• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Which is better hd 6670 or sapphire hd r7-240 1gb ddr5

Joined
Dec 23, 2012
Messages
1,396 (0.77/day)
Likes
942
Location
south korea
System Name budget gaming / MSI gs70 6qe silver
Processor i7 4770k 4.0 ghz / i7 6700hq
Motherboard Asus Z87m-plus / msi h97
Cooling Zigmatek Janus LP / stock
Memory G.Skill TridentX 16gb 2666 mhz CL11 / Samsung ddr4 2133
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1060 6gb AMP / gtx 970m
Storage 750gb Seagate (OS); 1x 1tb WD; 1x2tb Seagate
Display(s) 2x crossover 30x-p driver + crossover 3020mdp 1600p eyefinity / HP elitedisplay E231 1080p
Case BRAVOTEC DEFY R50
Audio Device(s) Onboard / onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750W gold/ Powertex 500w
Mouse Logitech G100S
Keyboard Steelseries Mechanical keyboard
Software Windows 10
#2
between the two, id say better get the R7. Why? its new one. HD 6000 series is old tech. performance? i dont know. I will leave others to answer that

edit: would be better if you tell us also specs of your rig. Just had a quick google.

R7 240 supports mantle and PCI E 3.0 whereas 6670 is PCI 2.1.

but PCI 3.0 is backwards compatible to PCI 2.0. they use same slot.

if there is a big difference in price, just get the cheapest one. if however same price, better get R7 240
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 24, 2013
Messages
38 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#3
between the two, id say better get the R7. Why? its new one. HD 6000 series is old tech. performance? i dont know. I will leave others to answer that

edit: would be better if you tell us also specs of your rig. Just had a quick google.

R7 240 supports mantle and PCI E 3.0 whereas 6670 is PCI 2.1.

but PCI 3.0 is backwards compatible to PCI 2.0. they use same slot.

if there is a big difference in price, just get the cheapest one. if however same price, better get R7 240
Will it work on my motherboard G41t-M7 because previously i were using hd 5450 and that work fine.. please answer
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2014
Messages
204 (0.15/day)
Likes
45
Location
Finland
System Name WorstEVER
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87-G45 GAMING
Cooling Thermalright Silver Arrow IB-E
Memory G.Skill 8GB (2x4GB) Sniper, DDR3 1600MHz, 9-9-9-24, 1.35V
Video Card(s) 7970 Matrix Platinum
Storage Samsung 840EVO / Samsung F1
Display(s) Crossover Blacktune 2763 AMG "PP"
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Corsair HX 750 Gold
Software Win7 x64 ultimate
Benchmark Scores over 9000
#4
theres no big differences between those two, except r7 consume less power and is little quiter and 6670 gives little better passmark.
I would get r7 just as night.fox said.

Will it work on my motherboard G41t-M7 because previously i were using hd 5450 and that work fine.. please answer
yes it works
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2013
Messages
38 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#5
theres no big differences between those two, except r7 consume less power and is little quiter and 6670 gives little better passmark.
I would get r7 just as night.fox said.



yes it works
Bro thanks for your help.. 1 more question : i have BESTEC - ATX0180H5WA 180W psu so can i run this card with my power supply will my car get damaged ? i was also using hd 5450 with this power supply and that just work fine..
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2012
Messages
1,396 (0.77/day)
Likes
942
Location
south korea
System Name budget gaming / MSI gs70 6qe silver
Processor i7 4770k 4.0 ghz / i7 6700hq
Motherboard Asus Z87m-plus / msi h97
Cooling Zigmatek Janus LP / stock
Memory G.Skill TridentX 16gb 2666 mhz CL11 / Samsung ddr4 2133
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1060 6gb AMP / gtx 970m
Storage 750gb Seagate (OS); 1x 1tb WD; 1x2tb Seagate
Display(s) 2x crossover 30x-p driver + crossover 3020mdp 1600p eyefinity / HP elitedisplay E231 1080p
Case BRAVOTEC DEFY R50
Audio Device(s) Onboard / onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750W gold/ Powertex 500w
Mouse Logitech G100S
Keyboard Steelseries Mechanical keyboard
Software Windows 10
#6
Bro thanks for your help.. 1 more question : i have BESTEC - ATX0180H5WA 180W psu so can i run this card with my power supply will my car get damaged ? i was also using hd 5450 with this power supply and that just work fine..
you can always try. No by theory, it wouldnt break your card if it is not enough power. although, think about PSU degrading. You should be fine if you buy the R7 240. Otherwise, you can always buy 300w PSU. 300w PSU is not the expensive.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2014
Messages
204 (0.15/day)
Likes
45
Location
Finland
System Name WorstEVER
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87-G45 GAMING
Cooling Thermalright Silver Arrow IB-E
Memory G.Skill 8GB (2x4GB) Sniper, DDR3 1600MHz, 9-9-9-24, 1.35V
Video Card(s) 7970 Matrix Platinum
Storage Samsung 840EVO / Samsung F1
Display(s) Crossover Blacktune 2763 AMG "PP"
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Corsair HX 750 Gold
Software Win7 x64 ultimate
Benchmark Scores over 9000
#7
5450 TDP is 19W and R7 240 TDP is 30W so not big difference
if old card works well i bet R7 would work aswell
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2013
Messages
38 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#8
you can always try. No by theory, it wouldnt break your card if it is not enough power. although, think about PSU degrading. You should be fine if you buy the R7 240. Otherwise, you can always buy 300w PSU. 300w PSU is not the expensive.
I have tried, it work and i played call of duty 4 modern warfare at 1600x900 all settings on extra 70 + fps but then after 5-10 minutes my pc crashed no monitor signal just lights in mouse and keyboard ? without graphic card it's working fine even on hd 5450 so my psu is not enough for this card ?

