1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

which gadgets do you have on your desktop?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by skellattarr, Oct 24, 2010.

  1. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    678 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    midway city ca
    i got one for my cpu and memory and hard drives and wow and whether. i know they use a lot of ram but i got lots.
     
  2. DriedFrogPills

    DriedFrogPills New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    356 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Werribee, Victoria, Australia
    moon phase, CPU and RAM monitor combo, clock and a HDD gadget
     
  3. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    13,798 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,631
    Weather + Rainlendar.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    948 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    167
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    3x weather, cpu usage, memory usage, clock, calendar.
     
  5. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,604 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    none, they are a pure waste of CPU time, although before i had a clock and CPU meter
     
    HossHuge says thanks.
  6. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5,039 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,276
    Calendar, Rivatuner, CPU Meter, Network Meter
     
  7. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,558 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    GPU + CPU + Kaspersky
     

    Attached Files:

    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,758
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    damned right.

    what use is a program to show your CPU usage, if it uses ~5% CPU usage to do so? XD
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,070 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    791
    Location:
    Texas
    This is the way I feel as well. Most widgets/gadgets are a waste IMO. I have macro keys on my kb set to launch HWMonitor, CPUz, GPUz, & Afterburner. That is all I need really.
     
  10. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,558 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    Well...if you have a Cyrix 286 CPU .. then yes...
    Otherwise I have never seen a CPU get blocked totally out...

    Might as well run DOS :roll:
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2010
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  11. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,524 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,526
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Live Clock
    WeatherBug
     
  12. kciaccio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    366 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    CPU memory disk network monitor, news streamer, cat clock, and weather temp outside. I run triple monitors. I am watching a movie on one, facebook on another and this forum on another and using 10% CPU with all of that.
     
  13. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,112 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,294
    Location:
    Kansas
    Is the weather that crazy where you that that you have to triple check it? :roll:
     
  14. Volkszorn88

    Volkszorn88

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,190 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    I like having the basic ones, but when gaming I turn them off. But if you're just web browsing and what not, it's fine to have them on.
     
  15. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    4,034 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    769
    Location:
    Australia
    CPU/RAM/Cores usage meter and GPU temp/fan and usage meter.

    I always like to keep an eye on my GPU as the 4870X2 can be a hot card when MSI afterburner decides not to work =/
     
  16. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    What kind of CPU metering program are you using that uses 5% CPU? Also what kind of CPU are you using to get that result? It must be rather old.

    I don't use any "gadgets" that run through the poorly designed Windows 7 gadget API. I use standalone monitoring apps/tools. I just calculated that my cpu/mem/vm/network/hdd monitor has used a whopping 0.75% of the CPU's time in the last 11 days while averaging 5MB of RAM and peaking at 10MB. (Not bad when you consider it monitors several things and updates every second.) I haven't been logging the monitor recently but I have in the past and it's CPU utilization has never achieved more than 1%. (I had similar results in Windows XP x86 with a much older P4 3.2GHz.)

    The other desktop "gadget" I use, that also doesn't utilize the Windows 7 gadget API, is a 32-bit transparent console which is docked in the lower left hand corner of my screen. Other than taking up RAM it has used 0.01% of the CPU's time in the last 11 days even after factoring in that it spawns two other processes (conhost.exe, cmd.exe).

    Links to the not-actually-gadget "gadgets" that I use (both are FREE):
    Performance Monitor (I'm still using 1.39 which has minor incompatibility with Win7. I may try the new version at some point.)
    Console (I'm still using old old old v1.5. Why fix it if it aint broken?)
     
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,758
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    it was an example, but i've seen it on a few netbooks and lower end systems... the people who are concerned about resource usage are wasting resources on these useless apps.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,604 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    i used to love them, when the q6600 was fast, now not at all
     
  19. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,260 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    Like my daddy used to say "If I wanna know the weather, Ill look outside"....:)

    I've never used these things. I know when my cpu is busy or not.
     
  20. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,604 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    or check your phone if you are not near a window :nutkick:
     
  21. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,829 (4.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,752
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I got............

    CPU
    GPU
    Local weather 5 day forecast (I am a fisherman!)
    Ohhh and that Bikinin Clad American Girl who tells you the time when you click her ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,604 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    well you got an i7 you are allowed all this stuff
     
  23. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    How can you tell she's American? Is she really fat or something?

    Links or it didn't happen.

    It didn't occur to me that you literally meant that she "told" you. It makes sense now.

    As technologically inclined as I am, I still do not have a data plan for my phone (hence no internet on me teléfono). It also doesn't have a barometer, temperature sensor, windsock or any other useful instrument in that regard.
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2010
  24. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,829 (4.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,752
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    The accent does it for me, I spose she could be Canadian, I cannot really tell the difference.

    Edit: the site I think I got it from is blocked at work, when I googled this one amongst others came up as a link but as I said, it's blocked, I am having a guess that this link might lead you to it, if not, when I get home tonight I will link it.......

    www.brothersoft.com/speaking-clock-172104.html
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2010
    streetfighter 2 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (3.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I just use the gadget W1zz wrote to show us moderators which TPU members are on the "Potential Trouble Makers" list.
     
    Mussels says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)