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,072 (6.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,659
    like I said tho, I just love it because I barely have to move to get shit done, whether cropping an image or spinning around for the kill;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    44,932 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,126
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    at 800 DPI i can move from one side of my screen to another, moving the mouse less than 1/4 of the way across my mousepad.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,112 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,294
    Location:
    Kansas
    And it only takes us 1/16th. :p Saves on the carpal tunnel. :laugh:
     
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    44,932 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,126
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    true, but... accuracy would be nigh on impossible at those speeds.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,072 (6.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,659
    It takes some getting used to, but now I feel the same abut low DPI mice as you do about high ones. Making headshots isnt as tough as you would think it to be once you have it in your hands a while.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    44,932 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,126
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    i guess my main reason for staying lower DPI, is so that i dont train my mouse hand to be incompatible with all the other systems i use...

    you know, go to a lan, borrow a mates rig, die horribly cause he uses defaults and a sane mouse DPI
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,072 (6.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,659
    see it more as the way of the force, and once you learn the ways, you can pass your ways to your friends to buy new mice *waves fingers* this is not the mouse you are looking for.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. epicfail

    epicfail New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    496 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canada
    ya i do know what you mean on that part because when i go to school i have to use this shit dell mouse, ive been thinking of bringing mine since i can just plug it and use it, lachesis drivers arent needed they did fix some stuff with the firmware but not stuff that would affect it being better than the dell shit i have right now. Thats why you just bring your rig.
    Either way one of your friends will have atleast one different setting than you in games, its not like everyone uses defaulth or doesnt get a new mouse and customizes there windows setting.

    The thing about high dpi mice is ive found that the Mice are more accurate at a High DPI instead of a High Sensitivity after your in the game. It just seems to move around more smoothly but that just might be me.

    lmao so true, it didnt take some getting use to but once you get use to it, you wont like low dpi mice for anything.
     
  24. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,656 (4.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,690
    Location:
    London,UK
    yeah - that would be a stupid reason for getting a more DPi mouse. he probably didnt know you could adjust any standard mouse's speed in windows control panel
     
  25. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,152 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    422
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    You can't get just any mouse up to high speeds in the windows control panel. :laugh:

    hardly, lol. Maybe if you throw your arm all over the desk out of habit.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)