And will 300W psu will work ?
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2012
Messages
1,396 (0.77/day)
Likes
942
Location
south korea
System Name budget gaming / MSI gs70 6qe silver
Processor i7 4770k 4.0 ghz / i7 6700hq
Motherboard Asus Z87m-plus / msi h97
Cooling Zigmatek Janus LP / stock
Memory G.Skill TridentX 16gb 2666 mhz CL11 / Samsung ddr4 2133
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1060 6gb AMP / gtx 970m
Storage 750gb Seagate (OS); 1x 1tb WD; 1x2tb Seagate
Display(s) 2x crossover 30x-p driver + crossover 3020mdp 1600p eyefinity / HP elitedisplay E231 1080p
Case BRAVOTEC DEFY R50
Audio Device(s) Onboard / onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750W gold/ Powertex 500w
Mouse Logitech G100S
Keyboard Steelseries Mechanical keyboard
Software Windows 10
#9
what do you mean you tried? did you purchase the card? Like Arskatb said, not so much difference in TDP so it should be fine.

if you have purchased the R7 already, alot of reason could be. drivers? what drivers did you use?

but yes 300w psu will work. you dont have to buy a psu with PCIE power connections since the cards you mentioned doesnt need extra power. It takes power from the motherboard
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2013
Messages
38 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#10
you can always try. No by theory, it wouldnt break your card if it is not enough power. although, think about PSU degrading. You should be fine if you buy the R7 240. Otherwise, you can always buy 300w PSU. 300w PSU is not the expensive.
Bro thanks, is there any requirement for psu i'm newbie in this stuff so please tell me, I mean will my motherboard support
what do you mean you tried? did you purchase the card? Like Arskatb said, not so much difference in TDP so it should be fine.

if you have purchased the R7 already, alot of reason could be. drivers? what drivers did you use?

but yes 300w psu will work. you dont have to buy a psu with PCIE power connections since the cards you mentioned doesnt need extra power. It takes power from the motherboard
Yes i purchased this card and even tried, as i told u it worked and i played cod 4 for about 10 minutes and then suddenly a noisy static sound came then "No signal to monitor"

I installed driver from the cd which is came with the graphic card ie; amd catalyst
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2014
Messages
204 (0.15/day)
Likes
45
Location
Finland
System Name WorstEVER
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87-G45 GAMING
Cooling Thermalright Silver Arrow IB-E
Memory G.Skill 8GB (2x4GB) Sniper, DDR3 1600MHz, 9-9-9-24, 1.35V
Video Card(s) 7970 Matrix Platinum
Storage Samsung 840EVO / Samsung F1
Display(s) Crossover Blacktune 2763 AMG "PP"
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Corsair HX 750 Gold
Software Win7 x64 ultimate
Benchmark Scores over 9000
#11
I have tried, it work and i played call of duty 4 modern warfare at 1600x900 all settings on extra 70 + fps but then after 5-10 minutes my pc crashed no monitor signal just lights in mouse and keyboard ? without graphic card it's working fine even on hd 5450 so my psu is not enough for this card ?

And will 300W psu will work ?
CoolMaster makes good psu and those low watt no modular ones are pretty cheap
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2014
Messages
9 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name HP dc 7800 CMT
Processor Intel core 2 duo E8400 3.00GHZ
Motherboard HP dc 7800
Cooling Power cooling
Memory 4GB
Video Card(s) HIS RADEON HD 6670 2 GB GDDR3
Storage 300gb MAXTOR
Display(s) 17inch DELL
Case LONGER
Audio Device(s) HIGHDEFINATION
Power Supply 365walt
Software www.hp.com
Benchmark Scores 12380
#12
what do you mean you tried? did you purchase the card? Like Arskatb said, not so much difference in TDP so it should be fine.

if you have purchased the R7 already, alot of reason could be. drivers? what drivers did you use?

but yes 300w psu will work. you dont have to buy a psu with PCIE power connections since the cards you mentioned doesnt need extra power. It takes power from the motherboard
HELP