• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Which is the best TV Tuner card ?

Joined
May 2, 2013
Messages
690 (0.41/day)
Likes
18
Location
India
System Name To be ALL IN ONE MACHINE. but not yet
Processor i7 3770k
Motherboard Asus P8Z&&-V Deluxe
Cooling Thermalright Silver Arrow
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 1600Mhz 8GB *4 = 32GB
Storage Samsung pro 840 256GB, Segate 3TB and 1TB
Display(s) LG 23" Full HD LED
Case Antec LanBoy Air
Power Supply Cooler Master M2 Silent Pro 850 Watts
Software Windows 7 ulimate 64bit
#1
Hi Guys,
Which is the best TV Tuner card to record TV shows in 1080P HD ?
It should also record HD TV channels.

Please guide me. I need to buy it.:D
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,261 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,451
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
#2
I believe this will: Ceton InfiniTV 4 Quad-tuner Card for Watching Digi...

However, I understand the Ceton Tuner requires the same control card as your basic cable box. This is something you will have to ask your cable provider to....well provide. They should not have a problem with this.
 
Joined
May 2, 2013
Messages
690 (0.41/day)
Likes
18
Location
India
System Name To be ALL IN ONE MACHINE. but not yet
Processor i7 3770k
Motherboard Asus P8Z&&-V Deluxe
Cooling Thermalright Silver Arrow
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 1600Mhz 8GB *4 = 32GB
Storage Samsung pro 840 256GB, Segate 3TB and 1TB
Display(s) LG 23" Full HD LED
Case Antec LanBoy Air
Power Supply Cooler Master M2 Silent Pro 850 Watts
Software Windows 7 ulimate 64bit
#3
I need to know from Avermedia company
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,039 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,645
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#4
SiliconDust HDHomeRun is the only tuner I would buy
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,922 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,023
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#5
Hi Guys,
Which is the best TV Tuner card to record TV shows in 1080P HD ?
It should also record HD TV channels.

Please guide me. I need to buy it.:D
-HDTV (ATSC and PAL) is 1080i, not 1080p.
-Computer TV tuners do not work with digital cable. They need QAM decrypters and that's basically non-existant. You'd have to get the tuner directly from the cable provider. Edit: TheLaughingMan's suggestion looks like it overcomes this issue.
-Computer TV tuners are only good for over-the-air signals and potentially analog signals. Edit: TheLaughingMan's suggestion looks like it overcomes this issue.
-If you're intending to just capture a signal from another device, you need a capture card, not a TV tuner.

I have an Asus NyCinema EH3160 Combo card. It works great for OTA HDTV and analog using Windows Media Center. The FM tuner works well but it clearly has buffering problems. If you listen to radio for 30-60 minutes, it will eventually start skipping. I have to pause it for a while then resume. It'll stop for a while until it gets caught up and runs into buffering problems again. Kind of annoying, but it works.
 
Joined
Mar 5, 2009
Messages
205 (0.06/day)
Likes
88
Location
Western NC
System Name dell beast
Processor dual Xeon x5675
Motherboard dell t7500
Cooling stock
Memory 36gb ecc ddr3
Video Card(s) quadro 4000
Storage 2x100gb hp ssd
Display(s) asus 23.8" 1080p
Case t7500
Audio Device(s) some old sound blaster
Power Supply 1200watt dell
Mouse logitech
Keyboard logitech
Software win10x64
#6
i have a hdhomerun dual

its awesome for OTA HDTV and has dual tuners as the name implies but only takes in one input.

if you need to do this with hd cable then you will need either the ceton or the hdhomerun prime...

both can do 2/4 channels with the right cable card from your cable provider...

satellite gets a little tricky...not sure on it probably a capture card. maybe firewire used to work...but never tried it..

the nice side to network turner (like my dual) is any pc that is connected can use the tuners and it works from mac/linux/windows and you can watch two channels at the same time.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,574 (1.62/day)
Likes
918
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#7
After some USB tv sticks i use a PCI-Express card: Hauppauge Capture HD, and it is MUCH more stable than anything I 've had before.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,569 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,469
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#8
I have several ATi HD750 based tuners in USB form all of which work well with WMC. They are cheap, work, have good drivers and are available from almost any manufacturer you can think of.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2007
Messages
57 (0.02/day)
Likes
7
#9
I use the HDHomeRun Prime w/ a Comcast cablecard and have had great luck with it - my biggest complaint is that 3 tuners is not enough. To get more tuners using silicon dust components, you need more cable cards. Comcast charges an HD outlet fee for each card along with the card rental - so the $2 a month rental is really $12 a month.

The next caveat is that to record HD shows - most likely they are copy protected or have some form of DRM. This requires you to use Windows Media Center to record - which works fine, but may not be your first choice. There may be some workarounds, but I have not found any.

Ceton just released, or is about to release a single box (InfiniTV6) with 6 tuners that uses a single cable card. If my HDHomerun Prime didn't work so well, I would probably buy one of these. My fear is that I have 4 televisions set up using my current config and it just works. It took a bit of work to get there and I hate the thought of messing it up.
 
Joined
May 10, 2012
Messages
164 (0.08/day)
Likes
371
Location
Fairfield, California, USA
System Name TouchNDie
Processor 2.4 GHz Core 2 Quad Q6600
Motherboard Asus P5N32E-SLI
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory 6 GB G.Skill DDR2-800
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 4850
Storage 500 GB Western Digital Blue
Display(s) Dell SE198WFPv (Primary), Dell 1704FPT (Secondary)
Case Black Antec P180
Audio Device(s) Random VIA-based card.
Power Supply nSpire 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
#10
I have a Happauge WinTV HVR-1800 that does ATSC\NTSC\QAM with 1080i support. Randomly has a FM tuner as well, but it's nowhere near the quality of my 70s Kenwood receiver.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2007
Messages
57 (0.02/day)
Likes
7
#11
It's funny how poor most FM receivers are these days. My 70's pioneer is also quite good compared to what I run into today.